This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr T from Bangkok

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

2

Countries visited

2

Lodges stayed in

7

Excursions taken

0

My Jun 2022 trip to Zambia

Zambia between 17 Jun 2022 and 2 Jul 2022

Trip rating: Excellent
"Big thanks to Maruska! The whole trip was as close to perfect as it gets.

From the start of planning right until the end, I thought we have always been comfortable with the advice / guidance and all our concerns and questions have been addressed.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

Not really. Please keep up the good work."

Arranged By Maruska AdyeRowe


Flatdogs Camp

Flatdogs Camp

"Great place to start our safari"

3 nights Arrived 17 Jun 2022
"We are very happy with our 3 nights stay at Flatdogs Camp.

Due to unavailability, we stayed first night in standard tent before moving to luxury tent for the last 2 nights. Although the camp is larger than any other camps we stayed in this trip, we never feel crowded. Dining is private and flexible which we enjoyed. Food and service were excellent.

We informed them that we want to do walking safari and they managed to arrange for us one morning - very nice. We spent 2 full days with Jonathan as our driving guide and Kenneth as walking guide - thought they were both great. On our last night drive, we saw 4 lioness killed a puku - first time we witnessed a kill and it was such a memorable experience. I thought there were too many vehicles for any leopard sightings which is probably understandable staying in this area of the park which is relatively more busy.

Would not hesitate to stay at Flatdogs Camp again next time we visit South Luangwa"
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Kaingo Camp

Kaingo Camp

"Luxury in the bush!"

3 nights Arrived 20 Jun 2022
"Not really 'luxury', but Kaingo easily is the most comfortable room we had in this trip.

Room is nicely decorated and spacious with indoor shower and outdoor bath. There is a private balcony with river views - very lovely to sit down and watch hippos, birds, etc during siesta. Food was so delicious and well prepared.

We had Sylvester as our guide (also at Mwamba) for the whole week and we could not have asked for more. He is so good at tracking/spotting wildlife, explaining and telling story. We have seen pretty much everything there is to see except the wild dogs which were not in the area during our visit. We enjoyed his accompany also during lunch/dinner and sundowners.

The only slight disappointment is that some animals such as lions and buffalos were more in-land as there were still plenty of water sources away from the river. But with such a great guide, I don't think it has affected our experience as we still saw so many wildlife. Birds sightings were excellent and we are not even much into birds."
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Mwamba Bushcamp

Mwamba Bushcamp

"Mwamba is the ideal bushcamp"

4 nights Arrived 23 Jun 2022
"One of best camp that I have ever stayed and definitely my favorite in this trip. Traditional reed and thatch room with outdoor shower - as close to nature as it comes. Bar and dining area looks wonderful and I wish we have more relaxing time to enjoy the area a little more. Similar to Kaingo, food and service were excellent.

We did a few walking here including a transfer from Kaingo to Mwamba - very enjoyable and informative with Sylvester as our guide. Here, we tasted Baobab fruit and enjoyed a sundowner with Baobab tree in the background - it was magical.

Game drive in-land from Mwamba allows us to see Cooksons wildebeest (endemic to South Luangwa) and eland.

We also spent one night on a starbed sleepout (Numbu) and we love the whole experience."
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Kutali Camp

Kutali Camp

"Kutali Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 27 Jun 2022
"Kutali Camp's location is great for game viewing and the view of the Zambezi river from our camp and the dining area is very beautiful. We enjoyed different activities (game drive, walk, canoe, boat) on offer at the camp. We really love doing the canoe both on the main river and through the narrow channels navigating pass the hippos - it was exciting and nervous at times but very rewarding nonetheless. Also, water activities allowed us to enjoy watching so many variety of birds.

On improvement, we experienced a guide that was very inexperienced. Although we think he is a nice person, he was clearly well below what we have experienced with other guides in this trip - communication, animal identification, driving, etc. After we did a transfer drive on arrival and afternoon game drive with him, we informed the co-owners that we want to change the guide. We were asked to give him another chance in the morning drive, as it turned out, our vehicle broke down and we moved to join another guests in another vehicle/guide which saved us from a wasteful morning. Since then, the camp has assigned us another guide which was much better.

It appears to us that Kutali (and Chula) still need more staff and permanent manager to improve overall organization. We experienced the confusion on whether we could do activities that we asked to do (this was also shared by some other guests that we talked to). Service was generally good but a bit off from other camps we stayed in. Food was great."
Good
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Chula Island Camp

Chula Island Camp

"Chula Island Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 29 Jun 2022
"We enjoyed the difference location Chula offered after staying 2 nights in Kutali.

On one afternoon game drive, we saw a pack of 25 wild dogs playing and trying to chase down pretty much everything (warthog, guinea fowl, impala, waterbuck) that they came across. Later one of the dog was chased by an elephant not far from a bull buffalo. It was one of the highlight of our trip.

Similar comment for improvement on organization and service as Kutali Camp but nevertheless a very enjoyable stay."
Good
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good

My Mar/Apr Seychelles 2022 trip

Seychelles between 31 Mar 2022 and 9 Apr 2022

Trip rating: Excellent
"We had a great trip to Seychelles. This is our first overseas travel since Covid started. It was postponed from initially scheduled for December 2021 - thanks to Megan for contacting hotels and ground operators that makes it very smooth.

We enjoyed our stay at both accommodations in Mahe and Praslin and all the transfer logistics are very well organized. I felt our stay at Praslin was a little short and I wish we can have time to visit La Digue, hopefully we can revisit again.

We had 2 scary moments during this trip (no fault of Expert Africa). I got verbal abuse from the owner of Anse Soleil restaurant on a day we explored Mahe on our own. Apparently I parked my car at a place where they do not allow, he kept giving me verbal abuse even though I apologized and told him that we will leave immediately. Found out later on reviews and from Katerina (Le Sans Souci) experience with her family that this guy is very bad and may have mental problem.

The other scary moment was when our rental car got struck in the sand in the parking space near Anse Lazio. Luckily, the local people (3 of them) were so nice that they helped us for almost 30 minutes until we can get our car back on track.

Overall, we had a great trip and thanks to your excellent services and thoughtful advice and arrangement throughout."

Arranged By Megan Green


Le Sans Souci

Le Sans Souci

"Le Sans Souci review"

4 nights Arrived 31 Mar 2022
"My family enjoyed our 4 nights stay at Le Sans Souci. Due to personal reason, Jeanine (the owner) was unable to host us at the guesthouse when we were there. I was disappointed as I am aware she can host a very nice local dinner but totally understand her situation which Megan let us know upfront before our trip begins.

Her nephew Slain and his partner Caterina took care of our family during our stay. While we can tell that they are still relatively new, they have tried very hard to ensure we have a great time and have everything we need during our stay. They gave us lots of information where to go and where to eat and we found them very useful. Also, Slain was very quick to support whenever I called/texted him. We had a problem with the air-con in one of the bedroom on the third night (Sat), he offered us an additional room once he learned that it can't be fixed until Mon. Also as it turned out, he gave us a complimentary bottle of red wine on our last night that we cooked and dined in as an apology in which we appreciated.

The location of the guesthouse is in the mountain with very nice view of the city and ocean on the east side. A rental car is needed staying here but it makes a very convenient base to explore Mahe if you don't mind staying away from the beach. It is 5-10 mins drive to Victoria and 15-20 minutes drive to Beau Vallon or Port Launay where we also drive further south to explore the island.

We got an upgrade to a self-catering 2 bedroom unit which is very nice. I thought it is nicely designed, comfortable with spacious room for us to relax after coming back each day. Fresh breakfast is served at the owner house - 2 minutes steep walk up from our unit - and the view is even better from our unit. There is also small pool near where breakfast is served but we didn't use it."
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Coco de Mer Hotel

Coco de Mer Hotel

"Coco de Mer Hotel review"

4 nights Arrived 4 Apr 2022
"Our family stayed 4 nights at Coco De Mer Hotel on half-board basis. We got the 2 superior rooms which is beach front and in the far corner which is great for some privacy. I really enjoyed our stay here in every aspects.

They changed their dinner buffet menu daily that we didn't feel too repetitive (although we may if staying longer). Overall breakfast and dinner are quite good with lots of variety. Except one or two staff, the services of the staff are excellent.

The room is standard size and large enough for my family including our 2 year boy to be very comfortable. We had an issue with air-con one night and they quickly came to fix it for us. The hotel also arranged 2 hour nature trail led by a guide (their staff) every other day starting from the hotel lobby. My wife and I joined this walk and thought it was very informative with a great view on top.

Would love to stay longer as we can do more with relaxing in the hotel area and considering many different activities in and around Praslin."
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team