This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Hunters Country House
Hunters Country House
Hunters Country House
Hunters Country House
Hunters Country House
Hunters Country House

Hunters Country House


34°3’9.6"S 23°16’30.9"E

Reviews of Hunters Country House

Wildlife sightings and reviews

11 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Hunters Country House and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 1-10 of 11
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs G
Bucks

"Hunters Country House"

4 nights Arrived 2 Feb 2020
"Unfortunately the weather was very damp during our stay. Our house in the grounds was in a very lush vegetation area and smelt of damp when the door opened. All our clothes that we did hang in cupboards smelt unpleasantly.

We had dinner the first evening in the hotel bistro restaurant and the service was poor.

Only by talking to other guests did we discover there was a very good restaurant called Zinzi in the grounds of Hunters. There was very little help regarding our activities in the area apart from asking if we wanted to eat in their restaurants each evening." See all these reviews: 18n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Graham
Purley

"Lovely country house on the garden route"

3 nights Arrived 18 Aug 2019
"The Hunters Country House looks stunning and highly maintained. The food is good and the staff try soooo hard to please, that actually it is a little too much.
We were there out of season too and the room needed airing.

If they could relax a little it would be more enjoyable, but we still give it four stars and would go back" See all these reviews: 10n in South Africa; 6n in Seychelles
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs H
Maningtree

"Hunters Country House review"

3 nights Arrived 14 Apr 2019
"Wonderful grounds with excellent accommodation all round.

Very friendly and helpful staff." See all these reviews: 15n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr D.T.R
Corby

"Wonderful venue with lots to do around Plett"

5 nights Arrived 19 Oct 2018
"Wonderful venue with plenty to do around Plettenburg.

Great restaurants on site" See all these reviews: 8n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr G & Mrs C
London

"Hunters Country House review"

3 nights Arrived 17 Mar 2018
"Fabulous, sizeable thatched cottages set in their own gardens. A great place to relax and explore the surrounding area. Three restaurants on site providing a great choice of food. Will definitely return." See all these reviews: 9n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs C
WestBridg

"Lovely stay at Hunters Country House"

3 nights Arrived 28 Nov 2017
"A lovely, characterful hotel in beautiful grounds, and with vey good and helpful staff. Very good location just outside stunning Plettenberg Bay, with its great beaches and good food and shopping.

The room was very pleasant, although possibly a bit snug, and we always had to remember the small step down into the bathroom - I bet they have an unusually high incidence of sprained ankles amongst guests! One small touch that could do with addressing by the hotel is the fit of the room doors - whilst it was lovely to come back after dinner to a turned down bed, also with delicious sweet nibbles on our bedside tables, the gap at the bottom of the room door was exploited by the local insect life, who were attracted by the bedside lights and resulted in a ten-minute game of "hunt and remove the bug" every evening! But these are minor points really in an otherwise delightful stay.

The grounds are superb, and the pool and lounger area, plus covered lounge with fireplace and armchairs, wonderful for spending a relaxing day, waited on by the helpful staff. It's also worth hunting out the tiny Chapel in the Woods, five minutes' walk from the hotel, which is a beautiful oasis of holy peace.

We ate in the Hotel on one evening of our stay, which was very pleasant in a slightly 'colonial' way, but on the other two nights dined at Zinzi, a short walk away across the Hotel grounds. This was altogether different, with a much more modern feel (think silver-sprayed kudu horns adorning the walls!) and an excellent, creative menu and wine list. the food was top-notch on both occasions, although on the second evening service did not reach the heights of our first dinner.

Overall, we thoroughly recommend Hunters as a relaxing stop-off between Cape Town and environs, and the game parks to the north of Port Elizabeth." See all these reviews: 11n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr W & Ms W
NL

"Super stay in Hunters"

3 nights Arrived 17 Nov 2017
"This was one of the highlights of our trip. The staff was excellent and also great with our kids (they called the waiter, Louis, their friend).

The room was much better than we could have possibly expected with a private pool and plenty of room.

The kids also really enjoyed 'cubs corner'.

When we ask them about their trip to South Africa they still list it as one of the highlights." See all these reviews: 14n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs B
Suffolk

"Superb stay at Hunters"

3 nights Arrived 11 Jan 2016
"What a fantastic place! We loved it (despite one chilly afternoon and a wet morning).

The gardens are beautiful, the garden suites are gorgeous and spacious, the private pool and terrace were delightful and the staff were helpful.

Breakfast (spread and service) not quite as good as the Twelve Apostles but the dinners were excellent. We ate in Zinzi's one night but were unable to get a table at Tsala. Again, with hindsight we would have pre-booked Tsala which I think would have suited us better than Zinzi's.

Welcomed with a bottle of sparkling wine and deli platter in our room to celebrate Wedding Anniversary - a lovely touch. Fruit bowl in room too - a great idea." See all these reviews: 8n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
F + M
Dortmund

"Perfect hideaway for grown ups and kids"

5 nights Arrived 20 Feb 2015
"Beautiful hotel with very nice individual houses in a lush garden.

Great activities around - especially the ocean safari.

Very helpful service." See all these reviews: 11n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs Dassie
Luton

"Hunters Country House review"

4 nights Arrived 15 Mar 2008
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Showing 1-10 of 11
96%
11 reviews of Hunters Country House by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
9
2
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in South Africa

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in South Africa.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Plettenberg Bay | Garden Route

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


The Plettenberg

The Plettenberg

The Plettenberg is a smart, beautifully designed hotel on the rocks of Plettenberg Bay. Within walking distance from the town centre, it offers stunning views and luxury accommodation.


96% (15 reviews)
Southern Cross Beach House

Southern Cross Beach

The Southern Cross Beach House is a delightful beach front guest house overlooking the ocean at Plettenberg Bay.


86% (7 reviews)
Emily Moon River Lodge

Emily Moon River Lodge

The quirky Emily Moon River Lodge lies in a peaceful spot overlooking the Bitou River near Plettenberg Bay and its nearby attractions.


93% (3 reviews)
Periwinkle Guest Lodge

Periwinkle Guest Lodge

A stylish beachy themed guesthouse in Plettenberg Bay and within walking distance to the beach, Periwinkle offers a relaxing and friendly stay for a few days.


87% (3 reviews)
Tsala Treetop Lodge

Tsala Treetop Lodge

Tsala Treetop Lodge is a smart, romantic and exclusive lodge in a stunning forest location between Knysna and Plettenberg Bay, on South Africa's Garden Route.


93% (3 reviews)
Lairds Lodge

Lairds Lodge

Lairds Lodge is a comfortable owner-run guest house in a peaceful location in the heart of the Garden Route.


70% (2 reviews)
Fynbos Ridge Country House

Fynbos Ridge

Fynbos Ridge is a small, owner-run guesthouse with a good environmental ethos. The accommodation is very comfortable and the location and views are exceptional.


100% (2 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa