This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr & Mrs H from Middlesex

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

4

Countries visited

4

Lodges stayed in

16

Excursions taken

0

Wonderful holiday

Mozambique between 30 Jun 2017 and 20 Jul 2017

Trip rating: Excellent
"The trip was wonderful overall, we enjoyed the lodges and the safari, there was relaxation, variety. Accommodation was comfortable, food great and service personal and helpful. Thanks to everyone."

Arranged By Tracy Lederer


Guludo Beach Lodge

Guludo Beach Lodge

"Excellent and Restful Guludo Lodge"

6 nights Arrived 1 Jul 2017
"We had a wonderful 6 days at Guludo Beach Lodge. the location was superb, the staff were friendly, very helpful and the food was superb. The banda was very attractive and comfortable, and the environmental toilets and use of water were easy to use. It was great to be able to sit and read with a beautiful view of the sea, and to swim and walk along the clean and beautiful sands. It was also interesting to watch the fishermen at work and to visit the village. We slept early and enjoyed the peaceful environment.

Thank you to all the staff who made the stay such a great experience."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Ibo Dhow Safari

Ibo Dhow Safari

"Excellent Dhow Safari"

4 nights Arrived 7 Jul 2017
"We had an excellent dhow safari, with a professional, very attentive crew. We stayed on 3 different islands which was very interesting, the cook was able to produce top quality food on the go, and the tents were comfortable as tents go. On Rolas Island, we saw a giant coconut crab wandering through the fisherman's hamlet and this was a real thrill. It was wonderful to swim off pristine beaches and sandbars. When we needed help with climbing in and out of boats, or walking a distance when the tide was out, but the crew gave every assistance. We were given lots of interesting info about the islands and the sea, saw dolphins, and breakfasted on a glittering sandbar near Ibo Island.

Thank you very much to the crew who cared for us as friends."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Ibo Island Lodge

Ibo Island Lodge

"Excellent stay at Ibo Island Lodge"

3 nights Arrived 11 Jul 2017
"Very beautiful, comfortable lodge, with wonderful gardens and view. Helpful, friendly staff, who also maintained everything excellently, high quality food and the Island itself is very interesting to explore. The tour of the Island was informative and flexible, with time for discussion, shopping, mix of history and culture. There were a range of activities on offer. Perhaps a list of these for guests, plus when to reserve, might have been more visible eg walking, dhow, massage, to re-enforce the helpful info given over meals or on request."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Wonderful trip

Malawi between 19 Jul 2014 and 1 Aug 2014

Trip rating: Excellent
"Overall, we had an excellent holiday with beautiful, luxurious lodges, great settings and excellent staff. we enjoyed the varied experience, very efficient transfers, with everyone friendly and willing to help. We particularly enjoyed being able to customize our stopping points during transfers which gave us a broader view of Malawi and its friendly people.

We'd like to thank everyone for making our trip so enjoyable."

Arranged By Claire Scott


Tongole Wilderness Lodge

Tongole Wilderness Lodge

"Beautiful, peaceful, great for relaxing"

4 nights Arrived 20 Jul 2014
"We had a wonderful time here. The lodge and accommodation were beautiful and very comfortable. The service was very helpful, personalized and friendly. The food was excellent and personal preferences were responded to. We had a great time just relaxing, enjoying the scenery and lodge, watching the birds, reading. We very much enjoyed the walks, the climb up the local hill and the game walks/drives with sundowners in beautiful spots at the end.

Donna and Steve were fantastic hosts

Thank you to everyone for a great start to our Malawi holiday."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Pumulani

Pumulani

"Great lake setting and activities"

4 nights Arrived 24 Jul 2014
"We enjoyed our stay at Pumulani very much. The setting was fantastic and we doubt chalet 5 could be bettered for its excellent views.

The chalet itself was also extremely spacious and comfortable. The service was excellent and all our requests were promptly dealt with. The facilities were also first class and the dhow and trips on the lake were wonderful. We appreciated the chance to use the telescope with interesting information from Rob.

A very enjoyable experience."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Mkulumadzi Lodge

Mkulumadzi Lodge

"Wonderful lodge and food, great game drives"

4 nights Arrived 28 Jul 2014
"We had a wonderful 4 days here. The lodge and accommodation were great with a beautiful river setting with hippos, crocs and birds. The food was superb and service from staff throughout was professional, friendly and individualized.

We thoroughly enjoyed the game walks and drives and particularly appreciated the professional approach of our main guide, Osman. During our transfer he went out of his way to take us everywhere we wanted to go, took us to the nearby town to buy a present and gave great information during the drives and walks. He helped to make our stay really enjoyable.

Thank you very much to everyone."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Our holiday in Namibia

Namibia between 17 Jul 2011 and 2 Aug 2011

Trip rating: Excellent
"We had a wonderful, truly memorable trip. All the accommodation was great, food really enjoyable and activities excellent. We saw and did lots of really interesting things eg kayaking to see the seals, climbing a dune, seeing game, walking trips. One fantastic highlight was sitting at a very quiet waterhole in Etosha, deciding we were about to leave, and then seeing 37 elephants, adults and children, coming in one group, with the matriarch at the back checking on them all! Also, wonderful, spectacular scenery and the sense of space and of people having lived here for so many centuries.

For us, the distances were easy to drive but made for quite long days. Also, we would have liked to meet a few more local people to hear about the country and their experience first hand.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

None. thanks very much for organizing a great trip."

Arranged By Sabina Hekandjo


Elegant Guesthouse

Elegant Guesthouse

"The Elegant Guesthouse review"

1 night Arrived 18 Jul 2011
"Very helpful staff who gave really useful advice, including booking restaurant, where to get petrol, food etc.

Guest house comfortable and clean with a peaceful atmosphere.

Excellent breakfast, including being able to get this on the morning we arrived very early which was very convenient."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
BullsPort Lodge & Farm

BullsPort Lodge & Farm

"Bullsport Guest Farm review"

2 nights Arrived 19 Jul 2011
"Friendly, helpful, really great food, very enjoyable activities with guiding very good.

Fun to be on a farm with other activities going on."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Kulala Desert Lodge

Kulala Desert Lodge

"Kulala Desert Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 21 Jul 2011
"Everyone very helpful and attentive. Great accommodation in individual 'chalets' (including hot water bottles for the cool nights), wonderful, atmospheric location and very nice food. Great trip with excellent guiding to the dunes.

It would be helpful to put some gravel on the paths to the rooms rather than mostly sand."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Cornerstone Guesthouse

Cornerstone Guesthouse

"Cornerstone Guesthouse review"

2 nights Arrived 23 Jul 2011
"Helpful staff, great breakfast, pristine room and dining room, very central.

Helpful advice, including booking restaurant and how to get to places."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Doro Nawas

Doro Nawas

"Doro Nawas review"

2 nights Arrived 25 Jul 2011
"This was our favourite location.

Very atmospheric, wonderful, large 'chalet' rooms with fantastic views. Fantastic food, really great trip to see elephants (Wilfred, trainee guide, went out of his way to take us back later in the day to find the large herd), nice, informative evening walk. Positive feeling of it being a collaborative project with staff very committed to this."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"Okaukuejo Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 27 Jul 2011
"Everything OK but it was very busy and staff seemed a bit overwhelmed eg for registration and in restaurant.

Room was comfortable and clean, great location near waterhole and for going round the park. Good facilities, shop, food, maps etc. We drove ourselves round the park (great game viewing and wonderful views of the salt pan) so can't comment on activities."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Halali Camp

Halali Camp

"Halali Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 29 Jul 2011
"Very comfortable rooms, lovely staff, very good food, felt peaceful and well organized.

Easy access to waterhole plus for driving to see game (it was a bit further to waterholes but worth the drive). Again, we drove ourselves and didn't take part in any organized activities."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Erongo Wilderness Lodge

Erongo Wilderness Lodge

"Erongo Wilderness Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 31 Jul 2011
"Wonderful location, interesting 'chalets' which were clean and comfortable as luxury tented accommodation.

When we stayed, it was a bit windy. We had hot water bottles but inevitably there were a lot of draughts and flapping canvas! Excellent food, great guide for evening and morning walk (Heidi), plus waiter in restaurant was effecient, very cheerul and a wonderful source of information and stories.

Management were helpful and attentive although they seemed quite new and in process of developing their own systems and hotel culture."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good

Wonderful, memorable trip

Rwanda between 28 May 2010 and 5 Jun 2010

Trip rating: Excellent
"We had a wonderful, memorable holiday with lots of interest in truly beautiful surroundings. We received a really friendly welcome wherever we went. Our holdiday was really made by our driver/guide, Johnson, from Primate Safaris, who drove safely, worked incredibly hard, was friendly, informative and always went out of his way to do things for us.

We were also very moved by the history of the place and individual stories from local people. The gorilla trekking was fantastic and the trip to the Akagera park magical.

We had such great fun as a family and with Johnson and local people we met, felt part of a bigger family for a short time. Would love to return.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

Re trip - It might be useful to stress that getting money and small change was tricky (ATMs not working at all in Kigali or elsewhere and getting money from a bank took about an hour!). Also, to maybe advise people that tipping is widely expected and people need to budget for this and try to get small denominations of notes. We found dollars are far more usable where we were than euros.

maybe have a 'very good' category for this form as sometimes it was difficult to choose between good and excellent."

Arranged By Tracy Lederer


Hotel des Mille Collines

Hotel des Mille Collines

"Comfortable hotel, great restaurant"

2 nights Arrived 30 May 2010
"Comfortable rooms, nicely furnished and spacious public areas, very pleasant outdoor bar and swimming pool, excellent food in restaurant with panaromic view of Kigali.

Helpful, friendly service."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Mountain Gorilla View Lodge

Mountain Gorilla View Lodge

"Wonderful views, great food and staff"

4 nights Arrived 1 Jun 2010
"The staff were warm, friendly and incredibly helpful. The food was plentiful and varied. Great views and lovely surroundings. The cottages were large and comfortable. We had a fire and hot water bottles each evening, plus hot towels, boots cleaned and ginger tea on the verandah after trekking.

The lodge was decorated in a traditional, interesting way. We had good access to hot water and light with the generator (small comment: it would have been good to have had towels dried as they stayed damp with the climate). We really enjoyed the dancing by a group of local children arranged by the hotel.

Overall, we had a wonderful time here."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team