This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr & Mrs K from Guildford

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

2

Countries visited

3

Lodges stayed in

13

Excursions taken

0

Best trip ever.

Tanzania between 7 Oct 2017 and 28 Oct 2017

Trip rating: Excellent
"One of the best if not the best trip we have ever done. Nomad were terrific, the one problem ( mobile Serengeti ) was sorted before we even knew about it by upgrading us to Lamai..........thenk you. The guides were excellent throiughout, the friendliness of staff and management superb. We just loved it all..............we want to go back !!

The assistance in researching and setting up the trip was excellent...........well done James Denny of Expert Africa. He has, we gather, subsequently left so had to select Chris M below.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

If you keep this quality up it's difficult to suggest improvements !"

Rivertrees Country Inn

Rivertrees Country Inn

"Rivertrees Country Inn review"

1 night Arrived 7 Oct 2017
"Was absolutely fine as a stopover within minutes of Kilimanjaro Airport on our first night...............we arrived late, the staff were friendly and helpful, had a beer and a pizza and went to bed in a comfortable room.

Left early the next morning for the Crater."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Entamanu Ngorongoro

Entamanu Ngorongoro

"A great introduction to safari in Tanzania"

4 nights Arrived 8 Oct 2017
"Brilliant location near the entrance to the Crater which enabled us to be the first car in the morning. The tents were very comfortable ( the hot water bottles were magic at night ), the staff very friendly and helpful and our guide ( Felix ) was excellent. Food was good and the bar service excellent. Dining with the open fires was very welcome.

We enjoyed the journey to Empimnau crater to see the masses of Flamingo ( despite the long drive it was great countryside and gave a real feel for the nomadic grazing ).

The climb down to the lake is steep but worthwhile when you get close to the thousands of Flamingo which line the lake shores."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Lamai Serengeti

Lamai Serengeti

"A special and memorable camp"

4 nights Arrived 12 Oct 2017
"We were due to stay in one of the mobile camps, however, it was destroyed by storm and Nomad moved us to Lamai.........a stroke of good fortune for us as it is an excellent camp and the game viewing exceeded any expectation we might have had.

Food was good and the Bandas excellent..........we were even able to get massage to ease our aching bones after a day in a jeep !

We were fortunate to see liion ( In numbers ), leopard and cheetah, big herds of zebra, elephant and wildebeest as well as giraffe and buffalo. The sighting of two kills and a crossing of the Mara ( complete with crocs ). Our guide ( Anufi ) was again excellent.........by now we had realised that Nomad's guides are the best !"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Chada Camp

Chada Camp

"A camp to experience nature at it's best"

3 nights Arrived 16 Oct 2017
"Chada is not a luxury camp, it is under canvas in the bush, small, comfortable, with eco loos and bucket showers but that is what we wanted and expected. Katavi is one of the less visited national parks but we found it delightful, uncrowded but with great game viewing.........especially if you want to see Hippo !

Our hosts, Barbara and Fabio, were delightful and our guide, Joe, excellent with great knowledge and a sense of fun.

Food was good despite being "in the middle of nowwhere ". We came back from the whole trip with great admiration for the Tanzanian chefs."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Greystoke Mahale

Greystoke Mahale

"The Chimpanze Safari !"

4 nights Arrived 19 Oct 2017
"The one reason to go to Mahale is trekking with the Chimps. It's a journey to get there but so very worthwhile...........a unique experience.

The camp on the shores of Lake Tanganika is excellent, Thai style bandas open at the front with views over the beach to the lake..............very comfortable indeed. The treks can be hard but the opportunity to visit with the Chimps in their own habitat and see their behaviour is something you will never do otherwise. We swam in the Lake, experienced an earthquake at breakfast and just loved it all.

The camp is amazing, lovely open fronted bandas, great food, lovely staff, and a great manager in Julien. We just had a great house party."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Beho Beho

Beho Beho

"The luxury Camp......Beho,Beho."

4 nights Arrived 23 Oct 2017
"As a finsl stop on our three week safari we could not have asked for a better camp. Beautiful bandas, great views, incredible food ( how do you produce great lobster for supper in the bush ?), attentive staff, excellent guides and good game viewing.

Lions parading through the camp and the gardener, a big bull tusker ! It simply could not have been better...............the lake trip with endless Hippo and Crocs, the Brunch ashore courtesy of the brilliant chefs and the last night supper up in the house which was simply the icing on the cake.

Many thanks to Phil, Trish and especially Mama B !"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

This trip was up there with the best !

Namibia and 1 other country between 7 Oct 2011 and 27 Oct 2011

Trip rating: Excellent
"We were impressed that arrangements worked well, especially in the way we were met and greeted. Wilderness Safari flights and pilots were all of a high standard and on time. The lodges mostly exceeded our expectations; we enjoyed excellent game viewing and met some fun people.

The management and the staff whom we met were all very welcoming, friendly, enthusiastic and efficient.
In short, we had an awesome trip ! Thank you."

Kulala Desert Lodge

Kulala Desert Lodge

"Kulala Desert Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 8 Oct 2011
"Great camp, with good food and ambiance.
Petreus our guide was enthusiastic and knowledgeable.

The dunes experience was incredible, however having left our lodge just after dawn, we had expected to be walking the dunes around sun rise, at least not in the heat of the mid morning, when it was also more crowded."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Serra Cafema

Serra Cafema

"Serra Cafema review"

3 nights Arrived 10 Oct 2011
"The location, ambience, food and staff were all excellent.
The river trip and the visit to the Himba tribe were highlights.

You will be aware of the incident which occurred to the friends we were travelling with, which sadly curtailed their holiday.
Mr and Mrs G. Miss will have written separately about this."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Doro Nawas

Doro Nawas

"Doro Nawas review"

3 nights Arrived 13 Oct 2011
"The accommodation was good; the activities and our guide Ignatius were excellent. He was so friendly and enthusiastic as well as extremely knowledgeable, which greatly added to the enjoyment of our stay at Doro Nawas.

We were, however, very disappointed at the lack of imagination in the variety and choice of food at Dora Nawas. Since completing the trip, our enjoyment of food at the other camps only emphasised the difference, e.g. on 2 out of 3 lunches we were served a cold chicken drumstick, with a very mediocre green salad. In addition, food was left uncovered on the verandah at lunch which attracted the birds !"
Average
Location
Good
Service
Average
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Facilities
Good
Olive Grove

Olive Grove

"Olive Grove review"

1 night Arrived 16 Oct 2011
"This was a haven and we felt it was a pity we only had one night here. Timings were such that we did not have the opportunity to explore Windhoek."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Selinda Camp

Selinda Camp

"Selinda Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 17 Oct 2011
"David and Alice ran a happy and well managed camp. Food and organisation were excellent.

The game viewing was good."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Chitabe Camp

Chitabe Camp

"Chitabe Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 20 Oct 2011
"We had an incredibly enthusiastic and delightful guide, Luke, who went to a great deal of effort to seek the animals out for us.

All great fun with good food and excellent game viewing - the best."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Xigera Safari Lodge

Xigera Safari Lodge

"Xigera review"

3 nights Arrived 23 Oct 2011
"We so enjoyed Xigera because it was different from the previous camps. We enjoyed mokoro and boat trips and swimming in the lagoon with sundowners in the water was a highlight.

We were also treated to dinner a deux on our last evening, which was very special and a beautful end to our trip."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team