This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr & Mrs B from W Midlands

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

3

Lodges stayed in

8

Excursions taken

0

My Oct 2014 trip

South Africa and 2 other countries between 1 Oct 2014 and 21 Oct 2014

Trip rating: Excellent
"First of all we must complement Expert Africa for helping us choose where to go and where to stay, we have had a fantastic time, so many memories . . . .

Everything worked like clockwork - flights, transfers and car hire.

A bonus was being able to dip out of the programme to stay with my sister for a couple of days.

Each element of the holiday - Victoria Falls, Okavango Delta, the Cape were all different but enjoyable in their own way.

One thing that worked particularly well was to have the leisurely stop at Victoria Falls at the beginning of the holiday, and the leisurely shopping stop in Cape Town at the end."

Arranged By Tracy Lederer


Ilala Lodge

Ilala Lodge

"Ilala Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 2 Oct 2014
"Lovely lodge, great location.

Very convenient for walking to the falls and into the town. Pool and bar area very relaxing, good way to start our holiday"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Kwara Camp

Kwara Camp

"Kwara Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 4 Oct 2014
"This was the first Safari that we have been on and although we had read up on it before we went, our expectations were exceeded in all respects.

Our guide Dix, was excellent and good fun. We saw - lions, cheetah, leopard, wild dogs to name a few.

We loved sitting around the camp fire (bush TV) after dinner chatting to the other guests.

The thing that probably impressed us most was how friendly all of the staff were."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Hacklewood Hill Country House

Hacklewood Hill Country House

"Hacklewood Hill Country House review"

1 night Arrived 8 Oct 2014
"We arrived here after a very long day, leaving Kwara after the morning safari and then flying to Jo'burg and on to Port Elizabeth.

What a fantastic guest house hidden away in the residential part of Port Elizabeth. The room was excellent, four poster bed, balcony. The bathroom had a four poster bath - something that we have not seen before!

Breakfast was good and staff very friendly.

We wished that we were able to stay longer but this was the starting point for our journey along the garden route to Cape Town"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
The Plettenberg

The Plettenberg

"The Plettenberg review"

2 nights Arrived 9 Oct 2014
"The location of this hotel is excellent with view over the bay and easy access to the town.

The room was large, comfortable and well equipped.

We visited the Robberg Nature reserve and walked the trail. Fortunately the weather was good and the views across the bay, spectacular.

We had a very good meal in the restaurant.

Our only negative about the hotel is that the staff were a little over attentive, almost to the extent of being creepy."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Rosenhof Country House

Rosenhof Country House

"Rosenhof Country House review"

2 nights Arrived 11 Oct 2014
"Our room was excellent - we were upgraded to one of the suites which was actually a detached bungalow, complete with its own swimming pool, which we used as the weather was unseasonally hot. We didn't however make use of the personal gym in the bathroom!!

We ate in the hotel on the first evening but the menu is a set three course meal with limited choice - we walked to a local restaurant on the second evening."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Average
Schoone Oordt Country House

Schoone Oordt Country House

"Schoone Oordt Country House review"

1 night Arrived 13 Oct 2014
"Although the accomodation was good, it did not live up to our expectations compared with the other places we stayed. Although the school house itself is old, the accomodation itself is a relatively newly built complex, behind the main house. The restaurant is a conservatory built at the side of the old house. It would have been lovely to have seen a bit more of the old school itself.

We had read good reports about the restaurant and we're hoping to eat there, but unfortunately it was not open that evening. We were recommended local restaurants but the choice within walking distance was limited (we enjoy a glass of wine and will not drive).

We did visit the Drotsky museum, which was excellent"
Average
Location
Good
Service
Average
Rooms
Average
The Last Word Franschhoek

The Last Word Franschhoek

"The Last Word Franschhoek review"

2 nights Arrived 14 Oct 2014
"What a little gem!

We loved both the hotel and Franschhoek. Conrad is an excellent host and concierge, booking exactly the kind of restaurants That we like for us for both evenings.

Our room was spacious and comfortable. The only slightly negative comment was the open plan bathroom, with the bath directly opposite the door to the room. I had to remind my husband to keep the door shut on a couple of occasions!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Victoria & Alfred Hotel

Victoria & Alfred Hotel

"Victoria & Alfred Hotel review"

2 nights Arrived 16 Oct 2014
"This was our second visit to the V&A. The location is superb, very central to all of the waterfront activities, and last minute shopping before coming home. We love wandering around the craft markets.

Breakfasts are excellent, bountiful and leisurely - on the pavement by the waterfront watching the world go by. We had dinner in the hotel one night which was also very good.

Last time we stayed we were in room 220 and we were hoping for a similar room this time, however we were next door in room 218 and instead of the comfy chairs we had a dining room table and four dining room chairs, nowhere comfortable to sit at all. Very odd. We don't spend a lot of time in hotel bedrooms even less time holding dinner parties in them, but we would expect somewhere to sit and relax. We do think that hotel designers ought to try staying in some of their creations."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Rooms
Poor
Food
Good

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team