This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Immanuel Wilderness Lodge
Immanuel Wilderness Lodge
Immanuel Wilderness Lodge

Immanuel Wilderness Lodge


22°22’57.4"S 17°3’18.9"E

Reviews of Immanuel Wild'ss Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

16 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Immanuel Wild'ss Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 1-10 of 16
Duration
Arrival date
Mr J.
Ireland

"Immanuel Wilderness Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 12 Apr 2019
"A lovely stopover close to Windhoek. Stayed one night. Very comfortable.

We loved the main reception and dining area, and the swimming pool. Rooms clean, tidy and comfortable. Food very good.

Happy to recommend and we would definitely stay there again." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs Braddock
UK

"Immanuel Wilderness"

1 night Arrived 18 Sep 2018
"This is a really lovely camp run by a German couple who are passionately in love with Namibia and providing a comfortable stay for their guests.

Meals are beautifully cooked by the owner and proudly served by the attentive and friendly staff. And the owner personally talks to each of the guests to enquire if everything is OK!

Lovely restaurant and intimate lounge area overlooking beautifully designed grounds to relax within. Rooms could do with a little updating although clean and comfortable but as the owner confides, his priority has been the grounds and restaurant/lounge areas for development and has not been able to as yet refurbish the rooms - budgets only go so far!!!!!

But a worthy resting place with superb food cooked lovingly by the owner!!!!!" See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
C & D
Woking/Brighton

"A lovely first night in Namibia!"

1 night Arrived 5 Sep 2018
"We had a very comfortable first night to our Namibian adventure - the supper menu was delicious, Stephan is an amazing chef!

The only disappointment was that the massages weren't available, we'd thought it would be a treat to have one after the long flight...but the reception manager explained and apologised that they were offering the service anymore.

It's very well placed for a first stop on the way up to Etosha - we'd recommend staying here. " See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs S
Oxon

"Sadly no longer a wilderness"

1 night Arrived 28 Nov 2017
"Our view of this lodge was unfavourably affected by our difficulty in locating it. We didn't have a Satnav so relied on the written instructions provided in our itinerary - unfortunately these assumed we would be arriving from the Windhoek - and we could find no reference to lfinding the premises on the lodge's own website. We eventually found the right road but were disappointed to find ourselves driving through an industrialised area.

On arrival we were greeted by two staff members and shown our room. It was adequate but not inspiring and there was traffic noise. However the lodge dining room was delightful and the food was good. The take away packed breakfast was the best we have never been given anywhere! We never met the owners but spoke to Sabine over the phone on how to reach the airport.

We would like to make special mention of Johanna who proved herself to be most capable - she put us in touch with Sabine, cooked the evening meal, sorted out our bill, got up early to give us our packed breakfasts and inspired us with confidence. Her professional approach has enabled us to rate the lodge as good rather than average.

With the knowledge of hindsight we wished we had selected accommodation east of Windhoek so that we did not have to drive through the city rush hour on our way to the airport." See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Poor
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Ms C & Mr N
October

"Immanuel Wilderness Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 11 Nov 2017
"I think we had probably been spoilt after all the other lodges. Whilst it was relaxing there was not much to do - the nature trail referred to in the guide book has now closed which was disappointing.

It was a bit too close to the motorway and warehouses to justify the name Wilderness.

Good food although strict instructions for dinner at 7 pm was a bit early." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Average
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Mrs & Mr S
Yorkshire

"It was ok for one night"

1 night Arrived 1 Oct 2017
"We stopped here on our second night in Namibia. We would have preferred to travel further but had problems finding availability with our lodges (booked in February for travel in October).

The bedroom accommodation is looking tired and badly in need of an update. Also it was strange that we had a small fridge in our room but our friends did not. The outside area was in full sun and therefor could not be used during the day.

Food was excellent but despite trying to engage the host in conversation on a number of occasions, she was quite abrupt. This was the least friendly of all our accommodation and we wouldn't return.

Directions to this lodge were unclear and we turned off the main road too soon, travelling miles on a gravel road to then realise we were back close to the main road again." See all these reviews: 9n in Zimbabwe; 5n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Average
Service:
Good
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Average
Cambridge 4
UK

"Good for first or last night"

1 night Arrived 27 Sep 2017
"The rooms were OK, perhaps a little tired but very adequate for a night. The property has a nice garden & pool area. The restaurant area is also attractive & the food very good.

The owner was very relaxed about us hanging around on the day of departure to suit our airport check in - a major bonus given the garden and pool." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Average
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr M
W Lothian

"Immanuel Wilderness Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 23 Sep 2017
"Yup , it was OK but there was a bit of a stooshie with the locals at about three in the morning, which was a bit disturbing.

Otherwise fine." See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Average
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Paul & Nicky
Keswick

"Immanuel Wilderness Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 18 Sep 2017
"If you would like a day or two just outside Windhoek, within easy reach of the airport then this Lodge is very handy.

The really strong point about Immanuel Wilderness Lodge is the owners. They provide absolutely perfect care of their guests. The food is exceptionally good, the hosts and staff are lovely, and everyone wants to see that you are happy and comfortable. Without asking, they offered to check us in for our flights, print boarding passes etc to avoid hassle at the airport; just that wonderful feeling that they really look after their guests.

The rooms are simple but they are clean. There is plenty of parking and the grounds (with a pool) are adequate for just relaxing. We would chose to stay here to start and end any future visit to Namibia. As mentioned by others, do enjoy the Namibia cheeses; wow, they are good!" See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr MA
SE London

"Immanuel Wilderness Lodge"

1 night Arrived 6 Jul 2017
"I got badly lost in the dark trying to find it as the directions were from Windhoek ( I realised afterwards ) not the North (Etosha) and were possibly confused by the new stretch of road/ dual carriageway. slightly impractical long gravel paths for those with big wheelie suitcases. Unbelievably good dinner ;0)" See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Showing 1-10 of 16
80%
16 reviews of Immanuel Wild'ss Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
4
8
4
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Windhoek

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Olive Grove

Olive Grove

In a quiet Windhoek suburb, Olive Grove is one of our favourite guesthouses: stylish, with a friendly, welcoming atmosphere and excellent food.


88% (339 reviews)
Galton House

Galton House

Galton House is a cool stylish sanctuary in a quiet suburb of Windhoek with a pool and restaurant.


90% (147 reviews)
Elegant Guesthouse

Elegant Guesthouse

The Elegant Guesthouse is a friendly, comfortable establishment with a lovely, tranquil garden, and is a good choice for an overnight stay in Windhoek.


86% (124 reviews)
River Crossing

River Crossing

On a game reserve between Windhoek and the airport, River Crossing is a convenient yet relaxing place to start or end a trip.


82% (115 reviews)
Haus Sonneneck

Haus Sonneneck

Haus Sonneneck was one of Windhoek's best pensions just a few minutes' drive away from the city centre, however it has now closed.


86% (102 reviews)
Villa Violet

Villa Violet

Villa Violet is a friendly, owner-run guesthouse in a residential area of Windhoek, just a few minutes' drive from the city centre and numerous restaurants.


90% (99 reviews)
Hilltop Guesthouse

Hilltop Guesthouse

A long-standing favourite, the small, owner-run Hilltop Guesthouse is comfortable, smart and good value.


91% (55 reviews)
Heinitzburg Hotel

Heinitzburg Hotel

One of the oldest hotels in Windhoek, the Heinitzberg occupies a great hill-top location but can feel like a relic of a bygone era.


85% (40 reviews)
GocheGanas

GocheGanas

For somewhere to really pamper yourself, Gocheganas Lodge & Spa offers wildlife combined with extensive wellness treatments.


95% (37 reviews)
Olive Exclusive

Olive Exclusive

The Olive Exclusive is perhaps Windhoek's most luxurious boutique hotel but remains a friendly and unpretentious place to stay.


95% (33 reviews)
Etango Ranch Guest Farm

Etango Ranch G. Farm

Etango offers simple, clean, comfortable accommodation and it’s the closest accommodation to Windhoek International Airport.


88% (21 reviews)
Rivendell Guesthouse

Rivendell Guesthouse

Rivendell Guesthouse offers great value, relaxed accommodation in a homely atmosphere with helpful and extremely friendly staff.


89% (17 reviews)
Sun Karros Daan Viljoen

Sun Karros Daan Viljoen

Situated within the Daan Viljoen Nature reserve Sun Karros is a simple lodge with gentle game viewing and bird watching opportunities.


77% (15 reviews)
Avani Windhoek Hotel

Avani Windhoek Hotel

The Avani Windhoek Hotel and Casino lack the personal touch of Windhoeks smaller guesthouses but is well located in the heart of the city.


80% (11 reviews)
Hotel Thule

Hotel Thule

Windhoek’s Hotel Pension Thule offers stunning views across the city and a reputable in-house restaurant, within easy reach of the international airport.


91% (9 reviews)
Pension Palmquell

Pension Palmquell

Stay at the Pension Palmquell in Windhoek, whilst on holiday in Namibia.


89% (9 reviews)
Am Weinberg Boutique Hotel

Am Weinberg

In a quiet upmarket suburb of Klein Windhoek, the stylish Am Weinberg has a friendly, welcoming atmosphere and luxury facilities.


93% (3 reviews)
Omaanda

Omaanda

Omaanda offers luxury accommodation and wildlife viewing within easy reach of the international airport and Windhoek City.


100% (2 reviews)
Desert Express

Desert Express

The Desert Express runs from Windhoek to Swakopmund on set departures. Recently this schedule has been somewhat erratic.


80% (1 review)
Ti Melen Guest House

Ti Melen

Overlooking Avis Dam, Ti Melen is on the outskirts of Windhoek, yet only 10-minutes from the city's amenities.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa