This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr J. from Ireland

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

9

Excursions taken

1

A wonderful adventure

Namibia between 12 Apr 2019 and 28 Apr 2019

Trip rating: Excellent
"We had a fantastic trip around Namibia which is a wonderful country to travel in. Great safaris, great lodges, wonderful scenery, great variety.

Highly recommend and would love to do it again."

Immanuel Wilderness Lodge

Immanuel Wilderness Lodge

"Immanuel Wilderness Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 12 Apr 2019
"A lovely stopover close to Windhoek. Stayed one night. Very comfortable.

We loved the main reception and dining area, and the swimming pool. Rooms clean, tidy and comfortable. Food very good.

Happy to recommend and we would definitely stay there again."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Onguma Bush Camp

Onguma Bush Camp

"Onguma Bush Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 13 Apr 2019
"Lovely camp. No problems at all. Great food. Great service.

Nice lodgings for family of four. Lovely pool.

Decent safari experience as well which was reasonable value."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Andersson's at Ongava

Andersson's at Ongava

"Andersson's at Ongava review"

3 nights Arrived 15 Apr 2019
"We stayed the first night it opened after renovations. It is a top class lodge with beautiful chalets and wonderful friendly staff.

Etienne, the manager, was a pleasure to deal with and most welcoming. The pool is spectacular. The food was very good, although they need to improve their offering for kids.

The reserve safari trip was a lovely treat. We didn't go on the Etosha morning safari as that seems very expensive. The family chalet may not be suitable for very young children as they are not adjoining rooms. Our kids ended up staying with us in our chalet which was large enough to accommodate a family of four in any event! Really top class accommodation."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Doro Nawas

Doro Nawas

"Doro Nawas review"

2 nights Arrived 18 Apr 2019
"A lovely lodge where you get a great local welcome and you really sense that locals are at the heart of running the place. Very happy with everything here. Staff very welcoming.

The footpaths and steep path to main reception may be a problem for people with mobility issues. Nice comfortable chalets - no air conditioning but that wasn't a problem as nights were cool.

Spectacular views and the rooftop barbeque was a real treat. Highly recommend."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Cornerstone Guesthouse

Cornerstone Guesthouse

"Cornerstone Guesthouse review"

3 nights Arrived 20 Apr 2019
"We stayed in the apartment. It was in a great location by the seafront.

Very comfortable and spacious with everything we needed.

Rated good as Swakopmund as a whole was fine but not the Africa we expect."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Kayaking with seals

Kayaking with seals

"Kayaking with seals review"

21 Apr 2019 • Morning excursion

Lovely experience. Would highly recommend. Great guide.
Excellent
Rostock Ritz

Rostock Ritz

"Rostock Ritz review"

1 night Arrived 23 Apr 2019
"One of our preferences. Really lovely hosts and staff.

Lovely rooms. Charming. Nice food. Great pool."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Desert Grace

Desert Grace

"Desert Grace review"

2 nights Arrived 24 Apr 2019
"A high quality lodge aimed at the upper end of the market. Outstanding rooms. Lovely setting. Cold drinks from the Fridge in the wild a lovely and unique surprise.

Only advice is the service for the meals was a bit hit and miss. And for a five star facility, I was surprised that a glass of red wine was served from a bottle in the fridge. Also dessert option was just ice-cream on our second night."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch

Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch

"Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch review"

1 night Arrived 26 Apr 2019
"A lovely ranch. Nice reception, dining area. Highlight was the dinner which was excellent.

Rooms were fine, somewhat basic but suited us grand and the four of us were accommodated in the one chalet.

Staff friendly and helpful.

Good that kids were half price on activities."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Average
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Hilltop Guesthouse

Hilltop Guesthouse

"Hilltop Guesthouse review"

1 night Arrived 27 Apr 2019
"A very nice guesthouse for our last night.

Rooms were very comfortable and breakfast was lovely.

The staff were friendly. Nice swimming pool.

Air conditioning was noisy. Happy to stay again though."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team