This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Grootbos Forest Lodge
Grootbos Forest Lodge
Grootbos Forest Lodge
Grootbos Forest Lodge
Grootbos Forest Lodge
Grootbos Forest Lodge
Grootbos Forest Lodge

Grootbos Forest Lodge


34°32’58.8"S 19°24’48.8"E

Reviews of Forest Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

7 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Forest Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Feb-2019, 3 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Forest Lodge .
Leopard

0% success

Aardvark

0% success

Showing 1-7 of 7
Duration
Arrival date
Mr&Mrs LS
Oxfordshire

"Incredible stay at Grootbos Forest Lodge"

2 nights Arrived 9 Jan 2020
"Well what can we say? This was an amazing experience and wish we had stayed longer.

The breathtaking views of the coastline across Walker Bay from reception was a real WOW factor on arrival. Everything about this place exceeded all expectations. The Lodge was beautifully furnished and equipped, amazing bathroom with fabulous views of the ocean. Lots of space. The staff were all so friendly and hospitable. The food from breakfast to dinner was wonderful as was the wine.

We really only had time for one activity so chose the Reserve Drive with Rouwen who was very experienced and passionate about the fynbos and we were amazed at bow many specimens of flora and fauna were to be found there including some species of plants and insects which were unique to the reserve. He showed us the farm and Community project which helps to educate and motivate young people to go on and do other things to improve their future. We met one of the Etymologists, Gary, who really blew our minds about the number of insects the team had discovered which were unique to the Reserve.

An amazing, relaxing experience which we shall certainly consider doing again - for longer." See all these reviews: 13n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs M
France

"Grootbos Forest Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 8 Feb 2019
"A wonderful place. Great position , things to do and wonderful caring staff. Could not be better." See all these reviews: 17n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs L
Frodsham

"Location, location, location!"

3 nights Arrived 5 Feb 2019
"We arrived late evening, in the dark, after a very smooth transfer from Cape Town airport. We were greeted with huge smiles, champagne and such warmth. It is the first time that we have ever arrived at a hotel and been told that 'there was no need to complete the paperwork, its late you must be tired, we can do it in the morning'....very refreshing! We were shown to our beautifully appointed, immaculately clean lodge and slept so well in the sumptuously comfortable bed.

The real shock came the next morning when we opened our blinds and saw the view from our floor to ceiling windows.
The wide sweep of a pristine Walker Bay stretched out in front of us - acres of white sand, soaring cliffs and all with a background of misted mountains - awesome!

Our three nights here were fabulous, nothing was too much trouble - the staff could not have been more welcoming or helpful and went above and beyond to accommodate our every wish. Stefan the manager always seemed to be around - not sure when he slept, but he was exceptional - making all the guests feel so welcome with drinks, chats, advice and information when required. The food and wine here were of a very high standard and always served with a smile. Our only slight negative is that the design of the restaurant needs to incorporate some 'warmth' in it's decor - it felt almost like a cafeteria, though this was only apparent in the evening for dinner. Having said that, on a warm evening the restaurant's outdoor terrace was always an option and is brilliantly positioned to watch the amazing sunsets!

Our stay here was a really wonderful five star experience!





" See all these reviews: 6n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs B
Winchester

"Grootbos Forest Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 16 Feb 2018
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs S
Bristol

"Grootbos"

2 nights Arrived 13 Mar 2016
"Another wonderful lodge with fantastic views, dining, activities and rooms beyond expectation.

We looked in on the 'garden lodge' on leaving and will have a difficult choice if we return." See all these reviews: 10n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Miss T & Mr H
UK

"A biosphere of perfection"

3 nights Arrived 14 Dec 2015
"Just perfect.

Beautiful location, wonderful knowledgable and friendly staff who really make the Lodge come to life, Great range of activities and places to just relax.

The food is fresh,varied and delicious. The rooms all have wonderful views and are so spacious. This was our second visit in two years and the Lodge is growing in strength. It does fantastic work within the community.

We just need to go back in July one year to see the fynbos in all its glory." See all these reviews: 3n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr N & Ms S
Zambia

"Top notch lodge"

3 nights Arrived 28 Oct 2015
"Grootbos Forest Lodge is one of the best run and most comfortable lodges we have stayed at during our 19 vacations in Africa.

We went there primarily for whale watching and found it to be the most convenient jumping off point for boats going out from Gansbaii, with transport arrangements to and from smoothly run by the lodge itself. For those who may not fancy the boat, the lodge ensures plenty of opportunities for excellent whale watching from the cliffs just ten minutes or so drive away.

We also greatly enjoyed and learned much from other activities - the fynbos drive and bird, cave and beach walks. Furthermore, the 90 minutes or so we spent finding out about the work of the Grootbos Foundation with the excellent Chunami (who guided us well on other activities too) was fascinating.

We were equally impressed with the dining - and the wine list. And the quality of service indoors was the equal of that which goes with the outdoor activities." See all these reviews: 10n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 1-7 of 7
100%
7 reviews of Forest Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
7
0
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in South Africa

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in South Africa.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Grootbos Private Nature Reserve

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Grootbos Garden Lodge

Garden Lodge

The Garden Lodge at Grootbos is a high-quality retreat in this fascinating, well-cared-for reserve which caters as well to families with young children as it does for couples and small groups.


97% (14 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa