This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Hacklewood Hill Country House
Hacklewood Hill Country House
Hacklewood Hill Country House
Hacklewood Hill Country House
Hacklewood Hill Country House

Hacklewood Hill Country House


33°58’56.6"S 25°34’47.1"E

Reviews of Hacklewood Hill House

Wildlife sightings and reviews

7 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Hacklewood Hill House and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 1-7 of 7
Duration
Arrival date
Mr&Mrs LS
Oxfordshire

"Hacklewood Hill Country House review"

1 night Arrived 17 Jan 2020
"This was a stop over in Port Elizabeth prior to our flight to Johannesburg and on to London. We couldn't quite understand why we had come to Hacklewood House as we could have enjoyed one extra night at Great Fish River Lodge and then gone directly to the airport at Port Elizabeth for our flight later in the day.

However, the Manager, Wynton and his staff made us feel very welcome and were very hospitable. We enjoyed a very nice dinner in the restaurant with more wonderful South African wine. The room we had was comfortable with a small balcony overlooking the pool and very lush tropical gardens.

We had quite a lot of time on our hands but decided not to leave the hotel so stayed put until our driver arrived at 1.15 the next day. We would definitely have added one more night at Kwandwe had we known but hindsight is a wonderful thing and our next trip can be more tailored to our needs." See all these reviews: 13n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Average
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs O
Somerset

"Hacklewood Hill Country House review"

1 night Arrived 30 Mar 2017
"We arrived when the temperature was an unseasonal 41C and immediately fell for Hacklewood as it was cool, airy and charming.

Sadly we had a dinner date and did not take dinner with them but this is a lovely, comfortable place to stay in a quiet garden neighbourhood of Port Elizabeth." See all these reviews: 11n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Professor & Mrs M
UK

"Hacklewood Hill Country House review"

2 nights Arrived 4 Mar 2017
"Hacklewood Hill was what we expected, a good base for a short stay prior to flying home. The hotel had a lot of character albeit that some of the decor was a bit tired. The staff were friendly and helpful.

We were glad we chose to stay two nights here as that gave us a long day in the Addo Elephant park, which was a nice finish to the holiday." See all these reviews: 18n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Mr T & Mrs M
Newmarke

"Hacklewood Hill Country House review"

1 night Arrived 8 Feb 2017
"What a wonderful start to our trip! Charming, comfortable, very quiet, and beautifully-appointed, in lovely grounds. Top marks for food and service! The perfect overnight stop when flying in or out of Port Elizabeth." See all these reviews: 21n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs T
Ireland

"A lovely quiet stop over"

1 night Arrived 8 Nov 2016
"It was a lovelt old huse we had a large room with an even bigger bathroom. The grounds and gardens are very nice.

Breakfast was good and it gave us the chance to have a rest before flying home." See all these reviews: 11n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs B
Westerham

"Great for a stopover"

1 night Arrived 31 Jan 2016
"Having transferred from the Kruger via Joburg, we did not arrived until 2030, but despite that the kitchen had kept open and a very warm welcome.

The House is an old colonialMansion with a lot of great memorabilia everywhere.

The quality of directions from the Airport to the Hacklewood was excellent, otherwise it would have taken some finding in the dark." See all these reviews: 5n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs B
W Midlands

"Hacklewood Hill Country House review"

1 night Arrived 8 Oct 2014
"We arrived here after a very long day, leaving Kwara after the morning safari and then flying to Jo'burg and on to Port Elizabeth.

What a fantastic guest house hidden away in the residential part of Port Elizabeth. The room was excellent, four poster bed, balcony. The bathroom had a four poster bath - something that we have not seen before!

Breakfast was good and staff very friendly.

We wished that we were able to stay longer but this was the starting point for our journey along the garden route to Cape Town" See all these reviews: 10n in South Africa; 4n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Showing 1-7 of 7
94%
7 reviews of Hacklewood Hill House by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
5
2
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in South Africa

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in South Africa.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa