This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Nossob Rest Camp

Reviews of Nossob Rest Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

12 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Nossob Rest Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 1-10 of 12
Duration
Arrival date
Mr DB
N London

"Nossob Rest Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 28 May 2018
"A good base in the center of the park." See all these reviews: 10n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Mr D & Ms P
Dursley

"Nossob Rest Camp review"

1 night Arrived 8 Nov 2015
"Comfortable although not luxurious self catering. Good facilities in accommodation.

Basic facilities in the camp. Good location for game viewing." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia; 4n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs D
Winchester

"One Meerkat Safari"

1 night Arrived 7 Feb 2015
"It is a good drive along the main gravel road from Twee Rivieren to Nossob . We were lucky enough to spot 5 cheetah enjoying a kill which we guess they had made earlier that morning.

Once again the staff in reception were pleasant and helpful and we were soon installed in our pleasant overnight accommodation . A three bedded room with ceiling fan, separate living area with a kitchen very similar to that at Twee Rivieren and separate shower and toilet.

There were table and chairs on a small tiled area outside. Whilst sitting having ' sundowners' we were entertained by yellow mongoose..

After enjoying our meal prepared in the very well equipped kitchen we walked to the hide. We had eaten quite early so that we could be in the hide as the sunset.

The hide is a reasonable size ( with seats for 20 +/- ) and looks out over the waterhole. We were a bit unlucky with the game just springbok and a brown hyena but we know other people had seen more wildlife there. That is how it happens!

Another good sleep ( unfortunately not disturbed by noises from the wildlife!!) .

We wanted to make an early start as we had been told that the road into Ghararhab could be difficult so wanted to tackle it before the sand got too hot. The fuel station at Nossob didn't open until 07.00 - we had assumed that it would open at 06.00 like Twee Rivieren. Our advice to other travellers would be to refuel on arrival - something we will do on future trips.

Popped into the shop to see if there was any fresh fruit or veg - no luck - the shop was due to be restocked later that day.

Remembered to collect our permit" See all these reviews: 12n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs D
Harrow

"Nossob Rest Camp review"

1 night Arrived 19 Jan 2015
"Chalets more basic and less spacious than at Twee Rivieren (and more like traditional park board camps). Nevertheless adequate, reasonably well maintained and equipped, and clean.

There is no airconditioning in the chalets. Electricity is available from 4.00 am to 10,00 pm and during those hours a roof fan in the chalet bedroom section can be used. However, in midsummer during the night when there is no electricity the bedroom section can be very hot.

The Nossob shop appears to have limited opening times (possibly only 6 to 7 pm during our visit). If some travellers are relying on the shop for key supplies such as water, some care would be needed over this.

Nossob has a hide overlooking a waterhole adjacent to the camp. This was a very pleasing feature (and we would have liked to spend longer in it).

We thought Nossob was a pleasing camp and enjoyed visiting it. Temperatures in mid-summer can get very high.

The reception staff were very helpful when we decided we should reconsider our route for the next two days." See all these reviews: 7n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Mr & Mrs W
Warwick

"Two nights. Two different experiences"

2 nights Arrived 6 Sep 2014
"We had to move from a luxury unit to a single bedroom chalet on our second night. The first was on the hill at the back of the camp and was all one could hope for. The second was one of the older units, perfectly adequate in its way but rather ordinary.

The big plus at Nossob is that you can order freshly baked bread from the shop. Delicious. Recommended. Food "good" though, only because of the bread. Otherwise the usual game reserve fare from the camp shop." See all these reviews: 13n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Mr M & Ms O
UK

"Electrifying"

1 night Arrived 1 Mar 2014
"Watch out for the electric fence at the entrance!

All san parks accommodation need a revamp - this place was looking tired - but still comfortable.

Very busy camp but fine, only stayed there to get access to Bitterpan." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia; 5n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs T
Glasgow

"Good and expected standard for a big rest cam"

2 nights Arrived 12 Dec 2013
"Big camp and the experience reflected this.

slight disappointment that our room had been given to other residents because we were later in arriving than them we therefore did not have a good view or as good as we might" See all these reviews: 18n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs VDK
France

"Nossob Rest Camp review"

1 night Arrived 1 Sep 2011
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Mr & Mrs O
Dorset

"Nossob Rest Camp review"

1 night Arrived 18 Nov 2010
"We spent one night at Nossob - and again the accommodation is fair, but basic. The location of this camp makes it an ideal stop as you travel around the park - and the Carnivores exhibition is really interesting.

The camp offered night drives - so we decided to join the trip that night. Unfortunately, the guide we had was fairly inexperienced, and did not have a pair of binoculars with him (which meant that a lot of the animal and bird identification was done by the passengers!). Then - when it got dark - instead of using the spotlight himself to sweep for animals - he handed 2 spotlights to passengers in the jeep and he sat in the front with the driver! Consequently, we were disappointed with this activity (and hence the low score below).

We chose to self cater at this camp - and the kitchen facilities were more than adequate for us to knock up a good dinner! Again, the shop is limited - but useful for picking up things like frozen meat, and treats such as sweets and wine! The waterhole is nicely situated - although there was limited activity when we were here." See all these reviews: 11n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Activities:
Poor
Mr M & Ms O
UK

"Nossob Rest Camp review"

1 night Arrived 16 Jul 2008
"Bloody awful place too crowded lots of kids enough said!
Night hide good available on net nossob webcam!" See all these reviews: 12n in South Africa; 7n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Showing 1-10 of 12
80%
12 reviews of Nossob Rest Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
4
4
4
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in South Africa

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in South Africa.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Kgalagadi Transfrontier Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Twee Rivieren Rest Camp

Twee Rivieren

At the southern entrance to Kgalagadi Transfrontier Park, Twee Rivieren Rest Camp is the park's largest restcamp and also the centre for its administration. The accommodation here is all self-catering, and arranged in almost a little village – with a restaurant, a shop, a fuel station and a swimming pool. It's a park for serious safari aficionados to spent at least four or five nights exploring – with time here at the start and/or end.


82% (30 reviews)
Kalahari Tented Camp

Kalahari Tented Camp

Kalahari Tented Camp, with self-catering accommodation, is an unusual and well positioned base for exploration of the Kgalagadi Transfrontier Park.


91% (28 reviews)
Mata Mata Rest Camp

Mata Mata Rest Camp

On the western border of the Kgalagadi Transfrontier Park, Mata Mata Restcamp offers camping and simple self-catering chalets, great for adventurous travellers on self-drive explorations of this park.


83% (14 reviews)
Gharagab Wilderness Camp

Gharagab Camp

Gharagab Wilderness Camp is located in a remote corner of the Kgalagadi Transfrontier Park, which is wonderful if you like wilderness areas. However, access takes time - so it's not the best base for exploring the park.


89% (13 reviews)
Ta Shebube Rooiputs

Ta Shebube Rooiputs

One of just three private lodges in the Kgalagadi, Ta Shebube Rooiputs offers a well-appointed base from where you can explore this delightful National Park.


91% (13 reviews)
!Xaus Lodge

!Xaus Lodge

The only private lodge within the Kgalagadi Transfrontier Park with full board and activities, !Xaus Lodge is a good base from which to explore the Kalahari.


98% (11 reviews)
Ta Shebube Polentswa

Ta Shebube Polentswa

Although accessed via South Africa, Ta Shebube Polentswa is situated just across the border, in a private concession on the Botswana side of the Kgalagadi Transfrontier Park


94% (10 reviews)
Bitterpan Wilderness Camp

Bitterpan Camp

Bitterpan Wilderness Camp, with the self-catering accommodation housed in reed and canvas chalets; it's an unusual but comfortable base from which to explore the Kgalagadi Transfrontier Park.


88% (10 reviews)
Grootkolk Wilderness Camp

Grootkolk Camp

Grootkolk Wilderness Camp has quirky sand-bag self-catering accommodation and simple amenities, offering a comfortable place to stay while exploring the north western Kgalagadi Transfrontier Park.


94% (10 reviews)
Urikaruus Wilderness Camp

Urikaruus Camp

Urikaruus is one of the most popular wilderness camps in the Kgalagadi National Park with lovely riverside cabins set high up on stilts overlooking the Auob riverbed.


95% (8 reviews)
Kielie Krankie Wilderness Camp

Kielie Krankie Camp

Perched high atop a huge red sand dune, the small Kielie Krankie wilderness camp it is well positioned for accessing both east and west sides of the Kgalagadi National Park.


93% (8 reviews)
Molopo Kalahari Lodge

Molopo Lodge

Molopo Kalahari Lodge is less than an hours' drive from the Kgalagadi Transfrontier Park. It is probably the best base for self-driving around the Kgalagadi if the restcamps inside the park are full, or if you're arriving here late in the afternoon.


60% (3 reviews)
The Motse at Tswalu

The Motse at Tswalu

Tswalu Motse is a smart lodge located in the Tswalu Game Reserve, the largest private reserve in South Africa.


100% (1 review)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa