This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr & Mrs S from Bristol

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

6

Countries visited

5

Lodges stayed in

18

Excursions taken

0

60th Birthday escape

South Africa and 1 other country between 10 Feb 2018 and 24 Feb 2018

Trip rating: Excellent
"Perfect. Has taken away the pain of growing old!!"

Arranged By Claire Scott


The Elephant Camp

The Elephant Camp

"Elephant Camp Safari"

4 nights Arrived 11 Feb 2018
"We went canoing on the Zambezi, had a sunset boat trip, a sundowner with a view, walked with their Cheetah and met the elephants. Each event was magnificant!

The setting of the lodge is perfect as were the food and drinks."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
The Constantia

The Constantia

"The Last Word Constantia"

2 nights Arrived 15 Feb 2018
"Our third visit here. As excellent as ever.

Advised on splendid restauraunts.

We hope to return!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
The Last Word Franschhoek

The Last Word Franschhoek

"The Last Word Franschoek"

2 nights Arrived 17 Feb 2018
"Our second visit here and as splendid as ever.

Great advice about activities and restaurants.

We will return if we can!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Galenia Estate

Galenia Estate

"Galenia Estate"

2 nights Arrived 19 Feb 2018
"Wonderful location, with great views and activities.

Fantastic dining in their restaurant and also in room.

The dams were empty because of the drought so no birds to be seen from the hide, but plenty when walking on the trails.

We will return when the dams are full again!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Long Beach

Long Beach

"The Last Word Long Beach"

2 nights Arrived 21 Feb 2018
"Our third stay at a Last Word this trip and our first at this location.

It was wonderful! Fantastic view and beach which was perfect for walking along.

The pool was warm unlike the ocean!!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

February 2017 Cape Town

South Africa between 21 Feb 2017 and 6 Mar 2017

Trip rating: Excellent
"Excellent. We booked late but Claire did as well as ever with accommodating our traveling wishes. Thank you"

Arranged By Claire Scott


The Constantia

The Constantia

"The Constantia"

3 nights Arrived 22 Feb 2017
"It is the 'Last Word' in relaxed luxury! As brilliant as last year and we will return as often as we can"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Farmhouse Hotel

Farmhouse Hotel

"Farmhouse Hotel"

2 nights Arrived 25 Feb 2017
"Lovely old characterful building in a great location for the West Coast National park."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
The Last Word Franschhoek

The Last Word Franschhoek

"Franschoek"

2 nights Arrived 27 Feb 2017
"Another 'Last Word' in relaxed luxury in a tremendous location. We will return again if possible!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
De Hoop Opstal

De Hoop Opstal

"Do Hoop Opstal"

2 nights Arrived 1 Mar 2017
"A lovely self catering cottage in a superb site in the park. Couldn't be bettered for scenery and game."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Image alt

Twelve Apostles

"Twelve Apostles"

3 nights Arrived 3 Mar 2017
"A splendid hotel in a tremendous location with terrace views to die for, but slightly more 'corporate' than we usually choose."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good

New Year 2017

Zanzibar and 1 other country between 22 Dec 2016 and 4 Jan 2017

Trip rating: Excellent
"If the rest of the year is that good, it will be a good one!!"

Unguja Lodge

Unguja Lodge

"Unguja Lodge. S.W Zanzibar coast"

5 nights Arrived 29 Dec 2016
"Wonderful lodge accommodation and fine dining.
They gave us a truly memorable New Year's Eve party!
Excellent access to the airport and Jozani forest minimizing transfer times.
Wonderful Sunset Dhow sail and excursion by dhow to sand bar for lunch via snorkeling site.
The only downside is that the fringing reef is so degraded by over fishing that the diving was disappointing. Not their fault, just how it is."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
The Emakoko

The Emakoko

"Emakoko. A jewel lodge in Nairobi Park!"

1 night Arrived 3 Jan 2017
"Stunning lodge 45 minutes from airport via a game drive in Nairobi Park where we saw Rhino, lion and herbivores on our route out!
Excellent food and drink.
Excellent rooms.
If we had known it was so good we would have stayed longer, not just an overnight stop between flights form Zanzibar to UK!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

March 10 days in the Cape

South Africa between 4 Mar 2016 and 15 Mar 2016

Trip rating: Excellent
"Expert Africa triumph again!

Our remit was flora and landscape which we got brilliantly, but we never expected such luxury and fine dining. Many thanks for all you have done to make our short stay so wonderful and memorable.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

I didn't really use the brochure much and the web site not at all, as your team is always so well informed that we took their advice and you came up trumps again!"

Arranged By Claire Scott


The Constantia

The Constantia

"Cape Town Constantia - Superb"

3 nights Arrived 5 Mar 2016
"So well looked after especially the champagne in our breakfast picnic hamper for our trip to Cape Peninsular.

We were booked into fabulous restaurants each night."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Le Quartier Francais

Le Quartier Francais

"Le Quartier Francais"

2 nights Arrived 8 Mar 2016
"Expert Africa pre booked the Tasting Room for us. What an evening and such an event.

Wonderful hotel in a wonderful place"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Emily Moon River Lodge

Emily Moon River Lodge

"Emily Moon"

3 nights Arrived 10 Mar 2016
"Fantastic throughout for location, view, comfort, dining, service, activities and the superb Pizza bar for watching the rugby!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Grootbos Forest Lodge

Grootbos Forest Lodge

"Grootbos"

2 nights Arrived 13 Mar 2016
"Another wonderful lodge with fantastic views, dining, activities and rooms beyond expectation.

We looked in on the 'garden lodge' on leaving and will have a difficult choice if we return."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Xmas and New year 2013/14

Tanzania between 21 Dec 2013 and 4 Jan 2014

Trip rating: Excellent
"We organized our own safari in Kenya staying at 'Topi House' in the Massi Mara as we have done on 2 previous occasions.

Claire organized all other parts of our trip around this, and she could not have done better. The flights and transfers left us the with the maximum possible time at Pole Pole so we had 6 nights 7 lunches! Where else do we want to be spending our time?! Thank you very much."

Arranged By Claire Scott


Pole Pole

Pole Pole

"Pole Pole : beyond brilliant!"

5 nights Arrived 30 Dec 2013
"6 days at Pole Pole over New Year 2014. The best way ever to bring in a New Year. Wonderful new year party arranged on the beach brought the new year in in memorable style.

Superb food. Local fresh fish with every meal and they catered for my non fish eating son seamlessly.
Superb complementary outings arranged daily i.e snorkelling +/- picnic lunch / sunset dhow rides.

Next door is an excellent diving operation 'Mafia Island diving'. They recognized our names from our trip in 2013, and so kept places assuming we were still keen ++ divers. We had not pre-booked so without this we would have had problems as the season was so busy. Typical of the detail that they look after us with.

We went on a Whale Shark snorkeling trip with Kitue Kiblu as advised by Mafia Diving. It was a totally professional organization so well worth paying the extra over the local guides. The experience was truly awesome. They are magnificent creatures and the contact was long and detailed even though we felt like Jonah for much of the time!

This experience was 100 USD per person, and they only take cash, so it would have been helpful to budget for this before departure. Fortunately Pole Pole accepts tips in Sterling otherwise we would have had a cash crisis. All other add-on's use Visa cards."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Pole Pole 3-8th September

Tanzania between 3 Sep 2012 and 8 Sep 2012

Trip rating: Excellent
"Superb and needs to be repeated!"

Arranged By Elizabeth Chapman


Pole Pole

Pole Pole

"5 days at Pole Pole"

5 nights Arrived 4 Sep 2012
"Brilliant.
We went for relaxation and diving. Both parts were superb, but the highlight was whale watching up close in a Dow and then having a private lunch on a sand bank!
Can't imagine a better time for any of us.
Can't wait for the time for all of us to return!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team