This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr A from Washington

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

3

Countries visited

6

Lodges stayed in

24

Excursions taken

0

Another Great Adventure through Expert Africa

Rwanda and 2 other countries between 8 Oct 2016 and 28 Oct 2016

Trip rating: Excellent
"A really extraordinary adventure. An excellent itinerary in Rwanda, capped by the priceless experience of tracking gorillas and other primates.

A beautiful week in the Quirimbas Archipelago, including a visit to a hidden gem of southeast Africa, historic Ibo Island.

Just a wonderful experience all around.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

Many thanks to Tracy Lederer for another round of assistance in arranging and assembling an African adventure (our third in three years through Expert Africa). An excellent initial recommendation for an itinerary and extremely helpful advise in refining our ideas. The arrangements came together quickly and worked almost flawlessly.

Thank you again Tracy and Expert Africa."

Arranged By Tracy Lederer


Kigali Serena Hotel

Kigali Serena Hotel

"Kigali Serena Hotel review"

2 nights Arrived 8 Oct 2016
"A fine higher-end option in Kigali.

Well located in sprawling Kigali, within walking distance of at least one good restaurant and short driving distance of the Genocide Memorial.

Attractive and comfortable outdoor areas. A very good breakfast buffet. Very attentive service."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Ruzizi Tented Lodge

Ruzizi Tented Lodge

"Ruzizi Tented Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 10 Oct 2016
"A small, attractive tented lodge toward the southern end of Akagera National Park. A beautiful lakeside location amid the plains of eastern Rwanda. Consistent with a low-impact approach to lodging, rather basic but entirely adequate facilities. Simple but comfortable tents. Dining on a deck overlooking beautiful Lake Ihema. Yummy meals cooked in the coals of the central fire pit and served buffet style. A small number of tents makes for a small number of guests and contributes to a sense of intimacy. Fine, attentive service.

Game in the Park was somewhat lacking, other than hippos. The game we did see was congregated toward the northern part of the Park, which necessitated in a long day of driving to and from the Lodge. The views from the western ridge of the Park toward the chain of lakes below are really spectacular.

The Park is several hours by vehicle east of Kigali (the point from which travel to any other part of Rwanda commences), so that any trip which involves travel from the Lodge to a location other than Kigali will almost certainly require a full day's drive. The roads in Rwanda are quite good, but some might find a long day's drive in Rwanda very taxing."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Nyungwe House

Nyungwe House

"Nyungwe Forest Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 12 Oct 2016
"A really beautiful lodge, set amid a tea plantation just beyond the western edge of Nyungwe Forest National Park. Beautiful views of the plantation and the mountains of the Park to the immediate east. Luxurious, modern facilities.

Extremely comfortable rooms with decks looking out on forest through which monkeys traveled routinely. Excellent food at all meals. Wonderful service by a staff continually committed to providing a top-class experience. In a distracting oddity, muzak plays at all hours of the day in the main lodge building.

The Park itself is very attractive and gives some idea of the flavor and beauty of Rwanda before deforestation. Excellent primate tracking and hiking in and around the Park. Tracking of the colobus monkeys occurred not more than 500 meters from the Lodge, and the monkeys were abundant and highly accessible. The canopy walk in the Park was beautiful and exhilarating (in a terrifying way)."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Mountain Gorilla View Lodge

Mountain Gorilla View Lodge

"Gorilla Mountain View Lodge review"

5 nights Arrived 15 Oct 2016
"A large lodge, exceptionally well located in the shadow of Volcanoes National Park. Absolutely magnificent views of the chain of volcanoes in the Park. Dated, somewhat dilapidated common areas and rooms. Somewhat uncomfortable rooms (especially in the cold of morning and late of day) useful almost solely for sleeping. Cafeteria style dining in order to accommodate the very large number of guests. Average food. Attentive dining service by a large, well-meaning staff. Good service otherwise, especially the complementary boot-cleaning available to those returning from a muddy hike.

Words cannot adequately describe primate tracking in the Park, whether gorillas or golden monkeys. It is simply an experience of a lifetime.

The lodge is excellently located amid the various jumping-off points for tracking. Two days of gorilla tracking provide the opportunity for many points of comparison in tracking experiences and is recommended. For those with time and/or who are seeking additional pre-tracking acclimatization to altitude, the nature walk is recommended for its beauty and its solitude (we were the only visitors on our particular walk)."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Average
Food
Average
Facilities
Average
City Lodge OR Tambo

City Lodge OR Tambo

"City Lodge OR Tambo review"

1 night Arrived 20 Oct 2016
"Highly recommended as a satisfactory airport travel hotel.

Amazingly convenient. Clean and comfortable. Decent food generally, and a very good breakfast buffet.

A more-than-adequate way station amid wherever your travels in southern Africa may take you."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Ibo Island Lodge

Ibo Island Lodge

"Distinctive Lodge in Most Unique Destination"

3 nights Arrived 21 Oct 2016
"Excellent does not suffice to characterize Ibo Island Lodge. A unique and beautiful lodge, lovingly and wonderfully restored within three marvelous historical buildings. Huge, comfortable rooms with high ceilings and windows,unique and attractive local appointments, and expansive verandas opening onto the water nearby Excellent food at all meals. Absolutely first-rate service from a committed, knowledgeable, and extremely attentive staff. A glorious roof-top deck/restaurant providing magnificent views of the African sunset over the mangrove swamps to the west.

A variety of unique and really engaging activities provided by a committed staff with real flair. The half-day dhow safari to the Lodge's private sandbar (including a return under sail) was a real treat, and the guided tour of the town was by turns informative and fascinating.

Ibo Island itself is utterly charming and distinctive in its run-down way, with echos of many periods of history around every succeeding corner. Highly, highly recommended as a destination to anyone intrigued by the idea of a dip into the history of eastern Africa."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Azura at Quilalea

Azura at Quilalea

"Azura at Quilalea review"

4 nights Arrived 24 Oct 2016
"A truly beautiful luxury resort set on its own private island amid the magnificent Quirimbas Archipelago.

Luxurious facilities. Private, comfortable, well appointed rooms looking out over the waters. (The west-facing Kusi villas are better-located and much more private and are highly recommended over the Kaskazi Vills.) Excellent food at all meals. Dinner is served at a different location each evening, including within a baobab grove in the middle of the island (a really extraordinary experience). Absolutely first-rate service, including a dedicated server for all meals and drinks. Excellent staff, helpful, engaged, and supportive.

Excellent activities in the waters of the Quirimbas. A very good house reef immediately offshore provides excellent snorkeling. Very good diving (if not quite the quality at Azura Benguerra off Vilankulos). Wonderful kayaking, including medium-distance trips to nearby Ilha Quirimba and around the island itself. Good wildlife, including tropical fish and turtles. Great short hikes on the island itself among a large number of very impressive baobab trees.

The pump failed near the end of our stay, and our room was without water for the last 24 hours of our stay."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good

My Oct 2015 trip

Namibia between 19 Oct 2015 and 6 Nov 2015

Trip rating: Excellent
"Our trip was fantastic and we didn't have to worry about a thing thanks to Tracy's excellent preparations on our behalf. This included advising us to check the spare tire in the back - and a good thing since we needed it.

Namibia is very beautiful with varied landscapes and friendly people - when you actually saw people! The itinerary was very well chosen and gave us a wonderful introduction to the country. Our accommodations were all very comfortable and made our trip very luxurious.

While Erongo Wilderness camp is really amazing and beautiful, all the tented rooms are not equal. Those at the bottom are nice in and of themselves, but have no views. We were a bit disappointed to be in one of these rooms considering we had booked well in advance, particularly since the camp manager mentioned to us that the day we arrived they had several walk-ins. This did not detract from our overall camp experience, which was really good."

Arranged By Tracy Lederer


Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch

Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch

"Bagatelle"

1 night Arrived 19 Oct 2015
"A very comfortable first stop on a trip south from Windhoek. Wonderful views of the Kalahari from cozy cabins situated atop ochre-colored dunes.

Very attractive commons and outdoor dining areas, tame springbok included. An excellent gift shop!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Facilities
Excellent
Fish River Lodge

Fish River Lodge

"The Edge of Eternity at Fish River Lodge"

2 nights Arrived 20 Oct 2015
"The first view of Fish River Canyon from the Lodge is quite literally breath-taking, more than adequate recompense for a long and somewhat grueling drive in on the access road.

Extremely comfortable cabins of modern design perch atop the west rim of the Canyon. Incredible views in all directions. Very attractive common areas with fine, attentive service. The day-trip drive into the Canyon (with a swim in the Fish River) was well worth the time and effort, and our guide (Paul) was excellent. Extremely windy at times, especially in the late afternoon.

An excellent place!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Nest Hotel

Nest Hotel

"Nest Hotel"

1 night Arrived 22 Oct 2015
"A comfortable travel hotel at the end of the long drive to Luderitz from the Fish River Canyon, but not much more. Well located in town on a point overlooking water on three sides.

Attractive outdoor areas for enjoying fish-andf-chips in the brisk sea air. A disappointing restaurant with poor service (though the presence of an international windsurfing/kitesurfing festival probably contributed).

While Luderitz itself has relatively little in the way of tourist attractions, the drive between Luderitz and Aus is amazing, with the Namib-Nakluft Desert on full display in all its arid beauty,"
Good
Location
Good
Service
Average
Facilities
Average
Rooms
Average
Food
Average
Desert Horse Inn

Desert Horse Inn

"Desert Horse Inn review"

1 night Arrived 23 Oct 2015
"The Desert Horse Inn was a very nice surprise -- attractive and well located just outside of Aus. Very comfortable and attractive rooms/lodges (with a U.S. Western flavor). One of the very nice features were several hiking options nearby in very attractive country.

You had several trails to pick from and all were well-blazed and with outstanding views. We didn't even think about running into animals until we hit the first troop of baboons. The main area had an attractive outdoor seating area for drinks and the dining room was just above with tables sprinkled around the balconies if you wanted to sit outside. While we didn't stay there, we walked through the camp grounds, which also looked quite nice. Just down the road in Aus is the Banholf guesthouse, worth the trip for a nice lunch. The food was excellent as was the service and the setting.

The guide book suggests there is a good gift shop at the DHI, but I'd have to disagree with that."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Kulala Desert Lodge

Kulala Desert Lodge

"Kulala - Sossusvlei!"

2 nights Arrived 24 Oct 2015
"Anything this close to Sossusvlei is going to be excellent, and it was. This was a very nice camp, with attractive accommodations, and fantastic views of the desert. Sunsets over the dunes were wonderful and watching the balloons float over the horizon was also very nice in the early morning.

First rate, food and service - typical of Wilderness Safari camps. The guided trip to Sossusvlei - breathtaking - was well worth it. The guides know how to navigate the deeps sands and had interesting information to share. It is easy to see why Sossusvlei is one of the crown jewels of Nambian travel.

The only downside was the wind and ensuing sandstorm. But that's mother nature and part of the Nambian package."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Image alt

Organic Square

"Organic Square - near the heart of Swapkopmun"

3 nights Arrived 26 Oct 2015
"The new annex of the Organic Square was really quite attractive - leaning toward a self-catering air. Comfortable and very clean modern rooms. The back rooms where we stayed were away from the street and therefore quieter. All the rooms overlook nice and neat small gardens and each has a small private sitting area.

A largely continental breakfast in the A.M - pretty good. The manager was exceptionally friendly and helpful -- recommended places to go and and even made dining reservations for us. The hotel is pretty well located though not in the dead center of town. It was easy to walk everywhere - and wandering the streets is a pleasant way to spend the day in Swapkopmund.

The Pelican Point kayaking day trip to Walvis Bay was excellent. Many birds on the drive out and there, really stunning sand swept views, and huge colonies of seal that you can kayak right up to. Our guide was especially good - laid back, informative and loved his job. A winning combination all around."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Doro Nawas

Doro Nawas

"Doro Nawas - hilltop respite in Damaraland"

2 nights Arrived 29 Oct 2015
"Wonderfully located atop and around a small hillock in Damaraland near the mountain ridge that includes Twyfelfontein.

Very large, comfortable tented cabin rooms, with decks looking out on the mountains beyond. Brilliant night-time skies with endless banks of stars. Extremely attractive common areas. Excellent food. Especially friendly and helpful service that even included tentative lessons at Khoisan. Very quiet and peaceful (when the wind isn't blowing), so you can hear your neighbors cough.

The morning drive by Doro Nawas to Twyfelfontein was very informative; the separate guided tour of the site itself was extremely interesting, as was a later visit to the Damaraland Living Museum."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Image alt

Anderssons Camp, Namibia (this camp has since closed)

"Andersson's Camp"

1 night Arrived 31 Oct 2015
"A charming, laid-back camp with the feel of an old-school safari as befitting its origins as a 19th century farmhouse. The tented room was small but comfortable with a deck that opened nicely onto areas filled with wandering game. The common areas were extremely open and well-situated for viewing the water hole very nearby. The game blind accessible by easy walk from the common areas afforded absolutely amazing close-up views of various game (including a large pride of lions), and the floodlit water hole attracted several rhinos for more amazing views.

Andersson's location just outside the southern gate (Andersson's/Okaukuejo) to Etosha makes it an ideal jumping off point for visits to the park and the water holes in the vicinity of Okaukuejo, including Okondeka,the water hole with the highest concentration and variety of game we saw on our four separate visits to the park.

Staff inform us that Andersson's is about to undergo an upgrade of facilities, to reduce the number of cabins and provide a more 'luxurious' experience, We hope that the camp doesn't lose its distinctive 'retro' charm in the process."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Onguma Tented Camp

Onguma Tented Camp

"Deluxe accommodations near Etosha at Onguma"

3 nights Arrived 1 Nov 2015
"A very small, deluxe camp. Very large, comfortable tented rooms with decks that opened onto the camp's private water hole. Spacious and open common areas with a dining area looking out on the water hole. A very nice fire pit. Pulses of game from the very small (guinea fowl) to the very large (giraffe). Extremely attentive and engaged staff. Excellent food and service.

A guided walking safari along the edge of Fisher's Pan was extremely interesting, with a guide (David) who seemed especially engaged by his duties. Our drive into Etosha was less rewarding, partly due to windy conditions, partly to a paucity of game (other than a black rhino), and partly due to a guide who did not make much effort to do other than drive,

The Onguma complex is generally well-located near the East Gate of Etosha, but the access road from the Onguma entrance to the camps themselves is long and somewhat jarring."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Erongo Wilderness Lodge

Erongo Wilderness Lodge

"Erongo - hidden among the boulders"

2 nights Arrived 4 Nov 2015
"This is a pretty amazing camp built into the boulders and practically hidden from view as your drive up to it. Really comfortable and attractive rooms, including an open air bathroom integrated into boulders -- one whole wall was a rock face. The common area was perched atop a boulder with great views, and nice dining areas. If you are a birder you could sit on the observation deck all day watching a variety of colorful and interesting birds come and go. The service was attentive and very, very friendly.

This camp also has several well-blazed hiking trails among the boulders. You can go on a guided walk or on your own. We did both. Our guide, Manuel, was excellent -- nice and well informed about the various flora and fauna. Highly recommend taking advantage of both options.

The nearby town of Omaruru aspires toward the artistic and has engaging ambience - worth a trip and a beer."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Delightful

Botswana and 3 other countries between 16 Oct 2014 and 2 Nov 2014

Trip rating: Excellent
"We loved our African experience, which was varied in location and captured all we wanted to see and do.

Kudos to ExpertAfrica for the detailed arrangements that went smoothly and without a hitch!

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

Your website is okay, but we actually used a different one to look up details and comments on the same places you offered. That site was more visually compelling and easier to navigate. Having said that we still used your service -- and our overall experience with you was very good."

Arranged By Tracy Lederer


Tongabezi

Tongabezi

"Great location, attentive staff"

2 nights Arrived 17 Oct 2014
"Beautiful location on the Zambezi River, and the villas really made the environment special.

The food was excellent -- among the best on our trip-- and the staff was especially helpful and accommodating."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Muchenje Safari Lodge

Muchenje Safari Lodge

"Muchenje Safari Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 19 Oct 2014
"The staff was extremely friendly and interested in sharing their experiences and also hearing about your experiences. They also made sure all of our needs were met and everyone was very knowledgeable about the area and the wildlife. We learned a ton.

There is a trade off by staying at Muchenje -- you are a bit removed from the Chobe central riverfront so nicely more quiet. That means you have to drive farther afield to get the riverfront. That tradeoff is an individual preference of course."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Facilities
Good
Footsteps across the Delta

Footsteps across the Delta

"A fantastic retro introduction to the Delta!"

2 nights Arrived 21 Oct 2014
"Footsteps harkens back to safaris of a bygone era while still being extremely comfortable and pretty high end for bucket showers (always with hot water). This was our hands down favorite stop of the trip. A small camp made the experience very intimate and tailored to our every need.

The food was five star -- all cooked over an open fire. The staff extremely attentive and friendly. The accommodations were extremely comfortable. And the animals wandered through the camp making for a truly special experience.

We would highly, highly recommend to anyone that wants a real experience with lots of comfort, but doesn't need all the "conveniences" of the developed world."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Vumbura Plains

Vumbura Plains

"A deluxe experience in the heart of the Delta"

3 nights Arrived 23 Oct 2014
"Vumbura was everything we expected from this high end accommodation and location. Extremely, luxe and comfortable. Small and intimate, Superb staff and excellent food. Wonderful wildlife presented by engaging and knowledgeable guides.

The quintessential high-end Delta experience."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
City Lodge OR Tambo

City Lodge OR Tambo

"A little more than a mere transit hotel"

1 night Arrived 26 Oct 2014
"Convenient, comfortable, and well-staffed. A more-than-accetabple evening stop-ever amid our adventures."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Image alt

Casa Rex

"Surprising quality on the Mozambique coast"

2 nights Arrived 27 Oct 2014
"A wonderful option for those looking for an alternative to helicoptering directly to the Mozambique island resorts. A beautiful location on and overlooking the channel to the Bazaruto Archipelago.

Attractive rooms with wonderful views. Excellent food and wine in an intimate restaurant. A warm and welcoming staff. One of our favorite spots!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Azura Benguerra

Azura Benguerra

"Luxurious beach resort"

3 nights Arrived 29 Oct 2014
"Azura Benguerra was all you'd expect from an intimate and high-end beach resort. Private villas with direct access to the beach and azure waters of the Indian Ocean.

Exceptionally attentive staff that catered to all of our needs with a genuine smile. Excellent food and variety. If you like to dive or snorkel -- exceptional reef opportunities with an abundance of sea life.

Take a drive around the island too -- it is charming with beautiful unspoiled vistas."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team