This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mrs A x 5 from Oxon

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

2

Countries visited

4

Lodges stayed in

29

Excursions taken

0

6 Happy returners to Namibia in 2013

Namibia and 2 other countries between 3 Sep 2013 and 3 Oct 2013

Trip rating: Excellent
"Our trip as a whole was superb, from the initial contact with Sabina, to our arrival home.

We had enjoyed our visit so much 2 years ago, that we wanted to return, and see more. this could well have been an anti climax, but fortunately it wasn't. None of us have any regrets.

We noticed the effect of no rain for more that 2 years, very little greenery anywhere.

The unmade roads were in a bad condition, which we were told was due to the increase in large tourist transports.

The people, the accommodation and the food were as wonderful as we expected. Thank you Sabina for putting such a great trip together for us.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

A little caution is required when driving from Dolomite to Okaukuejo, especially in a 2x4 car. We were warned, by a frequent visitor, of very deep tyre ruts, at the start of the most direct route. We took the slightly longer southerly route (an extra12 Kms), which was fine.
We were also warned of the extremely large Anteater holes in the roads, some were 2 feet wide & 18 inches deep. Many could be seen, if driving at a sensible speed, as they had pile of earth beside them, but others were not visible until nearly on them! They need to be avoided, or the car would get stuck, and you could do serious damage!

There were none east of Okaukuejo."

Arranged By Sabina Hekandjo


Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch

Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch

"Bagatelle was absolutely lovely"

1 night Arrived 4 Sep 2013
"Unfortunately, as the pick up of the hire car had taken such a long time, we did not arrive at Bagatelle until 8.30pm, by which time of course, it was dark, making it difficult to read the signs to the ranch.

The owners were very welcoming, took us by car to our rooms, and back, for a superb dinner. A time to be collected from our rooms in the morning, was arranged, and the jeeps were there for us. The driver took us to see Meerkats, and Cheetah before breakfast.

The rooms were beautiful, food excellent, and owners & staff a delight.

We all wished that we had had 2 nights there, especially after our very late arrival. There were interesting activities, in which we were unable to take part, due to lack of time."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Canyon Village

Canyon Village

"A good place for visiting Fish River Canyon"

2 nights Arrived 5 Sep 2013
"Having stayed at Bagatelle, and at other much smaller lodges on our previous visit, Canyon Village felt very big & impersonal.

The food was average, but plenty of choice, and excellent salads. The restaurant large, as it needed to be for the number of guests. We were not really used to jostling with coach parties at a buffet."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Annie's Cottage

Annie's Cottage

"Annie's Cottage is delightful"

2 nights Arrived 7 Sep 2013
"What a lovely place, lovely 'quirky' rooms, and a pretty garden

We were greeted by Petronella, the owner, who gave us tea and biscuits on the terrace, and then showed us to our rooms, which were all very different. Petronella told us where we could go to see the flowers. She also booked a restaurant for us for dinner.

We were lucky that it had rained the previous day, so the carpets of flowers were fully open, and beautiful.

We had excellent breakfasts, (each table has its own toaster, what a good idea!)

The staff were all superb. Very pleasant and efficient. Petronella made sure she spoke to every guest at breakfast.What a lovely place."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Image alt

Norotshama River Lodge

"Wonderful position on the banks of the Orange"

1 night Arrived 9 Sep 2013
"The rooms were lovely, on the banks of the river. Quite a big lodge, as it also caters for campers, despite that, the manager, & reception staff were efficient & welcoming.

We felt that the a la carte dining room was a bit like a canteen, which was a pity, and a missed opportunity for such a lovely setting.

Food was good.

There was a hiccup when we checked out. We were booked for Half Board, and the reception staff wanted us to pay for dinner, telling me that Half Board meant Bed & Breakfast. In the end it was, happily, resolved."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Eagle's Nest

Eagle's Nest

"Truly in the desert"

2 nights Arrived 10 Sep 2013
"Apart from the fact that our wonderful rooms were 9 Kms from the dining room, this place was wonderful, we all felt we were right in the middle of the desert, and at times, the only sound was our heart beat!

The staff were knowledgeable & very attentive, and service felt very personal, despite the dining room being big & busy.

Food was good, with lots of choice to suit all tastes. We were given all the makings for a BBQ the first evening, which we cooked and ate at our rooms.

The rooms were lovely & had everything we would need for a longer stay. Views were superb, with wildlife everywhere.

Eagles Nest was a superb place to stay for us to visit Luderitz & Kolmanskop. We also managed to see hundreds of wild horses, some seemed to be suffering badly from the drought."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Image alt

Sinclair Guest Farm, Namibia (this camp has since closed)

"To stay on a farm was a privilege."

1 night Arrived 12 Sep 2013
"We were met by Hannelore, the charming owner, and given tea.

We all loved it here.

The rooms were comfortable, very good bathrooms.

Lovely afternoon tea, with homemade cake.

Delicious home made dinner, all guests ate together around a table, with the owner. It felt as though we were visiting friends.

The staff were all delightful.

Hannelore told us that Expert Africa are the best tour company she deals with."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Hoodia Desert Lodge

Hoodia Desert Lodge

"Hoodia was beautiful"

2 nights Arrived 13 Sep 2013
"On arrival we were greeted by Tomas, owner/manager, who was very charming & welcoming, he explained everything about the lodge.

The rooms were beautiful, and very comfortable.

Excellent food & service.

We went out early in the morning on a desert safari, our guide, Angula, was very knowledgeable & informative. Angula took into account that one of our group was somewhat infirm, and he catered for her needs. Drinks & 'snacks' were lovely.
Lunch was amazing, white tablecloths & napkins, in rings! Everything laid up as though we were in a smart restaurant. A true experience. We had visited the dunes 2 years ago, but this visit was entirely different, and equally as special.

Delicious dinners both evenings, in lovely dining room.

We would all love to go back there, and can really recommend the place.

Tomas also told us that Expert Africa are the best company he deals with!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Sam's Giardino

Sam's Giardino

"Sam's is a great place to stay"

3 nights Arrived 15 Sep 2013
"We all asked to go back to Sam's, as we had enjoyed it so much 2 years ago. Luckily, we enjoyed it all just as much again.

Excellent well trained staff.

Superb service

Delicious food & wine

We had arranged our own activities, a full day 'Living Desert' tour with Chris Nels, and a Seal & Dolphin trip with Levo Tours, both of which we would thoroughly recommend. (Both companies collected us from Sam's)"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Terrace Bay

Terrace Bay

"Terrace Bay is different!"

1 night Arrived 18 Sep 2013
"The isolation of Terrace Bay was a bit of a shock, luckily it was mild, and the sun shone. However, the wind blew too!

It was good to be so close to the sea.

Rooms are very basic, (It is really a place for fishermen to stay), but are comfortable, and surprisingly warm.

For the most part staff were friendly.

Food was average.

We were all glad we went, but would not feel we had to return. Some of the comments in the visitors book were unnecessarily rude."
Average
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Facilities
Average
Rooms
Average
Food
Average
Doro Nawas

Doro Nawas

"A great place to stay"

2 nights Arrived 19 Sep 2013
"Doro Nawas was another place we asked to return to.

Lovely accommodation, excellent food and superb staff.

Doro Nawas is high up, so the views are wonderful.

Several interesting places to visit while staying here."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Dolomite Camp

Dolomite Camp

"What a great start to Etosha."

1 night Arrived 21 Sep 2013
"Arrival at Dolomite camp was a surprise, with all the rooms nestled into the hillside, almost completely hidden. It wasn't the easiest place for the least able in our group, however, the staff made everything possible, by making sure she did not have to walk anywhere.

The rooms were lovely, ours looked down on the waterhole.

Food and service good"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"A must for the variety of animals"

2 nights Arrived 22 Sep 2013
"Okaukuejo is big, but very efficiently run.

Rooms are spacious and comfortable.

Staff friendly and helpful

Food good, excellent salads

Wonderful waterhole, with hundreds of visiting animals.

