This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Long Beach
Long Beach
Long Beach
Long Beach

Reviews of Long Beach

Wildlife sightings and reviews

9 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Long Beach and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 1-9 of 9
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs S
Bristol

"The Last Word Long Beach"

2 nights Arrived 21 Feb 2018
"Our third stay at a Last Word this trip and our first at this location.

It was wonderful! Fantastic view and beach which was perfect for walking along.

The pool was warm unlike the ocean!!" See all these reviews: 8n in South Africa; 4n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs D
Shropshire

"Long Beach review"

6 nights Arrived 19 Feb 2018
"Everything about Long Beach was excellent.

The service and friendliness of the staff second to none and the location superb. " See all these reviews: 17n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr G
Torquay

"High standard and great location"

3 nights Arrived 9 Oct 2016
"The views over the bay towards the back of Table Mountain from our sea-facing balcony were superb.

The room was spacious and modern and the staff could not be more friendly and helpful.

The directions to the hotel were out of date and caused us some confusion. We were told to look out for a speed hump and gravel road, but these have gone and been replaced by a tarmac road all the way to the hotel gate." See all these reviews: 13n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Mrs & Mr W
Dorset

"The Perfect End to our Holiday."

4 nights Arrived 3 Nov 2015
"We had set our heart on this hotel and it did not disappoint us! on entry we were greeted by a huge picture window overlooking a turquoise sea and silver beach with Table Mountain in the far distance - unbelievable! Again our room was huge, well-appointed, light and airy. Again the breakfasts were delicious, the treats tempting and the staff delightful and helpful, perhaps even more than the other Last Word hotels - if that's possible!

Fanie was particularly helpful on arrival and it was great to be able to chat so easily to Jennifer. The two meals that we ate at Long Beach were a treat and considering their small kitchen they performed miracles! It is a delight not to have to venture out again at the end of a day and to have staff determined to make your evening meal special.

The huge picture window and the balcony beyond were a perfect spot for whale watching. Considering how excited all the guests were when the whales were spotted, it was a shame that there was not a member of staff who could help identify them and give us a bit more information - perhaps it's worth a bit of training for next whale season!" See all these reviews: 17n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs P
Twickenham

"Long Beach review"

4 nights Arrived 23 Feb 2013
"See before [Ed: see below for an earlier visit here in this same holiday.]" See all these reviews: 13n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Mr & Mrs P
Twickenham

"Long Beach review"

6 nights Arrived 7 Feb 2013
"As ever quite outstanding; well looked by welcoming staff, a marvellous room with views across sandy beaches to Hout Bay, and lots of sun!

Don't tell too many others!" See all these reviews: 13n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mrs J
Evesham

"Long Beach review"

2 nights Arrived 10 Jan 2013
"A lovely situation overlooking Long Beach and with tremendous views towards Table Mountain - a really good place to finish and unwind before our journey home. The staff were very helpful and extremely kind and considerate.

We would definitely go back" See all these reviews: 2n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs L
Oxon

"A perfect end to our holiday"

4 nights Arrived 30 Dec 2009
"Long Beach is special. We have only once before experienced staff who are three steps ahead of you ALL the time. For example, We were concerned that on our last day (watching the cricket) we would like a shower before flying home - Hayley organised us a roon in a sister hotel for an hour, we didn't even ask, she just sorted it - that's service.

Long Beach is a place to relax - you can go into town (45 min drive) or go down the cape (45 moin drive other direction) or just wander along the beach - perfect for a hangover on New Year's Day. You can go without a car very easily too as Long Beach has its own vehicle and driver who is happy to take you anywhere you want to go - another great feature of the relaxing atmosphere.

We were surpised children were welcome - for small ones and teenagers there really is nothing to do for them and the place and atmosphere means parents had to be vigilant in keeping kids quiet so as not to disturb those of us who had left our kids at home.

We will definitely return here and recommend it to everyone." See all these reviews: 8n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs P
Twickenham

"Long Beach review"

4 nights Arrived 30 Jan 2009
"Although basically a B&B they now offer dinner. As ever absolutely excellent and we cannot think of any adverse criticism." See all these reviews: 6n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Showing 1-9 of 9
100%
9 reviews of Long Beach by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
9
0
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in South Africa

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in South Africa.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Cape Town

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Vineyard Hotel

Vineyard Hotel

In the quiet, leafy suburb of Newlands, the sophisticated Vineyard Hotel has close access to smart shops, sports facilities and the main sights of Cape Town.


93% (54 reviews)
Acorn House

Acorn House

Against the awe-inspiring backdrop of Table Mountain, Acorn House offers a traditional guesthouse welcome in a historic setting.


97% (31 reviews)
Victoria & Alfred Hotel

Victoria & Alfred Hotel

The Victoria & Alfred Hotel is a pleasant place to stay whilst visiting Cape Town. It's located at one of the Cape's most visited destinations, Victoria & Alfred Waterfront.


95% (23 reviews)
The Constantia

The Constantia

The five-star Constantia is an elegant, country-style boutique hotel with well-appointed rooms, situated close to Cape Town’s attractions, five world-class wine estates and many superb restaurants.


98% (20 reviews)
Camps Bay Retreat

Camps Bay Retreat

Camps Bay Retreat is a peaceful sanctuary set in a lush green private reserve overlooking the sea, close to one of Cape Town's most desirable beachfront areas.


85% (15 reviews)
Four Rosmead

Four Rosmead

Four Rosmead is a comfortable, very friendly guest house located very close to the city centre and all its nearby attractions.


97% (12 reviews)
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront

Radisson Blu Waterfront

The Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront is located beside the Victoria & Alfred Waterfront and has great views of the Atlantic Ocean


95% (8 reviews)
Cape Grace

Cape Grace

The Cape Grace is set in the centre of Cape Town's Victoria and Alfred Waterfront. It's a perfect base for those wanting to be close to restaurants and shops.


100% (8 reviews)
Cellars-Hohenort

Cellars-Hohenort

Cellars Hohenort is a luxury hotel set in stunning gardens. Situated in the wine-growing Constantia Valley it is not far from many of Cape Town's attractions.


92% (5 reviews)
Bay Hotel

Bay Hotel

On the beachfront at Camps Bay, the Bay Hotel has luxury 5-star amenities, plus close access to one of Cape Towns best beaches as well as lots of restaurants, bars and nightlife.


80% (4 reviews)
Hotel Verde

Hotel Verde

The contemporary and comfortable Hotel Verde, within a stone’s throw of Cape Town International Airport, has a strong focus on sustainability and the environment.


90% (4 reviews)
Mount Nelson Hotel

Mount Nelson Hotel

Mount Nelson Hotel is Cape Town's oldest and most famous hotel. It's a place to be seen and the best address for a delicious afternoon tea.


100% (2 reviews)
Twelve Apostles

Twelve Apostles

The welcoming Twelve Apostles Hotel has a great location overlooking the ocean, just a short drive to the beach and restaurants of Camps Bay.


100% (1 review)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa