This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Desert Horse Inn
Desert Horse Inn
Desert Horse Inn
Desert Horse Inn
Desert Horse Inn
Desert Horse Inn

Reviews of Desert Horse Inn

Wildlife sightings and reviews

49 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Desert Horse Inn and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 7 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Desert Horse Inn.
Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Oryx

71% success

Brown Hyena

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Zebra

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 49
Duration
Arrival date
Jane U
London

"Desert Horse Inn review"

2 nights Arrived 7 Dec 2023
"This was a very comfortable base for my visit to Kolmanskop and Luderitz. The food is excellent, I think the best I had in Namibia. The lodge itself is comfortable and feels quite homely and friendly. The rooms are nothing special but they are comfortable and quiet and a good temperature, as well as spacious." See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Excellent
Explorer
Dan Brownlee

"Desert Horse Inn review"

1 night Arrived 2 Jul 2023
"Interesting gem in the desert. Good jump-off point for long drive to Bulls Port.

Suggest they install a "real-time" horse cam at the water hole lookout and send a live feed to the bar.

22KM from the inn. Inconvenient to drive there in case some animals might be there. If you knew you woukd make the trip." See all these reviews: 22n in Namibia; 3n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Oryx

Multiple sightings

J n S
Yorkshire

"Desert Horse Inn review"

1 night Arrived 28 Feb 2023
"The best food of the entire trip.

Rooms are a bit tired - which is not that important but the beds were uncomfortable.

Good swimming pool and lovely staff.

Used this as a one day stop to break up a longish journey - didn't find that much to do in the area, another time might go all the way to Luderitz or further north." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Average
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Oryx

1 sighting

Mr & Mrs N
Portsmouth

"Desert Horse Inn review"

2 nights Arrived 9 Sep 2022
"Well appointed rooms which are not overlooked. The Inn appeared pretty full when we stayed and staff struggled to seat everyone for dinner, compounded by a strong wind which restricted the outside options. Meal relatively expensive and av to good quality. Very good base for a day trip to Luderitz.

If travelling via Aus stop at Bahnhof Hotel for a very good lunch including the best (and perhaps only) deep fried ice cream outside Glasgow. A rare treat.

Great base for Halifax Island tour and to visit Kolmanskop. You can do the island tour first and get to Kolmanskop in time for the 11am tour. Detoured en route back to visit the desert horses." See all these reviews: 21n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Alice
Dusseldorf

"Desert Horse Inn review"

2 nights Arrived 24 May 2022
"Deset Horse Inn is located in a very beautiful area and it's a pleasure to have your own cottage and to wake up in the morning with such a private view from your veranda.

The cottages are big and well equipped you have the real feeling of a Ranch.

Lot of points to the restaurant. Great Service very varied a la cart menu that changes every day and also good list of wines. ladies cooking are local.

We had a great sundawner with Ricky." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs M
Reading

"Desert Horse Inn review"

2 nights Arrived 22 Nov 2021
"This establishment consists of two parts: the main inn and Eagles Nest which consists of six lodges at the foot of a cliff seven kilometers away from the Inn along a twisty sand track. Eagles Nest is effectively self-catering but if you opt for dinner at the Inn you will land up driving back to your lodge in the dark.

Anyway the Inn itself is very comfortable and the meals have a good choice of well-cooked dishes.

There are a number of walking trails around the property of varying length and strenuousness. The way marking could have been better and the trails seemed to disappear at times." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs & Mr DB
BC Canada

"Lots of hiking trails available"

1 night Arrived 11 Oct 2019
"Provided a good brochure with trail maps but some of the trail markings were hard to find.

The traditional Namibian stew was delicious!

We enjoyed the singing performance by the staff." See all these reviews: 21n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Oryx

6 sightings

Mrs & Mr K
Geneva

"Excellent lodge to hang out "

2 nights Arrived 15 Sep 2019
"We enjoyed this lodge.

The room is tastefully decorated with an excellent restaurant. Staffs are very helpful and friendly. A very good base to use for visiting Luderitze.

In their premise, we did one hike which is easy and nice." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Oryx

4 sightings

Mr M
Wakefield

"Great location and food"

2 nights Arrived 20 May 2018
"We had a well appointed and spacious room with a great view. Good bar with wide choice of beers.

The food in the restaurant was the best we had on the whole trip and the price of the wine the best value for the quality as well.

Very well placed for visiting Kolmanskop and Luderitz." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
TansySue
UK

"Situated in a very small settlement "

2 nights Arrived 16 May 2018
"Our room No 21 was a semi-detached chalet which could accommodate 3 people in single beds. It was one of the closest rooms to the main hotel facilities which included lounge, restaurant and swimming pool. There was a little terrace situated up a couple of steps with a table and seating to allow us to watch the sun go down. Nice to have fridge, kettle and tea/coffee making facilities.

A notice advised that water was scarce here in the desert. It was heated by solar power which would be hottest in the afternoon and evening and it would cool down overnight. If no sunshine, electricity would heat the geyser. Thus evening showers were appropriate during our stay.

The main course of the evening meal was buffet style with the starter and dessert served at the table. We were very upset regarding the wine; on tasting, we found our bottle of Merlot was corked and undrinkable. Initially the inexperienced waitress stated we would have to pay for the bottle as it had been opened! It was not until our Ultimate Safari guide intervened that 2 acceptable glasses of house Merlot were produced and for which we paid.

This hotel in Aus is well placed to see the wild horses which live in the spectacular desert landscape and for us, was over an hour's drive to Kolmanskop, the old diamond mining town which we particularly wanted to visit." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Sightings Report

Oryx

2 sightings

Showing 1-10 of 49
89%
49 reviews of Desert Horse Inn by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
26
20
3
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Luderitz

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Eagle's Nest

Eagle's Nest

The rustic chalets at Eagle's Nest on the Klein-Aus Vista reserve make a scenic base for hiking in the mountains, or just to enjoy the solitude.


95% (84 reviews)
Nest Hotel

Nest Hotel

With ocean views from all its rooms, the Nest Hotel is perfectly placed to appreciate the best of Lüderitz.


79% (62 reviews)
Island Cottage

Island Cottage

Island Cottage offers simple but comfortable self-catering apartments in an attractive if desolate location overlooking Lüderitz Harbour.


90% (6 reviews)
Haus Sandrose

Haus Sandrose

Haus Sandrose offers comfortable self-catering units in the heart of Lüderitz and a good base to explore the many attractions in and around the area.


87% (3 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa