This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Ta Shebube Rooiputs
Ta Shebube Rooiputs

Reviews of Ta Shebube Rooiputs

Wildlife sightings and reviews

14 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Ta Shebube Rooiputs and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jul-2018, 4 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Ta Shebube Rooiputs.
Lion

67% success

Leopard

50% success

Cheetah

100% success

Wild dog

0% success

Oryx

100% success

Wildebeest

100% success

Giraffe

50% success

Meerkat

50% success

Spotted Hyena

33% success

Aardvark

0% success

Brown Hyena

0% success

Eland

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 14
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs H
Middlesex

"Ta Shebube Rooiputs review"

5 nights Arrived 15 Apr 2022
"The lodge is comfortable and in one of the most stunning locations we've ever stayed at, with views over the grasslands. The chalets are comfortable with good but not luxury amenities. Showers are outside only and drinking water is provided in jugs.

There are lovely decks for each chalet and you truly feel you are in the wilderness. The food was very ample and good, with lovely cakes for afternoon tea. We really appreciated it when the cook made us a Botswanian dish which we thoroughly enjoyed. Npo the manager was helpful and attentive and the staff friendly. We were the only ones there so we felt very welcomed, like we were staying with the family. The game guide /driver Benjamin was great. We were all equally excited to see a leopard and cub! The drives are long, but the scenery and birds magnificent and we had excellent game sightings. Our last day barbeque was great fun.

The lodge had some maintenance problems, due in part to terrible weather in December. The shared plunge pool didn't look like it had been used for some time. They said they were planning renovations. We had a wonderful, wilderness experience here, quirky service, not luxury but a good place to stay and enjoy the wide, open spaces, stars and quiet." See all these reviews: 13n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Cheetah

4 sightings

Leopard

2 sightings

Lion

4 sightings

Meerkat

3 sightings

Oryx

10 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Mr M
Stockport

"Ta Shebube Rooiputs review"

2 nights Arrived 3 Apr 2022
"To be fair this small company probably suffered a lot because of the pandemic and then their other camp was burnt down. That said it was haphazard in conveying what was happening. For example when attempting to organise a packed lunch to take with me when I would leave after two nights I was told that I was entitled to a cooked breakfast on my final day!

The shower in the room (outside actually) was fine once you knew to turn it on and off a few times to fire up the gas. It was really cold at night, the only place I felt this. There are gaps in the wooden structure.

As elsewhere in Botswana, lunches are always best. I experienced one which was exceptional, hake with vegetables, home made bread in the shape of a large bun with poppy seeds, followed by cheeses and fruit (grapes and mango)" See all these reviews: 12n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Cheetah

1 sighting

Lion

1 sighting

Oryx

10 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Mr A.
Hertford

"Ta Shebube Rooiputs review"

1 night Arrived 18 Apr 2019
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Poor
Sightings Report

Cheetah

1 sighting

Giraffe

1 sighting

Oryx

10 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Ms C & Mr C
Milan

"Where the BBC cannot get, there Rooiputs"

2 nights Arrived 12 Jul 2018
"The place is incredibly beautiful and we enjoyed a fantastic guide and tracker , mr Tab Tshiamo.

The feeling here is that we we were in the kingdom of lions. The presence of the cat was everywhere but i personally did not

Experienced what it was on the way in Tanzania : no one has a rifle or a AK47. What this people taught us is learning to ménage a coexistence with big cats and predators. Sometimes scary ( wow ) but inspiring . We did love game drives with Tab. And thank to him ( please note thank to him ) we saw a CARACAL. Mr Cistrena could film it and this video will be a strong part of our reportage for LA STAMPA Italian newspaper .

A special mention to the master chef : Mrs Patience Buno. She would be worth working in Kensington, London , because her talent is impressive." See all these reviews: 9n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Cheetah

1 sighting

Oryx

1 sighting

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Mr J & Ms D
UK

"Ta Shebube Rooiputs review"

2 nights Arrived 29 Apr 2018
"Great experience with excellent opportunities for game drives.

Beautiful area with unexpected scenery. Worth going to before everyone discovers it." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia; 6n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs W
Warwick

"No better place to stay in the Kgalagadi"

2 nights Arrived 18 Jun 2017
"Located just over the border in Botswana and staffed by its citizens, the camp is beautifully located on dunes. From the same group as Polentswa this camp is similar in many ways but the units are more substantial and even more comfortable with unexpectedly luxurious fixtures and fittings for a desert camp. Its location close to the Rooiputs waterhole means it is in one of the areas most prolific with game.

Mercy is a very effective manager of the lodge and she is supported by staff who together form an excellent team. The game drives with Mr T or William are very good value and allow one to spend two or three hours in company with two very nice, conscientious and interesting people. The lodge is especially popular during the summer months and, unusually, because it was the depths of winter, we were fortunate to have the place to ourselves for one of the nights and were treated like royalty.

It is a wonderfully peaceful place where sleep comes easily other than when Mofofu, the lion, who spends the night just outside Mercy's room, decides to roar to attract lionesses to join him." See all these reviews: 16n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
R family
Sissinghurst

"Great location, but needs to be cheerier"

1 night Arrived 8 Apr 2017
"The facilities and location were at least the equal of Polentswa. But sadly the service was more like that of a larger hotel than a bespoke/boutique lodge.

The staff were friendly, but appear to be working under a rigid manager who generates a rather cold atmosphere." See all these reviews: 2n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Mr M
Toronto

"Jeep drive very cold in winter/early spring"

1 night Arrived 12 Sep 2016
"Staff here were extremely friendly and most tried hard. We were there in September and the evening game drive was comfortable but the morning drive was beyond freezing even with the warm blankets they provided (and we had many layers of clothes on).

Low desert temperatures plus wind made this a most arduous drive and perhaps a closed vehicle is needed for the winter and early spring months.If you go in winter bring an extremely warm jacket plus gloves and warm hat.

Raptor sightings were incredible. Accommodation was spacious with large patios.

Breakfast was not ready in time and many of us stood around waiting for coffee." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia; 4n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Poor
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Dr L & Family
Denmark

"Luxury in Kgalagadi; its the place"

2 nights Arrived 27 Nov 2015
"If you want luxury in Kgalagadi, go for Ta Shebube Rooiputs. Perfect nice huts with everything you need. You can also get full board and all activities included in the (then expensive) rate.

If you are already experienced in travelling in Africa, you might not need all the activities, but can use your own car. Our tour guide was OK but notreally fantastic. We have tried better expert guides elsewhere. We learned nothing from the guide, we did not already know.

Note that there is no fence around the place. Predators get very close. Look where you walk all the time. We had lions in the camp - sleeping under hut no. 3. The lodge is very exposed on the top of a dune, especially if very windy. It could be a problem but it is also part of the excitement.

In conclusion, we have tried better luxury wilderness lodges elsewhere, e.g. Etendeka Mountain Camp in Namibia, but Ta Shebube Rooiputs is the best in Kgalagadi; and its a nice place to spend 2-3 days, e.g. in the end of a trip around Kgalagadi." See all these reviews: 10n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr J
Hants

"Ta Shebube is just perfect"

2 nights Arrived 24 Aug 2015
"We were the only guests, so had very personal attention. I asked if the lodge was ever busy/full and it appears not. This is a shame, it is truly a great place.

When we were there, a pride of lions were close by and leopard tracks were seen each morning. No worries - the staff are very safety conscious and we were taken, and collected, from our chalet before and after sunset. This is the appeal - no fences !

Our guide ("BK") was very knowledgable, friendly and helpful.

The chalet was just delightful - one complete wall is a sliding glass door, so if you're not on an early morning drive you can let the Kalahari sunrise wake you up. Food was very good

If I had some very small comments for improvement they would be - (1) a signpost from the road would be nice. We just headed up a sand track towards the buildings on the dune ridge. If the buildings had not been visible from the road, we would have been a bit lost (2) mend the old Land Rover's gearbox (BK was constantly fighting to get it into 4 wheel drive) !!

Otherwise 5 Stars all round !" See all these reviews: 13n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 1-10 of 14
87%
14 reviews of Ta Shebube Rooiputs by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
9
1
4
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in South Africa

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in South Africa.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Kgalagadi Transfrontier Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Twee Rivieren Rest Camp

Twee Rivieren

The Kgalagadi's largest restcamp, Twee Rivieren is the centre for the park's administration, and an obvious stop for food and fuel for self-driving visitors.


82% (31 reviews)
Kalahari Tented Camp

Kalahari Tented Camp

Kalahari Tented Camp, with self-catering accommodation, is an unusual and well positioned base for exploration of the Kgalagadi Transfrontier Park.


92% (28 reviews)
Mata Mata Rest Camp

Mata Mata Rest Camp

On the western border of the Kgalagadi Transfrontier Park, Mata Mata Restcamp offers camping and simple self-catering chalets, great for adventurous travellers on self-drive explorations of this park.


83% (14 reviews)
Gharagab Wilderness Camp

Gharagab Camp

Gharagab Wilderness Camp is located in a remote corner of the Kgalagadi Transfrontier Park, which is wonderful if you like wilderness areas. However, access takes time - so it's not the best base for exploring the park.


89% (14 reviews)
Nossob Rest Camp

Nossob Rest Camp

A basic but very well positioned rest camp within the heart of the Kgalagadi Transfrontier Park. Simple self-catering accommodation is available as well as camping options


80% (13 reviews)
!Xaus Lodge

!Xaus Lodge

!Xaus Lodge mixes guided wildlife safaris with very good community interactions, suiting those who prefer not to drive and cater for themselves.


98% (11 reviews)
Bitterpan Wilderness Camp

Bitterpan Camp

Bitterpan is a basic self-catering camp in the Kgalagadi's central dune-field; it suits experienced self-drivers comfortable with remote travel.


82% (11 reviews)
Grootkolk Wilderness Camp

Grootkolk Camp

Grootkolk Wilderness Camp has quirky sand-bag self-catering accommodation and simple amenities, offering a comfortable place to stay while exploring the north western Kgalagadi Transfrontier Park.


94% (10 reviews)
Ta Shebube Polentswa

Ta Shebube Polentswa

Although accessed via South Africa, Ta Shebube Polentswa is situated just across the border, in a private concession on the Botswana side of the Kgalagadi Transfrontier Park


94% (10 reviews)
Urikaruus Wilderness Camp

Urikaruus Camp

Urikaruus is one of the most popular wilderness camps in the Kgalagadi National Park with lovely riverside cabins set high up on stilts overlooking the Auob riverbed.


96% (9 reviews)
Kielie Krankie Wilderness Camp

Kielie Krankie Camp

Perched high atop a huge red sand dune, the small Kielie Krankie wilderness camp it is well positioned for accessing both east and west sides of the Kgalagadi National Park.


91% (9 reviews)
Molopo Kalahari Lodge

Molopo Lodge

Less than an hours' drive from the Kgalagadi, this makes a good base near to the park if you're arriving late in the afternoon.


60% (3 reviews)
The Motse at Tswalu

The Motse at Tswalu

Tswalu Motse is a smart lodge located in the Tswalu Game Reserve, the largest private reserve in South Africa.


100% (1 review)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa