This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Palmwag Lodge
Palmwag Lodge
Palmwag Lodge
Palmwag Lodge
Palmwag Lodge
Palmwag Lodge
Palmwag Lodge

Reviews of Palmwag Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

32 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Palmwag Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Sep-2018, 3 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Palmwag Lodge.
Lion

0% success

Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

67% success

Oryx

50% success

Black Rhino

33% success

Brown Hyena

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Wildebeest

0% success

Zebra

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 32
Duration
Arrival date
Mr J & Ms D
UK

"Palmwag Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 25 Sep 2019
"The lodge was fine but the fact that our booking was lost and we were left in the reception area for an hour spoilt the experience there.

The staff were pleasant enough and sympathetic but didn't really seem to know what was going on. They said the mistake came from the take over by the lodge but this was last May
Not sure whether the booking had been reconfirmed before we went but this needs addressing at Palmwag before other guests go there in future.

The room we were given was one of the old ones and not the standard of the new tented rooms we had been booked for, as particularly the bathroom needed a bot of rejuvenation. However, if our Namib Tracks and trails guide and driver hadn't kindly given up one of their rooms we would have had no room at all." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Poor

Location:
Good
Service:
Poor
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Elephant

1 sighting

Dr L & Family
Denmark

"Average to good, but only option."

1 night Arrived 2 Aug 2019
"Actually, we like this oasis in the desert, that we have visited three times by now (2009, 2012 and 2019). Nice little pools (two), OK restaurant, tyre repairs, and fine tents by the riverbed. Also, an elefant visiting. On the bad side, very large groups (overland) trucks are also present. They easily dominate the restaurant as in our case the had a table with approx. 20 chairs in the middle of the room. The service in the restaurant was not of very high standard compared to the price tag for this place. The location is fantastic and you don´t really have other options. Slow internet, but works." See all these reviews: 21n in Namibia; 2n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Mr M
Stockport

"Fantastic Rhino trek"

2 nights Arrived 20 May 2019
"Afternoon tea forgettable if you managed to get a cake/biscuit from them.

Most staff very happy and polite. Reception seem to tell most people you have not paid for your special activity when you arrive tired from a long drive, but finally retract when challenged.

Location fine, did see the resident elephant, who had been missing for 2 days!

Rhino trek enjoyable, lucky enough to see three including a baby. Apart from a couple of antelope in the concession only saw two giraffes on drive back.

Room comfortable but rather warm in the afternoon, as no air conditioning.

Food surprisingly good given some reviews. Special offers on wine we enjoyed on our second night.

Road there is in a terrible state, took extra 15 minutes driving back, and still got a puncture(albeit only discernible at the next lodge)" See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia; 3n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

1 sighting

Elephant

1 sighting

Giraffe

1 sighting

C & D
Woking/Brighton

"An oasis of green and calm"

1 night Arrived 11 Sep 2018
"Another lovely welcome to the camp by the staff, and a comfy, spacious room looking out into green gardens surrounded by palm trees. Very relaxing after dusty drive...the pool was delightfully chilly but nice to sit beside with a book for couple of hours." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Elephant

3 sightings

Giraffe

3 sightings

Oryx

3 sightings

Mr&Mrs D + kids
Herts

"Hyenas in camp"

1 night Arrived 19 Aug 2017
"Only stayed one night - on sleep-out, for a bit of excitement for children.

Hardest part of the trip with kids due to time in car, roughness of roads, three single night stays in a row. Would have been better if we could have stayted somewhere longer. Even in hindsight though, given where we wanted to go, what we wanted to experience and time constraints, would do the same again. Definitely not a relaxing few days though!

Arrived at main camp by lunch - very pleasant pool area, bar etc. Basic sandwiches available. Camp a bit 'functional' rather than special. Staff did what they needed to, but little more. Camp very accessible to wildlife though - desert elephant walking through.

Sleep-out experience and associated game-drives not entirely as billed - left camp later (16:00) and returned earlier (09:30) but this was largely due to wind and lack of game as a consequence. Camp 3x 2-person tents with simple mattress and sleeping bags. Plenty of room to put 2 kids + 1 adult in one tent, which we did. Would not really recommend kids on own due to separation of tents open to dangerous game - although this is permitted.

Dinner cooked on fire + plenty of salad and cold drinks brought in cooler boxes. Could hear lion (a few km off) and hyena (nearby) as soon as sun went down. Hyenas in camp during night and again as we were getting up at 6am.

Great drive back to main camp - for scenery rather than game, although we did see giraffe, oryx, duiker etc.

Guide was brilliant at spotting game but english was a bit of a struggle at times. As a consequence, he was unable to really engage kids and it was a bit difficult throughout to understand what was going to happen next.

Overall, this was a good experience which eveyone enjoyed but it was more memorable for doing it, rather than what we saw or the engagement with the guide." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Mr MA
SE London

"Stoney!"

2 nights Arrived 22 Jun 2017
"Found Palmwag fractionally less satisfying than some of the other lodges despite ravishing scenery. Game drives lengthy and relentlessly bumpy due to the bouldery terrain, and somehow the camp out seemed unnecessary despite the great guide i.e. many hours of driving for a similar view with slightly less wildlife than the lodge itself. Possible just had spent too long in the vehicle to spend so much more time in the vehicle there...." See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr M
Cambridge

"Palmweg is stunning"

3 nights Arrived 28 Aug 2016
"Real wilderness location but excellent facilities and helpful, welcoming staff

Do the sleep out if you can - we had to drive off a pride of lions before settling down to out tents." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr P & co
UK

"Palmwag Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 13 Nov 2015
"A great location but very much caters for large groups.

This was particularly reflected in the food which compared to other lodges was relatively poor." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Poor
Facilities:
Good
M & M
Flanders

"Overnight stop"

1 night Arrived 10 Sep 2015
"We just stayed one night in between different sections of our holiday. The lodge is fine in all aspects but without any characteristics (that we discovered) that make it stand out.

It caters (when we were there) for group tourism with buffet-style dinner." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Average
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Mr S & Ms H
Belgium

"Palmwag Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 6 Sep 2015
"Superb location and facilities!

Only downpoint is that while they are trying to offer very good food, it is unfortunately quite tasteless. It isnt bad but just absent of good taste." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 1-10 of 32
81%
32 reviews of Palmwag Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
12
13
4
3
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Damaraland

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Doro Nawas

Doro Nawas

Comfortable rooms and a convenient location make the community run Doro Nawas a great base for exploring Damaraland.


93% (434 reviews)
Mowani Mountain Camp

Mowani Mountain Camp

Mowani is a beautiful and stylish mountain retreat in southern Damaraland; it makes a great base for visits toTwyfelfontein.


93% (126 reviews)
Damaraland Camp

Damaraland Camp

Setting the standard for community partnerships, Damaraland Camp offers a beautiful location, a range of activities – and a genuine welcome.


95% (111 reviews)
Etendeka Mountain Camp

Etendeka Camp

Etendeka is an owner-run camp in the remote and less visited north of Damaraland. The camp is renowned for it's spectacular guided walking trails.


96% (110 reviews)
Desert Rhino Camp

Desert Rhino Camp

Desert Rhino Camp offers a rare opportunity to track black rhino on foot in one of the last true wilderness areas – an amazing experience.


97% (108 reviews)
Camp Kipwe

Camp Kipwe

With comfortable rooms, open-air bathrooms, good food and beautiful scenery, Camp Kipwe offers a variety of nature and cultural excursions.


95% (101 reviews)
Grootberg Lodge

Grootberg Lodge

On the edge of an ancient plateau Grootberg Lodge has a stunning location and arguably the best views of any lodge in Namibia.


92% (88 reviews)
Twyfelfontein Country Lodge

Twyfelfontein C'try Lod.

A large lodge set among the rocks, Twyfelfontein Country Lodge is a convenient base for visiting the rock engravings, which are only 4km away.


82% (49 reviews)
Huab Lodge

Huab Lodge

Huab is a classic little Namibian Lodge which is slightly off the beaten track in a lesser visited part of Damaraland.


90% (28 reviews)
Brandberg White Lady Lodge

Brandberg White Lady

Brandberg White Lady Lodge, nestled at the foot of its namesake, makes a good base from which to visit bushman rock paintings including the 'White Lady'.


70% (23 reviews)
Spitzkoppen Lodge

Spitzkoppen Lodge

Spitzkoppen Lodge provides stylish accommodation in a beautiful area with guided access to sites of ancient Bushman rock art.


95% (22 reviews)
Vingerklip Lodge

Vingerklip Lodge

Vingerklip Lodge occupies a lovely location, but is a little too far east for guests to visit Damaraland's main attractions.


85% (20 reviews)
White Lady B & B

White Lady B & B

White Lady B&B, a small, comfortable guesthouse, offers a stepping stone to the sites of southern Damaraland.


67% (6 reviews)
Khowarib Lodge

Khowarib Lodge

Khowarib Lodge has a great location overlooking the Hoanib River. This is one of the few places to offer authentic Himba village visits.


84% (5 reviews)
Brandberg Restcamp

Brandberg Restcamp

Brandberg Restcamp is a simple, no-frills place, close to many attractions, offering sundowner drives, guided hikes up the Brandberg and game drives .


56% (5 reviews)
Malansrus Tented Camp

Malansrus Camp

Within easy reach of Twyfelfontein, Malansrus offers a simple but comfortable base for visits to the rock engravings or seek out desert-adapted elephants.


76% (5 reviews)
Ugab Terrace Lodge

Ugab Terrace Lodge

Ugab Terrace Lodge is a comfortable stopover between Damaraland and Etosha National Park or Namibia’s Central Highlands.


75% (4 reviews)
Damara Mopane Lodge

Damara Mopane Lodge

Damara Mopane Lodge is a large 60 room lodge surrounded by beautiful gardens. It can be used as a comfortable stopover between Etosha and the Skeleton Coast


67% (3 reviews)
Ozondjou Trails

Ozondjou Trails

Ozondjou Trails Tented Camp offers an exclusive desert elephant experience in Namibia’s Damaraland.


90% (2 reviews)
Huab Under Canvas

Huab Under Canvas

Huab under Canvas is a no thrills bush camp offering top notch guiding in a remote wilderness area of Damaraland.


100% (1 review)
Etendeka Walking Trail

Etendeka Walking Trail

The Etendeka Walking Trail promises to offer a back-to-basics walking and camping experience in one of Namibia's most remote and untouched wilderness areas.


100% (1 review)
Palmwag Sleep-out

Palmwag Sleep-out

Palmwag Sleep-out is a simple camping experience and a great way to enjoy the remote beauty of the vast Palmwag Concession


100% (1 review)
Sorris Sorris Lodge

Sorris Sorris Lodge

Overlooking the Brandberg Massif, Sorris Sorris is probably the most luxurious lodge in southern Damaraland.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa