This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr & Mrs H from Maningtree

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

3

Countries visited

4

Lodges stayed in

18

Excursions taken

0

Hammerton Family Adventure

South Africa between 4 Apr 2019 and 25 Apr 2019

Trip rating: Excellent
"It met and exceeded our expectations.

All the accommodation was larger in real life than the photos suggest. It was all well maintained and presented.

All staff were focused on wanting to make our stays as enjoyable as possible."

Arranged By Tracy Lederer


Victoria & Alfred Hotel

Victoria & Alfred Hotel

"Victoria & Alfred Hotel review"

1 night Arrived 5 Apr 2019
"Great location for a first night, right in the centre of The Waterfront with large well appointed rooms."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Le Quartier Francais

Le Quartier Francais

"Le Quartier Francais review"

2 nights Arrived 6 Apr 2019
"Upgraded to a garden suite. A great choice, we will return.

Tasting menu in Le Petite Colombo was outstanding."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Vineyard Hotel

Vineyard Hotel

"Vineyard Hotel review"

4 nights Arrived 8 Apr 2019
"Fantastic for all the family. Children upgraded to cottages, we were upgraded to an outside view.

A great combination of a city centre and country house hotel, the grandchildren loved it.
Outstanding breakfast choice."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
De Hoop Opstal

De Hoop Opstal

"De Hoop Opstal review"

2 nights Arrived 12 Apr 2019
"Well worth visiting, especially the dunes. Abundance of wildlife was a surprise. Lots of Bontebok and ostriches, including young.

Activities were slightly hampered by the tide and weather.

Driving instructions were a bit confusing. We were also fortunate to arrive before the entrance gate shut for the night."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Activities
Good
Hunters Country House

Hunters Country House

"Hunters Country House review"

3 nights Arrived 14 Apr 2019
"Wonderful grounds with excellent accommodation all round.

Very friendly and helpful staff."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Kwandwe Ecca Lodge

Kwandwe Ecca Lodge

"Kwandwe Ecca Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 17 Apr 2019
"Outstanding all round.

Very family focused with two great ranger/trackers who were first class.

We felt we were all hunting for the wildlife rather than it being paraded past us."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Namibian Adventure

Namibia between 27 Oct 2014 and 10 Nov 2014

Trip rating: Excellent
"First class. Glad we went anti-clockwise. Would recommend the itinerary and Wilderness camps in particular."

Arranged By Sabina Hekandjo


Erongo Wilderness Lodge

Erongo Wilderness Lodge

"Great start after 24 hours of travel"

1 night Arrived 27 Oct 2014
"Informed guide and well worth the stopover en route to Etosha. Bonus of an excellent morning walk before breakfast.

Best gift shop - value for money and range of goods on offer."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Onguma Tented Camp

Onguma Tented Camp

"Safari chic deserved"

2 nights Arrived 28 Oct 2014
"Guides not as well trained or motivated as those we met on Wilderness camps.

Relaxed intimate setting round ever varying waterhole activity"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Average
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Ongava Lodge

Ongava Lodge

"Wonderful view across the plains"

2 nights Arrived 30 Oct 2014
"Nice atmosphere in central area. Motivated guide. Easy mingling with other guests or privacy when wanted."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Average
Facilities
Excellent
Desert Rhino Camp

Desert Rhino Camp

"Outstanding - highlight of the trip"

2 nights Arrived 1 Nov 2014
"From start to finish all the staff worked as a team to ensure that this was the most memorable of our stays in Namibia. They were full of fun and vitality. Great setting - "remote real Africa" - and not manicured in any way. Committed guide who enjoyed guiding as much as we enjoyed viewing a wide selection of game.

Really excited when Sheila spotted a leopard on our departure trip to Palmveg."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Doro Nawas

Doro Nawas

"Scenic location, dry, hot and windy"

2 nights Arrived 3 Nov 2014
"Twyfelfontein engravings worth the visit but maybe stay for one night only"
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Beach Lodge

Beach Lodge

"Quirky and fun"

1 night Arrived 5 Nov 2014
"Be prepared for a temperature drop and sea mists."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Little Kulala

Little Kulala

"Desert Luxury"

2 nights Arrived 6 Nov 2014
"Much more game than expected, still mystied as to how it survives. Don't expect to see sunrise over the dunes, but great sunset from the Naukluft hills. Excellent guide."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Image alt

under own arrangements

"under own arrangements review"

2 nights Arrived 8 Nov 2014
"Stayed in Windhoek at Galton House then with friends on a farm out of town.

Windhoek has the air of a provincial European town - clean tidy, well laid out, in a good state of repair and friendly.
Ate at Joe's - good food and atmosphere."
Excellent

Out of Africa Back to Manningtree

Tanzania and 1 other country between 18 Jul 2009 and 26 Jul 2009

Trip rating: Excellent
"Wonderful and glad we booked at short notice on the basis of the short S Times note.

Tanzania comes across with great credit - a very friendly country with helpful people.A water/land safari was a real plus and exceeded expectations.

Suggestions for improvements:

You compare well with other companies that we have used elsewhere in the world and we will use you as the reference base for any future trips to Africa. Mateo (manager at Selous) spoke highly of EA and mentioned that you visited the region to check on the details rather than took stuff off web sites."

Arranged By Claire Scott


Southern Sun Dar

Southern Sun Dar

"Southern Sun (formerly the Holiday Inn) review"

1 night Arrived 18 Jul 2009
"Limited menu but well prepared and not overcooked."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Rooms
Average
Food
Good
Selous Impala Camp

Selous Impala Camp

"Selous Impala Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 19 Jul 2009
"A great balance between professionalism and warm friendly service.

The atmosphere was more one of a relaxed house party. Treated as individuals and specific needs explored and catered for with lots of 'special' surprises (e.g. sunset cocktails, hot cappucino with the wake up call)."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Chumbe Island Lodge

Chumbe Island Lodge

"Chumbe Island Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 22 Jul 2009
"After the eco-shock (why didn't we pick a 5* sybaritic beachside boutique) the whole point came across and one felt part of something a bit more than the usuual offer.

Lucky with the spring tides to enjoy two inter-tidal walks. Worth three days, fewer would lose the effect of relaxing in a different way."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Serena Inn

Serena Inn

"Serena Inn review"

1 night Arrived 25 Jul 2009
"Warm service, great location, a good way to end a short but full break."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team