This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Kwandwe Ecca Lodge
Kwandwe Ecca Lodge
Kwandwe Ecca Lodge
Kwandwe Ecca Lodge
Kwandwe Ecca Lodge
Kwandwe Ecca Lodge
Kwandwe Ecca Lodge
Kwandwe Ecca Lodge

Reviews of Ecca Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

22 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Ecca Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Oct-2018, 2 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Ecca Lodge.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

50% success

Cheetah

100% success

Buffalo

100% success

Eland

100% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Oryx

100% success

White Rhino

100% success

Wildebeest

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Aardvark

50% success

Black Rhino

50% success

Brown Hyena

50% success

Meerkat

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 22
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs H
Maningtree

"Kwandwe Ecca Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 17 Apr 2019
"Outstanding all round.

Very family focused with two great ranger/trackers who were first class.

We felt we were all hunting for the wildlife rather than it being paraded past us." See all these reviews: 15n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Brown Hyena

1 sighting

Buffalo

1 sighting

Cheetah

Multiple sightings

Eland

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

1 sighting

Lion

1 sighting

Oryx

Multiple sightings

White Rhino

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mrs L.
Birmingham

"Amazing safari. Superb with kids. Just wow!"

3 nights Arrived 21 Feb 2019
"Amazing staff and brilliant with kids.

Just wow!" See all these reviews: 7n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr D.T.R
Corby

"Safari and guides"

3 nights Arrived 24 Oct 2018
"Wonderful safari lodge for South Africa.

Guide, Raun and tracker Vusi exceptional and never had such an enthusiastic guide in our many safaris.

Great for the children and security no problem." See all these reviews: 8n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Aardvark

1 sighting

Black Rhino

1 sighting

Buffalo

1 sighting

Cheetah

1 sighting

Eland

3 sightings

Elephant

2 sightings

Giraffe

6 sightings

Hippo

1 sighting

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

2 sightings

Oryx

6 sightings

White Rhino

6 sightings

Wildebeest

2 sightings

Zebra

3 sightings

Mr & Mrs C
Romsey

"Fantastic safari and lodge. "

3 nights Arrived 3 Apr 2018
"Kwandwe Ecca lodge was fantastic. The welcome staff were very friendly and informative of how it would all work. The rooms were lovely and large and very clean. The beds were very comfortable and the showers were amazing! The all inclusive drinks included a nice selection. Kwandwe had a very good and organised set up in terms of meal times and game drives. The safari game drives were fantastic. We had two a day and we managed to see lots of animals - too many to list here! Our guide was excellent, we have been on safari before in Nambia and we learnt more than we ever did on any other safari, with our guide Ivan at Ecca. The special and surprise evening of candles in the room, with champagne and an outdoor meal was fantastic and a great night to end our holiday on." See all these reviews: 13n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr M & family
Lincs

"Kwandwe Ecca Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 3 Apr 2018
"Saw a lot of animals with a good ranger who was informative and friendly.

The jeep we were in broke down once which meant we had a short game drive on our last day (reduced by at least 45mins)" See all these reviews: 13n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr W & Ms W
NL

"Perfect finish at Kwandwe Ecca"

3 nights Arrived 22 Nov 2017
"We had an amazing time here. Everything from start to finish was perfect. The staff was very friendly, the food was great, the room was superb with it's private pool, and the gamedrives were done very professionally. Every day here was special.

In terms of game viewing this place still has something to offer even if you've been on quite a few safaris before. We expected it to be difficult to go on gamedrives with our small kids (2 & 3), but this actually went fine.

The ranger, Evan, and tracker, Sibo, were really great with them. Every day the kids looked forward to going in the safari truck with their friend Sibo." See all these reviews: 14n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr&Mrs A & M
Malta

"Kwandwe Ecca Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 18 Sep 2017
"Loved it.

The lodge is stunning, plenty of delicious food.

Our ranger Ivan and Sibo our tracker where both very knowledgeable about the animals and both extremely nice and friendly." See all these reviews: 13n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr T
Kew, London

"Five stars"

3 nights Arrived 3 Mar 2017
"The highlight of the entire holiday. Nothing but high praise for Ecco Lodge and its staff.

Wonderful setting, excellent spacious accommodation, great food, lovely staff, superb game drives with plenty of animals and birds in evidence.

Definitely worth the price." See all these reviews: 16n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms T & Mr B
France

"Kwandwe Ecca Lodge review"

4 nights Arrived 24 Feb 2017
"A totally enjoyable experience.

Wonderful rooms, super staff, great food, even the animals were accommodating and showed up on cue.

A special mention for the ranger, Conor and his tracker Rassie - they made getting up at 05.00 every morning, worthwhile.

The game drives were so special." See all these reviews: 8n in South Africa; 5n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Family D
Sheffield

"Kwandwe Ecca lodge was excellent "

3 nights Arrived 4 Feb 2017
"What a great place. Amazing setting, rooms and safari.

All the staff made you feel extremely welcome and were very friendly and attentive. In particular have to mention Nic ,our Guide ,and Vianni ,our tracker. Great team and great fun. Also expert at what they do. Nic makes clear that you go to look for animals not to see them as this is a safari not a zoo. However with their expertise and luck we saw a cheetah within minutes of arriving and were closeup with lions shortly after. Next morning we saw 4 of the big 5 including a leopard due to their tracking skill Great close up encounters also with giraffes.

Last morning the animals were more elusive which just makes the point about this not being a zoo but we still enjoyed their company and some great viewpoints.

Standard of the rooms was excellent and had access to a plunge pool on verandah and a good size main pool. Even managed to catch up on rugby with a cool drink in very comfortable TV room beside pool.

One point to note is that two possible routes from Grahamstown to the Kwandwe. The most obvious one is to go in from the east as has shortest journey traveling from main gates to Kwandwe reception. However that route has the most rutted road I have ever experienced. On way back Nic advised to take the longer (westerly) route out and that was much better." See all these reviews: 7n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 1-10 of 22
100%
22 reviews of Ecca Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
22
0
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in South Africa

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in South Africa.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Kwandwe Private Game Reserve

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Kwandwe Great Fish River Lodge

Great Fish River Lodge

Great Fish River Lodge is a superb lodge built on the edge of a gorge overlooking the river and is located in the Kwandwe Private Reserve.


99% (26 reviews)
Kwandwe Uplands Homestead

Uplands Homestead

Uplands Homestead is a restored farmhouse and is located in a remote and peaceful valley in the Kwandwe Private Reserve.


100% (1 review)
Kwandwe Galpin Tented Camp

Galpin Tented Camp

Galpin Tented Camp is a a comfortable exclusive use set up in malaria-free Kwandwe Private Reserve.


No reviews yet
Kwandwe Melton Manor

Melton Manor

Sleeping a maximum of 8 people, Melton Manor is an exclusive use villa located in the superb malaria-free Kwande Private Game Resertve.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa