This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by C & D from Woking/Brighton

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

7

Excursions taken

0

Namibia was wonderful, enjoyed every minute!

Namibia between 4 Sep 2018 and 16 Sep 2018

Trip rating: Excellent
"It was a really fantastic holiday! Absolutely loved every minute - each place we stayed was lovely in it's own way, the driving was easy and being in Etosha was a long held dream come true! The dramatic landscapes and beautiful animals are just breath-taking to see! Our trip was carefully planned to ensure that we had a good mix of 'safari-time' in the National parks and downtime to rest and enjoy the beautiful surroundings."

Immanuel Wilderness Lodge

Immanuel Wilderness Lodge

"A lovely first night in Namibia!"

1 night Arrived 5 Sep 2018
"We had a very comfortable first night to our Namibian adventure - the supper menu was delicious, Stephan is an amazing chef!

The only disappointment was that the massages weren't available, we'd thought it would be a treat to have one after the long flight...but the reception manager explained and apologised that they were offering the service anymore.

It's very well placed for a first stop on the way up to Etosha - we'd recommend staying here."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Onguma Bush Camp

Onguma Bush Camp

"Fantastic camp in a beautiful setting"

2 nights Arrived 6 Sep 2018
"After a long drive it was a treat to arrive and be given a cool drink while we checked in.

Our waterhole view room was spacious and beautifully decorated. Drinks round the camp fire and the cosy lounge above the waterhole made for relaxing evenings, and the African Tales bedtime story on the pillow was a lovely touch.

The early morning bush walk in the reserve is great way to start the day before taking yourself into Etosha.

The camp staff were incredibly kind, polite and we really enjoyed staying at Onguma!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"Busy,bustling camp but friendly & comfortable"

2 nights Arrived 8 Sep 2018
"It was certainly busier here than all the other places we stayed but the room was comfortable and the flood lit waterhole definitely a great attraction - we saw 4 rhino and elephant both nights.

The night drive was quite long (3 hours) and chilly but watching and waiting at the waterholes was rewarded with more rhino sightings. There were many cars/trucks in the area which meant crowds where elephants, lion and rhino were spotted.

The staff were friendly but busy, mealtimes a little less relaxing than elsewhere but food was good and well presented."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Average
Food
Good
Facilities
Average
Dolomite Camp

Dolomite Camp

"Beautifully rugged and wild"

1 night Arrived 10 Sep 2018
"It's a long way but definitely worth it! Watching the landscape change as you drive west through the park is really interesting, there appears to be less game but they're just hiding better...waterholes were busy when you waited and watched to see what comes out the bush...

The camp is in a great setting, wide open vistas from all angles, brilliant sunset and sunrise! We were treated to a giraffe munching right outside the room when we arrived, and later a herd of elephant too. The beds were incredibly comfy - very nice to relax into after the steep walks around camp!

The night drive was fun and our guide thrilled to find a couple of aardwolf, brown hyena, multiple rhino and a spotted wild cat."
Excellent
Palmwag Lodge

Palmwag Lodge

"An oasis of green and calm"

1 night Arrived 11 Sep 2018
"Another lovely welcome to the camp by the staff, and a comfy, spacious room looking out into green gardens surrounded by palm trees. Very relaxing after dusty drive...the pool was delightfully chilly but nice to sit beside with a book for couple of hours."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Doro Nawas

Doro Nawas

"Absolutely incredible...not to be missed!"

2 nights Arrived 12 Sep 2018
"Doro Nawas was easily our favourite place that we stayed in on our Namibia trip! It's panoramic views of the surrounding mountains are incredible and matched by the beautiful rooms that can be opened up to take it all in. Sleeping outside on the verandah, cosy in bed under the blankets, watching as shooting stars streaked across the sky is something I will remember forever.

The staff were the most friendly, polite and smiley group we had the pleasure of meeting, and they are brilliant singers too! They sing a welcome song as guests arrive, all joining in as they gather in reception area, it was very special.

The food was very tasty and there was a little help-yourself table in the afternoons if you needed a little something after a trip out! We were treated to a bush dinner too, 3 delicious courses at a long table lit with little lights and candles flickering up the hillside. Amazing!

We took ourselves off for a trip to the Skeleton Coast National Park - a long way to go to see the sea but an incredibly scenic drive, with a brown hyena and a puff adder to add to the list of things spotted!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Okonjima Plains Camp

Okonjima Plains Camp

"Very well run camp, great shop & activities"

1 night Arrived 14 Sep 2018
"We stayed at Okonjima on our last night in Namibia and are very glad we didn't miss it off the itinerary! It's a fantastically well run camp, a lovely welcome by the reception staff in the enormously airy and beautifully decorated main camp building. Lots of photos on the walls and pictures of big cats everywhere! The rooms are huge, with an open view of the reserve and lots of warthog and guinea fowl passing by.

We opted for the leopard sunset drive and weren't disappointed - brilliant to see a leopard snoozing in a river bed - and read about all the research work they are doing too.

We were treated to a special bush supper in the tiny boma just near the restaurant - a lovely surprise, and delicious! ..and our trip wouldn't have been complete without a little look in the shop, lots of lovely things to take home!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team