This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
La Petite Ferme
La Petite Ferme
La Petite Ferme
La Petite Ferme
La Petite Ferme
La Petite Ferme

Reviews of La Petite Ferme

Wildlife sightings and reviews

9 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited La Petite Ferme and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 1-9 of 9
Duration
Arrival date
Mr&Mrs LS
Oxfordshire

"Relaxing few days at La Petite Ferme"

3 nights Arrived 11 Jan 2020
"Franschhoeuk is a beautiful place and La petite Ferme was a wonderful place to stay. The incredible views of the valley from our suite overlooking the pool were stunning - we could see for miles. We had a very warm welcome by Dylan who introduced us to the hotel and its amenities and included a welcome glass of Pink Champagne while he registered us . We enjoyed lunch outside under the trees and enjoyed the views with a chilled bottle of Chardonnay!

The staff were all so friendly and helpful - nothing was too much bother for them.

We ate in the restaurant most nights. The food was very nice although a little too fancy - we would have preferred more simple dishes but nevertheless the quality of the food was exceptional. We were staying in the Manor House - previously the owner's private residence. The room was lovely (no. 9 The Bridal Suite) with access to the shared pool and of course the stunning views.

We had read that the Manor House suites were due to be refurbished this year (May 2020) and although the bedroom was very clean and comfortable the bathroom was looking tired and the shower leaked considerably. We mentioned this to Dylan and he immediately had someone address the problem. This wouldn't put us off staying there again as so many other things made up for it and in fact we look forward to returning to enjoy the refurbished rooms in the Manor House. Also, I do hope they will consider a wall mounted mirror somewhere in the room for when drying hair etc. Had to struggle a little but eventually achieved the desired outcome.

All in all a wonderful few days at La Petite Ferme." See all these reviews: 13n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs H
Macclesfie

"La Petite Ferme comments"

3 nights Arrived 25 Mar 2019
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Mr & Mrs D
Strathaven

"La Petite Ferme review"

3 nights Arrived 7 Apr 2018
"A delightful hotel and vineyard. The staff were incredibly helpful and friendly.

The accommodation was first class with fantastic views across Franschhoek.

Their own range of wines is excellent, accompanied by a fine-dining diner menu." See all these reviews: 6n in Botswana; 3n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs AH
York

"Best place we visited"

3 nights Arrived 31 Jan 2016
"A top quality hotel. Could not be faulted." See all these reviews: 17n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs S
Poppleton

"La Petite Ferme in wine lands"

3 nights Arrived 31 Jan 2016
"Wonderful location, excellent suite and very helpful staff.

One dinner and three breakfasts were of a very high standard.

We would certainly go back." See all these reviews: 17n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs F
Muswell Hi

"La Petite Ferme review"

2 nights Arrived 21 Nov 2015
"Great spot nice rooms terrible service" See all these reviews: 10n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Terrible
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Mr & Mrs F
UK

"Excellent accommodation at La Petite Ferme"

3 nights Arrived 18 Nov 2014
"La Petite Ferme is a vineyard with lunchtime restaurant and accommodation on the outskirts of Franschhoek. Franschhoek has a beautiful setting and La Petite Ferme has stunning views which take full advantage of the location.

The absence of a full evening meal combined with the situation on the outskirts can be a disadvantage but there are two restaurants nearby and some of the restaurants in town offer a complimentary taxi service.

Complimentary wine tasting and cellar tour for all guests is on offer. Very helpful, friendly staff.

Fantastic suites overlooking the vineyard and Franschhoek valley." See all these reviews: 34n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs M
York

"Fantastic views"

1 night Arrived 3 Feb 2014
"Lovely suite with a fantastic view.

Popular place for lunch!

Excellent service." See all these reviews: 6n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Ms R & Mr B
Lyneham

"La Petite Ferme was beautiful!"

2 nights Arrived 20 Feb 2013
"The complimentary cellar tour was the best cellar tour we've ever done - really interesting and personal.
The lunch was delicious.

We were really glad we splashed out on our deluxe suite. The private patio with plungepool and beautiful views was amazing.

I was a bit nervous about trip advisor reviews suggesting that the rooms were abit run-down. But while you could tell it was a little past its best, we weren't disappointed at all." See all these reviews: 10n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Showing 1-9 of 9
98%
9 reviews of La Petite Ferme by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
8
1
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in South Africa

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in South Africa.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Winelands

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


The Last Word Franschhoek

The Franschhoek

The Last Word Franschhoek is a very small, smart boutique hotel in tranquil surroundings in the heart of Franschhoek. With only six rooms it promises personal attention.


95% (24 reviews)
Le Quartier Francais

Le Quartier Francais

Le Quartier Français is a boutique hotel with beautiful rooms and a great restaurant conveniently located on Franschhoek’s main street.


95% (13 reviews)
Babylonstoren

Babylonstoren

Babylonstoren is beautiful property located on a stunning working wine farm between Franschhoek and Paarl, and is surrounded by vineyards and the Drakenstein Mountains.


96% (5 reviews)
Oude Werf

Oude Werf

Located in the historic heart of Stellenbosch, the Oude Werf is a lovely hotel and a good base for exploring the South Africa’s Winelands.


75% (4 reviews)
Angala Boutique Hotel

Angala Boutique Hotel

Angala Boutique Hotel is a luxurious, contemporary guesthouse in the heart of the Cape Winelands – between Franschhoek, Paarl and Stellenbosch.


100% (2 reviews)
Lanzerac Hotel

Lanzerac Hotel

The Lanzerac Hotel is a historic Cape Dutch manor house and winery that has been turned into an opulent hotel offering some of the regions finest accommodation and first-rate cuisine.


80% (1 review)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa