This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr & Mrs L from Oxon

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

4

Countries visited

4

Lodges stayed in

25

Excursions taken

0

Cape Town - Windhoek by road

Namibia and 1 other country between 10 Apr 2016 and 29 Apr 2016

Trip rating: Excellent
"This trip is one we have wanted to do for a while. We were invited to a wedding in Franschhoek which gave us the excuse to do it.

We had a good idea where we wanted to go, and Tracy very skilfully interpreted this and put the trip together for us - nowhere did it disappoint.

We would do it again at a different time of year - spring being the ideal time to see the Western and Northern Cape. We'd stay longer at Klein Aus.

If we hadn't been booked to come home, we could quite easily have spent a couple of days in Windhoek and readied ourselves to go in another direction...........hopefully there will be a next time."

Arranged By Tracy Lederer


Acorn House

Acorn House

"Great location for the city"

4 nights Arrived 11 Apr 2016
"We wanted to stay in Cape Town but also wanted a small personal guest house rather than a hotel. Acorn House did not disappoint. The welcome on arrival was lovely and throughout our stay the owner and staff made sure our trip was going to plan. They recommended and booked evening meals for us to our choice. We stayed for four nights which gave us the time to see the parts of Cape Town on our 'list' and leaves us with a few more for another trip.

We did use our car around the city as it is quite a walk - more on the way home than there (it's uphill) and easily found parking. Some guests didn't have a car but we were pleased we did as it meant we could get around at our pace/leisure rather than to an itinerary or a bus timetable.

That said where we used taxis they were reasonable."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Image alt

Avondrood

"Great Central location"

3 nights Arrived 15 Apr 2016
"Justine and his team were delightful hosts. The guest house is central and so walking into Franschhoek was really easy and safe. We had a standard room - well we'd have like to see the superior ones because ours was anything but standard - it was huge and perfect.

The gardens and view were lovely and we spent breakfasts outside + one afternoon just lazing by the pool. All very plush. It is a great place to relax and not necessarily 'do'"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Image alt

Yellow Aloe

"Central Clanwilliam"

2 nights Arrived 18 Apr 2016
"On our trip this was probably the only place we didn't take to completely - we were not quite sure who was running the place, if anyone and by the standards of everywhere else we stayed would only rate it as average. The rooms were fine, it was just the welcome and the food that was not up to the same standard we had everywhere else

Clanwilliam is an interesting place and we used it as a base to go up the Pakhuis pass and a walk focusing on Rock Art. Another time we would stay further south as the main Cederburg walking seems to be from Citrusdal. It's also a place to revisit in spring for the flowers- ooh another trip beckons"
Average
Location
Good
Service
Average
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Annie's Cottage

Annie's Cottage

"A good place to stop-over"

1 night Arrived 20 Apr 2016
"Annies Cottage is a quirky place in Springbok - which to be honest is a town with not a lot going on. The Goegap nature reserve that would have been good to visit was not possible as we were only there for one night and as we didn't arrive until mid afternoon it would have closed shortly after we got there. But it meant we enjoyed a relaxing afternoon on our terrace before going to the Tauren Steak Ranch which is a bit of an institution and great food/fun/atmosphere.

I would stop here again - but as a stop over again or in the spring season as a base to Namaqualand which is obviously their high season. The town has everything a town needs, lots of 'locals' come into town and it's a crossroads and was very good when we needed to get some medication.

Its a very Africaaner place - but generally we got on OK in English. Not many British go here, so most locals assumed we were German which was quite amusing.

The drive up from Clanwilliam was spectacular and on from there to Namibia - it would be worth going again just for this part of the trip."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Canyon Lodge

Canyon Lodge

"Great place to stay for the Fish River Canyon"

2 nights Arrived 21 Apr 2016
"We reached Canyon Lodge having driven up from South Africa, across the Orange River and onto the remotest road I have ever been on - so remote and deserted there are no fences lining the roads and in 100kms we saw one car. We fell back in love with Namibia instantly.

Canyon Lodge is excellent for viewing the Fish River Canyon. We drove ourselves at dawn (which meant we missed breakfast) and then came back to relax by the pool for the afternoon - we were the only people there and couldn't get enough of the view from it, We then went back to the Canyon for sunset - the entry fee is for 24 hours so we didn't have to pay again.

The gate to the Fish River Canyon doesn't open until 7am - but if you ask nicely the security guard will let you through as s long as you promise to pay on exit which meant we were at the viewpoint as the sun came up - not a difficult promise to make. We spent 3-4 hours wandering around the Canyon - we didn't have a 4*4 which meant we didn't try getting to Eagles Rock - we did get to Sulphur Springs and the Hikers viewpoint was great for sunset. When it is really hot in Namibia, you wouldn't want to go for sunset, but April was fine.

Two nights was essential - it meant we could also visit Ai-Ais. And as we left we also stopped off for a coffee in the Canon Roadhouse - another quirky place and well worth the break although it wasn't too far on the way of our drive for the day.

You could take part in activities organised by the lodge, but the reality is, not many do as most guests seem either to be driving themselves or arriving as part of a group who have organised their own activities. If we were staying another night we would have done one of the lodge walks - these are guided only and last around 3-4 hours. We just did the sundowner walk when we arrived, which is 10 minutes to a vantage point to see the sun set, and we were priviliedged to see the moon rise simultaneously"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Eagle's Nest

Eagle's Nest

"Wow - you must go here"

2 nights Arrived 23 Apr 2016
"We arrived late afternoon having ambled along from Canon Lodge - we loved the railway and were fortunate actually to see a train running so that took some photography time up. We also stopped at the Naute dam for a spot of lunch and bird-watching - an interesting change of vista from the arid landscape.

Eagles Nest is a gem. We ate at the lodge one evening as we had arrived too late to organise ourselves into Braai mode - but we did braai the second evening which seems to be the pattern of most.

We used this as a base for Kolmanskop, like most people which is just over an hour away. We timed our visit for gate open at 8am for the photographic opportunities and also to be there when it is even more deserted (i.e. before the coach tours pul in). We spent a happy morning there and then onto Luderitz for our picnic breakfast taken with us but eaten late.

We spent two nights at Eagle Nest and could easily have spent 4. There is self guided hiking and mountain bike riding available which we would have partaken. You could easily just sit on the veranda and watch the world go by - in this remotest of spots, it was amazing what did wander by...."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Tok Tokkie Trails

Tok Tokkie Trails

"The real desert"

2 nights Arrived 25 Apr 2016
"This was the real highlight of our trip.

Sebastian, our guide and his team are excellent at being host/guide/cook/waiter etc.. The walking was not arduous - we could have done a couple of days more. The beauty of the desert is breathtaking up close and on foot and a privilege to experience.

We can't recommend it highly enough."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Olive Grove

Olive Grove

"A fun place to end our holiday"

1 night Arrived 27 Apr 2016
"Windhoek was a bit of a culture shock having come from the desert - thankfully the Olive Grove is tucked in the back streets and not too lively.

The team here were great fun and obviously enjoyed working together and entertaining their guests - nothing was too much trouble. They are used to this being a first or last stop on a trip and as either a first or last impression of Namibia - they left us wanting to come back.

Our room was huge, really huge. The outside seating area very private although we sat by the pool on our last afternoon enjoying the sound of the water."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent

A truly memorable holiday

Zanzibar and 1 other country between 21 Aug 2013 and 7 Sep 2013

Trip rating: Excellent
"The whole trip was everything we wished. One item not mentioned is the transfers in Zanzibar - these were excellent and we loved being picked up each time by the same guide who went out of his way to ensure we had a good holiday, with tips of places to go and diversions along the way - he loves his island home and was a pleasure to share it with.

And thanks to Liz for putting the itinerary together with us - we will be back."

Arranged By Elizabeth Chapman


Shooting Star Lodge

Shooting Star Lodge

"Great place for a wedding"

4 nights Arrived 22 Aug 2013
"We stayed here as our son was getting married here - everything about it was lovely, very relaxed and welcoming, a place comfortable in its own skin and no pretensions. It has been open for quite a few years and now has a shabby chic look.

We stayed four nights and as this was the beginning of our holiday and also the wedding venue, we really didn't do much other than laze..... and walked along the beautiful beach, of course - and it is truly beautiful. The lodge has a small spa area, again another unpretentious place. The staff were very friendly and in all we felt very welcome and could have stayed longer.

The food was simple but very very good - octopus curry was the highlight"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Unguja Lodge

Unguja Lodge

"Life with monkeys"

3 nights Arrived 26 Aug 2013
"Another beach side lodge, very stylish and welcoming. We had a garden room with our own plunge pool. The space was fabulous and we sat there sometimes in preference to the public areas - unlike some hotel rooms were you fee hemmed in, this was spaciousness all round.

The staff were very welcoming and when one of us had an upset stomach they very happily cooked food to order and off menu and prepared special herbal teas. The monkeys around the lodge were fun and it was lovely to be in an environment which was as little untouched by the lodge as possible. The walk along the beach was great too, which is all we did, this being the relaxing part of our holiday.

We didn't really try the watersports on offer, but another time would do - they appeared well organised and cater for all ages and abilities"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Jafferji House

Jafferji House

"A short break in the city"

2 nights Arrived 29 Aug 2013
"We spent two nights here as we wanted to spend some time in Stone Town and doing it on a day trip from a beach lodge doesn't really work. We're glad we did as we enjoyed what the city has to offer, particularly Forodani Gardens in the evening.

The hotel was fine - a little impersonal for our taste and compared to the beach lodges on the island - we think we were the only guests on the nights we stayed so had no chance of interaction with fellow travellers and the staff albeit polite seemed to work to their formula rather than really listen to us - but this may just have been a language problem and didn't spoil our stay in any way.

Our room was lovely, and we were upgraded to one of the suites and the breakfasts were huge."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Average
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Lake Manze Adventure Camp

Lake Manze Adventure Camp

"Lake safari"

4 nights Arrived 31 Aug 2013
"This camp was everything we expected and more. We wanted remote bush atmosphere so lack of electricity and any sort of mobile phone signal and wifi throughout was great - the lodge has plenty of facility to recharge camera batteries which was all we needed.

We safaried on foot, by boat, by 4*4 and just by sitting on our veranda - all were breathtaking, but if we were to vote, the boat safari on Lake Manze was the winner - the boat guides were the best we had throughout our holiday - we could have sat and listened to them all day. Everyone is catered for as their requirements, no formula for time to go out or come back other than sunrise and sundown restrictions. The Masai escorts after dark added to the atmosphere as did the elephants munching around our tent on our last evening.

We would definitely return here."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Mwagusi Safari Camp

Mwagusi Safari Camp

"A dry safari"

3 nights Arrived 4 Sep 2013
"We enjoyed Mwagusi - it has the neat trick of mixing a few luxuries with a bush atmosphere.

The number of guests means you get really personal service from the guides - you made up your own itinerary and the guides responded.

The food was excellent, and the settings wonderful. We especially liked the bush breakfasts and the dining under the stars"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

When do we return

South Africa between 20 Dec 2009 and 4 Jan 2010

Trip rating: Excellent
"We had a fantastic holiday - lots of relaxing doing not a lot, some sightseeing and some days walking.. We achieved our aim of a hot Christmas and seeing some cricket abroad - A promising recipe to be repeated with or without the cricket.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

No - all was fine - if we had a glitches they were sorted out as we went along which is why we will use the company again - our holiday was trully tailor-made for us - thank you."

Arranged By Claire Scott


Image alt

Roggeland Country House, South Africa (this camp has since closed)

"A great place to start our holiday"

3 nights Arrived 21 Dec 2009
"We were greeted with, 'Hello, you must be Mike and Kaye, would you like a glass of wine ?' Welcome to South Africa where good food and wine abound.

The food and wine at Roggeland were delicious - we quickly discovered that to do lunch somewhere as well was totally unnecessary - not that we let that stop us.

The family were very welcoming and we enjoyed being out of town. However, in this bit of SA distances between places are not far and we easily explored the wine region , our hosts giving us some good ideas and directions of where to go including some great walking.

We loved the each evening's wiine tasting with dinner. One suggestion would be to leave us notes as to what we have drunk - we tasted so many what we did and didn't like (a relative term) became a bit of a blur."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Hog Hollow Country Lodge

Hog Hollow Country Lodge

"Christmas Day a dip in the pool"

4 nights Arrived 24 Dec 2009
"Hog Hollow was the most african of this trip - much of the Cape and Garden route are more European than african, so we were delighted to be here. The staff were very attentive and their ability to remember each guest's name simply amazing.

The whole team wanted their guests to enjoy not only their stay at Hog Hollow but also the surrounding area - great emphasis was spent each morning to help us with plans, provide us with maps, directions, picnics, sun umbrellas - what ever they knew we may need. They also helped us get off the tourist route which is difficult on the Garden Route at Christmas - again great walking country.

The rooms are delightful - we couldn't decide whether to sit in the hammock, the beanbag or the sofa. We loved the provision of a CD player and the wide open doors - these were fun as you couldn't leave them open for too long without the Monkey's arriving - one tried to come in whilst we were showering !! And if its a bit chilly, which it wasn't for us - you could light your own fire - how romantic is that.

The grounds are delightul but beware if you are a little unsteady on your feet - there are some steep paths. not a problem for us, but could be for some.

The food was good but not excellent - as it was Christmas we stayed in every night but another time we may try some other local places. We enjoyed the dining arrangements being all around one table but it is reliant on fellow travellers enjoying it too for good conversation. We were lucky and had good company most evenings."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Image alt

Klippe Rivier Country House, South Africa (this camp has since closed)

"A little gem in a quiet backwater"

2 nights Arrived 28 Dec 2009
"Klippe Rivier and Swellendam were a delight. We stayed two nights as we didn't want any one night stops and it was definitely the right decision. Swellendam itself is a delightful town but for us the attraction was some fantastic walking in the Langeberg Mountains. The whole Overberg is an area we would like to return to to explore more - its not very touristy but the welcome to tourists is fabulous.

Klippe Rivier was delightful but lacked a little soul - each morning and evening there was a different person in charge so that little bit of personal touch seemed missing. Nevertheless the food was excellent and great value although with hindsight we wished we'd tried one of the places in town when we were the only people in on our second night. The rooms too were great - a feature of our holiday was that our room got bigger each time we moved on. The staff were very helpful when discussing where to go/what to do."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Long Beach

Long Beach

"A perfect end to our holiday"

4 nights Arrived 30 Dec 2009
"Long Beach is special. We have only once before experienced staff who are three steps ahead of you ALL the time. For example, We were concerned that on our last day (watching the cricket) we would like a shower before flying home - Hayley organised us a roon in a sister hotel for an hour, we didn't even ask, she just sorted it - that's service.

Long Beach is a place to relax - you can go into town (45 min drive) or go down the cape (45 moin drive other direction) or just wander along the beach - perfect for a hangover on New Year's Day. You can go without a car very easily too as Long Beach has its own vehicle and driver who is happy to take you anywhere you want to go - another great feature of the relaxing atmosphere.

We were surpised children were welcome - for small ones and teenagers there really is nothing to do for them and the place and atmosphere means parents had to be vigilant in keeping kids quiet so as not to disturb those of us who had left our kids at home.

We will definitely return here and recommend it to everyone."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Please can we go again

Namibia between 9 May 2008 and 25 May 2008

Trip rating: Excellent
"We didn't want to come home, we want to go back, we already have ideas and have started saving - what more can we say.

Things we'd do differently - put in a three night stay somewhere. We were really please only to be staying one night in Swakopmund, it was definitely out of season.

Something to consider is to take Air Nambia flight home to Europe (Frankfurt) and do hop to UK from there rather than Windhoek/Jo'burg/Home. Gives a longer last day and the Air Namibia flight was nicer.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

We found the service very personal - it took sometime to sort but was well worth it in the end - this is one of your strengths as a company because you do care where your customers go, don't lose sight of this."

Erongo Wilderness Lodge

Erongo Wilderness Lodge

"Erongo Wilderness Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 10 May 2008
"We all loved Erongo. We arrived in Namibia at 7.30 in the morning and by 2.45 were in Erongo - wow - what a welcome to the country. we were told, 'Have a drink, sundowners are at..... dinner is at...... walking tomorrow if you fancy it is at....... or you can just sit and do nothing, please jst enjoy Erongo, and we did.

We stayed two nights, we could have stayed more. An excellent place to start or finish a holiday and we also met resident Namibians who went ot Erongo to recharge their batteries.

Don't miss it but also don't be tempted to overnight here, you need two days at least, stay and linger....."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Onguma Tree Top Camp

Onguma Tree Top Camp

"Onguma Tree Top review"

2 nights Arrived 12 May 2008
"A special place, one not to rush, stay and savour........ and the food is excellent. Mike wanted to stay and have the chef's job.

The empahsis is on what you want but also on a very subtle persuasion to sit a while, take their advice, listening to birdsong all afternoon is theraputic. And a special thanks to JJ - a true pro."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Ongava Lodge

Ongava Lodge

"Ongava Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 14 May 2008
"We only stayed one night here and it was therefore difficult to do it justice. Added to this that we have a friend who lives on the reserve who entertained us to a game drive second to none and it is diffcult to give general feedback.

If there is one criticism it is that we felt the atmosphere was a bit corporate but who are we to complain when each lodge has his and hers wash basins and showers + the outside bush shower - in one night it was difficult to try it all out.

Breakfast and we saw Kudu, Giraffe, Zebra and springbik as they wandered by the waterhole - beats the M25 everytime."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Average
Facilities
Excellent
Etendeka Mountain Camp

Etendeka Mountain Camp

"Etendeka Mountain Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 15 May 2008
"A split opinion on this one. Two of our party would have liked a little more comfort, two of us just absolutely loved the remoteness of this place and the sensitive way the place is run in the surroundings - run by two families we felt very welcome.

It is not an easy place to live, but to share it for a time a priviledge. It will be interesting to see how they develop the reserve whilst maintaining its integrity.

To see the game trully in the wild, not in a reserve was wonderful - thank you to the elephant who wandered by and the zebra who were in their own heaven as the grass was so good - but beware the lions will be back."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Mowani Mountain Camp

Mowani Mountain Camp

"Mowani Mountain Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 17 May 2008
"Mike and I are getting married this year - Mowani would be the perfect place if we hadn't already booked somewhere closer to home.

The sundowner view with bar was probably the best of our holiday and tracking the desert elephants with a guide who knew his craft was trully fantastic - it took 4 hours to find them but it was well worth it and also made us realise you do have to find them"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Sam's Giardino

Sam's Giardino

"Sam's Giardino review"

1 night Arrived 19 May 2008
"We needed a stopping off point - Sam's was ideal in a cold and wet Swakopmund out of season - you seriously do not need too much time on the coast in the middle of winter wherever in the world you are.

Sam's is a garden havem, so different from everywhere else we went but lovely nevertheless."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Kulala Desert Lodge

Kulala Desert Lodge

"Kulala Desert Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 20 May 2008
"Another beautiful place and we met the man who originally built it when we did a balloon ride.

The ladies singing in the kitchen was wonderful and encapsulated this place - it had a family community atmosphere where all the staff looked after us and each other. It is remote, and there is still a drive to the dunes which if you have the legs you must climb, do as the locals do and go barefoot.

The food was excellent and you can't but admire the staff who make sure you have breakfsted before dawn as you go out to see the sun rise.

Climb a dune - hard work especially for the heavier guys but the views from the top are stunning and the run down just the biggest laugh. This is a beautiful place and one of the reasons we went to Namibia in the first place and it didn't disappoint. Brunch in Soussevlei was a perfect end to the trip."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Barkhan Dune Retreat

Barkhan Dune Retreat

"Barchan Dune Retreat review"

2 nights Arrived 22 May 2008
"A real gem. This is a small little known place, originally a farm, they are now farming tourists !!

The walking here is fabulous and as was the welcome. Dinner was dinner party style and great fun. Little attentions to detail were really appreciated - I made a passing comment that a beer for lunch would be lovely and at lunchtime, it duly appeared, no further prompting.

Coffee left on our individual terraces at dawn was extremely special and most so on our last monring in Namibia as we watched sunrise and realised sadly we were on our way home. The two meerkats captured our hearts too - real characters, they came on a walk with us."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team