This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Xigera Safari Lodge
Xigera Safari Lodge
Xigera Safari Lodge
Xigera Safari Lodge

Reviews of Xigera Safari Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

35 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Xigera Safari Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 1-10 of 35
Duration
Arrival date
Mrs B
Exeter

"Xigera review"

3 nights Arrived 2 May 2018
"great mix of boat and land safaris
super guide in Lesh" See all these reviews: 6n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Dr & Mrs T
Kent

"Xigera was our favourite camp"

3 nights Arrived 25 Sep 2017
"Xigera is in a beautiful location offering in dry season both excellent game and fun Mokoro and boat trips.

The camp is very comfortable and the food superb. The staff were great fun and our guide NP was superb with an incredible knowledge. We saw a different leopard every day! and the birds were fantastic.

The highlight was the wild dogs and following them for 1 1/2 hours on a high speed hunt through the bush. Amazingly exciting I have waited 35 years to see this again.

The enviroment was pristine and very quiet, the reason we choose Botswana." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
P&A
London

"Fantastic camp!"

3 nights Arrived 19 May 2017
"I can't recommend this camp highly enough.

The location and staff are fantastic (special shout out to Onks) and considering where they are, the food and service is also very good.

On our first drive we saw two teenage lions attempt to catch an impala and on the evening drive we saw the whole pride catch and eat an impala. An experience we will never forget.

Top that off with the access to the river, both mokoro and speedboat it really was the highlight of the trip." See all these reviews: 6n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs N
Bucks

"Xigera review"

3 nights Arrived 16 May 2017
"Wonderful location and the staff and the service they provided was exemplary. Indeed it was the friendliness. professionalism and hospitality of every single member of staff we met that made our stay at Xigera so memorable and enjoyable. Everyone from the managers downwards worked together to create a very warm and welcoming environment.

The rooms, common areas and food were good and in line with expectations for accommodation at this price point. The outlook and privacy of our rooms were both wonderful. Perhaps the common areas could have been enlivened with a bit more art work and/or local craft pieces. The pool deck area was quite small for the number of guests and while we would have welcomed and enjoyed the opportunity to sit out there in the afternoon, all seats and loungers were invariably fully occupied.

The activities provided were great and the standard of guiding excellent." See all these reviews: 6n in Botswana; 3n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mrs P
Horsham

"Xigera review"

3 nights Arrived 18 Sep 2016
"Our guide, Lesh, was excellent and we thoroughly enjoyed our visit." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
XX
London

"Very enjoyable"

2 nights Arrived 14 Aug 2016
"Great experience but felt substantially more "corporate" than the other places we visited. Fantastic location and very good facilities with beautiful "tents" and excellent food. The best part of the stay however was attributable to our fabulous guide, Wyse, who was exceptionally knowledgeable, skilled and provided exceptional experiences in the delta.

Actually enjoyed the Boma - really enjoyable without being kitsch!
(Found the singing from staff as we arrived rather embarrassing.)" See all these reviews: 10n in Botswana; 3n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Two Travellers
UK

"Xigera review"

2 nights Arrived 22 Aug 2015
"Although game drives were available while we were at Xigera, we had chosen it so that we could focus on water based activities and it proved a wonderful and tranquil contrast to the land based and slightly more frenetic activities we had enjoyed at Little Kwara and Lebala.

Our guide Dips was unfailingly patient and accommodating of our (extremely amateurish) attempts to photograph at least some of the prolific birdlife we encountered, and thanks to him we were also lucky enough to see a sitatunga during one of our excursions.

The setting and decor of the camp was lovely and the whole operation very polished; one occasionally had the sense of being completely surrounded by staff eager to help and make one feel welcome, but on the whole this wasn't necessarily a very bad thing!" See all these reviews: 8n in Botswana; 3n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms R
Rotherhithe

"Great place for a wet safari"

2 nights Arrived 26 May 2015
"Lovely setting, great people and they've obviously got things running fluidly here. From the airstrip pickup and subsequent boat ride to the lodge, to the food and rooms themselves, it all was top quality and went to plan. Our room was wonderful; a treehouse chalet overlooking the lagoon complete with all mod cons as well as nightly turn downs etc. There's a swimming pool too, lovely place with sun loungers overlooking the river.

Food was plentiful, lovely and in a very scenic restaurant overlooking the small channel. Three course evening meals including local specialities such as Kudu as well as brunches and high tea. Boat trips and Makoros are what it's all about - enjoyed the Okavango and its scenery, it's tiny frogs and wonderful birdlife. With guides Des and Keem we were able to find Pel's Fishjng Owl and they both knew the wildlife and the history of the data very well." See all these reviews: 5n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sheffs
USA

"Xigera"

2 nights Arrived 17 May 2015
"We loved it. The cabin was comfortable, and we saw lots of birds, and some game from our back porch.

The staff were very nice, and guides were excellent.

The outdoor Boma dinner our last night was fabulous. Singing and dancing were marvelous." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Dr B
Canada

"Mokoro rides at Xigera"

3 nights Arrived 11 Mar 2015
"Surprisingly low water levels as the summer rainfall was very sparse, resulted in no boat rides however the mokoros could still get through the waterways so a partial water camp.

Must be an excellent location when the waters are high, the wildlife was excellent and we saw the elusive Pell’s fishing owl. I would consider returning to see the lodge in it’s watery version." See all these reviews: 14n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 1-10 of 35
98%
35 reviews of Xigera Safari Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
33
1
1
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Botswana

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Botswana.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Moremi Game Reserve

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Botswana Private Mobile Safari

Private Mobile

The Botswana Private Mobile Safari has no fixed location; it's exclusive to your group and comes with a top professional guide. Expect comfortable camping, great food, and a superb wildlife experience wherever you decide to go.


100% (38 reviews)
Xakanaxa

Xakanaxa

Xakanaxa Camp is a well-established traditional camp beside a huge lagoon within the Moremi Game Reserve, with access to some superb game viewing.


89% (33 reviews)
Khwai Tented Camp

Khwai Tented Camp

Khwai Tented Cap offers a traditional African safari experience, in very comfortable tented accommodation, in a fantastic game area north of the Moremi Game Reserve.


95% (32 reviews)
Machaba Camp

Machaba Camp

Overlooking the Khwai River to Moremi Game Reserve beyond, the classic Machaba Camp combines comfort with excellent game viewing.


91% (30 reviews)
Sable Alley

Sable Alley

Smart, independent and well-run, Sable Alley overlooks a beautiful, hippo-filled lagoon within the diverse Khwai Private Reserve.


95% (22 reviews)
Okuti

Okuti

Okuti Camp has an innovative design and offers game drives and boat trips in a beautiful, game-rich part of Moremi Game Reserve.


94% (17 reviews)
Mombo Camp

Mombo Camp

Mombo is one of Botswana's most exclusive safari camps, set in a beautiful, remote location within the Moremi Game Reserve and with exceptional game densities.


100% (9 reviews)
Chief's Camp

Chief's Camp

Chief's Camp is situated on Chief's Island, within the Okavango Delta's Moremi Game Reserve. Experience one of Botswana's top game-viewing areas by 4WD and mokoro.


93% (8 reviews)
Little Mombo

Little Mombo

One of Botswana's top safari camps, Little Mombo stands on the north side of Chief's Island, in the heart of the Okavango Delta's Moremi Game Reserve.


97% (6 reviews)
Little Machaba

Little Machaba

Overlooking the Khwai River and Moremi Game Reserve beyond, Little Machaba is a classically designed camp with very comfortable tents in a great game-viewing area.


80% (5 reviews)
Hyena Pan

Hyena Pan

Fairly rustic, and relatively inexpensive, Hyena Pan overlooks a natural waterhole that attracts an almost constant parade of animals.


88% (5 reviews)
Camp Moremi

Camp Moremi

Camp Moremi lies within the Moremi Game Reserve, in one of the best locations for game viewing in Botswana.


100% (5 reviews)
Skybeds

Skybeds

Situated in a private reserve close to Moremi Game Reserve, Skybeds offers a simple yet wonderful opportunity to sleep under the stars and watch wildlife from your bed.


80% (4 reviews)
Sango Safari Camp

Sango Safari Camp

Sango offers comfortable tented accommodation, without some of the frills often found in Botswana's camps, with an area that's scenic and gets excellent, consistent game sightings.


100% (1 review)
Khwai Bush Camp
No reviews yet
Khwai River Lodge

Khwai River Lodge

Khwai River Lodge is a luxurious and well-equipped safari camp, on the northern edge of Moremi Game Reserve. This area isn't exclusive, but it is beautiful and has excellent game.


No reviews yet
Tuludi

Tuludi

Tuludi is a brand new luxury camp, within the Khwai Private Reserve, built on a site under giant leadwood trees and overlooking the Okavango Delta floodplains.


No reviews yet
The Jackal & Hide

The Jackal & Hide

The Jackal & Hide camp is located in the Khwai Private Reserve – which borders the Moremi Game Reserve and Chobe


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa