This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr T & Mrs M from Newmarke

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

2

Countries visited

5

Lodges stayed in

21

Excursions taken

0

My Feb 2017 trip

South Africa between 8 Feb 2017 and 1 Mar 2017

Trip rating: Excellent
"Once again, Tracy came up trumps! We had been spoiled on our previous trip, to Zambia and Namibia, and weren't expecting to be quite so blown away this time - but we were, thanks to the sheer variety of the package that Tracy put together for us. From our safari experience at Kwandwe, to the opulence of the Vineyard Hotel in Cape Town, we were stunned by the quality of accommodation and service we encountered throughout our trip. Thank you so much, Tracy!

We loved South Africa, and very much look forward to returning there in the near future.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service

None at all - our experience with Expert Africa has been just what we wanted, and we know we can trust you to put together the ideal holiday experience to suit our requirements. We look forward to our next trip with you!"

Arranged By Tracy Lederer


Hacklewood Hill Country House

Hacklewood Hill Country House

"Hacklewood Hill Country House review"

1 night Arrived 8 Feb 2017
"What a wonderful start to our trip! Charming, comfortable, very quiet, and beautifully-appointed, in lovely grounds. Top marks for food and service! The perfect overnight stop when flying in or out of Port Elizabeth."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Kwandwe Great Fish River Lodge

Kwandwe Great Fish River Lodge

"Kwandwe Great Fish River Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 9 Feb 2017
"Well worth the detour! This was luxury, in a unique setting, where individual suites offered complete privacy. The guides were amazingly knowledgeable, and led us to all the wildlife we could wish to see. Full marks for food, service and attentiveness of staff."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Fynbos Ridge Country House

Fynbos Ridge Country House

"Fynbos Ridge Country House review"

3 nights Arrived 11 Feb 2017
"Unfortunately a recent bush fire had affected the property. The owners were still coming to terms with the consequences, which meant that the pool, and evening meals, were temporarily unavailable. However, this meant we found some lovely places to eat in Plettenberg Bay.

Another well-appointed, comfortable and quiet property, with beautifully-tended grounds, teeming with birdlife."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
De Hoop Opstal

De Hoop Opstal

"De Hoop Opstal review"

2 nights Arrived 14 Feb 2017
"Well off the beaten track, but what a stunning location! The setting, amidst a varied habitat, provided the ideal environment for a wide variety of birds and animals, which we discovered on self-guided trails. A short drive away we found the stunning coast and dunes. Our accommodation was comfortable, and the food excellent. This was where we were introduced to the delights of Larroche gin!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Grootbos Garden Lodge

Grootbos Garden Lodge

"Grootbos Garden Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 16 Feb 2017
"This was one of our favourite stops. Absolute luxury, once again, with food that would be the envy of a Michelin-star restaurant! Our guide was particularly adept at imparting his knowledge of the local fynbos and coastal ecology, about which he was clearly passionate. We really enjoyed the varied activities that were specific to this location."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
The Last Word Franschhoek

The Last Word Franschhoek

"The Last Word Franschhoek review"

3 nights Arrived 18 Feb 2017
"We were really spoilt here - a luxury room, with our own swimming pool, and turn-down treats, accompanied by the sound of falling acorns bouncing off the tin roof and sploshing into the pool! The breakfasts were particularly wonderful.

Although Franschhoek is a busy little town, the hotel's location was very peaceful - and handy for the charming pizza restaurant next door! A perfect base for walking into the town, and for exploring the many local wineries."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Bushmans Kloof Wilderness Reserve

Bushmans Kloof Wilderness Reserve

"Bushmans Kloof Wilderness Reserve review"

2 nights Arrived 21 Feb 2017
"Very much off the tourist route, but an oasis of luxury in the middle of a barren, but stunning landscape. Little to see or do, except relax. We very much enjoyed seeing the rock art but, for us, it seemed as though the staff were trying almost too hard to please, which felt a bit unnatural. A beautiful place, but not really our cup of tea."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Average
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Farmhouse Hotel

Farmhouse Hotel

"Farmhouse Hotel review"

2 nights Arrived 23 Feb 2017
"A complete contrast to our previous accommodation: this place was homely and unpretentious, with a lovely, pub feel and decent pub grub.

The West Coast National Park, situated around Langebaan Lagoon,was a delight for us: we saw many different varieties of waders on the lagoon and, from deserted beaches, we saw dolphins swimming just off the coast."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Vineyard Hotel

Vineyard Hotel

"Vineyard Hotel review"

4 nights Arrived 25 Feb 2017
"Talk about saving the best till last! We had opted for a "garden cottage" - little were we to know that the cottage in question was a huge first floor flat, with 2 double bedrooms, bathrooms, etc., within the beautiful gardens of this fabulous 5* hotel, nestled in the foothills of Table Mountain, which formed a stunning backdrop. It was a little way out of the centre of Cape Town, but we didn't find this a problem, as we had a car. Its location was perfect for getting to Kirstenbosch.

Everything about the hotel was quality, and we wanted for nothing. The travel desk staff were also very helpful when we had problems checking in for our return flight to Cape Town. Worth every penny!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent

My Sep 2015 trip

Namibia and 3 other countries between 11 Sep 2015 and 4 Oct 2015

Trip rating: Excellent
"We were very much impressed with every aspect of the organisation of our trip. We expected it to be the trip of a lifetime, and it surpassed our expectations.

We found it reassuring to have the knowledge and expertise of Expert Africa's staff behind us, to guide us through a part of the world of which we had little previous experience. The choice of lodges was perfect, and every arrangement that had been made for us went without a hitch. We were particularly grateful for the huge contributions made by Maruska, in the initial planning of the trip, and Tracy, who took over when we were forced to postpone our trip by 12 months, following a family bereavement.

We would not hesitate to use Expert Africa again in the future, nor to recommend them to friends and family."

Arranged By Tracy Lederer


Radisson Blu Hotel

Radisson Blu Hotel

"Radisson Blu Hotel review"

1 night Arrived 12 Sep 2015
"No further comment"
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Kaingo Camp

Kaingo Camp

"Kaingo Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 13 Sep 2015
"This was our first lodge, and our favourite. We were extremely impressed with the individual attention we received from all members of staff. We felt very spoilt!

We would like to make special mention of our guide, Andrew, who went out of his way to share his expert knowledge and passion of the bush with us and we felt very privileged to be in his company.

This lodge set the standard for the rest of our trip."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Victoria Falls Hotel

Victoria Falls Hotel

"Victoria Falls Hotel review"

2 nights Arrived 17 Sep 2015
"We really enjoyed being a part of the history of the Falls, by staying in this wonderful old hotel.

The only negative comment concerned the air conditioning unit in our room, which was extremely noisy.

However, we do appreciate that this is an old hotel, and it didn't detract from our overall experience."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Muchenje Safari Lodge

Muchenje Safari Lodge

"Muchenje Safari Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 19 Sep 2015
"We really enjoyed the stunning views from the Lodge.

We particularly relished the combined game drive/river trip which gave close contact with such a huge variety of wildlife.

Among other spectacles we were treated to sightings of huge numbers of elephants, some very close up."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Nkasa Lupala Tented Lodge

Nkasa Lupala Tented Lodge

"Nkasa Lupala Tented Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 21 Sep 2015
"This was a more basic lodge but we particularly enjoyed the opportunity to visit the local village school/ health centre and homestead with our guide.

We had close up encounters with elephants actually entering the lodge compound."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Ndhovu Safari Lodge

Ndhovu Safari Lodge

"Ndhovu Safari Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 23 Sep 2015
"This was a pleasant overnight stay but didn't offer a wide range of activities. We were treated to a hippo in the camp in the morning.

The lodge was conveniently situated for us to self-drive through the adjacent Mahangu Game Reserve."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Hakusembe River Lodge

Hakusembe River Lodge

"Hakusembe Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 24 Sep 2015
"This was another overnight stop for us on our way to Etosha. There wasn't a huge variety of wildlife, but the location was pleasant, and the food first-class."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Average
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Mushara Bush Camp

Mushara Bush Camp

"Mushara Bush Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 25 Sep 2015
"The service and the food here are worthy of special mention.

We enjoyed a game drive in Etosha with a knowledgeable guide as an introduction to the park

We were treated a lovely outdoor evening meal, under the stars."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"Okaukuejo Camp review"

1 night Arrived 27 Sep 2015
"The wildlife experience at the floodlit waterhole was amazing, and one of the highlights of the trip.

The camp's size meant that it lacked the personal touch to which we had become accustomed, and the restaurant was essentially mass-catering, where the food was only average - but the location more than made up for it!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Vingerklip Lodge

Vingerklip Lodge

"Vingerklip Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 28 Sep 2015
"This was a luxurious place in which to enjoy a day off.

A stunning location, with excellent facilities."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Erongo Wilderness Lodge

Erongo Wilderness Lodge

"Erongo Wilderness Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 30 Sep 2015
"A completely unexpected location, which we enjoyed exploring on foot with an extremely knowledgeable guide.

We stayed in a well-appointed tent on stilts, with open-air bathroom.

The camp was thoughtfully laid out, blending in with its surroundings, whilst affording privacy for each tent."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Olive Grove

Olive Grove

"Olive Grove review"

1 night Arrived 2 Oct 2015
"Strange to be back in the city after 3 weeks in the bush, but the guest house was very well-appointed, and the staff were friendly and helpful."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team