This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Ta Shebube Rooiputs
Ta Shebube Rooiputs

Reviews of Ta Shebube Rooiputs

Wildlife sightings and reviews

12 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Ta Shebube Rooiputs and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jul-2018, 2 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Ta Shebube Rooiputs.
Lion

0% success

Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

100% success

Wild dog

0% success

Giraffe

100% success

Oryx

100% success

Wildebeest

100% success

Spotted Hyena

50% success

Aardvark

0% success

Brown Hyena

0% success

Eland

0% success

Meerkat

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 12
Duration
Arrival date
Mr A.
Hertford

"Ta Shebube Rooiputs review"

1 night Arrived 18 Apr 2019
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Poor
Sightings Report

Cheetah

1 sighting

Giraffe

1 sighting

Oryx

10 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Ms C & Mr C
Milan

"Where the BBC cannot get, there Rooiputs"

2 nights Arrived 12 Jul 2018
"The place is incredibly beautiful and we enjoyed a fantastic guide and tracker , mr Tab Tshiamo.

The feeling here is that we we were in the kingdom of lions. The presence of the cat was everywhere but i personally did not

Experienced what it was on the way in Tanzania : no one has a rifle or a AK47. What this people taught us is learning to ménage a coexistence with big cats and predators. Sometimes scary ( wow ) but inspiring . We did love game drives with Tab. And thank to him ( please note thank to him ) we saw a CARACAL. Mr Cistrena could film it and this video will be a strong part of our reportage for LA STAMPA Italian newspaper .

A special mention to the master chef : Mrs Patience Buno. She would be worth working in Kensington, London , because her talent is impressive." See all these reviews: 9n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Cheetah

1 sighting

Oryx

1 sighting

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Mr J & Ms D
UK

"Ta Shebube Rooiputs review"

2 nights Arrived 29 Apr 2018
"Great experience with excellent opportunities for game drives.

Beautiful area with unexpected scenery. Worth going to before everyone discovers it." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia; 6n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs W
Warwick

"No better place to stay in the Kgalagadi"

2 nights Arrived 18 Jun 2017
"Located just over the border in Botswana and staffed by its citizens, the camp is beautifully located on dunes. From the same group as Polentswa this camp is similar in many ways but the units are more substantial and even more comfortable with unexpectedly luxurious fixtures and fittings for a desert camp. Its location close to the Rooiputs waterhole means it is in one of the areas most prolific with game.

Mercy is a very effective manager of the lodge and she is supported by staff who together form an excellent team. The game drives with Mr T or William are very good value and allow one to spend two or three hours in company with two very nice, conscientious and interesting people. The lodge is especially popular during the summer months and, unusually, because it was the depths of winter, we were fortunate to have the place to ourselves for one of the nights and were treated like royalty.

It is a wonderfully peaceful place where sleep comes easily other than when Mofofu, the lion, who spends the night just outside Mercy's room, decides to roar to attract lionesses to join him." See all these reviews: 16n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
R family
Sissinghurst

"Great location, but needs to be cheerier"

1 night Arrived 8 Apr 2017
"The facilities and location were at least the equal of Polentswa. But sadly the service was more like that of a larger hotel than a bespoke/boutique lodge.

The staff were friendly, but appear to be working under a rigid manager who generates a rather cold atmosphere." See all these reviews: 2n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Mr M
Toronto

"Jeep drive very cold in winter/early spring"

1 night Arrived 12 Sep 2016
"Staff here were extremely friendly and most tried hard. We were there in September and the evening game drive was comfortable but the morning drive was beyond freezing even with the warm blankets they provided (and we had many layers of clothes on).

Low desert temperatures plus wind made this a most arduous drive and perhaps a closed vehicle is needed for the winter and early spring months.If you go in winter bring an extremely warm jacket plus gloves and warm hat.

Raptor sightings were incredible. Accommodation was spacious with large patios.

Breakfast was not ready in time and many of us stood around waiting for coffee." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia; 4n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Poor
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Dr L & Family
Denmark

"Luxury in Kgalagadi; its the place"

2 nights Arrived 27 Nov 2015
"If you want luxury in Kgalagadi, go for Ta Shebube Rooiputs. Perfect nice huts with everything you need. You can also get full board and all activities included in the (then expensive) rate.

If you are already experienced in travelling in Africa, you might not need all the activities, but can use your own car. Our tour guide was OK but notreally fantastic. We have tried better expert guides elsewhere. We learned nothing from the guide, we did not already know.

Note that there is no fence around the place. Predators get very close. Look where you walk all the time. We had lions in the camp - sleeping under hut no. 3. The lodge is very exposed on the top of a dune, especially if very windy. It could be a problem but it is also part of the excitement.

In conclusion, we have tried better luxury wilderness lodges elsewhere, e.g. Etendeka Mountain Camp in Namibia, but Ta Shebube Rooiputs is the best in Kgalagadi; and its a nice place to spend 2-3 days, e.g. in the end of a trip around Kgalagadi." See all these reviews: 10n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr J
Hants

"Ta Shebube is just perfect"

2 nights Arrived 24 Aug 2015
"We were the only guests, so had very personal attention. I asked if the lodge was ever busy/full and it appears not. This is a shame, it is truly a great place.

When we were there, a pride of lions were close by and leopard tracks were seen each morning. No worries - the staff are very safety conscious and we were taken, and collected, from our chalet before and after sunset. This is the appeal - no fences !

Our guide ("BK") was very knowledgable, friendly and helpful.

The chalet was just delightful - one complete wall is a sliding glass door, so if you're not on an early morning drive you can let the Kalahari sunrise wake you up. Food was very good

If I had some very small comments for improvement they would be - (1) a signpost from the road would be nice. We just headed up a sand track towards the buildings on the dune ridge. If the buildings had not been visible from the road, we would have been a bit lost (2) mend the old Land Rover's gearbox (BK was constantly fighting to get it into 4 wheel drive) !!

Otherwise 5 Stars all round !" See all these reviews: 13n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs F
UK

"Ta Shebube Rooiputs review"

3 nights Arrived 8 Jun 2015
"For part of our 5 night stay we were the only guests but we had the feeling everyone is treated very well here.

A very good welcome. Accommodation is very well designed and equipped: great attention to detail. Care of us was exceptional: nothing was too much trouble. Our guide Chris was of exceptional quality and very determined.

Other staff were excellent, Martin the manager, KB the other guide we met, the waitresses including Susanah, barman, chefs and Reuben the maintenance man-without exception a cheerful attentive team. We hope the owners and management take note.

Although the lodge appears from the map to be in a less remote location our experience was that it is very, very well situated both in itself and for traversing the southern edge of the Park.

A very memorable experience." See all these reviews: 28n in Namibia; 5n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs D
Harrow

"Ta Shebube Rooiputs review"

1 night Arrived 22 Jan 2015
"We liked Rooiputs. Its location is good, with an attractive outlook over dunes and a waterhole but it is close to the Nossob valley road. (It is close to the old Rooiputs camp site which is still there but the camp site is some distance behind the lodge and does not affect the views).

The lodge appears to have been designed by experienced lodge designers and seems well constructed (although it is too new to be able to judge maintenance standards). The individual chalets are comfortable and attractive. The lodge has its own private concession area although this is not large. In practice most of the wildlife is in the river valleys and there is only a little in the concession area, but the latter is scenically attractive and a change from the river valley scenery.

The lodge is nearly half an hour north of Twee Rivieren. Thus, for example, early morning game drives in the Nossob valley can start before other people get to that area. Our early morning drive with Rooiputs' ranger/guide in their vehicle was very successful and for much of the time no other vehicles were in sight.

The guide on our evening and morning game viewing drives was qualified and sound. The vehicle was a normal modification of Land Rover, open-toppped with canvas canopy. It was new and seemed in good condition.

Catering standards appear good and we enjoyed our meals. We were given very good service in general. (We were in fact the only guests on the one night we stayed there).

For midsummer heat it would be appropriate to install roof fans in the chalets and we understand that Rooiputs is considering doing this. In the meantime they provide a floor standing fan. Electricity is available for 24hrs.

More consideration is probably needed to coping with very cold mid-winter conditions. For example the only shower in each chalet is outdoors. The wall above the doors to the chalet's verandah is just mesh. We understand that Rooiputs is thinking about addressing this aspect.

The tracks to the lodge are sand tracks over the dunes and are only passable with 4 wheel drive. Clients with 2 wheel drive vehicles can leave them at Twee Rivieren and Rooiputs lodge will collect them from there. We understand that arrangements can also be made to collect clients from Upington.

Signposting to the lodge might be improved." See all these reviews: 7n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Showing 1-10 of 12
90%
12 reviews of Ta Shebube Rooiputs by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
9
0
3
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in South Africa

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in South Africa.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Kgalagadi Transfrontier Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Twee Rivieren Rest Camp

Twee Rivieren

At the southern entrance to Kgalagadi Transfrontier Park, Twee Rivieren Rest Camp is the park's largest restcamp and also the centre for its administration. The accommodation here is all self-catering, and arranged in almost a little village – with a restaurant, a shop, a fuel station and a swimming pool. It's a park for serious safari aficionados to spent at least four or five nights exploring – with time here at the start and/or end.


82% (30 reviews)
Kalahari Tented Camp

Kalahari Tented Camp

Kalahari Tented Camp, with self-catering accommodation, is an unusual and well positioned base for exploration of the Kgalagadi Transfrontier Park.


91% (28 reviews)
Mata Mata Rest Camp

Mata Mata Rest Camp

On the western border of the Kgalagadi Transfrontier Park, Mata Mata Restcamp offers camping and simple self-catering chalets, great for adventurous travellers on self-drive explorations of this park.


83% (14 reviews)
Gharagab Wilderness Camp

Gharagab Camp

Gharagab Wilderness Camp is located in a remote corner of the Kgalagadi Transfrontier Park, which is wonderful if you like wilderness areas. However, access takes time - so it's not the best base for exploring the park.


89% (13 reviews)
Nossob Rest Camp

Nossob Rest Camp

A basic but very well positioned rest camp within the heart of the Kgalagadi Transfrontier Park. Simple self-catering accommodation is available as well as camping options


80% (12 reviews)
!Xaus Lodge

!Xaus Lodge

The only private lodge within the Kgalagadi Transfrontier Park with full board and activities, !Xaus Lodge is a good base from which to explore the Kalahari.


98% (11 reviews)
Ta Shebube Polentswa

Ta Shebube Polentswa

Although accessed via South Africa, Ta Shebube Polentswa is situated just across the border, in a private concession on the Botswana side of the Kgalagadi Transfrontier Park


94% (10 reviews)
Bitterpan Wilderness Camp

Bitterpan Camp

Bitterpan Wilderness Camp, with the self-catering accommodation housed in reed and canvas chalets; it's an unusual but comfortable base from which to explore the Kgalagadi Transfrontier Park.


88% (10 reviews)
Grootkolk Wilderness Camp

Grootkolk Camp

Grootkolk Wilderness Camp has quirky sand-bag self-catering accommodation and simple amenities, offering a comfortable place to stay while exploring the north western Kgalagadi Transfrontier Park.


94% (10 reviews)
Urikaruus Wilderness Camp

Urikaruus Camp

Urikaruus is one of the most popular wilderness camps in the Kgalagadi National Park with lovely riverside cabins set high up on stilts overlooking the Auob riverbed.


95% (8 reviews)
Kielie Krankie Wilderness Camp

Kielie Krankie Camp

Perched high atop a huge red sand dune, the small Kielie Krankie wilderness camp it is well positioned for accessing both east and west sides of the Kgalagadi National Park.


93% (8 reviews)
Molopo Kalahari Lodge

Molopo Lodge

Molopo Kalahari Lodge is less than an hours' drive from the Kgalagadi Transfrontier Park. It is probably the best base for self-driving around the Kgalagadi if the restcamps inside the park are full, or if you're arriving here late in the afternoon.


60% (3 reviews)
The Motse at Tswalu

The Motse at Tswalu

Tswalu Motse is a smart lodge located in the Tswalu Game Reserve, the largest private reserve in South Africa.


100% (1 review)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa