This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Desert Horse Inn
Desert Horse Inn
Desert Horse Inn
Desert Horse Inn
Desert Horse Inn
Desert Horse Inn

Reviews of Desert Horse Inn

Wildlife sightings and reviews

49 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Desert Horse Inn and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 7 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Desert Horse Inn.
Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Oryx

71% success

Brown Hyena

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Zebra

0% success

Showing 21-30 of 49
Duration
Arrival date
The Ys
London

"Comfortable accommodation in nature reserve"

2 nights Arrived 10 Feb 2016
"After our "wobble" en route about staying in Aus, this proved to be a great place to stay. We were glad we were not at Eagle's Nest because of accessibility. Comfortable accommodation and good food. Service somewhat impersonal.

Good place for walking and seeing the desert horses. Very easy drive on good tarred road into Luderitz, an interesting town but we were glad we were not staying there! The ghost town of Kolmanskop was fascinating - certainly a must visit.

The garage/general store in Aus efficiently dealt with our punctured tyre. We had insufficient cash with us for this, but there is an ATM in the store which dispenses a maximum of $1500. The store supplied all our needs, including loperamide tablets for the diarrhoea after our stay at Desert Horse Inn." See all these reviews: 7n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Phil
London

"Desert Horse Inn review"

2 nights Arrived 10 Feb 2016
"Very nice pool. Good food." See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr A
Washington DC

"Desert Horse Inn review"

1 night Arrived 23 Oct 2015
"The Desert Horse Inn was a very nice surprise -- attractive and well located just outside of Aus. Very comfortable and attractive rooms/lodges (with a U.S. Western flavor). One of the very nice features were several hiking options nearby in very attractive country.

You had several trails to pick from and all were well-blazed and with outstanding views. We didn't even think about running into animals until we hit the first troop of baboons. The main area had an attractive outdoor seating area for drinks and the dining room was just above with tables sprinkled around the balconies if you wanted to sit outside. While we didn't stay there, we walked through the camp grounds, which also looked quite nice. Just down the road in Aus is the Banholf guesthouse, worth the trip for a nice lunch. The food was excellent as was the service and the setting.

The guide book suggests there is a good gift shop at the DHI, but I'd have to disagree with that." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr D & Ms P
Dursley

"Good place to relax and acclimatise."

2 nights Arrived 22 Oct 2015
"Good location for a stop over on our way to Kulala.

Staff friendly and helpful. Facilities good and accommodation comfortable, although wifi strength could be improved in public areas. Food good." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia; 4n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mr W & Mrs N
Cumbria

"Hospitable family-run inn"

1 night Arrived 23 Feb 2015
"Very welcoming- felt like you were staying with hosts.

Our first experience of slightly better, lighter meals." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
C+M
Zürich

"Desert Horse Inn review"

2 nights Arrived 22 Feb 2015
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mr M
W Lothian

"Desert Horse Inn review"

2 nights Arrived 22 Sep 2014
"OK but not wild about the place. surrounding desert is quite interesting, and this is a useful jumping off place for visiting Luderitz. No pool yet, but they are building one and are in the process of a major upgrade..

I found the commonwealth war graves interesting , and the nearby POW camp. I was not particularly sad to leave here . 6 out of ten" See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Mr C & Mrs S
UK

"Good for self-guided walks"

2 nights Arrived 13 Jul 2013
"Worth including for good walks. Also accessible (although a 100k drive) for Kolmanskop disused diamond mine (interesting) and Luderitz town (not very interesting).

Beware weather changing hour-to-hour." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Mr & Mrs D
Cheltenham

"Desert Horse Inn review"

1 night Arrived 24 May 2013
"Well organised

Tour groups there but not intrusive" See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs E
Gloucs

"Delighted to be in an Eagle Nest chalet"

2 nights Arrived 12 Nov 2012
"Rather than accept the room booked for us at the Desert Horse Inn, I asked about their Eagle Nest chalets and was lucky enough to pay for an upgrade. This made our stay there as I fear we would not have liked the busy (and perhaps noisy) atmosphere of the main Inn.

We were supplied with our breakfast and supper (food and beverages) which we took to our chalet 7 kms away from the main building. It was a good experience barbecuing (had to pay extra for the wood and firelighters) our supper. We enjoyed the overall and different experience." See all these reviews: 22n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Showing 21-30 of 49
89%
49 reviews of Desert Horse Inn by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
26
20
3
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Luderitz

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Eagle's Nest

Eagle's Nest

The rustic chalets at Eagle's Nest on the Klein-Aus Vista reserve make a scenic base for hiking in the mountains, or just to enjoy the solitude.


95% (84 reviews)
Nest Hotel

Nest Hotel

With ocean views from all its rooms, the Nest Hotel is perfectly placed to appreciate the best of Lüderitz.


79% (61 reviews)
Island Cottage

Island Cottage

Island Cottage offers simple but comfortable self-catering apartments in an attractive if desolate location overlooking Lüderitz Harbour.


90% (6 reviews)
Haus Sandrose

Haus Sandrose

Haus Sandrose offers comfortable self-catering units in the heart of Lüderitz and a good base to explore the many attractions in and around the area.


87% (3 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa