This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
The Plettenberg
The Plettenberg
The Plettenberg

Reviews of The Plettenberg

Wildlife sightings and reviews

15 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited The Plettenberg and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 1-10 of 15
Duration
Arrival date
Mr&Mrs H
Winchester

"The Plettenberg review"

3 nights Arrived 18 Jan 2020
"Lovely hotel overlooking Plettenberg Bay. Staff were friendly and helpful. Great facial in the spa.

We were unlucky with the weather here but it was a comfortable place to spend a couple of stormy days reading and relaxing." See all these reviews: 10n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Ms M
Isleworth

"Plettenberg Hotel"

3 nights Arrived 27 Oct 2019
"The hotel is right on the top of the point in the middle of a residential area. This was the only place with heavy security and where we were advised not to walk out down the cliff path or at night. The hotel is very modern with a Californian surf side feel and beautiful decor.

Our room had wonderful views two ways across the bays.and was lovely but needed a few things updated and lay out changes. When we raised this with the manager, who came round every morning to talk to all the guests, he said it was earmarked for upgrading and we discussed some options very positively. The staff were generally very good, the food very nice and the receptionist helpful in contacting the Marine at Hemanus about the rogue charge.

However, on my birthday pink bubbly was brought to my room and the implication was that it was from the hotel. I even thanked the manager for it. However it transpires my sister organised and paid for it. Not sure if this was a genuine communication failure or blatant attempt by the staff involved ( not the manager) to take the glory. etc. The travel adviser was very helpful as we had one clear day and identified 2 trips that suited us well She made taxi arrangements and bookings. One was the Bird Sanctuary which we loved, Birds fly free under a large net dome. Not all are local so purists would complain. the other was a trip down the tidal river Kuerbooms which was great fun even on a cold day with the skipper's dry sense of humour. We managed to have breakfast put on the patio 2 mornings but it was too cold at night to dine there.

It was a lovely hotel but we were put off by the feeling of insecurity - we saw large guard dogs being walked twice past our room." See all these reviews: 17n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs LP
SW London

"The Plettenberg doesn't disappoint"

3 nights Arrived 11 Oct 2019
"A very fine hotel that justifies it's five-star rating. The location is superb and, apart from surprisingly small swimming pools, every aspect is excellent.

We enjoyed first-class dining in the Seafood Restaurant, an exceptional concierge service that helped us plan our days (excursions including whale-watching) and which had no embarrassment recommending restaurants outside the hotel when we fancied a change. The staff at every level were quite delightful.

We thoroughly recommend Enrico's Ristorante at Main Beach Kueurboomstrand for a relaxed meal with locals." See all these reviews: 7n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs B
Winchester

"The Plettenberg review"

3 nights Arrived 19 Feb 2018
"We prefer the Reserves. We are not town seaside resort people! Staff were not the friendliest we met but were helpful when asked. Good advice restaurants to go to." See all these reviews: 15n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr&Mrs A & M
Malta

"The Plettenberg review"

3 nights Arrived 15 Sep 2017
"A dream of a hotel.

The location is perfect." See all these reviews: 13n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr V
Birmingham

"The Plettenberg review"

4 nights Arrived 23 Mar 2017
"This was a good experience; my partner has a problem with her hip, and the first room provided did not have a walk in shower, However after complaint to the management we were upgraded to a junior suite. I would caution travellers to check the faculties they have booked; part of the hotel needs an upgrade. That said the position and helpful staff were very good." See all these reviews: 14n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs C
Glos

"Great location in Plettenberg Bay"

4 nights Arrived 17 Mar 2017
"Delightful hotel in a magnificent setting. Unfortunately the food wasn't quite up to the standard that we would have explected from such a prestigious hotel." See all these reviews: 12n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs T
Ireland

"Wow lovel hotel"

3 nights Arrived 1 Nov 2016
"It is a beautiful hotel but still relaxed nothing was too much trouble.

The room was really lovely with the wow factor. There was a free mini bar every day. The view was great and the hotel is ideally placed for the beach and the town.

We had a great time staying there." See all these reviews: 11n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs W-J
UK

"The Plettenberg review"

3 nights Arrived 4 Feb 2016
"A lovely hotel. We had an excellent room in the annexe with its own terrace and sunloungers. The hotel was saved from potential stuffiness, as a 5* might be, by the friendly nature of the staff and, of course, Peter the resident cat.

General Manager Annemie was an excellent hostess who even helped with breakfast service. She was also happy to book restaurants and arrange taxis; although the hotel is only a short distance from the centre of town it is up quite a steep hill and it recommended that guests used taxis at night for safety.

Food at both breakfast and dinner was excellent though we understand the lunchtime menu is the same as that for dinner and the dinner menu did not change during our stay.

There are lots of activities in the area and the travel desk staff are happy to book any of them for guests. We took the river cruise which was excellent. We had driven down from the Karoo and came into Plettenberg Bay via Prince Alfred’s pass – a very scenic drive but not for the faint-hearted! We even met a snake on the way!" See all these reviews: 17n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs B
Westerham

"Absolute Quality"

3 nights Arrived 1 Feb 2016
"Having stayed here over 20 years ago, the hotel has expanded, but very tastefully.

The beach is fantastic and there are plenty of other activities to try in the area." See all these reviews: 5n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 1-10 of 15
96%
15 reviews of The Plettenberg by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
12
3
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in South Africa

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in South Africa.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Plettenberg Bay | Garden Route

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Hunters Country House

Hunters Country House

Hunters Country House is a luxurious lodge in spacious grounds. It’s an ideal base for exploring Plettenberg Bay and the Garden Route and is a great choice for families and couples alike.


96% (11 reviews)
Southern Cross Beach House

Southern Cross Beach

The Southern Cross Beach House is a delightful beach front guest house overlooking the ocean at Plettenberg Bay.


86% (7 reviews)
Emily Moon River Lodge

Emily Moon River Lodge

The quirky Emily Moon River Lodge lies in a peaceful spot overlooking the Bitou River near Plettenberg Bay and its nearby attractions.


93% (3 reviews)
Periwinkle Guest Lodge

Periwinkle Guest Lodge

A stylish beachy themed guesthouse in Plettenberg Bay and within walking distance to the beach, Periwinkle offers a relaxing and friendly stay for a few days.


87% (3 reviews)
Tsala Treetop Lodge

Tsala Treetop Lodge

Tsala Treetop Lodge is a smart, romantic and exclusive lodge in a stunning forest location between Knysna and Plettenberg Bay, on South Africa's Garden Route.


93% (3 reviews)
Lairds Lodge

Lairds Lodge

Lairds Lodge is a comfortable owner-run guest house in a peaceful location in the heart of the Garden Route.


70% (2 reviews)
Fynbos Ridge Country House

Fynbos Ridge

Fynbos Ridge is a small, owner-run guesthouse with a good environmental ethos. The accommodation is very comfortable and the location and views are exceptional.


100% (2 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa