This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Kwandwe Great Fish River Lodge
Kwandwe Great Fish River Lodge
Kwandwe Great Fish River Lodge

Kwandwe Great Fish River Lodge


33°5’29.8"S 26°34’33.0"E

Reviews of Great Fish River Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

26 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Great Fish River Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Feb-2019, 6 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Great Fish River Lodge.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

67% success

Cheetah

100% success

Black Rhino

100% success

Buffalo

100% success

Eland

100% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Oryx

100% success

White Rhino

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Wildebeest

80% success

Meerkat

75% success

Brown Hyena

33% success

Aardvark

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 26
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs G
Bucks

"Safari at Kwandwe"

3 nights Arrived 6 Feb 2020
"Unfortunately overall the weather was either damp or very wet.

That said we were very well looked after by all the staff. Our stay was enhanced by getting to know some very nice people who shared our values and interests." See all these reviews: 18n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

1 sighting

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Cheetah

Multiple sightings

Eland

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

1 sighting

Lion

Multiple sightings

Oryx

Multiple sightings

White Rhino

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr&Mrs H
Winchester

"Incredible safari experience"

4 nights Arrived 21 Jan 2020
"We had the most amazing 4 days at Great Fish River Lodge. From the moment we arrived at Kwandwe to when we left, we had an incredible time. The staff were all so warm and friendly, nothing was too much trouble.

The food was delicious and we were never hungry. Rooms were beautiful with a private deck, outdoor shower and plunge pool, over looking the Great Fish River. Our ranger Ruan and Tracker Vusi were so knowledgable and gave us an unforgettable safari experience.

We saw so many animals and learnt a lot about this beautiful reserve. We didn’t want to leave and are already trying to work out when we can go back!" See all these reviews: 10n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

2 sightings

Buffalo

3 sightings

Cheetah

3 sightings

Eland

Multiple sightings

Elephant

3 sightings

Giraffe

3 sightings

Hippo

1 sighting

Leopard

2 sightings

Lion

3 sightings

Oryx

Multiple sightings

White Rhino

3 sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

4 sightings

Mr&Mrs LS
Oxfordshire

"Kwandwe Great Fish River Lodge"

3 nights Arrived 14 Jan 2020
"Well, this was definitely the most memorable experience of the holiday.

We were completely overwhelmed by the vastness and beauty of this private game reserve from the moment we arrived (with yet another friendly Ilios driver) at reception where we were welcomed with an enjoyable glass of bubbly and chilled wet towels while we registered. We were then transported by Toby, a trainee ranger for approximately 25 minutes down to the Lodge itself.

Great Fish River Lodge was amazing - built in traditional African style, thatched roof with lovely facilities including a small shop to buy essentials for the early morning game drives. Our own lodge was just stunning - it had every thing we needed including an optional outdoor shower which my husband made a point of experiencing. The views across the river were breathtaking and we spotted a lone giraffe feeding in the distance - wonderful.

We did 2 game drives each day with a very experienced ranger - Rouen (a real larger than life character) and his amazing Tracker Vusi. They made a great team and had worked together for a number of years. The afternoon/evening drives were memorable as the sun set (sun downers were obligatory) and the nocturnal animals amazing. We saw lions, elephants, giraffe, a cheetah and her 3 cubs and lots more and really had the most wonderful experience that we definitely plan to return to the reserve.

We were very impressed by how much the owners of the reserve have done over the last 20 years to encourage and reinstate many species which had previously disappeared due to poaching etc. Thankfully the black rhinos have a future on this reserve." See all these reviews: 13n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

1 sighting

Buffalo

1 sighting

Cheetah

1 sighting

Eland

5 sightings

Elephant

1 sighting

Giraffe

7 sightings

Hippo

1 sighting

Lion

2 sightings

Oryx

1 sighting

White Rhino

1 sighting

Wildebeest

3 sightings

Zebra

5 sightings

Ms M
Isleworth

"Kwandwe Great Fish River Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 1 Nov 2019
"I really can't describe how wonderful this reserve is. The Great Fish River lodge is spectacular designed as a low white washed thatched building hugging the hillside of the river valley. It is decorated as a modern safari lodge with comfortable modern furniture and African items displayed. t has a large veranda on the river side. The rooms are mini versions - with a nice hallway, big bedroom with easy chairs, veranda with an outside shower, plunge pools and loungers. The bathroom is modern and well equipped. Space to store your cases - but little full length hanging space but then we never changed for dinner the atmosphere is so relaxed. We had nyala drinking from our plunge pool and warthogs sheltering from the sun under our bush!

It is an open site so you have to be taken your room at night by security men with torches. They seemed more worried about our falling over the steps than any animal danger! The food was lovely and as at Gorah far too much. We rarely made it to lunch. The early starts were rewarded by marvellous animal sitings - not so easy to spot as in Gorah as a larger reserve and of course fewer elephants. We saw a lots of animals, birds and some reptiles. We were in the middle of a cheetah hunt with the mother cheetah swerving round the vehicle about 2-3 feet away!

Our guide Nico and Tracker Andy were brilliant, knowledgeable and determined to find a leopard for us, tracking through the bush. i think they were more frustrated than us that they never found one but we enjoyed the whole process and experience pf watching them track it to about a 400x400 yards area. The hospitality staff are very well trained and skilled and were fabulous at making everyone feel at home.

Worth every penny!!" See all these reviews: 17n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

2 sightings

Buffalo

4 sightings

Cheetah

1 sighting

Eland

Multiple sightings

Elephant

8 sightings

Giraffe

8 sightings

Hippo

1 sighting

Lion

2 sightings

Meerkat

1 sighting

Oryx

5 sightings

White Rhino

6 sightings

Zebra

6 sightings

Peter
Oxfordshire

"Kwandwe Great Fish River Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 18 Sep 2019
"A fabulous introduction to being on safari.

Everything was carefully thought through and we even managed to see the big five in one morning.The room was very comfortable indeed in a great location.

The food was excellent - delicious and varied menus. all the staff were very helpful and nothing was too much trouble" See all these reviews: 6n in Zambia; 3n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

4 sightings

Brown Hyena

1 sighting

Buffalo

1 sighting

Cheetah

3 sightings

Eland

2 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

2 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

8 sightings

Meerkat

1 sighting

Oryx

1 sighting

White Rhino

3 sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr & Mrs L
Frodsham

"Awesome 1st Safari Experience"

3 nights Arrived 2 Feb 2019
"This was our first ever Safari so we didn't really know what to expect but it turned out to be a fantastic experience.
Our transfer from Port Elizabeth airport went very smoothly as did the very warm welcome that we received on our arrival at Kwandwe. Our Lodge was really nice and the plunge pool a welcome addition to our expectations. But the real surprise was the wildlife that we could observe from our large outdoor terrace!
A group of Nyala antelope were regulars, including a large very handsome male who regularly used our pool as a watering hole - which was brilliant to stand and watch. One afternoon a herd of elephants could be seen in the distance strolling one after the other across the hills opposite our lodge. Our afternoon 'chill time' took on a whole new meaning!

Our guide Nick was superb as was our tracker who was know as 'Banana'! Between them they tracked down a huge array of wildlife, which very often we were able to see at close quarters, which isn't something we expected. Nick's in depth knowledge of the flora and fauna was so impressive and we learnt so much during our twice daily trips out in the 56,000 acres that make up this superb private game reserve. It is also worth noting that safety was clearly very important to all the staff here and at no time did we feel anything other than completely safe.

The food, the ambiance and staff in the main lodge were also excellent and we had some lovely evenings around the huge logs fires sharing our day's experiences with fellow guests. All in all an awesome start to our South African trip." See all these reviews: 6n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

1 sighting

Buffalo

1 sighting

Cheetah

3 sightings

Eland

4 sightings

Elephant

3 sightings

Giraffe

4 sightings

Hippo

1 sighting

Lion

1 sighting

Meerkat

1 sighting

Oryx

3 sightings

White Rhino

2 sightings

Wildebeest

1 sighting

Zebra

5 sightings

Mr & Mrs B
Winchester

"Kwandwe Great Fish River Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 22 Feb 2018
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs D
Shropshire

"Kwandwe Great Fish River Lodge review"

8 nights Arrived 8 Feb 2018
"This is a fabulous lodge where the staff cannot do enough to help.

From the warm, friendly welcome on arrival till our departure we felt cared for and totally comfortable. The game drives were excellent and, even after 8 days completely varied.

We would highly recommend Kwandwe and would return ourselves." See all these reviews: 17n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs R
Norwich

"Great situation and game viewing"

5 nights Arrived 19 Oct 2017
"Unfortunately there was a misunderstanding about the diet although this got better after a day or two.

All the game drives were excellent as was the accommodation.

I could happily return to this lodge on other visits." See all these reviews: 11n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Ms E
Richmond

"Great safari, great food, great hospitality"

4 nights Arrived 7 Oct 2017
"- we had a nice team of Ranger Conor and Tracker Rasi

- we actually stayed a night longer than planned due to bad weather

- the bathroom lighting was a little too dark in our room 7 - additional lighting especially at the mirror and above the luggage rack would be good." See all these reviews: 11n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 1-10 of 26
99%
26 reviews of Great Fish River Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
25
1
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in South Africa

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in South Africa.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Kwandwe Private Game Reserve

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Kwandwe Ecca Lodge

Ecca Lodge

Kwandwe Ecca Lodge is a smart, chic lodge and is located in the superb malaria-free Kwandwe Private Reserve.


100% (22 reviews)
Kwandwe Uplands Homestead

Uplands Homestead

Uplands Homestead is a restored farmhouse and is located in a remote and peaceful valley in the Kwandwe Private Reserve.


100% (1 review)
Kwandwe Melton Manor

Melton Manor

Sleeping a maximum of 8 people, Melton Manor is an exclusive use villa located in the superb malaria-free Kwande Private Game Resertve.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa