This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Ms V & Mr C from Belgium

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

3

Lodges stayed in

14

Excursions taken

0

Our Namibia trip

Namibia and 2 other countries between 8 Oct 2016 and 29 Oct 2016

Trip rating: Excellent
"We had a great time in Namibia. At the start of our holiday, our luggage was lost which caused us to lose some time. We had to buy necessary supplies, had to drive back to the airport, etc. After that, our experiences were fantastic.

Namibians are very friendly people, always willing to help & waving at the side of the road. The nature is beautiful and watching the wild animals is just amazing. The entire trip was perfectly organised. From the planning of our trip to when we arrived home. When we had questions, Maruska was always very fast in her replies.

We would also like to express special thanks to Wilderness Safaris for their support when our luggage was lost. They really did a great job."

Arranged By Maruska Adye-Rowe


Villa Violet

Villa Violet

"Perfect place for our arrival in Windhoek"

1 night Arrived 8 Oct 2016
"We stayed one night in Villa Violet at the beginning of our journey.

We arrived relatively late (around 19h) but the gatekeeper was immediately available to let us in and show us our room. He also directed us to a nearby service station and arranged for a taxi to a restaurant. Breakfast the next day was good.

Overall, their service is very good and the lodge ensures a good night's rest after an exhausting flight."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Kalahari Anib Lodge

Kalahari Anib Lodge

"Nice location in the desert"

1 night Arrived 9 Oct 2016
"The Kalahari Anib lodge was our first campsite on our way to the southern part of Namibia.

The location of the lodge and campsite was very nice. It is situated only a few kilometres from the main road, but the environment was totally different. The campsite was decent (not the best we've had), they are situated a short walk from the main buildings and from one another.

We joined the dinner buffet, which was excellent."
Good
Location
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Average
Canyon Village

Canyon Village

"Great stay at Canyon Village"

1 night Arrived 10 Oct 2016
"After our visit at Fish River Canyon we spend the night at Canyon Village.

The lodges are great, both in location and facilities, and staff was very friendly. We joined the guided sunset walk and enjoyed the sunset from a nearby rock formation. This gave us a magnificent view over the landscape.

The food (dinner buffet & breakfast) was very good."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Desert Horse Inn

Desert Horse Inn

"Relaxed camping at Desert Horse Inn"

2 nights Arrived 11 Oct 2016
"We camped at Desert Horse Inn for 2 nights. On our arrival, we missed the entrance to the campsite. There are no signs for Desert Horse Inn at the side of the road, but there are for Klein Aus Vista and that is where you need to be. This was indicated in our travel information, but we noticed it a bit late.

However, this gave us the chance to visit the Garub waterhole immediately. The campsite itself is nicely located at the side of a few mountains. All facilities are good, the main building and reception area are at Klein Aus Vista which is 2km from the campsite."
Good
Location
Good
Facilities
Good
Service
Good
Image alt

Duwisib Guestfarm

"A bit desolated.."

1 night Arrived 13 Oct 2016
"We arrived around noon at the Duwisib Guestfarm and visited the castle nextdoor which only took us one hour.

Besides the castle there is nothing much to see. We were also the only visitors who stayed at the campsite that day. Because of this our experience was not that good.

The facilities on the campsite itself are in good shape and clean. We would recommend to visit the castle as a stopover on your journey to a next destination, but not as a destination as such."
Average
Location
Average
Food
Good
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Image alt

Sesriem Campsite

"Hot stay in the desert"

2 nights Arrived 14 Oct 2016
"The biggest advantage of the campsite is its location. It is situated after the first gate to Sossusvlei and gives you a headstart when visiting the park.

It was the largest campsite we stayed at and because of its size the sanitary facilities weren't the best we've had but definitely of good enough quality. The swimming pool is a good place to cool down a bit during the hottest part of the day and the bar/restaurant serves fine food.

We booked a scenic flight as an activity on the day we arrived and this is definitely a recommendation."
Good
Location
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Average
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Sandfields Guesthouse

Sandfields Guesthouse

"Terrific place to stay in Swakopmund"

2 nights Arrived 16 Oct 2016
"The Sandfields guesthouse is really a terrific place to stay when you're in Swakopmund. We arrived on a Sunday in a busy period. Because of this, the hostess had already booked a table for us for that evening so we were sure we had a place in a good restaurant. They also helped us book activities for the next day.

Breakfast was really good with fresh fruits, eggs, different kinds of bread, cereal, etc.

Rooms were also very nice with fireplace and a spacious bathroom which was very welcome after a few nights in a tent."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Image alt

Madisa Campsite

"Camping between koppies"

1 night Arrived 18 Oct 2016
"The madisa campsite has a very relaxed holiday atmosphere.

The location is great, just next to the road and in between plenty of boulder formations. Climbing these gives a nice view and is beautiful at sunset.

The campsite itself is also good, with all necessary facilities available."
Good
Location
Good
Facilities
Good
Service
Good
Image alt

Hoada Campsite

"Great campsite in ≠Khoadi-//Hôas Conservancy"

2 nights Arrived 19 Oct 2016
"The location of Hoada is great. It is situated in the Grootberg conservancy and it's a beautiful campsite.

The staff is friendly, they arranged an elephant tracking activity for us. The pool is on a koppie. The campsite itself has all required facilities.

In the evening a choir from a nearby village passed by and sang a couple of songs for us."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Activities
Good
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"Okaukuejo Camp - camping in Etosha"

2 nights Arrived 21 Oct 2016
"The location of Okaukuejo Camp is ofcourse excellent.

The waterhole at the edge of the camp is a great attraction. We spend multiple hours at the waterhole on the day of our arrival, just sitting there and watch the animals pass by. We had a chalet room, which was good. It had all required facilities including A/C.

The food at the restaurant is a buffet both for lunch and dinner, but the quality is rather average and the service is insufficient."
Average
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Image alt

Onguma Campsite

"Short stay at Onguma"

1 night Arrived 23 Oct 2016
"Our experiences at Onguma are very limited. We arrived late after a long day in Etosha and went to bed early.

The next day we also left early because we had a long drive ahead. So we only slept at the campsite.

The location of the campsite is good, just outside the entrance gate of Etosha. The facilities are fine."
Good
Location
Good
Facilities
Good
Image alt

Ngepi Camp

"Relaxed camping at the Okavango"

2 nights Arrived 24 Oct 2016
"The Ngepi campsite is great. It stretches along the bank of the Okavango river such that nearly all campsites have a riverview. This means you often hear or see the hippo's from your campsite.

Furthermore, the atmosphere was very relaxed and staff is friendly, ideal for a holiday. There are numerous humorous signs throughout the campsite: you'll find the poopa falls, the throne, a croc&hippo cage dive etc. They organise plenty of activities at very reasonable prices, and even support a nearby community with their earnings.

We did the river cruise which I can strongly recommend: we saw many hippo's, some crocs, a buffalo and a herd of elephants with a beautiful sunset."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Chobe Safari Lodge

Chobe Safari Lodge

"Camping between baboons and warthogs"

2 nights Arrived 26 Oct 2016
"We stayed at the campsite of Chobe Safari Lodge, which is situated a 5min walk from the main buildings. Our camping spot was rather small and bathroom facilities were far and not that clean.

The main building has a beautiful pool. We joined a few activities. The morning game drive was disappointing compared to previous experiences in Etosha. The afternoon rivercruise was great, we saw a lot of game.

In the evening we did a second cruise which served dinner. The food was good."
Good
Location
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Average
Service
Average
Activities
Good
Ilala Lodge

Ilala Lodge

"Beautiful hotel, a short walk from the falls"

1 night Arrived 28 Oct 2016
"Ilala Lodge is rather a hotel than a lodge. Our room was very luxurious with all required facilities available.

The restaurant served splendid food, such as crocodile risotto. Breakfast was also great with a good variety of food and a special breakfast menu.

The location is good, it is about 10mins by foot to the entrance of Vic Falls. The staff is friendly.

Overall a great experience at the end of our journey."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team