This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr & Mrs S from Poppleton

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

8

Excursions taken

0

Our Jan 2016 SA Adventure

South Africa between 26 Jan 2016 and 16 Feb 2016

Trip rating: Excellent
"A great success. We were delighted with Expert Africa. ( as expected after our experience in Namibia five years ago ) and would have no hesitation in recommending you to anybody wishing a great experience in Africa.

Clair and Tracy were always Very helpful and catered for our every need. Our reservations about Mimosa Lodge were easily resolved and did not reflect adversely on Expert Africa or its employees.

All in all we were hugely satisfied with the whole trip. Thank you all for you expertise and hard work to give us a memorable holiday.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

No. Just keep up this standard."

Arranged By Claire Scott


Acorn House

Acorn House

"Acorn House Cape Town good."

5 nights Arrived 26 Jan 2016
"Excellent and very helpfully staff.

For a 5 day stay a slog hotly bigger room would have been better but the staff, service and food more than compensated for size of room."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
La Petite Ferme

La Petite Ferme

"La Petite Ferme in wine lands"

3 nights Arrived 31 Jan 2016
"Wonderful location, excellent suite and very helpful staff.

One dinner and three breakfasts were of a very high standard.

We would certainly go back."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Image alt

Mimosa Lodge

"Mimosa Montagu.."

2 nights Arrived 3 Feb 2016
"We were allocated very poor rooms -- one room did not have a window, only a glazed door to a patio occupied by workmen.

Initially the management were not prepared to make any changes but after a meeting with the owners we were given very good accommodation in their annex at the other side of the street. The owners were very understanding and resolved the issue.

The food in the restaurant was very good and among the best of our trip."
Average
Location
Good
Service
Good
Rooms
Average
Food
Excellent
Image alt

Oulap Country House, South Africa (this camp has since closed)

"Ou lap in the mountains.."

2 nights Arrived 5 Feb 2016
"A memorable highlight of our visit.

Our hosts were a joy to meet and excelled in every aspect of out two days with them. I have been communicating with Jans since our return and would certainly return to visit them and stay if they are still taking paying guests.

They were terrific!!!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Hog Hollow Country Lodge

Hog Hollow Country Lodge

"Hog Hollow Plettenberg."

3 nights Arrived 7 Feb 2016
"A good location with excellent staff. The rooms were good but in need of updating and the surrounding vegetation needed pruning to allow more light and visibility.

The safe was not usable as it wes not secured to the wall and despite reporting it it was not dealt with. Otherwise it was a pleasant stay and again the staff were very attentive.

A nice touch was the car was washed every morning as part of their service."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Average
Food
Excellent
Dune Beach House

Dune Beach House

"Dune by the Indian Ocean.."

2 nights Arrived 10 Feb 2016
"Stunning location above the beach with uninterrupted views of the ocean. The rooms well presented and everything worked.

The dining room on the first floor was a little stark but the food was very good.

The view alone would merit a return."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Schoone Oordt Country House

Schoone Oordt Country House

"Schoone Oordt Swellendam.."

3 nights Arrived 12 Feb 2016
"Yet again an excellent location and a restful visit after a busy tourin experience in South Africa.

Fidney, the Major Domo who met us on arrival could not have been more helpful and saw to our every need. The rest of the staff were equally helpful and here too we had our car washed daily!

Rooms were very good and it was an excellent base for visiting the De Hoop Nature Reservation.

It was the 'grandest' accommodation of our visit and an excellent end to our touring."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Four Rosmead

Four Rosmead

"Four Rosemead Cape Town."

1 night Arrived 15 Feb 2016
"Our last night in Cape Town. Again, like Acorn House, a good location in Cape Town.

Room was quite small but adequate for a one night stay. Staff were very helpful and held our luggage for the day before departing for the airport.

As with all the places we stayed the staff were a credit to the Country and we found this to be a fitting end to a wonderful holiday."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team