This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Mombo Camp
Mombo Camp
Mombo Camp

Reviews of Mombo Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

9 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Mombo Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 3 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Mombo Camp.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

33% success

Wild dog

33% success

Buffalo

100% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Spotted Hyena

100% success

White Rhino

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Wildebeest

67% success

Black Rhino

33% success

Aardvark

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Roan antelope

0% success

Sable antelope

0% success

Showing 1-9 of 9
Duration
Arrival date
Texas Don & Cindy
USA

"Mombo Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 6 Jul 2019
"The best. But also quite dry. There was no water around the camp as is usual at this time of year.

We were among the first to see new leopard cubs. We saw black and white rhinos and a white rhino calf.

As a photographer it was a special experience for me to be shooting alongside pros working for Nat Geo and getting to chat with them at dinner that night. The working relationship between the Mombo Camp staff and the conservationists and photographers was special." See all these reviews: 8n in Botswana; 3n in South Africa; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

1 sighting

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Leopard

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

White Rhino

1 sighting

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Ian & Vivienne
UK

"Mombo Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 21 May 2018
"Newly refurbished and luxurious lodge visited by the rich and famous.

It comes at a high price for the experience which is unforgettable but the food and game drives, though very good indeed, were not significantly better than the other 2 lodges we stayed at if we are honest.

The staff are extremely good and the management are very much in evidence day and night which is refreshing.

when we visited the Delta waters were rising so we saw wildlife in front of the lodge and from our room, splashing through the water. A later visit would have seen higher water levels and game pushed together due to reduced dry land availability making viewing a little easier.

Having said that,we had hippo walking passed our room at night and were woken one night by an elephant drinking from the plunge pool and eating leaves, literally with his tail on our raised verandah. very special and close up indeed." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

White Rhino

1 sighting

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mrs & Mr P
Essex

"What a pity Mombo Trails is temporary"

2 nights Arrived 1 Aug 2017
"What a pity this Trails camp is only temporary. For us this was absolutely perfect. It had all the advantages of Mombo in terms of the location and the quality of the food and service, but still in the style of a 'bush camp, rather than the hotel that Mombo and Little Mombo have become over the years. It is so much nicer to be at ground level and close to the vast herds grazing in front of the camp and to really feel that you are in the bush. Sadly the rebuilt Mombo looks like being an even more extreme version of a luxury hotel. Having been visiting Mombo every 4 years since 1994, when we visited the very basic original Mombo, we are very sad to see this change.
As usual we saw things we hadn't seen elsewhere on this particular trip, including a leopard, spotted hyaena and a white rhino. Unfortunately we didn't manage to get to see the cheetahs, but this was not for want of trying by our guide. We had Sefo again and he was, as before, excellent." See all these reviews: 10n in Botswana; 9n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
GC
Loule

"Mombo Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 4 Nov 2016
"The setting of Mombo is simply fantastic, it was possible to sit for hours and watch the game activity on the plains in front of the camp. The public buildings and guest rooms are stylishly laid out with a sense of quality and care, they are all generously proportioned as are the private decks with each guest room. Maintenance and presentation is excellent.

The food was first class, amazing really considering the challenges associated with catering in the bush.

Game viewing was excellent and varied and the landscape was just beautiful. We were lucky enough to have really good sitings of the Big 5 plus cheetahs and a full range of plains animals.

By and large the staff are well trained, pleasant, happy people who provided high levels of service, however the company standard approach to clients wasn't to our (and other clients) preference - Wilderness seems to want to treat everyone as if they are part of 'the family' and the approach is a Disney level of insincere friendship. The synchronised waving by a group of staff members every time a vehicle entered the camp was nauseating. In my view luxury isn't treating everyone the same its providing what each individual feels most comfortable with and for our part we actually didn't want to meet every member of staff and every other guest we wanted to enjoy a private holiday. The management seemed to want to play host to the guests and be larger than life, front and centre whereas I would have preferred the management to be accessible but low key and discrete." See all these reviews: 6n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs G
Hants

"Just great"

4 nights Arrived 20 Oct 2013
"We were a little concerned about whether Mombo was right for us which I'd discussed with Megan before we booked. We were worried that we wouldn't meet like-minded people who are keen to be out in the bush rather than in camp and that our very casual safari gear and battered bags might be out of place. We needn't have worried - we met some lovely people and only saw one set of Louis Vuitton suitcases in 4 days.

The camp is picturesque, tents beautiful but in keeping with the bush (no glass, no air con, no private plunge pool - a big tick from us), service and food were fantastic. The food was just as good as at a top London restaurant - top marks to all the catering staff - and we enjoyed having a table for 2 for most meals after being used to communal dining.

Our guide was Moss who was very articulate, amusing and knowledgeable. He was so keen to show us all that the concession has to offer. General game was in much higher numbers than at our other camps, we had some good leopard sightings but it was lion that we saw more of. Lions sleeping, mating, prowling, calling and hunting. We were following 5 male lions when they chased and took down a buffalo just outside camp. A bit gruesome but amazing nevertheless. Our other highlight was seeing a rhino. We'd been following tracks and looking for signs when another guide came on the radio very excited to say they had found a rhino. We had a thrilling rollercoaster ride to get there with some awesome driving from Moss and then saw our first rhino. What a sight!

Overall, a wonderful stay and we were sad to leave. There were a lot of repeat guests and we could understand why!" See all these reviews: 11n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs E
Lund

"Mombo Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 28 Jun 2009
"We have travelled a lot before and it has happened that we got sick and it happened again at Mombo. But what a sevice!! The whole team worked for us. In a second I had warm hot-water bottle, vitamin C, hot tea and the asked what medicine I needed. Then they organised for a nice dinner in our tent.

They were very concerned that everything I wished for they tried to get me. I felt so pampered. The next morning we got the breakfast in the tent also. I´m very thankful and feel very warm at my heart for what they did. You don´t meet it everywhere.
The wilderness is superb." See all these reviews: 10n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Miss T
North London

"Mombo Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 25 Oct 2008
"Updated rooms were a nice treat, communal areas are very comfortable and have a fantastic aspect to the lagoon. Staff are extremely attentive and can't do enough for you. This camp is located in a 'Garden of Eden' as far as quantity and quality of game. Every turn in the road is filled with a series of sightings not just a solo animal.

Our guide, 'The Dr.', was excellent yet again and definitely enhanced our viewings and knowledge of the area. It's hard not to be infected with enthusiasm by a guide who is passionate about their job and their environment. This camp is priced high, but does not disappoint.

The landscape views at Mombo are pleasing enough, but for wildlife our long stays with Legadema and her cubs with a kill were certainly the highlight. Getting close to buffalo on the boardwalk each day was life affirming, only topped off by an elephant that gave our jeep our goodbye kiss upon our departure! Wonderful experience." See all these reviews: 5n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr P & Mr S
London

"Mombo Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 25 Oct 2008
"As you know there was an issue with missing money but the camp, staff and guides were wonderful. Wildlife amazing" See all these reviews: 5n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms S & Ms P
Angola

"Mombo Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 23 May 2008
"See my review on Trip Advisor.

[Ed: ... which reads as follows:

I spent 12 days in Botswana and Zambia at the premier Wilderness Safari properties and this was the best in terms of game viewing, spacious accomodation, great food and attentive service.

This is the most expensive camp in Botswana (and Africa) but then you get what you pay for. People book 12-18 months in advance to get into this property and its top rated guides and premium service. This is also the only place to see rhinos (black and white) in Botswana and home of Poster--the top rhino expert in Botswana on these animals who gives a fascinating evening presentation to guests a few times a week.

Main Mombo has 9 guest roooms for 18 guests. Little Mombo has three guest rooms for 6 guests looking for a more initmate experience, small groups or families. (Children have to be at least 12 to stay at Mombo. If children are younger you have to book the whole place and Little Mombo is handy for that.) Both camps have the same food prepared by a fabulous local chef who has trained with the best. expat chefs. Accomodation is in tents on a wooden platform but so spacious you wouldn't know you are in a tent. There is lots of privacy and each room over looks the plains. Hippos and buffalos come right up to the camp so you need to be accompanied to your room by a guide at night! (If you are a light sleeper bring earplugs as the animals and tiny painted reed frogs will serenade you through the night.) There are multiplugs for US, SA and European plugs to charge your cameras, etc. Like most premium camps in Botswana, there is no Internet or telephone as people are here to get away from it all. You can ask to borrow a hairdryer though none are provided in the rooms. There is a nifty little gift shop but their selection of post cards is not so good. Mombo will, however, post your card for free.

Mombo is in a national park and so no game viewing is allowed after 6:30 PM. To compensate for this, you are woken up at 5:30, get a light breakfast at 6 AM and start your game drive at 6:30 until about 11:30 Am. You then get brunch and have the afternoon to relax while the guides do transfers to the airstrip. Tea is served at 4 PM and you then do another game drive from 4:30-6:30. It's pretty intense and tiring so relaxing at a water based camp in the Delta like Jao with less emphasis on game viewing after Mombo is a great idea. This is not a camp you want to arrive at jet lagged (65% of guests are from the US and many come straight off the plane after more than 22 hours of flying!) as it would be a shame to pay all that money and sleep or not feel up to the game viewing. Unless you pay for a private safari, you will be in a land rover with a total of 6 other guests--though they try to reduce this to 4 guests per vehicle and no more than one change of other guests in the vehicle for your stay. (This gives the guides a chance to get to know guests and balance the needs of those who have already seen game from the just arrived who are initially mesmerized by every graceful impala.)

It can get very cool in winter so bring warm clothes if travelling then. (They sell nice fleeces, gloves and hats in the gift shop.) You get a hot water bottle in your bed and even on game drives during the winter months!

I loved this place and recommend it to anyone who can afford it. I will definitely be back. ]" See all these reviews: 8n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 1-9 of 9
100%
9 reviews of Mombo Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
9
0
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Botswana

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Botswana.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Moremi Game Reserve

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Botswana Private Mobile Safari

Private Mobile

The Botswana Private Mobile Safari has no fixed location; it's exclusive to your group and comes with a top professional guide. Expect comfortable camping, great food, and a superb wildlife experience wherever you decide to go.


100% (38 reviews)
Xigera Safari Lodge

Xigera Safari Lodge

Located deep in Botswana's Okavango Delta, Xigera Camp normally focuses on mokoro excursions and motorboat trips, with 4WD game drives when water levels permit.


98% (35 reviews)
Xakanaxa

Xakanaxa

Xakanaxa Camp is a well-established traditional camp beside a huge lagoon within the Moremi Game Reserve, with access to some superb game viewing.


89% (33 reviews)
Khwai Tented Camp

Khwai Tented Camp

Khwai Tented Cap offers a traditional African safari experience, in very comfortable tented accommodation, in a fantastic game area north of the Moremi Game Reserve.


95% (32 reviews)
Machaba Camp

Machaba Camp

Overlooking the Khwai River to Moremi Game Reserve beyond, the classic Machaba Camp combines comfort with excellent game viewing.


91% (30 reviews)
Sable Alley

Sable Alley

Smart, independent and well-run, Sable Alley overlooks a beautiful, hippo-filled lagoon within the diverse Khwai Private Reserve.


95% (22 reviews)
Okuti

Okuti

Okuti Camp has an innovative design and offers game drives and boat trips in a beautiful, game-rich part of Moremi Game Reserve.


94% (17 reviews)
Chief's Camp

Chief's Camp

Chief's Camp is situated on Chief's Island, within the Okavango Delta's Moremi Game Reserve. Experience one of Botswana's top game-viewing areas by 4WD and mokoro.


93% (8 reviews)
Little Mombo

Little Mombo

One of Botswana's top safari camps, Little Mombo stands on the north side of Chief's Island, in the heart of the Okavango Delta's Moremi Game Reserve.


97% (6 reviews)
Little Machaba

Little Machaba

Overlooking the Khwai River and Moremi Game Reserve beyond, Little Machaba is a classically designed camp with very comfortable tents in a great game-viewing area.


80% (5 reviews)
Hyena Pan

Hyena Pan

Fairly rustic, and relatively inexpensive, Hyena Pan overlooks a natural waterhole that attracts an almost constant parade of animals.


88% (5 reviews)
Camp Moremi

Camp Moremi

Camp Moremi lies within the Moremi Game Reserve, in one of the best locations for game viewing in Botswana.


100% (5 reviews)
Skybeds

Skybeds

Situated in a private reserve close to Moremi Game Reserve, Skybeds offers a simple yet wonderful opportunity to sleep under the stars and watch wildlife from your bed.


80% (4 reviews)
Sango Safari Camp

Sango Safari Camp

Sango offers comfortable tented accommodation, without some of the frills often found in Botswana's camps, with an area that's scenic and gets excellent, consistent game sightings.


100% (1 review)
Khwai Bush Camp
No reviews yet
Khwai River Lodge

Khwai River Lodge

Khwai River Lodge is a luxurious and well-equipped safari camp, on the northern edge of Moremi Game Reserve. This area isn't exclusive, but it is beautiful and has excellent game.


No reviews yet
Tuludi

Tuludi

Tuludi is a brand new luxury camp, within the Khwai Private Reserve, built on a site under giant leadwood trees and overlooking the Okavango Delta floodplains.


No reviews yet
The Jackal & Hide

The Jackal & Hide

The Jackal & Hide camp is located in the Khwai Private Reserve – which borders the Moremi Game Reserve and Chobe


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa