This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr M from Stockport

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

4

Countries visited

4

Lodges stayed in

23

Excursions taken

0

My Mar 2022 trip

South Africa between 26 Mar 2022 and 9 Apr 2022

Trip rating: Excellent
"All plans worked seamlessly. Tracy again excelled in organising my trip.

I was very lucky to see lots of cheetahs, especially as the park had had so much rain making the grass very long/high. Due to fires giraffes had moved from their normal area. In fact it should be noted that research data often does not apply when you get there. Talk to other visitors to get up to date information.

Any rain happened overnight. It was cool in some mornings but overall was still hot during the day, late 20's to early 30's.

The roads are frequently regraded, but still some can be quite corrugated due to volume of traffic. Note that because Mata Mata has one road in and out there are less options for viewing.

Ideally travel with at least one other person to aid spotting! Driving, spotting and guessing where animals are going and trying to photograph the animals is intense.

As with any safari the longer you stay in an area the more chance to see animals. A lot of spotting is pure luck.

Really enjoyed the trip, loads of birds as well as cats. Surprised to see so many hartebeests.

South Africans are very friendly, and most wave to you as you pass."

Arranged By Tracy Lederer


Le Must River Residence

Le Must River Residence

"Le Must River Residence review"

1 night Arrived 27 Mar 2022
"The first night was fine. I was welcomed by the owner Jake and he talked about the park and his guiding.

Room was fine. I had breakfast which was a bit disorganised."
Average
Location
Good
Service
Average
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Facilities
Excellent
Twee Rivieren Rest Camp

Twee Rivieren Rest Camp

"Twee Rivieren Rest Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 28 Mar 2022
"The chalet was more than adequate.

As I was on my own I could sleep in the room with the air conditioning rather than the kitchen. I had one dinner in the restaurant, which was inexpensive, and gave a break before I started self catering.

While I was there fuel was readily available."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Facilities
Excellent
Kielie Krankie Wilderness Camp

Kielie Krankie Wilderness Camp

"Kielie Krankie Wilderness Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 30 Mar 2022
"A tranquil location. Adequate infrastructure, gas and solar power lights. Comfortable bed. Good shower. Bring insect spray to remove the invaders.

Light over the waterhole inadequate for night photography.

It is located few kms from Auob road/river, but a very bumpy 25kms from Nossob side of the park."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Mata Mata Rest Camp

Mata Mata Rest Camp

"Mata Mata Rest Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 1 Apr 2022
"Friendly reception staff set the tone. Missing kitchen accessories were eventually provided. Riverfront chalet very good pleased to find a toaster, indeed all the accommodation provided one. Reasonable stock in the shop, got some very nice pork chops.

Waterhole hardly frequented due to the heavy rains the park had received. That said saw some oryx on my final night from my chalet. Plenty of wildebeest turned up my final morning to see me off? Had a good chat with two ladies who were in a room adjoining reception on the Friday, who had birding knowledge (did not see them again over the weekend)"
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Ta Shebube Rooiputs

Ta Shebube Rooiputs

"Ta Shebube Rooiputs review"

2 nights Arrived 3 Apr 2022
"To be fair this small company probably suffered a lot because of the pandemic and then their other camp was burnt down. That said it was haphazard in conveying what was happening. For example when attempting to organise a packed lunch to take with me when I would leave after two nights I was told that I was entitled to a cooked breakfast on my final day!

The shower in the room (outside actually) was fine once you knew to turn it on and off a few times to fire up the gas. It was really cold at night, the only place I felt this. There are gaps in the wooden structure.

As elsewhere in Botswana, lunches are always best. I experienced one which was exceptional, hake with vegetables, home made bread in the shape of a large bun with poppy seeds, followed by cheeses and fruit (grapes and mango)"
Average
Location
Good
Service
Average
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Average
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Nossob Rest Camp

Nossob Rest Camp

"Nossob Rest Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 5 Apr 2022
"Another friendly group of reception staff.

The chalet was large and had everything I needed. The shop had basic top items."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Le Must River Residence

Le Must River Residence

"Le Must River Residence review"

1 night Arrived 7 Apr 2022
"Room fine.

Welcome ok but service degenerated thereon in, more focused on looking after German guests.

Did have a good main course of springbok and beef steak. Dessert never materialised."
Average
Location
Average
Service
Average
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent

My Nov 2021 trip

Botswana between 20 Nov 2021 and 28 Nov 2021

Trip rating: Excellent
"This was a trip of a lifetime with the fantastic animal watching experiences, so our best ever safari trip. The private concessions with no more than two camps made a huge difference to the quality of the experience. Thoroughly recommend them both.

We had issues returning thanks to the UK Government, but the Splash camp did all they could do to support us and so did Tracy many thanks to her for the support throughout our challenges getting back home.

Kwando did not seem overly concerned with one case going missing at Jo'burg, so we left for Lagoon with just the one bag. We pushed and finally got the second back two days later. So always pack clothes for both travellers in separate cases, fortunately we did.

We felt COVID safe at both camps. The PCR testing on the airstrip went smoothly, for our return. The unexpected lateral flow testing we experienced at Nairobi was chaotic. The LFT at Maun was just an inconvenience in very hot conditions.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

None that I can think of."

Arranged By Tracy Lederer


Lagoon Camp

Lagoon Camp

"Lagoon Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 21 Nov 2021
"Very spacious tent, which although rustic had everything we needed.

First trip out after tea we saw spotted hyenas, three adults and two pups. We spent 25 minutes with them while they played/socialised near their den. It was such a beautiful experience with just our vehicle there. This was is what we wanted, this private concession prevents a mass gathering of vehicles.

We were fortunate to see a leopard up a tree eating an impala another priceless viewing. The only animal we did not see, that was on our pick list, was a sable. Saw our first ever bat eared foxes and honey badgers, the latter did not provide a photo opportunity.

Great to see so many bee eaters, carmine, and white fronted in addition to the often seen little ones. Yellow billed kites, wattled crane, purple and goliath herons and grey headed kingfisher. Hippos were quite lively at the end of a boat trip, which was a warning for future excursions on our holiday.

Food here in the evening was average, lunches tend to be better with a top afternoon tea you never go hungry."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Average
Facilities
Excellent
Splash Camp

Splash Camp

"Splash Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 24 Nov 2021
"There is lion pride resident here, hence sometimes you have to be driven to or from your chalet!

There are loads of birds which the guides are interested in, at least Godfrey was. We saw black kites, broad billed roller, meyers parrot, steppes eagle, woodland kingfisher, I mention all those we had not seen before.

Two highlights here as far as animals were concerned. We saw our first cheetah, Mr Special, who had just returned to the area. We had three sessions with him, finally he tried to hunt an impala but unsuccessfully, the terrain was against him.

We saw wild dogs doing a pre-hunt ritual, lots of yapping and socialising to the lay person. Then off they went and finally after quite some time we saw an unfortunate impala killed.

We saw two hammerkops on a hippo on last morning game drive, not sure why, they do not pick up tics or blood like oxpeckers do.

To finish off our stay, on the way to the airstrip we saw another leopard in a tree, she was very relaxed with the attention. What a fantastic memory to finish on. Tracking of a leopard on a previous day had only provided a fleeting glimpse in the undergrowth, so this was a bonus.

The rooms here are really modern and hence not as affected by the winds.

One evening meal the meat was very tender, but the others not so. Having travelled twice before we know that food quality is not great, so our expectations were managed."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Average
Facilities
Excellent

Excellent memories

Namibia and 1 other country between 17 May 2019 and 31 May 2019

Trip rating: Excellent
"A good blend of self drive and guided, the trip delivered on all we wanted, both animals and birds.

We enjoyed Botswana and the fellow guests we shared with quality time with.

I would not recommend anyone doing three flights in a day starting in Windhoek, maybe we should have stayed overnight in Jo'burg, not something | thought of, before flying on to Maun and beyond.

Thanks again to Tracy for making it all happen without any problems."

Arranged By Tracy Lederer


Erongo Wilderness Lodge

Erongo Wilderness Lodge

"Great way to unwind at start of holiday"

2 nights Arrived 18 May 2019
"Food as good as ever. Able to experience afternoon tea for first time.

Room very good.

Did a self guiding walk (baboon just over a 1 hour) which was enjoyable and gave a good vantage point of the lodge and the surroundings.

Staff again very helpful, as had problems with 4 way gang connection to recharge batteries etc."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Palmwag Lodge

Palmwag Lodge

"Fantastic Rhino trek"

2 nights Arrived 20 May 2019
"Afternoon tea forgettable if you managed to get a cake/biscuit from them.

Most staff very happy and polite. Reception seem to tell most people you have not paid for your special activity when you arrive tired from a long drive, but finally retract when challenged.

Location fine, did see the resident elephant, who had been missing for 2 days!

Rhino trek enjoyable, lucky enough to see three including a baby. Apart from a couple of antelope in the concession only saw two giraffes on drive back.

Room comfortable but rather warm in the afternoon, as no air conditioning.

Food surprisingly good given some reviews. Special offers on wine we enjoyed on our second night.

Road there is in a terrible state, took extra 15 minutes driving back, and still got a puncture(albeit only discernible at the next lodge)"
Good
Rooms
Average
Food
Good
Facilities
Average
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Hobatere Lodge

Hobatere Lodge

"Fab waterhole, great problem solving"

2 nights Arrived 22 May 2019
"Long drive on a bumpy road, but that said the animals seen close up at the new waterhole were great, even saw a lioness at the furthest waterhole.

Food was ok, desserts typically a let down.

Management were very good Janet and Liberty sorted out local niggles, as well as organising the removal of punctured tyre and the replacement thereof.

Too many people trying to hard sell activities, which in the end we had no time consider because we spent 4 hours getting a new tyre. Also we had sufficient Namibian massage travelling from Palmwag."
Average
Location
Good
Service
Average
Rooms
Average
Food
Average
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"Great rhino spotting"

2 nights Arrived 24 May 2019
"Water hole delivered as usual. Two rhinos, calf and mother looked straight at me for a while on the second night and then lay down in front of me, they say animals remember people, maybe they did?

First night meat inedible, second night different chef eland meat superb!

Service on the whole was fine. The bar was closed so one man operated in the restaurant was run off his feet but remained cheerful. When the place is busy replacement staff should have been found.

Park roads as bad as ever, if not worse, or was it the puncture that meant we felt the roads even more?

Bush chalet spacious. Hot showers at a premium, our room had an element replaced two days previously, which went again before we arrived. Got it replaced our first morning and it went again that evening. So the result was we had one hot shower in two days. Maybe there should be a rebate system? Especially when you have more than major problem?

Lucky enough to see black rhino in the bush in daylight."
Average
Location
Good
Service
Average
Rooms
Average
Food
Average
Etango Ranch Guest Farm

Etango Ranch Guest Farm

"Convenient for the airport"

1 night Arrived 26 May 2019
"Not the first or the last to miss the turn off, it is immediately opposite the Puma petrol station would have been helpful as you cannot see the drive from the B6.

Food; beef main course very good. Accompanying Spier wine good.

First and last sight of mosquitoes on our trip.

Room comfortable.

Handy for the airport."
Average
Location
Good
Service
Average
Rooms
Average
Food
Average
Khwai Tented Camp

Khwai Tented Camp

"Khwai Tented Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 27 May 2019
"Lunches great. Afternoon tea fine. Dinners could be better, food not often hot which for 12 guests is rather surprising. Given the cost of the stay, a bottle of wine left on the table would be sensible, as many Americans (there were 6 in our group) commented on this being a frustrating procedure to wait for a top up.

Room was more than adequate with very comfortable beds, and good hot showers. Hot water flask much appreciated. Did suffer some kitchen noise, which would be frustrating if you wanted a lie in, but as we were up at 5.30 for game drives it was tolerable.

Uncle Ken was a great guide on the game drives, and enjoyed a joke, which is important when you are spending many hours together .

BB excelled on the Mokoro trip pointing out all the birds.

The visit ticked all the boxes, we wanted to see leopards, painted dogs(saw pack of 21 on two days) and malachite kingfisher, and we did. However, as reported, a leopard sighting comes with a whole convoy, we were first on one occasion so I got some good shots although it was rushed because the animal kept moving with the extra cars coming, the second sighting on another day was a scrum down not very edifying.

Wifi connectivity good in the office, was much appreciated.

Got a bottle of bubbly in the room on last night presumably for my special birthday.

Take a euro adapter as the South African adapter is too big (fortunately I checked this out beforehand and Tracy confirmed both would be useful for our entire trip).

Anyone thinking of going must be prepare for cold mornings and the inevitable African massage. Also getting there can be challenging, the internal direct flight is 25 minutes but you may drop off other people, so it could be longer. If you are tall getting to the front of the plane, because we were second off, it was extremely challenging as the ceiling is very low and little space between seats, I am 6’ 4”. Also if you are unlucky you may wait over an hour before Mack Air you fly you out, as happened to us, which when combined with a drop off meant we missed afternoon tea and when straight out on a 4 hour game drive with one initial drink and nothing then until a sun downer 3 hours later, this after a 4 am start in Windhoek."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Average

Excellent trip with rewarding sights

Namibia and 3 other countries between 15 Jun 2017 and 28 Jun 2017

Trip rating: Excellent
"Second time to Namibia, but managed to surpass previous visit with animals seen, and got some memorable images. Good to self drive providing so much flexibility as to how long you spend at a waterhole, we had well over 1 hour at one observing in the main bull elephants, only two other cars there.

First time in Botswana great time on the Chobe river viewing elephants crossing , and the birds. Spoilt with the number of lions with kills, and the first cubs I had seen albeit bit hidden in the trees.

Zambia provided a fitting finale something completely different, namely Victoria Falls, seen from the air and on foot, fantastic noise of the the water roaring.

The challenge is how to beat this trip?"

Arranged By Tracy Lederer


City Lodge OR Tambo

City Lodge OR Tambo

"Not restful stop over"

1 night Arrived 15 Jun 2017
"The room had no double glazing, as it was at the back facing all the roads it was very noisy, not recommended as a room for a rest after a full days flying!

The breakfast was very good, and the service was good."
Average
Location
Good
Service
Good
Rooms
Average
Food
Good
Erongo Wilderness Lodge

Erongo Wilderness Lodge

"Quiet Backwater"

1 night Arrived 16 Jun 2017
"Excellent breakfast, great tray of fruit and yoghurts etc, and freshly made pan cakes.

Dinner was good. Just had glass of house wine each, which tasted good, but turned out to be the most expensive on the whole trip in Namibia by a distance.

Setting for meals is good , and enjoyed watching the rosie faced lovebirds while eating breakfast.

Did not enjoy driving up the over the rocks at post 6pm (pitch black)to the Lodge. This issue was raised with the Duty Manager and passed onto to the Co-owner.

Room/tents are different, but may be draughty if the wind is up.

The location is not suitable for anyone with walking difficulties to the tents or up to the restaurant.

In summary a pleasant spot away from it all."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"Black Rhinos make it worthwhile"

2 nights Arrived 17 Jun 2017
"Having stayed before I was not concerned at the quality of the room. However, I was unhappy that there was building work being undertaken which we had not been informed of. This meant the dining room was out of action and it was noisy and dusty while eating breakfast. In addition the chef did not prepare fresh cooked food either at breakfast or dinner, which spoilt our enjoyment.

As before that said the animals did not disappoint.It is a lottery as to what turns up, and on the first evening there was nothing until 8.30 when black rhinos appeared, phew. No elephants that evening either. The next evening both elephants and rhinos turned up. That's the trouble with expectations/experience you feel next time that they must be beaten!"
Average
Location
Good
Service
Average
Rooms
Average
Food
Poor
Mushara Lodge

Mushara Lodge

"Mushara Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 19 Jun 2017
"Second stay at this lodge.

Lovely comfortable room.

Food bit off first night, meat chewy in the Goulash! Second night good barbecue with great oryx steak.

Policy of having doors open in a morning while eating encourages squirrel like creatures to roam, not ideal.

Handy for the east side of the park.

Had a quick email response to food quality and service being a bit overt rather than helpful. Did not raise the squirrel issue."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
River Dance Lodge

River Dance Lodge

"Lovely Location on the river"

2 nights Arrived 21 Jun 2017
"Evening meals were very good. It was slightly cold while eating so another layer would be well advised for this time of year.

Very restful spot. Birds aplenty and the odd warthog and deer in the lodge grounds.Good location for access to Mahango Park,where we saw lots of birds (first little bee eater)and animals including first hippo.

The lodge is owned and manned by the local community, which helps it run smoothly.

The local petrol station in Divundu accepts credit cards ( you pay in the supermarket)."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Lianshulu Lodge

Lianshulu Lodge

"Disappointing Stay"

1 night Arrived 23 Jun 2017
"Set in a wonderful location. We enjoyed afternoon tea sat out admiring the view and watching a golden tailed wood pecker and little bee eaters.

The room was okay, although due to just mosquito screens on some windows it was draughty and not very warm. The lack of power in the room was a set back, plus no hot water in the morning for a shower as the noisy room generator kicked in at 7am.

The evening meal was nothing special, and breakfast took an age to set up but was ok when it finally arrived.

Not one to repeat."
Average
Rooms
Average
Food
Average
Service
Average
Muchenje Safari Lodge

Muchenje Safari Lodge

"Wonderful Opportunities await"

2 nights Arrived 24 Jun 2017
"The rooms are great although we did not have much time to use/enjoy them. Three days is probably the correct amount, it also gives you another chance to see animals you may have missed.

We enjoyed mixing with some of our fellow travellers over meals. There was plenty of food, and there were options just as well as ox tail is not on my list. It did seem very busy at times as guests were in and out on trips during the day.

We were unlucky with the early morning trip and did not see anything of real interest, the guide seemed able to detect tracks but not follow them. The next morning other people were much luckier/well looked after. We did however, see two lion kills close by with our other guide, based on other people communicating, and another in the park not so accessible, so that made up for the early morning disappointment. Lots of birds were seen in the Park and on the Chobe river fish eagles a plenty , first time for Pied Kingfishers. It was also good to see elephants swimming so close to us.

Guided trips have rough and smooth it depends on the guide and fellow passengers if both are poor then the experience is dissipated. We had a bumpy ride on the day trip in Chobe, the guide was rushing partly because we had to stop to see some flowers, dead trees and almost any time we saw a giraffe!"
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Waterberry Zambezi Lodge

Waterberry Zambezi Lodge

"A great setting "

2 nights Arrived 26 Jun 2017
"First afternoon we went on the Zambezi sundowner cruise. Hippos are elusive, but we had lots of shots from the Chobe river. Bird life interesting first brown hooded kingfisher.

Room slightly small, but it had a large shower.

Early morning delivery of tray of hot water etc to make tea was very nice.

Arranged to eat with American friends we made at Muchenje,which was enjoyable. Ate outside not as cold as River Dance, but they did provide some coal fires!



Our driver/guide to Victoria waterfalls was great. He came prepared with ponchos, towels to dry our feet and of course drinks. We did not realise he would take us onto the road bridge between Zambia and Zimbabwe, which enables you to get another view/perspective of the falls. The waIk over Knife Edge bridge was very wet due to the wind and high volume of water. I would recommend a chopper ride over the falls, but especially do an add on going down the gorge over the first seven or so rapids, the lighting is great and you get to see white water rafters as you skim low over the water. Got lots of shots of rainbows it was fantastic.

Good time had by all and a memorable excursion to end the holiday."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team