Superb access to other nearby waterholes."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Mushara Bush Camp

Mushara Bush Camp

"A lovely stay outside the park"

3 nights Arrived 24 Sep 2013
"Mushara was again a repeat request, and is lovely. We had a lovely welcome as repeat guests.

The staff are superb, service excellent.

Food very good, we had 2 alfresco dinners & 1 in the beautiful dining room.

Rooms are lovely.

We did 2 guided safari's, and were lucky to see lots of animals. The guide was very knowledgeable."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Nunda River Lodge

Nunda River Lodge

"A beautiful spot on the river"

1 night Arrived 27 Sep 2013
"Nunda lodge was a lovely spot, with lots of activity on the water.

The staff did everything very correctly and efficiently, but with no joy, which was unlike anywhere else we had been. A couple of times we did feel we were inconveniencing them.

Food was excellent.

Rooms were lovely, quite a long walk to the restaurant, past camping sites.

Gardens were beautiful, very well cared for."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Lianshulu Lodge

Lianshulu Lodge

"What a lovely place to stay"

1 night Arrived 28 Sep 2013
"Unfortunately for Lianshulu, the lovely new tarmac road is still under construction, with a temporary dirt road alongside, the new road will, apparently, be finished by the end of the year, meanwhile, from the main road down to the lodge, the 43 Kms, takes about 1 hour.

The lodge is beautiful, on a lovely quiet stretch of river. Rooms are beautiful, overlooking the water.
Dining room, and all main areas overlook the water, and are lovely.

The staff were very welcoming, friendly and efficient.
Food was good.

We were the only guests the night we were there."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Chobe Princesses

Chobe Princesses

"A must for any visitor to Namibia"

3 nights Arrived 29 Sep 2013
"Another repeat for us. 2 years ago we had 2 nights, this time 3, neither were long enough!

We were lucky to have 2 of the crew members from our previous visit, Martin, the guide, whose knowledge of wildlife is second to none, and Eustace, the chef, whose skills leave us speechless. Larry, our skipper from 2 years ago, came to the boat to greet us.
Our skipper this time, Ben, was charming. he and his crew made our stay very memorable.

We were very lucky to see Leopards, male, female & a very young juvenile. (hours of patience and good quick eyesight are needed, for the guides & the guests). This family of 'cats' really performed for us.

We spent 2 hours at Inchingo Chobe River Loge, while waiting to go the airport, where the owner, Ralph & his staff looked after us superbly"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

A wonderful 3+ week adventure

Namibia and 2 other countries between 1 Sep 2011 and 25 Sep 2011

Trip rating: Excellent
"We all had the most woderful holiday imaginable, and all want to go back.

There were only 2 places that we would not want to revisit, Palmwag and Camp Kwando, our comments have already been recorded.
We had some trouble in Rundu, when a rucksac was stolen from the car, despite 1 of our men sitting in the car! We feel it would be helpful, if in future people going near Rundu, are warned to take extra care, not to leave cars unattended, and even if stationary in the car, lock all doors and windows.

At Ndhovu, we were told Rundu is a bad place, with handbags stolen from cars with people sitting in them, being distracted. There was a lot of noise and activity there making the opening of a car door, silently, relatively simple. (The people at Ndhovu put a lot of blame on people coming from Angola)

200 Rand notes do now seem to be accepted.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

Tracy has been superb to deal with, very helpful at all times, guiding me in directions that were needed, and meeting all the needs of the 6 of us who travelled together. Sabrina took over very efficiently when Tracy went on maternity leave.

I would not hesitate to recommend Expert Africa."

Arranged By Sabina Hekandjo


Olive Grove

Olive Grove

"The Olive Grove was a great start"

1 night Arrived 2 Sep 2011
"Superb welcome on arrival from the staff, very good rooms and food. No complaints at all"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Sossus Dune Lodge

Sossus Dune Lodge

"Sossus Dune Lodge for the dunes"

2 nights Arrived 3 Sep 2011
"We all loved it. The rooms, food and staff were faultless. helpfull and welcoming. Our guide for the early morning trip to the sand dunes was very informative, and quickly assessed our abilities for climbing up the dunes! ( 1 of us had recently had a hip replacement so high dunes were out of the question !)

We had thought we would take a baloon flight over the dunes but the cost was prohibitive, our morning guide told us we should try a flight over the dunes, as this was less expensive, which we did and I can thoroughly recommend, we went as far as the coast, and for 5 of us it was approx £125 a head."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Sam's Giardino

Sam's Giardino

"Sam's Giardino for good food and wine"

2 nights Arrived 5 Sep 2011
"Lovely, very convenient, superb food. The wine tasting was excellent. Sam is very attentive, very interesting to talk to, an extremely good host. His staff were very helpful. The receptionist made reservations for us for activities in Walvis bay, and in the Desert, and arranged for us to be collected and returned to Sams.

3 of us went on the dolphin and seal trip,with Levo tours, which brings a smile to our faces when we talk about it. We were lucky also that there were whales in the bay. 3 others went on a trip with a desert expert, Chris, who they felt was the best guide they had ever had."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Doro Nawas

Doro Nawas

"Doro Nawas with wonderful views"

1 night Arrived 7 Sep 2011
"In the distance Doro Nawas does look a bit intimidating, perched on high ground, but once there, the level of welcome and comfort is wonderful.

We were met at the bottom of the hill by staff with lovely cool flannels to refresh us, and then taken up into reception and given a welcome drink, before being shown round. The panoramic views are breathtaking."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Palmwag Lodge

Palmwag Lodge

"Palmwag Lodge, well!"

2 nights Arrived 8 Sep 2011
"Our arrival at Palwag was not good. Tented accommodation had been booked for us, on arrival we were shown to 3 rooms in the centre of the camp, with views of the notice board and the loos. when questioned by 3 of us in turn, we were told that all the tents were booked. I pointed out that they had been booked by us 1 year ago.

Eventually we were told we could have 3 tents after all, as our vouchers stated 3 tents, so we moved, when we were settled, 1 couple was told they would have to move, unfortunately it was the least able couple. We later discovered that there was a group of Namibian conservationists on an inspection visit who were to have had the tents!

The general staff in the restaurant were good, the guide was good, but we all felt that the absence of a permanent manager was something that should be addressed sooner rather than later. There was a manager from HQ there for a few weeks. The result was that we felt they had tried to take advantage of us.

We would not want to come back here, which is a pity as the area is fantastic"
Poor
Location
Excellent
Service
Poor
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"Great place to see hundreds of animals"

2 nights Arrived 10 Sep 2011
"Once registration and payment of park fees was completed, which took some time as only 1 desk was open for registration, and lots of people were arriving, both for the rooms and the camp site, the rooms were a lovely surprise, lots of space, and great to have a fridge and a tea making facilities.

The waterhole at night is an amazing experience, and the main reason we had for wanting to be inside the park, however, during the day, the waterhole is just as good, with animals of every variety arriving, in their hundreds to drink. Every time we thought that it was all going to stop, another army of animals would arrive, we could have spent much longer there!

We found other people very willing to tell us which water holes to go to, where we would be likely to see other animals, which we did in the early morning and late afternoon, but during the day the camp waterhole couldn't be bettered."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Mushara Bush Camp

Mushara Bush Camp

"Mushara Bush Camp is exquisite"

2 nights Arrived 12 Sep 2011
"This was somewhere we would definately like to come back to.

The staff were wonderful, entertaining us at dinner with beautiful singing. 1 of our group had a birthday and they sang a special song for him. All staff were friendly and helpful. The food was delicious, and the level of comfort in our tents was extraordinary. Access to the park was easy, with several good waterholes nearby.

Everyone should have a few days here!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Okonjima Plains Camp

Okonjima Plains Camp

"Okonjima Main Camp"

1 night Arrived 14 Sep 2011
"The rooms were beautiful, with everything you could want for, including an amazing view. The main areas also superb, as was the food.
All the guides were very informative and had a very high knowledge level.

We were all a little disappointed to find that the rescue and rehabilitation side to Africat at Okonjima was being run down, however did understand the fact that this is very expensive, and is being done by other parties. The education side, which is now the main focus, is, understandibly, very important, however, the interest for visitors will become much less, as most hope to see Leopard and Cheetah."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Hakusembe River Lodge

Hakusembe River Lodge

"Hakusembe Lodge"

1 night Arrived 15 Sep 2011
"We all really liked it at Hakusembe, sadly, for others, the manager of many years is about to retire. The rest of the staff were all very pleasant helpful and efficient.

4 of us had cottage rooms, and we had the 'honeymoon suite' and we were all very happy with our accommodation, we were a bit concerned about the chemical toilet in our room, but it was an unnecessary concern as it all worked very efficiently. The sunrise and sunset on the river were wonderful."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Ndhovu Safari Lodge

Ndhovu Safari Lodge

"Ndhovu Safari Lodge, a gem"

2 nights Arrived 16 Sep 2011
"This rated as 1 of our favourites. The atmosphere was second to none. Horst, the owner, was there, and the temporary managers, Johan and Monica, were brilliant. Michael, the guide who took us on the river was superb, we saw so much, with his skill, it was the best trip we had. He then went way beyond the call of duty, by cleaning our car,completely unasked, which was still covered in salt and dust from our drive from the dunes!

Sitting round a table all together, for meals, is an excellent idea, as we all mixed, and had some fascinating conversations from 'local' guests, who explained a lot about the Namibian life of all members of society, including farming and education.

We felt that the accommodation needs a bit of tlc. The tents need repairs in places, some of the bedding needs updating, and towels need replacing. We felt also that bathmats would be good rather than standing on small carpets after a shower. There is a plan to put Espresso Coffee machines in all rooms, rather than kettles, new linen would be a better way to spend the money! Having said that we would all go back.

Hippos 'mow the lawns' for the lodge, we had footprints very close to our tent, very exciting!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Average
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Camp Kwando

Camp Kwando

"Camp Kwando, beautiful but sterile"

2 nights Arrived 18 Sep 2011
"The rooms and communal areas were very beautiful. The staff were pleasant, but there was absolutely no atmosphere, which was a pity as it could be excellent. The 2 young people who were 'front of house' were very good, and helpful, but too young to give a place some character, probably because they themselves are learning, and doing a job.

The river trip was probably the worst river trip we had, such a contrast from the trip at Ndhovu, we saw little, and frequently saw more than the guide, who had to be prompted to point things out!

This was the only other place we would not want to go back to"
Average
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Activities
Poor
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Average
Facilities
Excellent
Chobe Princesses

Chobe Princesses

"Wonderful Ichobezi Houseboats!"

2 nights Arrived 20 Sep 2011
"Words failed all of us, which was a surprise as non of are usually short of something to say. Larry, the manager, and all his crew couldn't have been better. It was the most magical experience and none of us wanted to leave.

The cabins were lovely, the food, thanks to Eustace, the chef, was exceptional, we all wanted to bring Eustace home with us! The trips on the river by tender, to see wild life, were all excellent. The level of comfort was very high. The scenery, covered by elephants, was extraordinary.

Everyone should have this experience.
We can't wait to go back, and for longer!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Tongabezi

Tongabezi

"Tongabezi was luxurious"

2 nights Arrived 22 Sep 2011
"After all the hastle of leaving and entering several countries, filling in arrival and departure forms. We were met at the ferry by a car that wasn't large enough for 6 of us each with 3 weeks luggage, so our journey to Tongabezi was not comfortable, so on arrival, Tongabezi was a haven!

Having left the houseboats we were all a little anxious that our final place would be an anti- climax, but luckily it wasn't. Our welcome, was excellent, we were introduced to our personal valets, Joe and Mr Forbes, both of whom could not have been more helpful.

Our cottages were beautiful, and very comfortable. The communal areas were excellent, we felt a lot of thought had been put intio all aspects. The sunset river trip, with our guide, Brian, was lovely, and to come back from the river to find our cottages prepared for us by our valets, was amazing, even the baths had been run for us!

Brian was our guide for the trip to Victoria Falls, he gave us lots of information about how they had formed, and historical facts about Livingstone. Brian also took us to the airport the following day, so the continuity was very good."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team