This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Acorn House

Reviews of Acorn House

Wildlife sightings and reviews

31 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Acorn House and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 1-10 of 31
Duration
Arrival date
Mr J
Hants

"Third stay at Acorn House - just perfect"

1 night Arrived 22 Oct 2018
"This was my third visit to Cape Town and Acorn House was the obvious choice again.

My son and wife have also stayed here. Lovely place, perfect location" See all these reviews: 11n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Ms M & Ms SP
Canada

"Acorn House"

4 nights Arrived 25 Jun 2018
"Nice people, very helpful and wanting us to have a good time in Cape Town.

Also great help with our first time using Uber. We had a lovely suite on the ground floor with access to the patio. What a lovely end to the trip. And no security fences Yeah!

Also liked the deli across the road. It became a little home from home. " See all these reviews: 8n in Botswana; 4n in South Africa; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms H & Mr S
CA

"Acorn House review"

4 nights Arrived 15 Sep 2017
"Pleasant stay in a quiet neighborhood." See all these reviews: 14n in Botswana; 5n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Average
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Mr & Mrs VanZylrus
UK

"Acorn Guesthouse review"

2 nights Arrived 1 Sep 2017
"Stayed here for two nights in a comfortable room with a view towards the city.

A very good and quiet unit on the wall provided the A/C & heating. Both were needed when we were there! Very friendly and attentive staff who were able to help with information.

The breakfast spread is very good with pancakes and delicious custard tart!

We were very happy here!
" See all these reviews: 7n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs C
Southwest USA

"Good location, wonderful staff"

5 nights Arrived 7 Jun 2017
"Great guesthouse - rooms were comfortable and upgraded.

Staff was awesome, and even made a birthday cupcake from scratch on 20 minutes notice for a member of our group!

Amazing - helpful with dinner reservations and other logistics. We were very happy here. " See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana; 5n in South Africa; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr T
Kew, London

"Excellent choice"

6 nights Arrived 15 Feb 2017
"Very happy with this choice of accommodation.

Good ground-floor family room with private patio. Very friendly and helpful staff. Excellent breakfasts.

Good restaurant recommendations." See all these reviews: 16n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs L
Oxon

"Great location for the city"

4 nights Arrived 11 Apr 2016
"We wanted to stay in Cape Town but also wanted a small personal guest house rather than a hotel. Acorn House did not disappoint. The welcome on arrival was lovely and throughout our stay the owner and staff made sure our trip was going to plan. They recommended and booked evening meals for us to our choice. We stayed for four nights which gave us the time to see the parts of Cape Town on our 'list' and leaves us with a few more for another trip.

We did use our car around the city as it is quite a walk - more on the way home than there (it's uphill) and easily found parking. Some guests didn't have a car but we were pleased we did as it meant we could get around at our pace/leisure rather than to an itinerary or a bus timetable.

That said where we used taxis they were reasonable." See all these reviews: 7n in Namibia; 5n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr S & Mrs G
Malaga

"Super B&B"

5 nights Arrived 9 Feb 2016
"We really liked our stay of 5 nights here.

Good, quiet location but not far away from Central Capetown. The staff were very nice, efficient and helpful in organising our activities and making restaurant bookings.

Highly recommended but best to have your own car." See all these reviews: 21n in Namibia; 5n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs S
Poppleton

"Acorn House Cape Town good."

5 nights Arrived 26 Jan 2016
"Excellent and very helpfully staff.

For a 5 day stay a slog hotly bigger room would have been better but the staff, service and food more than compensated for size of room." See all these reviews: 17n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs AH
York

"Excellent position - very helpful staff"

5 nights Arrived 26 Jan 2016
"We were happy with everything at Acorn House apart from the rooms being slightly small and the floor fan struggled to keep the room cool.

We highly recommend to others." See all these reviews: 17n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Showing 1-10 of 31
97%
31 reviews of Acorn House by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
28
2
1
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in South Africa

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in South Africa.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Cape Town

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Vineyard Hotel

Vineyard Hotel

In the quiet, leafy suburb of Newlands, the sophisticated Vineyard Hotel has close access to smart shops, sports facilities and the main sights of Cape Town.


93% (54 reviews)
Victoria & Alfred Hotel

Victoria & Alfred Hotel

The Victoria & Alfred Hotel is a pleasant place to stay whilst visiting Cape Town. It's located at one of the Cape's most visited destinations, Victoria & Alfred Waterfront.


95% (23 reviews)
The Constantia

The Constantia

The five-star Constantia is an elegant, country-style boutique hotel with well-appointed rooms, situated close to Cape Town’s attractions, five world-class wine estates and many superb restaurants.


98% (20 reviews)
Camps Bay Retreat

Camps Bay Retreat

Camps Bay Retreat is a peaceful sanctuary set in a lush green private reserve overlooking the sea, close to one of Cape Town's most desirable beachfront areas.


85% (15 reviews)
Four Rosmead

Four Rosmead

Four Rosmead is a comfortable, very friendly guest house located very close to the city centre and all its nearby attractions.


97% (12 reviews)
Long Beach

Long Beach

Located on one of Cape Town's best beaches, the Long Beach is a great place to relax and explore, although it is further from the city than many other hotels and guesthouses.


98% (10 reviews)
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront

Radisson Blu Waterfront

The Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront is located beside the Victoria & Alfred Waterfront and has great views of the Atlantic Ocean


95% (8 reviews)
Cape Grace

Cape Grace

The Cape Grace is set in the centre of Cape Town's Victoria and Alfred Waterfront. It's a perfect base for those wanting to be close to restaurants and shops.


100% (8 reviews)
Cellars-Hohenort

Cellars-Hohenort

Cellars Hohenort is a luxury hotel set in stunning gardens. Situated in the wine-growing Constantia Valley it is not far from many of Cape Town's attractions.


92% (5 reviews)
Hotel Verde

Hotel Verde

The contemporary and comfortable Hotel Verde, within a stone’s throw of Cape Town International Airport, has a strong focus on sustainability and the environment.


90% (4 reviews)
Bay Hotel

Bay Hotel

On the beachfront at Camps Bay, the Bay Hotel has luxury 5-star amenities, plus close access to one of Cape Towns best beaches as well as lots of restaurants, bars and nightlife.


80% (4 reviews)
Mount Nelson Hotel

Mount Nelson Hotel

Mount Nelson Hotel is Cape Town's oldest and most famous hotel. It's a place to be seen and the best address for a delicious afternoon tea.


100% (2 reviews)
Twelve Apostles

Twelve Apostles

The welcoming Twelve Apostles Hotel has a great location overlooking the ocean, just a short drive to the beach and restaurants of Camps Bay.


100% (1 review)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa