This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Le Quartier Francais
Le Quartier Francais
Le Quartier Francais
Le Quartier Francais
Le Quartier Francais

Le Quartier Francais


33°54’46.9"S 19°7’11.3"E

Reviews of Le Quartier Francais

Wildlife sightings and reviews

13 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Le Quartier Francais and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 1-10 of 13
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs G
Bucks

"Le Quartier Francais"

3 nights Arrived 11 Feb 2020
"This hotel was specifically requested by us on the recommendation of friends. We wanted a relaxing last three days in a nice boutique hotel. The Quartier Francais exceeded our expectations with superb service in all areas and wonderful food. This was supplemented by excellent weather.

The concierge Debbie Nortje was lovely lady and nothing was too much trouble for her. The highlight of our holiday!" See all these reviews: 18n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs LP
SW London

"Le Quartier Francais deserves its stars"

2 nights Arrived 15 Oct 2019
"A superb hotel in this little tourist town that really lived up to its reputation. The breakfast was outstanding, room service excellent and the concierge a mine of useful information that really enhanced our short stay.

Plettenberg has more than its fair share of celebrity chefs and an excellent alternative for a more relaxed dinner was the excellent French Connection." See all these reviews: 7n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs H
Maningtree

"Le Quartier Francais review"

2 nights Arrived 6 Apr 2019
"Upgraded to a garden suite. A great choice, we will return.

Tasting menu in Le Petite Colombo was outstanding." See all these reviews: 15n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs S
Bristol

"Le Quartier Francais"

2 nights Arrived 8 Mar 2016
"Expert Africa pre booked the Tasting Room for us. What an evening and such an event.

Wonderful hotel in a wonderful place" See all these reviews: 10n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms & Mr T
London

"Le Quartier Francais review"

2 nights Arrived 27 Dec 2014
"Very different after Bushmans Kloof, as a townie I enjoyed it a lot. Our room was good, the pool was quite a good size and we were well looked after.

We had a meal at The Tasting Room and weren't much impressed, too gimicky, a kind of S African style Heston Blumenthal which made us laugh a great deal. However, it was an excellent way to taste S African wines as we were given a taste with each course.
but we got fed up with interminable small courses of highly processed food - not really our style. It was packed out though.

Give me Bushman Kloof's food anyday." See all these reviews: 18n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs M
York

"My favourite place!"

2 nights Arrived 4 Feb 2014
"Upgraded to the four quarters suite - wow!

Tasting menu sublime again.

Excellent service." See all these reviews: 6n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr Z & Ms D
Vancouver

"ok"

2 nights Arrived 26 Sep 2013
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs W
Cambs

"Le Quartier Francais review"

3 nights Arrived 11 Feb 2013
"Rooms sizeable and quiet - the Common Room restaurant was nice but the Tasting Room was very special - as it should be for the price !!" See all these reviews: 13n in South Africa; 3n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Mr I & Ms S
London

"Le Quartier Francais review"

2 nights Arrived 4 Sep 2012
"Fantastic experience!!!" See all these reviews: 6n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs R
Chertsey

"Pure luxury in a beautiful location."

2 nights Arrived 9 Apr 2012
"We were welcomed back by Linda as old friends. The rooms are beautifully furniished.

The food in the Tasting Room was still exceptional; world class. A unique experience. The Common Room proved to be a very different culinary concept but very enjoyable.

It's worth noting that the Tasting Room is currently closed on Sunday and Monday evenings." See all these reviews: 11n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 1-10 of 13
95%
13 reviews of Le Quartier Francais by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
11
1
1
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in South Africa

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in South Africa.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Winelands

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


The Last Word Franschhoek

The Franschhoek

The Last Word Franschhoek is a very small, smart boutique hotel in tranquil surroundings in the heart of Franschhoek. With only six rooms it promises personal attention.


95% (24 reviews)
La Petite Ferme

La Petite Ferme

A comfortable, elegant guesthouse, La Petite Ferme offers a broad range of accommodation in a stunning vineyard setting.


98% (9 reviews)
Babylonstoren

Babylonstoren

Babylonstoren is beautiful property located on a stunning working wine farm between Franschhoek and Paarl, and is surrounded by vineyards and the Drakenstein Mountains.


96% (5 reviews)
Oude Werf

Oude Werf

Located in the historic heart of Stellenbosch, the Oude Werf is a lovely hotel and a good base for exploring the South Africa’s Winelands.


75% (4 reviews)
Angala Boutique Hotel

Angala Boutique Hotel

Angala Boutique Hotel is a luxurious, contemporary guesthouse in the heart of the Cape Winelands – between Franschhoek, Paarl and Stellenbosch.


100% (2 reviews)
Lanzerac Hotel

Lanzerac Hotel

The Lanzerac Hotel is a historic Cape Dutch manor house and winery that has been turned into an opulent hotel offering some of the regions finest accommodation and first-rate cuisine.


80% (1 review)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa