This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Armadale Lodge
Armadale Lodge
Armadale Lodge
Armadale Lodge

Reviews of Armadale Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

7 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Armadale Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 1-7 of 7
Duration
Arrival date
Andy
Queens, NY, USA

"Armadale Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 22 Aug 2021
"It's almost comical coming to a place like Armadale after spending several weeks in the bush.

But there's no doubt it's a quite comfortable and relaxing place to be before you start the long journey home.

For a one night stopover, you'll get exactly what you need: nice food (and wine, if that's what you like) and a good sleep." See all these reviews: 18n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
T T
Boise

"Armadale Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 1 Aug 2021
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr A
Washington DC

"An Oasis in Harare"

1 night Arrived 19 Jul 2021
"Armadale was an oasis for us both on our arrival in Harare at the beginning of our trip and 10 days later when we returned for COVID testing required to exit Zimbabwe.

Extensive, immaculately-tended grounds. Large, stately rooms, and showers with endless hot water (especially nice on very cold Winter mornings in Harare). Fine food, in huge portions, lovingly prepared by chef Webster. A roaring fire to warm us before we retired for the night. We could not have asked for more.

The principle attraction at Armadale is the eclectic collection of furniture, textiles, rugs, carvings, and other knick-knacks that festoon every corner of the lodge. Almost a little museum unto itself, and the living embodiment of owner Nikki Blythewood's love of things Zimbabwean (and African).

Nikki herself was the consummate host, attentive, engaged, and endlessly helpful (especially with a snag on one of our COVID exit tests). We would gladly stay at Armadale again for the simple pleasure of renewing her company." See all these reviews: 12n in Tanzania; 12n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Bert
NL

"Armadale Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 20 Oct 2018
"We stayed in this hotel for just one night and had the place virtually for ourselves. Friendly and helpful staff, spacious, comfortable rooms and a nice swimmingpool. Good place to start or finish a trip." See all these reviews: 7n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Average
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sue
Cape Town

"Armadale Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 12 Sep 2018
"See previous [Ed: See this traveller's review of their earlier stay at Armadale - below.]" See all these reviews: 16n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Sue
Cape Town

"Armadale Lodge - an unusual experience"

1 night Arrived 5 Sep 2018
"Armadale Lodge is a cross between an art gallery and a hotel.

The garden is idyllic, the pool is crystal clear, the drinks are cool and near at hand and the staff are ever ready to assist. But the artefacts and paintings are mind-blowing. I wished I had more time just to sit and wonder. It would have been good to know where each came from and what its provenance was, but realistically I'm not sure how that would be possible.

Overall a most enjoyable stay, thanks you." See all these reviews: 16n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr M
Toronto

"Armadale Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 17 Jun 2018
"We arrived in the dark and left just after dawn the next morning but we still loved the experience of staying in this lodge. It had an old colonial feeling with large gardens and huge patios.

We were sorry we couldn't spend longer. The staff could not have been more kind and attentive." See all these reviews: 8n in Zimbabwe; 5n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Showing 1-7 of 7
97%
7 reviews of Armadale Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
6
1
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zimbabwe

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zimbabwe.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Harare

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Meikles Hotel

Meikles Hotel

Perhaps the best large hotel in Harare, the Meikles is located in the centre of the city, overlooking Africa Unity Square Park.


80% (2 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa