This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Chada Camp
Chada Camp
Chada Camp
Chada Camp
Chada Camp

Reviews of Chada Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

32 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Chada Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jul-2018, 5 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Chada Camp.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

100% success

Cheetah

0% success

Wild dog

0% success

Buffalo

100% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Roan antelope

60% success

Spotted Hyena

60% success

Wildebeest

25% success

Eland

20% success

Aardvark

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Sable antelope

0% success

Striped Hyena

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 32
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs S
Teddington

"Chada Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 14 Oct 2019
"It was a long flight down to Katavi and this remote location is really for the 'experienced' safari visitors. We really appreciated the wilderness aspects of our visit - rarely do you see another vehicle. Chada is a well appointed camp and we had a very comfortable tent. A resident (!) elephant herd could be a bit bothersome: they were right outside our tent once delaying our morning game viewing departure, and on another occasion pushing down a corner of the tent. More congenial were evening sights of the common bushbaby in the camp. The Nomad camp staff and manager (as everywhere) were excellent - extremely friendly and attentive.

We had some real 'quality' game viewing including witnessing the stalking and kill by a pride of lions; the numerous densely crowded hippo pools (Katavi has the highest concentration of hippo anywhere), a herd of roan antelope; and the rarely seen white-tailed mongoose. However, what we missed were the concentrations of animals on the Chada Plain, where there were not the density of species for which Katavi is renowned, perhaps because there had been some early rain and the controlled burning carried out by the Park authorities elsewhere had dispersed the animals. To this extent, the stay at Katavi did not meet our expectations. Access to some potential viewing environments was restricted by the lack of road/track access.

Nevertheless, we thoroughly enjoyed our experiences in Katavi and really appreciated John our driver/guide who did all he could to enhance our trip and provided valuable and knowledgeable information on all the animals and birdlife." See all these reviews: 14n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Eland

6 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

10 sightings

Roan antelope

10 sightings

Spotted Hyena

4 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr. I
London

"Chada Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 5 Aug 2019
"Having been to Selous and Ruaha and had a wonderful time, enjoying the varied features and wildlife of both places, Katavi had a lot to live up to ... but it triumphed. It was both me and my wife's favourite of the three. Admittedly, it is not the place to go for a first-time safari go-er with a checklist of animals to see, but this place is more wild and therefore more rewarding as a result.

I had read in one write-up of Katavi that you could end up seeing more lion than people and I took that with a pinch of salt ... but we did in fact see more lion than other travelers. The Chada pride were spread but out in force and to see the male lion roar right next to us on a night drive was memorable. We watched elephant families play, a bull elephant shove a tamarind tree so that the fruit showered down and male giraffe mock neck-fighting. The hippos and crocs combination were always entertaining and we saw leopard on both day and night drives.

As for the camp, this is run by the cheerful Julian who was an excellent host entertaining guests with his stories. This camp was no doubt at the higher-end than our two in Selous and Ruaha but it maintains that rustic and wild feel. Again, elephant families were frequent visitors to camp, giraffe wandered by, a banded mongoose family foraged around our tent and bushbucks and vervet monkeys were also frequent visitors. The food at the camp was excellent and service impeccable.

We loved the varied activities on offer here. Yes, the game-drives were shared unlike in our previous camps, but the quality of guiding by Dismas was very high and we enjoyed the walking safari which was a decent length allowing us some much-needed exercise. The fly-camping (under a separate review) is a must-do. " See all these reviews: 17n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

3 sightings

Lion

4 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr & Mrs F
Maidstone

"Chada Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 11 Oct 2018
"A remote camp but the flight transfer went well and we benefitted from seeing almost no other landrovers on any drive (typically only one other and that was often the other vehicle from the camp). Game sightings were good and the walking safari, fly camping and night drives were excellent. Our early morning coffee was a highlight - which sounds daft but it really was that good! The food was also excellent and well judged.
Unusually, in our experience, the afternoon drive ended before dark so the night drive was a separate trip but well worth doing once.
The staff were all quite excellent and it was a joy to be able to speak to so many, so easily. It was only on leaving that we found that Nomad employed an English teacher who rotated around camps for three months at a time but it was clearly an initiative which was hugely successful, helping both staff and guests!
Our one negative (which we knew all about before our trip) was the tsetse flies which were typically persistent and irritating. Knowing in advance allowed us to prepare mentally so they did not ruin an otherwise excellent camp!
One unexpected bonus was that rain a week before we arrived had kicked off spring and trees were beginning to blossom. As a result we were able to smell some wonderful scents we had not experienced before - who knew that the mahogany trees smelt like honeysuckle? We didn't and were quite unprepared for the impact as you walked or drove through the bush!
" See all these reviews: 14n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

2 sightings

Lion

10 sightings

Roan antelope

4 sightings

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Zebra

10 sightings

Ms G
Georgia

"Marvelous camp and safari "

3 nights Arrived 24 Sep 2018
"Wonderful accommodations, great food and staff, great animal sightings! " See all these reviews: 9n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Roan antelope

2 sightings

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr & Mrs P
Volcano

"Great Camp in a Nice Location"

4 nights Arrived 26 Jul 2018
"We went to Katavi to see the large herds of buffalo that the park is famous for, and were not disappointed. We saw several herds of up to 500 animals! Elephant encounters were quite common as well. Safari camps in the park are few, and Chada Camp is by far the best option available. The camp is well designed and managed. Food and service were excellent. Guiding was good, but our guide had to be encouraged to visit the more remote parts of the park. A rough drive to the area called Paradise was a real highlight and is a must if visiting this park.

Although Chada Camp itself was excellent, we were a bit disappointed in the park itself. It is promoted as a real wilderness experience because of its size and remote location. But the network of roads is very limited, and quite often one is crossing a major gravel road that has a fair amount of local traffic, including buses, on it. That was a surprise in a park touted as a real wilderness!

Game viewing was very good, although diversity was limited. This was likely due to the fact that it was an extremely wet year and water was still plentiful in many inaccessible areas so the game could stay dispersed.

" See all these reviews: 18n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

4 sightings

Elephant

8 sightings

Giraffe

8 sightings

Hippo

8 sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

3 sightings

Zebra

8 sightings

Mr P
Sai Kung

"Chada Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 26 Oct 2017
"This is an excellent 'camp' - perfectly remote and feels like an authentic safari!" See all these reviews: 8n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs K
Guildford

"A camp to experience nature at it's best"

3 nights Arrived 16 Oct 2017
"Chada is not a luxury camp, it is under canvas in the bush, small, comfortable, with eco loos and bucket showers but that is what we wanted and expected. Katavi is one of the less visited national parks but we found it delightful, uncrowded but with great game viewing.........especially if you want to see Hippo !

Our hosts, Barbara and Fabio, were delightful and our guide, Joe, excellent with great knowledge and a sense of fun.

Food was good despite being "in the middle of nowwhere ". We came back from the whole trip with great admiration for the Tanzanian chefs. " See all these reviews: 20n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr K & Ms C
Germany

"Great park and good game viewing"

3 nights Arrived 12 Oct 2017
"Overall, I would give it 4.5 stars" See all these reviews: 9n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Ms P
London

"Excellent"

4 nights Arrived 21 Sep 2017
"Katavi is a beautiful park, with a good variety of landscapes and few visitors.

Game viewing is very good, although animal densities were not as high as I expected, perhaps because of extremely limited water. The exception was hippos: so many hippos, squashed into shrinking muddy pools - they made for wonderful sundowner spots!

Highlights included carefully tracking a leopard snoozing in a tree and a lioness hunting a bushbuck. Birds were excellent, too. Chada is wonderful camp, with comfortable tents, tasty food (highlights included some wonderful pork empanadas for lunch, although there were always plenty of fresh salads and fruit, too) and, above all, delightful staff, including our experienced guide, Jairu.

We were rather fortunate to share the camp with just one other couple; it felt almost decadent. Elephants visited the camp daily, which was really quite a thrill (and completely safe, thanks to the staff's care).

I would stay definitely stay there again." See all these reviews: 11n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs R
Aberdeen

"Amazing stay at Chada our favorite camp"

3 nights Arrived 4 Sep 2017
"We loved Chada Camp, Katavi National Park and our morning in Paradise.

The camp was expertly run by Hansa, The staff were wonderful and service great. The food was excellent and our tent was very pleasant cool and always had plenty to view from our tents veranda. We had close encounters with a family group of elephants who drank from our bucket shower and from the bird bath in front of the tent. The bathroom and toilet were en suite and a fan was effective in keeping the tent cool in evenings

Our Guide Joe was excellent and always had something interesting to show us.He found us lion and leopard but the stars of the show were the hundreds of hippo and crocodiles trying to fit in the remaining water. Hippo pool was amazing with the storks using the backs of hippos to fish from. We had a great night drive with sightings of hyena, genets ,white tailed mongoose and owls. Joe was thrilled to see bush pig on one drive. We spent a morning in Paradise which was a beautiful experience


" See all these reviews: 14n in Tanzania; 3n in Zanzibar; 1n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 1-10 of 32
98%
32 reviews of Chada Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
29
3
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Tanzania

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Tanzania.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Diving & snorkelling

Diving & snorkelling

Find captivating marine life beneath the waves

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Katavi National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Chada fly-camping

Chada fly-camping

Fly-camping from Chada Camp, in the heart of Tanzania's remote Katavi National Park is as wild as Africa gets.


100% (5 reviews)
Katavi Wildlife Camp

Katavi Wildlife Camp

Katavi Wildlife Camp is a simple tented camp – one of only four in the remote Katavi National Park – with good wildlife sightings all year round.


100% (4 reviews)
Mbali Mbali Katavi

Mbali Mbali Katavi

Mbali Mbali Katavi is a luxury, tented camp situated in the centre of Katavi and the only camp in the park with a swimming pool.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa