This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Canyon Village
Canyon Village
Canyon Village
Canyon Village

Reviews of Canyon Village

Wildlife sightings and reviews

12 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Canyon Village and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Oct-2019, 1 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Canyon Village.
Leopard

0% success

Oryx

100% success

Black Rhino

0% success

Brown Hyena

0% success

Giraffe

0% success

Wildebeest

0% success

Zebra

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 12
Duration
Arrival date
Mrs & Mr DB
BC Canada

"Spectacular setting"

1 night Arrived 10 Oct 2019
"Most spectacular setting with cottages nestled in the rocky hillside.
Gorgeous pool setting and many rock dassies running all around the pool area.

We enjoyed the extensive hiking in the hills behind the village.

Good friendly service overall." See all these reviews: 21n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Oryx

2 sightings

Miss M
Margate

"Canyon Village review"

2 nights Arrived 10 Oct 2016
"Very much off the beaten track but a beautiful location with a gorgeous swimming pool. Rooms more basic, but still very comfortable and clean.

Staff very helpful, particularly the manageress - a great location for visiting Fish River Canyon itself" See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Ms V & Mr C
Belgium

"Great stay at Canyon Village"

1 night Arrived 10 Oct 2016
"After our visit at Fish River Canyon we spend the night at Canyon Village.

The lodges are great, both in location and facilities, and staff was very friendly. We joined the guided sunset walk and enjoyed the sunset from a nearby rock formation. This gave us a magnificent view over the landscape.

The food (dinner buffet & breakfast) was very good." See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia; 2n in Botswana; 1n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs A x 5
Oxon

"A good place for visiting Fish River Canyon"

2 nights Arrived 5 Sep 2013
"Having stayed at Bagatelle, and at other much smaller lodges on our previous visit, Canyon Village felt very big & impersonal.

The food was average, but plenty of choice, and excellent salads. The restaurant large, as it needed to be for the number of guests. We were not really used to jostling with coach parties at a buffet." See all these reviews: 21n in Namibia; 3n in Botswana; 2n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Mr T & Ms J
UK

"Canyon Village review"

2 nights Arrived 11 Sep 2008
"This camp was a lovely introduction to our trip.

After the excitment of being met by our Sefofane pilot (Nad) at Windhoek and the flight over the desert and seeing the start of The Fish River we were amazed by how attractive the village looked.

First sundowner and trip to the canyon set the scene for the rest of the trip." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Yellow Canaries
UK

"Canyon Village review"

2 nights Arrived 27 Aug 2008
"We were impressed by Cañon Village. Although we arrived – to our dismay – at the same time as two coach parties, we were immediately spotted as being on our own and looked after as individuals. Gwendolyn made sure we were treated as special!

We were taken to our separate little bungalow ,which was very comfortable (hot water bottles were put in our beds), and were given our own table for meals. My wife has a food allergy and requested a meal with no onions or garlic and this was arranged with no problem. At the end of the meal each night the staff staged a singing /dancing display which everyone enjoyed..

The location of Canyon Village is itself exciting, tucked away amongst the rocks at the foot of the mountains, and we greatly admired the way the 'village' had been laid out . The décor of the main building was most imaginative and the wall paintings were particularly attractive and interesting. The food was very good and all the staff most helpful..

One slight criticism: while we enjoyed seeing the sparrows fluttering around in the dining room, it was a little disconcerting to see them perched directly above the uncovered breakfast cereals and yoghourts" See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia; 6n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
The Hornbills
UK

"Canyon Village review"

2 nights Arrived 20 Jul 2008
"The cabins were excellent, the lodge very impressive, and our overall experience was OK.

However the place certainly had an impersonal feel , the staff were not as friendly and personable as they were in other lodges. Considering we had missed a night here, there was no evidence of a caring attitude for us after our experience.

As Canyon Village tends to cater for large groups, the atmosphere in the dining room for two of us was not as relaxing as it could have been and the meals too had a feel of mass catering." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Mr K
Channel Islands

"Big Canyon"

2 nights Arrived 2 May 2008
"This is a big camp with 80+ beds but do not be put off, as the rooms are basic clean but very good value. The food is good, albeit buffet (not my favourite) and the staff are very helpful. The location makes it great for the Canyon both north and south.

It is a travellers pass through point, with large groups staying just one night, but a good stop off for a couple of nights." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Mr G
Torquay

"Canon Village review"

1 night Arrived 31 Mar 2008
"High turnover lodge, well run.

Convenient for the Fish River canyon." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia; 7n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Blackwinged stilts
UK

"Canon Village review"

2 nights Arrived 2 Mar 2008
"I really liked this place. The location was lovely and the pool area was probably my favourite of all the places I stayed - what a fantastic view from a pool !!. Initially I was a bit upset that we could not get into the Canon Lodge and ended up here but was very happy with everything at the village.

The food was excellent and I liked the buffet style. Service was also excellent and the sundowner walk was a very nice little extra." See all these reviews: 21n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Showing 1-10 of 12
90%
12 reviews of Canyon Village by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
7
4
1
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Fish River Canyon

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Canyon Lodge

Canyon Lodge

Just 20km from Fish River Canyon, Canyon Lodge was the first lodge in the area, with individual chalets built amongst huge granite boulders.


89% (96 reviews)
Fish River Lodge

Fish River Lodge

Perched on the lip of Fish River Canyon, Fish River Lodge has some of the best views of any lodge in Namibia.


93% (59 reviews)
Canyon Roadhouse

Canyon Roadhouse

Relatively close to Fish River Canyon, Canyon Roadhouse combines the feel of an old farm with an extraordinary array motor memorabilia.


88% (34 reviews)
Vogelstrausskluft Lodge

Vogelstrausskluft Lodge

Sadly closed, Vogelstrausskluft Lodge used to offer lovely views, welcoming staff and delicious food.


77% (6 reviews)
Ai-Ais Hot Springs Spa

Ai-Ais Hot Springs Spa

The government-run Ai-Ais Restcamp is situated on a site of natural hot springs, down at the bottom of the Fish River Canyon.


80% (4 reviews)
Hobas Lodge

Hobas Lodge

Within a stone’s throw of the Hobas entrance to the Fish River Canyon, Hobas Lodge offers both bush chalets and camping.


40% (1 review)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa