This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mrs M from Japan

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

4

Countries visited

4

Lodges stayed in

13

Excursions taken

0

Botswana trip

Botswana between 26 Apr 2019 and 5 May 2019

Trip rating: Excellent
"We spent a wonderful week in Botswana. Both camps were really nice.This was the second visit to Botswana for me and the first visit to Africa for my sister. She enjoyed this trip and I believe she will be back to Africa again.

Thank you very much for Meet and Greet service at Johannesburg airport for both of us. It was really helpful."

Duba Explorers Camp

Duba Explorers Camp

"Duba Explorers Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 27 Apr 2019
"Beautiful and very comfortable camp. Our room had a terrace with sofa and very spacious bathroom. There was a small waterhole in front of our room, we enjoyed to see some animals coming to drink water in the daytime.

Game viewing was wonderful. We stayed here for 4 nights and saw wild dogs and leopards every day.

Staff were friendly and food was excellent."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Selinda Explorers Camp

Selinda Explorers Camp

"Selinda Explorers Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 1 May 2019
"Small camp with rustic feeling. Our room was spacious and very comfortable.

Because the area was very dry, we were not offered any water activities but game viewing was very good.
Our guide, Oats is really knowledgeable. It was so good to listen to his talk about animal's behavior.

Staff were very friendly. Food was very good. Bush lunch and special Botswana style dinner were memorable experiences.
We love sociable atmosphere of this camp."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Kafue National Park

Zambia between 9 Aug 2018 and 18 Aug 2018

Trip rating: Excellent
"This trip was my 2nd visit to Zambia and 1st vist to Kafue.

I often travel solo. so camp's friendly atmosphere is a priority. In this sense I think Musekese and Ntemwa are the best camps I've ever stayed in Africa.

I will go back ---probably next year."

Pioneer Camp

Pioneer Camp

"Pioneer Camp review"

1 night Arrived 9 Aug 2018
"Nice place to stay after long flight into Lusaka. I was glad to have large room with bath tub.

There was a large party (35 people) staying at the camp and they gathered at the restaurant area before each meal, so I sat at the bar and waited for a while until my table was set. But staff were very friendly and food was good."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Musekese Camp

Musekese Camp

"Peaceful and friendly"

3 nights Arrived 10 Aug 2018
"I had a superb time here. The setting is beautiful. Every day I saw animals and birds spending peaceful time in front of my room.

Elephants are regular visitors to the camp. I was fortunate to have been guided by Tyrone, James, and Ephy. Guinding was excellent. I missed wild dogs but I saw lions, leopards, many antelopes, and many kind of birds.

Camp manager Kolo and all of the staff are super friendly. Food was very tasty and my food preference was well catered for.
I apreciate their family hospitality.

Thank you Tyrone and Musekese team for wonderfu holiday. I will definately go back."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Ntemwa Busanga Camp

Ntemwa Busanga Camp

"My favorite camp in Busanga Plain"

3 nights Arrived 13 Aug 2018
"Ntemwa is a small, rustic but comfortable camp with en-suite oper-air bathroom with flash toilet.

I stayed there for 3 nights and was guided by James. I was amazed by his knowledge. He was also looked after me very well. Busanga plains is stunning. I love this vast open plain.

The game was a bit quiet while I was there, but I saw buffaloes, wothog families, many antelopes, and beautiful birds.

It takes more than 3 hours drive to get there from its main camp Musekese (and Tsetse were very active in some places) but worth to visit. I want to stay longer next time."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Musekese Camp

Musekese Camp

"Musekese Camp review"

1 night Arrived 16 Aug 2018
"Please see previous comment."
Excellent

Hwange safari

Zimbabwe between 28 Apr 2018 and 4 May 2018

Trip rating: Excellent
"This was my 10th safari and my first experience of walking safari. As Freddie advised me before booking, I know wildlife was not so superb in this season・・・that said I saw many kind of animals and birds, and I enjoyed walking and game drive as well.
I was very lucky to have Julian throughout my stay and really impressed Julian's enthusiasm and hospitality to the guests.

I shared my all activities (6 days) with a nice American couple from California. We've become friends and this is another highlight of this safari.

Thank you Freddie for your travel arrangement of my safari."

Camp Hwange

Camp Hwange

"Beautiful camp with great view"

3 nights Arrived 28 Apr 2018
"Camp Hwange is a beautiful camp. I like the view of wide plain and waterhole with an elephant from my room.

Food was excellent, I think one of the best food experience I have ever had at the camps in Africa.

Julian, who has wealth of knowledge, was my guide throughout my stay and I really enjoyed walking. It was an exciting moment facing an elephant. We happened to find Bat-eared fox while walking. And walking up to buffaloes was another exciting moent as well.

All of camp staff are very friendly and helpful."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Hwange Bush Camp

Hwange Bush Camp

"Awsome experience"

3 nights Arrived 1 May 2018
"Hwange Bush Camp is smaller than Camp Hwange and I really like this rustic camp. Each room has comfortable beds and very large bathroom.

I always enjoyed meals with other guests, camp staffs and guides. I love this familiar atmoshere.

My guide was Julian. On the way to the camp, I had my first experience to touch a Python. We tracked lions on foot but didn't find them, but on my third day , finally we saw the lion, "Vusi", with 4 females and 2 cubs.
I would definately stay there again."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Absolutely wonderful!

Tanzania between 5 Aug 2017 and 15 Aug 2017

Trip rating: Excellent
"This trip was really enjoyable and memorable. It was organized by Elizabeth Chapman first, then it was taken over by Claire Scott.
All of my travel arrangement ran very smoothly and I had nothing to worry about.

As I stated before, I like small, rustic camps and I really love warm hospitality of the people working there. This might be one of the reasons why I don't stop going to African countries on safari."

Arranged By Elizabeth Chapman


Legendary Lodge

Legendary Lodge

"Beautiful lodge"

1 night Arrived 5 Aug 2017
"This is my favorite lodge in Arusha. My room was very large and bathroom has a tub and separate shower booth.
Each room has a terrace with a table and chairs. I love watching the cute visitors (dik dik) while sitting in the chair on the terrace."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Nomad Serengeti Safari Camp

Nomad Serengeti Safari Camp

"Small, intimate camp"

4 nights Arrived 6 Aug 2017
"The camp is simple, but comfortable enough. I love this small, intimate camp with bush feel.
I was very welcomed by the Manager John and camp staff. They are very kind and friendly, I was able to relax at my room as if I were in my home. I enjoyed bucket shower, and it was my favorite moment to have coffee in front of my room at dawn. Meals were great.

I was picked up by my private guide David at Kogatente Airstrip. He was a friendly, experienced guide. We saw wildebeests' river crossing on the way to the camp from the airstrip. Next day, we saw black rhinos.
I really enjoyed chatting with him about amimals, cultures, etc.

It was nice to meet and talk with other guests during meal times."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Chada Camp

Chada Camp

"Wonderful camp!"

3 nights Arrived 10 Aug 2017
"It took about 3 hours from Serengeti to Katavi.
Katavi is remote but a beautiful place. It has variety of landscapes, animals, birds ......
I was welcomed by Katavi team. Manager Hamza was very friendly and helpful.

My guide, Jo was skilled, passionate, and helpful.
I shared the game drives with an American Gentleman for 3 days. It was fun to share the experience with him.
Elephant sometimes passed close to my room...I got thrilled...I was scared a little though.

On my 4th night, Hamza (the manager) and another guide took me a night game drive. It was a wonderful drive, it didn't take more than 5 minuites to find 2 leopards.

It was lovely to interact with other guests...very friendly Italian families.

I love Katavi so much. I really want to go there again.."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Chada fly-camping

Chada fly-camping

"Paradise!"

1 night Arrived 13 Aug 2017
"One of the most impressive experience in Katavi. I love beautiful landscape, a lot of hippos, buffalloes, birds, dinner in the bush...
Sleeping in the small tent with matress was comfortable. I'd love to go there again."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Legendary Lodge

Legendary Lodge

"Relaxing place"

1 night Arrived 14 Aug 2017
"I stayed at Legendary Lodge again on my last day of this trip.
After 8 days bush experience, I relaxed at this beautiful lodge. The food is delicious and spa treatment was excellent."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team