This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Grootbos Garden Lodge
Grootbos Garden Lodge
Grootbos Garden Lodge
Grootbos Garden Lodge
Grootbos Garden Lodge

Grootbos Garden Lodge


34°32’24.2"S 19°24’46.1"E

Reviews of Garden Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

14 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Garden Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jan-2020, 1 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Garden Lodge.
Leopard

0% success

Aardvark

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 14
Duration
Arrival date
Mrs D Newport
UK

"Very relaxing "

2 nights Arrived 7 Jan 2020
"What a lovely view from the lodge!

We enjoyed many of the activities that the lodge provided, including the walks and the horse riding which was in beautiful part of the estate. Excellent guides.

We felt that they were possibly trying too hard with the food, some of which didn’t quite live up to expectations." See all these reviews: 8n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr T & Mrs M
Newmarke

"Grootbos Garden Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 16 Feb 2017
"This was one of our favourite stops. Absolute luxury, once again, with food that would be the envy of a Michelin-star restaurant! Our guide was particularly adept at imparting his knowledge of the local fynbos and coastal ecology, about which he was clearly passionate. We really enjoyed the varied activities that were specific to this location." See all these reviews: 21n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs V
Coulsdon

"Great guide at Grootbos"

2 nights Arrived 26 Oct 2016
"The Forest Lodge dining area had burnt down and was being refurbished. Consequently our room was at the Forest Lodge and we were bussed to and from the Garden Lodge for meals. This sounds awful but it worked really well, as the Garden Lodge was too child friendly for our liking and the Forest Lodge was peaceful and the rooms were superb!

But the real star was our guide Aneke, who knew everything there was to know about the Fynbos! (and also found us the only 2 whales in the area!) The drives and walks with her were lovely, the rooms were great as was the food." See all these reviews: 21n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs & Mr W
Dorset

"Amazingly comfortable and keen to help"

3 nights Arrived 21 Oct 2015
"It was a delight to have a few days here. The room and its outlook over the estate to the sea beyond (about a mile) was lovely. Everything was in tip-top condition and the staff were very much on the ball. Everything we had in the restaurant was excellent, well presented, and well served. We were also well looked after in the room; 10 out of 10 for service.

We thoroughly enjoyed the provided activities (with every attention to detail provided again). They are not adrenalin kicks, but gentle and well-paced. If I was to be critical at this point, I'd say that we could have had more in-depth information about whales or fynbos or archaeology. It was a bit sketchy.

Highlights were watching whales both from shore and sea. I enjoyed a look at the fynbos, and a go at horseriding." See all these reviews: 17n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs C
Golden CO

"Culinary Delight with a Spectacular View"

2 nights Arrived 16 Jul 2015
"Grootbos Garden Lodge was exquisite. The rooms were spacious and comfortable. The staff was very accommodating and helpful. The local guiding was cheerful and knowledgeable. And the cuisine was simply outstanding.

We enjoyed the archeology and the views from the Klipgat Cave tour, watching southern right whales in Walker Bay, as well as the natural fynbos vegetation and gardens around the lodge.

A storm system made a windy mess of our plans to be out on the water and generally shut down all activities around the game reserve. Based on our interests, the staff recommended a two hour drive out to Cape Agulhas, the southernmost point of Africa. It is not a standard recommendation as it makes for a long day trip, but it was a way to make lemonade out of a day of lemons.

We were able to get in a morning shark cage dive on our departure day. Groobos staff kindly held our bags, let us shower and fed us a fabulous lunch even though the dive ran well past check out time.

Grootbos was a fantastic finale to our African safari adventure." See all these reviews: 9n in Zambia; 7n in Tanzania; 6n in Botswana; 3n in Zanzibar; 2n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms H & Family
Roke

"Fabulous stay at Grootbos Private Reserve"

3 nights Arrived 14 Apr 2014
"We LOVE Grootbos! It's a stunning place. This was our second visit and we wouldn't hesitate to go back again.

It's one of the top lodges in South Africa - even though it doesn't have a single one of the big five. What is does have is a fabulous setting above Walker Bay, lovely fynbos surrounding it, fantastic guides and staff and some of the best food we have ever eaten in the whole world (and we have been to lots of places). The Garden Lodge we stayed in was huge (two floors, two bathrooms, kitchenette, two sun decks, open fire....). We just loved it all.

We did lots of the same things we did on our last visit - horse riding, fynbos safari, visiting the caves, walk along the beach. We also did the social responsibility tour which was truly inspiring. Jo, Dickson, Anecke and Princess were all fabulous. And the kids activities were great (its not why we go but our youngest loved it this year). Definitely a top place to stay.

If there was a six star rating for such places they would get it easily." See all these reviews: 12n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr Z & Ms D
Vancouver

"wonderful"

3 nights Arrived 23 Sep 2013
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs & Mr P
Essex

"Good whale watching at Grootbos"

2 nights Arrived 8 Aug 2013
"We were disappointed on arrival to find we had been moved from our preferred Forest Lodge to the Garden Lodge, especially as our room was one at the lowest level of the garden and therefore did not have the same wide view of the bay.

However we had a really good 4x4 safari in the fynbos with an excellent guide whose enthusiasm for the plants and birds was infectious. We were also lucky to be there on a day when the weather conditions encouraged a large number of whales into the bay, a number of which were within metres of the rocks so we were able to end our wildlife spotting trip with some very good whale watching.

The food was excellent and the room comfortable." See all these reviews: 11n in Botswana; 5n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms H & Family
Roke

"Grootbos Private Nature Reserve review"

2 nights Arrived 2 Apr 2013
"We thought Grootbos was FABULOUS! From are Garden Lodge which was huge to the activities which were well-organised to the great meals.

All the staff were really helpful and hospitable and the activities were brilliant - even our youngest loved the Fynbos safari with Jo as our guide (she was great).We could have stayed longer! If we go again we would spend less time in Cape Town (2 nights rather than 4) and more time here (4 nights rather than 2).Had to be one of the highlights of the trip." See all these reviews: 13n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs H
Indiana

"Fantastic by any standard"

2 nights Arrived 31 Mar 2013
"First class, luxury and convinience. Very interesting as well as restful. Little way out but worth it." See all these reviews: 12n in Botswana; 5n in South Africa; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 1-10 of 14
97%
14 reviews of Garden Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
12
2
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in South Africa

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in South Africa.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Grootbos Private Nature Reserve

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Grootbos Forest Lodge

Forest Lodge

Set in a magical milkwood forest, Grootbos Forest Lodge is a well-run modern retreat offering a high-quality environment in which to relax, and to enjoy some of the guided activities on offer.


100% (8 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa