This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Hog Hollow Country Lodge
Hog Hollow Country Lodge
Hog Hollow Country Lodge

Hog Hollow Country Lodge


33°58’24.0"S 23°28’20.7"E

Reviews of Hog Hollow

Wildlife sightings and reviews

29 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Hog Hollow and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 1-10 of 29
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs V
Twickenham

"Stunning views"

2 nights Arrived 17 Apr 2018
"This is a lovely lodge with stunning views across the wooded ravine. The lodges are extremely comfortable, with lovely touches like a short African story book and a chocolate on your pillow every night. They have a fire pit in the evenings on the terrace and a delightful dining room where you can choose to sit with other guests. The food is good.

The swimming pool area is gorgeous. We walked down into the ravine and up the other side to visit the bird sanctuary. However, The elephant sanctuary is very expensive and not worth it!

Would definitely like to have stayed longer." See all these reviews: 7n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs J
Bristol

"Lovely stay at Hog Hollow"

2 nights Arrived 17 Apr 2018
"A very beautiful lodge in a great position. Our room was enormous, with a large wooden terrace (great for stargazing) and everything you could need including a wood burning stove. Food was great - I could get used to sparkling wine at breakfast! There is a nice walk down through the valley.One evening it was cold and we went to bed to find hot water bottles. Can't wait to go back when the weather is better!" See all these reviews: 7n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr R & Mrs M
UK

"Hog Hollow Country Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 10 Mar 2018
"We had an excellent stay here which we wished could have been longer 2 days could have been 3 or 4 .

The staff were very friendly which seemed to be contagious as all the guests mixed and led to a party atmosphere. Maybe it helped that we were all Brits! It is a very good idea to provide an opportunity for everyone to sit round the table together.

Interesting walk to an amazing bird sanctuary and monkey sanctuary provided exercise and entertainment." See all these reviews: 21n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Professor & Mrs M
UK

"Hog Hollow Country Lodge review"

4 nights Arrived 25 Feb 2017
"Hog Hollow was disappointing. The 'poor' rating reflects the fact that it isn't a cheap place to stay - similar in cost to Angala but not comparable in standard and not anywhere near as well looked after. The setting is stunning, but the lodge is let down by an apparent lack of maintenance and continual investment.

The chairs on the breakfast balcony were of the plastic garden variety, replaced during our stay by new Ikea - type plastic chairs, Our room was good internally and had a big balcony deck, which was spoilt as the trees in front were overgrown and obstructed the view. The only furniture on the very large deck was a small, worn and uncomforatble two seat garden 'sofa' (again rather like IKEA furniture). There was rubbish under the deck and a plastic bag caught in the tree in front of our balcony, possibly as a result of monkey mischief, but none of it was removed even after we told staff.

Some other people staying said it was 'lovely', others, like us, weren't impressed.

Four nights was too long for a stay here unless you wanted to visit rather artificial attractions such as monkey sanctuaries and 'elephant contact experiences' (we didn't)." See all these reviews: 18n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Poor

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Poor
Facilities:
Poor
Mr & Mrs V
Coulsdon

"Sociability encouraged at Hog Hollow"

3 nights Arrived 30 Oct 2016
"Just fabulous.

Walks nearby and so much else to do in this area. We planned to spend time in the nearby parks but the staff suggested other more entertaining options (boating on the Keurbooms!)

Staff great and so helpful. food excellent and a real effort to get the safari campfire feeling before the evening meal. Delightful room with amazing views." See all these reviews: 21n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Dr & Mrs S
Cheshire

"Hog Hollow Country Lodge review"

4 nights Arrived 8 Mar 2016
"Excellent location overlooking open countryside.

We very much enjoyed the communal evening dining. It was very nice to meet and talk with other guests.

Service was particularly good, even by South African standards

There are many steps throughout the property, and it is certainly not wheelchair friendly, and could be a problem for someone with limited mobility." See all these reviews: 12n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs AH
York

"Could be so much better"

3 nights Arrived 7 Feb 2016
"We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Hog Hollow. However the place was established over 20 years ago and the fabric and furnishing in the lodges was looking worn. The disappointing thing there was the view from our balconies. The shrubs and trees are so overgrown that there was virtually no outlook despite what their website "promised". When we commented to the manager on leaving it was made obvious that no action would be taken.

Such a disappointment as otherwise the place was excellent.

The locality around was good with lots to do and see." See all these reviews: 17n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Poor
Mr & Mrs S
Poppleton

"Hog Hollow Plettenberg."

3 nights Arrived 7 Feb 2016
"A good location with excellent staff. The rooms were good but in need of updating and the surrounding vegetation needed pruning to allow more light and visibility.

The safe was not usable as it wes not secured to the wall and despite reporting it it was not dealt with. Otherwise it was a pleasant stay and again the staff were very attentive.

A nice touch was the car was washed every morning as part of their service." See all these reviews: 17n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs F
Muswell Hi

"Hog Hollow Country Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 16 Nov 2015
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Ms & Mr T
London

"Hog Hollow Country Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 1 Jan 2015
"A different style again and a very lengthy reception. The lady in charge is a bit of a star, you do things her way which is fine but after a dusty drive, you'd like to have your room and a shower.

Once we got to the room, it was very pretty and nicely designed, getting a bit worn in places in the bathroom though.

Dinner was a scream as peoples food got mixed up but it sorted in the end. We slept well, breakfast was brilliant and we felt revived and really to push on." See all these reviews: 18n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 1-10 of 29
94%
29 reviews of Hog Hollow by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
23
5
0
1
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in South Africa

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in South Africa.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Tsitsikamma | Garden Route National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Storms River Restcamp

Storms River Restcamp

Storms River Mouth Restcamp, offers simple self-catering accommodation and a restaurant – with truly impressive views of the South African coastline; it is perfect for a stop along the Garden Route


76% (15 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa