This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr & Mrs AH from York

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

2

Countries visited

2

Lodges stayed in

20

Excursions taken

0

Wonderful holiday

South Africa between 26 Jan 2016 and 16 Feb 2016

Trip rating: Excellent
"Many thanks to Expert Africa for putting together such a good package with an excellent variety of places to visit and things to see.

Our 3 weeks has given us a taste of the country and we highly recommend to others. We thought our previous trip arranged by yourselves to Namibia could not be equalled but you proved us wrong. Many thanks AGAIN."

Arranged By Claire Scott


Acorn House

Acorn House

"Excellent position - very helpful staff"

5 nights Arrived 26 Jan 2016
"We were happy with everything at Acorn House apart from the rooms being slightly small and the floor fan struggled to keep the room cool.

We highly recommend to others."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Average
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
La Petite Ferme

La Petite Ferme

"Best place we visited"

3 nights Arrived 31 Jan 2016
"A top quality hotel. Could not be faulted."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Image alt

Mimosa Lodge

"A mixed bag - food excellent"

2 nights Arrived 3 Feb 2016
"This hotel received us badly. We were allocated terrible rooms with inadequate ventilation and poor furniture and fittings. Initially our comments were ignored and we were told the hotel was full. After a period of discussion we were reallocated to rooms in the self catering part which were satisfactory.

Part of the problem was that our information from Expert Africa showed rooms which according to the hotel were not the quality we had "paid for" so we felt partly misled by our information from yourselves.

Initially the staff at Mimosa Lodge appeared not to listen to our comments but after 30 minutes reacted well to sort out the problem.

We ate our evening meals in the hotel and the food was "fabulous"."
Average
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Poor
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Average
Image alt

Oulap Country House, South Africa (this camp has since closed)

"Highly recommended"

2 nights Arrived 5 Feb 2016
"A lovely place to stay.

Full of interesting things to see and very welcoming hosts."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Hog Hollow Country Lodge

Hog Hollow Country Lodge

"Could be so much better"

3 nights Arrived 7 Feb 2016
"We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Hog Hollow. However the place was established over 20 years ago and the fabric and furnishing in the lodges was looking worn. The disappointing thing there was the view from our balconies. The shrubs and trees are so overgrown that there was virtually no outlook despite what their website "promised". When we commented to the manager on leaving it was made obvious that no action would be taken.

Such a disappointment as otherwise the place was excellent.

The locality around was good with lots to do and see."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Average
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Poor
Dune Beach House

Dune Beach House

"Lovely with great views"

2 nights Arrived 10 Feb 2016
"We greatly enjoyed our time here."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Average
Facilities
Good
Schoone Oordt Country House

Schoone Oordt Country House

"First class"

3 nights Arrived 12 Feb 2016
"Our only comment is that Swellendam has not a lot happening locally and requires quite a lot of travelling to see the area around.

Many thanks to Expert Africa in recommending we book and eat at La Sosta restaurant (must be booked at least a month in advance). One of the top quality restaurants in a country which provides fantastic food."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Four Rosmead

Four Rosmead

"Highly recommended"

1 night Arrived 15 Feb 2016
"A good place to end our 3 weeks in South Africa."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

A fantastic holiday

Namibia between 20 Sep 2009 and 8 Oct 2009

Trip rating: Excellent
"We have recommended you to all our friends and look forward ourselves to travelling to Africa again with Expert Africa.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service

Your literature advised us to be very careful with certain issues and in particular with the car hire. Contiue to be open and honest and you will comtinue to thrive."

Arranged By Tracy Lederer


Elegant Guesthouse

Elegant Guesthouse

"A good way to start our holiday"

1 night Arrived 20 Sep 2009
"Clean and comfortable. Very welcoming on our arrival. Accomodation excellent.

They arranged a restaurant and transport for us in an efficient and helpful fashion"
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch

Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch

"excellent introduction to Namibia game drives"

2 nights Arrived 21 Sep 2009
"We were in a party of 10. Our accomodation was excellent but the other 4 couples were in a blockhouse adjacent to the main house. I felt this area looked substandard without the views and ambience of the accomodation we had. The better accomodation was excellent.

We were prebooked for a game drive and on our first morning we were taken on a short drive to see cheetahs and then later that day had an excellent game drive. We were charged for both. I felt there was a lack of transparency in what was on offer and the cost. If informed we would still have done both."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
BullsPort Lodge & Farm

BullsPort Lodge & Farm

"a working farm with excellent facilities"

2 nights Arrived 23 Sep 2009
"A very welcoming place with fantastic scenery and walks. We opted to go on the Quiver Tree gorge walk which included a scenic game drive. We were shown great views and lots of animals. Strongly recommend to others.

The food was in the main dining room and the hosts ate with us. Excellent food."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Kulala Desert Lodge

Kulala Desert Lodge

"A highlight of our holiday"

2 nights Arrived 25 Sep 2009
"The scenery / the location / the facilities and the dunes were great. The only downside was that we were initially we were told the start was at 5.45am but that was then changed to a later time. We then failed to get to Dune 45 to climb by sunrise. We actually went up Dune 40 which was prob better but we were late and rushing. The guides did not seem to realise how they had slightly reduced our experience.

The food at this lodge was not up to the same standard as we got elsewhere although was still better than average."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Average
Facilities
Excellent
Villa Margherita

Villa Margherita

"Very comfortable"

2 nights Arrived 27 Sep 2009
"A good middle of the holiday break. We enjoyed the seaside and the town / shops. We were B & B but found excellent retaurants to eat out in."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Doro Nawas

Doro Nawas

"Best accomodation we had"

2 nights Arrived 29 Sep 2009
"An excellent site and with fantastic accomodation. Sleeping outside under the stars was an unforgettable experience. We struggled to find the elephants on outr morning trip. The jeep was uncomfortable and the resort made the mistake of putting all 10 of our group in one cramped 4x4. The radio for the 2 jeeps out was not working properly and our jeep could not find the elephants. Our guide went faster and faster in a mad dash to try and find them. When we got home the other party had found them. Fortunately the lodge arranged for another trip but it meant our whole day was taken up finding the elephants where a little bit of common sense and communication could have given us a much better experience.

The desert elephants more than made up for our difficulties when we found them."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Ongava Lodge

Ongava Lodge

"Mixed feelings about this site"

1 night Arrived 1 Oct 2009
"On one hand this place was excellent with good facilities and activities but on the other hand I felt they saw us as a source of money to fleece us if possible. Our game drive was with 10 of us crushed into a small 4x4 and with a driver who seemed inexperienced. I was very cramped in the middle row and when we stopped to see anything the guide revved up the engine and reversed often removing any view I had and scaring the animals or birds away. He would not listen to comments.

On the other side of the coin that night the water hole suddenly was visited by lions and then 5 rhinoceroses. A fantastic period followed but as we were watching all our food was removed and they stopped serving.

The accomodation and site was excellent."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Average
Facilities
Good
Onguma Etosha Aoba

Onguma Etosha Aoba

"Lovely site and very welcoming"

1 night Arrived 2 Oct 2009
"The oldest accomodation we stayed in and slightly frayed at edges but a very good site and excellent hosts. The food was very good and we were sorry only to have one night in this camp.

We highly recommend to others."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Onguma The Fort

Onguma The Fort

"Opulent decadence"

1 night Arrived 3 Oct 2009
"The highest standard of accomodation and facilities and seemed very plush and glamorous but at the same time somehow cold and unwelcoming.

As we could not have 2 nights at Etosha Lodge we went here. I preferred the Etosha [Ed: 'Aoba'] Lodge"
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Average
Facilities
Excellent
Okonjima Plains Camp

Okonjima Plains Camp

"an excellent place to visit"

1 night Arrived 4 Oct 2009
"what a wonderful place with really good trips to see cheetahs and leopards which were quite magnificent. The whole experience from arrival to departure could not be faulted.

I left wishing we had had more time here."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Erongo Wilderness Lodge

Erongo Wilderness Lodge

"well worth a visit"

2 nights Arrived 5 Oct 2009
"magnificent scenery and great walking. The accomodation on arrival gave us a feeling of dread but in fact was more than adequate.

Overall with excellent staff and warm welcoming hosts we felt this was a very good place to visit."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Average
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Average
Olive Grove

Olive Grove

"Excellent B&B"

1 night Arrived 7 Oct 2009
"A good way to complete our holiday in Namibia"
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team