This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr & Mrs G from Bucks

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

7

Excursions taken

0

Summary of our trip

South Africa between 26 Jan 2020 and 15 Feb 2020

Trip rating: Excellent
"Claire put together an excellent itinerary with a nice selection of accommodation none of which was large impersonal corporate hotels. The whole trip worked well and in particular driving directions were spot on which was very helpful given the distances we covered. We did use a friend's map of the Garden Route as the directions were missing details of actual distances - this might be helpful for future clients. We used 'MapStudio Garden Route & Route 62' a lot of the time.

Our only hairy moment was taking the car back to the airport (which we had avoided on arrival by having car delivered to hotel) and this was slightly stressful as we had to return the car with a full tank but the BP garage was located on an obscure location on the other side of the car rental return area. It was chaotic at the BP station as everyone was filling up before returning their cars. That said the check in at Bidvest was very good and straightforward.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

Although the holiday was expensive it was worth it and we couldn't have put it together without Claire's assistance."

Arranged By Claire Scott


The Constantia

The Constantia

"The Constantia Review"

5 nights Arrived 27 Jan 2020
"Overall an excellent boutique hotel.

However the housekeeping of the rooms was hit and miss lacking facecloths and top sheet on bed on our last night."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Schoone Oordt Country House

Schoone Oordt Country House

"Schoone Oordt Country House review"

1 night Arrived 1 Feb 2020
"Only stayed one night but nice room and our meal was very good considering we had a power outage.

The owner was exceptionally nice and took time to talk to all her guests in the evening and at breakfast."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Hunters Country House

Hunters Country House

"Hunters Country House"

4 nights Arrived 2 Feb 2020
"Unfortunately the weather was very damp during our stay. Our house in the grounds was in a very lush vegetation area and smelt of damp when the door opened. All our clothes that we did hang in cupboards smelt unpleasantly.

We had dinner the first evening in the hotel bistro restaurant and the service was poor.

Only by talking to other guests did we discover there was a very good restaurant called Zinzi in the grounds of Hunters. There was very little help regarding our activities in the area apart from asking if we wanted to eat in their restaurants each evening."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Average
Activities
Average
Rooms
Average
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Kwandwe Great Fish River Lodge

Kwandwe Great Fish River Lodge

"Safari at Kwandwe"

3 nights Arrived 6 Feb 2020
"Unfortunately overall the weather was either damp or very wet.

That said we were very well looked after by all the staff. Our stay was enhanced by getting to know some very nice people who shared our values and interests."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Storms River Restcamp

Storms River Restcamp

"Storms River RestCamp"

1 night Arrived 9 Feb 2020
"This was a great one night stop in a beach side cabin.

It was very different from all our other accommodation but we enjoyed the its simplicity."
Good
Location
Excellent
Rooms
Average
Rosenhof Country House

Rosenhof Country House

"Rosenhof Country House"

1 night Arrived 10 Feb 2020
"Again just for one night so didn't have a chance to fully enjoy the hotel and it's facilities."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Le Quartier Francais

Le Quartier Francais

"Le Quartier Francais"

3 nights Arrived 11 Feb 2020
"This hotel was specifically requested by us on the recommendation of friends. We wanted a relaxing last three days in a nice boutique hotel. The Quartier Francais exceeded our expectations with superb service in all areas and wonderful food. This was supplemented by excellent weather.

The concierge Debbie Nortje was lovely lady and nothing was too much trouble for her. The highlight of our holiday!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team