This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Palmwag Lodge
Palmwag Lodge
Palmwag Lodge
Palmwag Lodge
Palmwag Lodge
Palmwag Lodge
Palmwag Lodge

Reviews of Palmwag Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

36 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Palmwag Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Sep-2018, 7 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Palmwag Lodge.
Lion

0% success

Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Elephant

86% success

Giraffe

71% success

Oryx

67% success

Zebra

60% success

Black Rhino

43% success

Wildebeest

25% success

Brown Hyena

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Showing 21-30 of 36
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs M
Leeds

"Trunk call?"

2 nights Arrived 6 Nov 2010
"Although this was not the best establishment we stayed at, being fairly old, it provided a memory that will last with Sandra and myself forever. Just before turning in for the night we were visited by an old bull elephant which proceeded to spend two and a half hours eating the vegetation outside our cabin. To have such a massive beast some 3-4 feet from our door was both scary and exciting at the same time. He was not in the least bit bothered and showed no signs of aggression. We just watched whilst he ate.

The food was very good, the staff attentive and the guide on the walk was knowledgable. Overall it was a fantastic 2 nights." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
The T family
UK

"Palmwag Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 11 Sep 2010
"Somehow we just did not click with Palmwag. It may have started with the welcome drink - it was a nice cold apple juice but served in a glass and in such a quantity that I thought it was a single whisky. We were not shown to our tent location properly ( and hence managed to take the wrong track!).

We went on two of the activities, the early morning walk and the pm drive. Both of these were led by Stephanus and were excellent. The pm drive in particular was a great adventure including our sundowner drinks and snack on the top of a small hill in the middle of nowhere. The highlight was our encounter with elephants in pitch darkness.

The swimming pool looked very uninviting. It was a pale green colour, the water was cloudy and there was a scum on the surface. I had hoped for a refreshing dip after our journey, but the appearance put me off completely.

I had a puncture en route to Palmwag. Once I found where this could be repaired on site (another example of not being given either clear instructions or being taken) the job was done effectivley by a very helpful mechanic. Cost for puncture repair and refitting of wheel was N$105." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Mr SB
NW London

"Palmwag Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 21 Aug 2010
"Go here for the overnight camp out. This was fabulous. The guide was truly excellent.

Other than this, Palmwag was very disappointing, and we wished that we had simply stayed for that overnight. Fabulous location, but the whole place needs a complete overhaul - physically and managerially.

Physically - the facilities were comfortable, but fell well short of the other locations we stayed in.

The service was consistently very poor.

For example, our first night was an overnight camp. When we arrived, we were told to take a seat in the cafe and the guide would come to meet us. 4 hours later, no one had come. It took 4 attempts before anyone would tell us what was going on - they eventually admitted that the guide wouldn't arrive for a further 2 hours. By this stage we'd missed the opportunity to take any of the activities. Had we been told we had a 6 hour wait - we would have gone and done something (the purpose of hte holiday). Instead we wasted an entire day waiting for something that would never turn up!

Another example - they got our bill wrong 3 times when we checked out.

Overall - the general attitude of the staff was one of not caring. No hint of concern when we were clearly unhappy, no sense of urgency to help out, and seemingly no pride in standards. This was totally the opposite atmosphere to everywhere else we stayed - typically characterised by happy staff with high energy. This leads me to believe that there is a real leadership & management failing here." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Poor

Location:
Good
Service:
Terrible
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Poor
Facilities:
Average
Mr R & sons
London

"Palmwag Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 9 Aug 2010
"Now here's a place for the dedicated traveller to arrive at. A palm oasis in the middle of scrub-land accessible past a health checkpoint when coming from the south, The petrol facility (two pumps in the open) is part of Palmwag Lodge. The workshop which is adequate to do puncture repairs is at the lodge itself.

The chalet was two rooms plus shower / toilet facility and a small plunge pool outside.

The restaurant food was good, with an adequate choice of menu for dinner and the possibility to sit out on the restaurant terrace for breakfast. We did not see any animals walking through the lodge grounds that are unfenced, but desert elephants are regular visitors. We took the afternoon game drive (approx 3 hrs inc sundown) that took the road north out of Palmwag.

Although there were 2-wheel drive saloons passing by, if I were to travel that road north I would probably hire a 4wd." See all these reviews: 8n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Mrs A & family
UK

"Moving north through Damaraland"

2 nights Arrived 31 Jul 2010
"Palmwag Lodge has a slightly shopworn feel about it, but that in itself is not unattractive. It is well located, and the staff freindly and helpful, and the food excellent as before, but the pool area certainly needs some renovation, and the service at lunchtime in the pool bar was very slow. It took over an hour for our toasted sandwiches/burger to arrive!

However, we liked our tented accomodation units, looking out on the reed bed, stuffed full of starling (and lots else besides no doubt) and we saw lots of game on our drive in the morning.

Similarly the tented sleep out was a good adventure for the children, and it was all acheived with a certain old-colonial style - table cloths, hand washing facilities, and folding camp beds in the tents... We enjoyed looking at the stars, and learned a lot from our guide about the night sky, as well as animals and plants that we had seen.

Worth a visit." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Mr M & Ms H
UK

"Good location for exploring Damaraland"

2 nights Arrived 31 May 2010
"Accomadation a little tired and design of room could be improved, otherwise okay. Our room proved to be noisy from traffic noise from carpark, and all the outside path lights shone directly in all the windows. Other Lodges had managed the lighting of paths in a far better way.

Staff all friendly and helpful, especially the restaurant manager." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Miss G
Thetford

"Truly beautiful & peaceful place to relax"

2 nights Arrived 11 Oct 2009
"Wow- a truly beautiful place to stay. Rooms were well furnished and comfortable each with own private veranda overlooking waterhole. Good parking. Very warm welcome received from all staff who were very helpful and knowledgeable.

Wonderful pool bar area to just relax and soak up the surroundings with well stocked bar and menu offering very tasty light lunches and a la carte food.

Went on Sleep Out on second night- ABSOLUTELY FIRST CLASS. El Gusto, the guide was exceptional and very knowledgeable about all the plants, birds and animals we encountered. His approach to relaying the information was engaging and really enabled a deep understanding of how the whole Palmwag concession works and the way that the wildlife freely roams the area. His optimism to find the Desert Elephants for me was unfailing and even after the decision to head back to the lodge without a sighting, he remained confident that they were around- low and behold we located them on the main road back to the lodge.

The evening sleep out will always be a treasured memory- not so much because of the animal sightings, but more due to the comfort and layout of the camp, the unbelieveable food (braai), drinks and levelof service that El Gusto delivered in the midst of the wilderness, together the the interesting campsite conversation and laughter that he insipred around the camp fire. The tents were very comfortable with everything that was needed to make the whole experience very memorable." See all these reviews: 4n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Group of 4
Oxford

"Palmwag Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 28 Aug 2008
"Early morning walk and night game drive both excellent." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr V
Netherlands

"Palmwag Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 24 Aug 2008
"Beautifully located, with view at the funnyshaped vulcanic mountains. Looks like an oasis in the desert (which it actually is) .

Palmtrees and reed where thousands of buntings gather for the night: very spectaculair. Spectaculair view from the tent!
We only stayed overnight here, so, we can't give any comments on the 'activity'part." See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Meerkats
Thame

"Palmwag Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 31 Jul 2008
"After Doro Nawas, Palmwag was more lively - it was good to be able to follow walking trails there, instead of having to drive or be driven. I liked the mix of people at Palmwag. The management, however, was a bit lacking and the place does not seem to know whether it's going to cater for campers or up-market lodge travellers.

Wonderful sunsets and an excellent bar. The food was pretty good, too, and the staff helpful. There's a lovely garden with a bar and lots of butterflies.

The cabins are relatively simple, but very comfortable, with nice little porches where you can sit and have a beer." See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Showing 21-30 of 36
81%
36 reviews of Palmwag Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
13
15
5
3
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Damaraland

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Doro Nawas

Doro Nawas

Comfortable rooms and a convenient location make the community run Doro Nawas a great base for exploring Damaraland.


93% (469 reviews)
Mowani Mountain Camp

Mowani Mountain Camp

Mowani is a beautiful and stylish mountain retreat in southern Damaraland; it makes a great base for visits toTwyfelfontein.


94% (152 reviews)
Damaraland Camp

Damaraland Camp

Setting the standard for community partnerships, Damaraland Camp offers a beautiful location, a range of activities – and a genuine welcome.


95% (121 reviews)
Desert Rhino Camp

Desert Rhino Camp

Desert Rhino Camp offers a rare opportunity to track black rhino on foot in one of the last true wilderness areas – an amazing experience.


97% (116 reviews)
Etendeka Mountain Camp

Etendeka Camp

Etendeka is an owner-run camp in the remote and less visited north of Damaraland. The camp is renowned for it's spectacular guided walking trails.


96% (114 reviews)
Camp Kipwe

Camp Kipwe

With unusual, igloo-like rooms, open-air bathrooms and beautiful scenery, Camp Kipwe is well placed for nature and cultural excursions.


96% (114 reviews)
Grootberg Lodge

Grootberg Lodge

On the edge of an ancient plateau Grootberg Lodge has a stunning location and arguably the best views of any lodge in Namibia.


92% (97 reviews)
Twyfelfontein Country Lodge

Twyfelfontein C'try Lod.

A large lodge set among the rocks, Twyfelfontein Country Lodge is a convenient base for visiting the rock engravings, which are only 4km away.


83% (54 reviews)
Spitzkoppen Lodge

Spitzkoppen Lodge

Spitzkoppen Lodge provides stylish accommodation in an area of scenic grandeur with guided access to sites of ancient Bushman rock art.


94% (38 reviews)
Huab Lodge

Huab Lodge

Huab is a classic little Namibian Lodge which is slightly off the beaten track in a lesser visited part of Damaraland.


90% (28 reviews)
Brandberg White Lady Lodge

Brandberg White Lady

Brandberg White Lady Lodge, nestled at the foot of its namesake, makes a good base from which to visit bushman rock paintings including the 'White Lady'.


70% (24 reviews)
Vingerklip Lodge

Vingerklip Lodge

Vingerklip Lodge occupies a lovely location, but is a little too far east for guests to visit Damaraland's main attractions.


86% (21 reviews)
Khowarib Lodge

Khowarib Lodge

Khowarib Lodge has a great location overlooking the Hoanib River. This is one of the few places to offer authentic Himba village visits.


82% (9 reviews)
Malansrus Tented Camp

Malansrus Camp

Within easy reach of Twyfelfontein, Malansrus offers a simple but comfortable base for visits to the rock engravings or seek out desert-adapted elephants.


83% (7 reviews)
White Lady B & B

White Lady B & B

White Lady B&B, a small, comfortable guesthouse, offers a stepping stone to the sites of southern Damaraland.


67% (6 reviews)
Brandberg Restcamp

Brandberg Restcamp

Brandberg Restcamp is a simple, no-frills place, close to many attractions, offering sundowner drives, guided hikes up the Brandberg and game drives .


56% (5 reviews)
Etendeka Walking Trail

Etendeka Walking Trail

The Etendeka Walking Trail promises to offer a back-to-basics walking and camping experience in one of Namibia's most remote and untouched wilderness areas.


96% (5 reviews)
Ugab Terrace Lodge

Ugab Terrace Lodge

Ugab Terrace Lodge is a comfortable stopover between Damaraland and Etosha National Park or Namibia’s Central Highlands.


75% (4 reviews)
Onduli Ridge

Onduli Ridge

Onduli Ridge is a luxurious, low-impact luxury camp offering top-notch guiding in a remote wilderness area of Damaraland.


95% (4 reviews)
Ozondjou Trails

Ozondjou Trails

The simple Ozondjou Trails gives a unique perspective on living with Damaraland’s desert-adapted elephants and how tourism is key to protecting them and the livelihood of the people.


93% (3 reviews)
Damara Mopane Lodge

Damara Mopane Lodge

Damara Mopane Lodge is a large 60 room lodge surrounded by beautiful gardens. It can be used as a comfortable stopover between Etosha and the Skeleton Coast


67% (3 reviews)
Huab Under Canvas

Huab Under Canvas

Huab under Canvas is a no thrills bush camp offering top notch guiding in a remote wilderness area of Damaraland.


100% (2 reviews)
Palmwag Sleep-out

Palmwag Sleep-out

Palmwag Sleep-out is a simple camping experience and a great way to enjoy the remote beauty of the vast Palmwag Concession


100% (1 review)
Sorris Sorris Lodge

Sorris Sorris Lodge

Overlooking the Brandberg Massif, Sorris Sorris is probably the most luxurious lodge in southern Damaraland.


No reviews yet
Camp Doros

Camp Doros

Small, intimate and with excellent eco-credentials, Camp Doros is set above an ephemeral river within a remote community concession of Damaraland.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa