This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Texas Don & Cindy from USA

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

2

Countries visited

3

Lodges stayed in

10

Excursions taken

1

My Jun 2021 trip

Botswana between 26 Jun 2021 and 13 Jul 2021

Trip rating: Excellent
"Covid made this trip a real challenge to plan and coordinate. We had international flights that cancelled, countries that closed, then opened, then closed again. There were a few points where we weren't at all sure it would go off.

I believe that if it had not been for the knowledge and attention that Maruska and Expert Africa provided, we would not have made it.

Everything went like clockwork.

The covid testing added a few days to the trip but it was well worth it."

Arranged By Maruska Adye-Rowe


Shinde Camp

Shinde Camp

"Shinde Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 28 Jun 2021
"We arrived at Shinde the day after Botswana had initiated a "no alcohol in public places" order due to covid. This had us a bit concerned but we were warmly welcomed by the staff and shown where the adult beverages were kept so that we could help ourselves.

I believe the camp has nine tents and it was less than half occupied.

The amenities, food, guides, staff were all top notch. Everyone was so happy to have us and did a great job of making us feel at home.

The wildlife was plentiful and our guide Kenny had an eagle eye, spotting a cheetah at least a km away."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Mombo Camp

Mombo Camp

"Mombo Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 1 Jul 2021
"Mombo was our favorite camp from our previous visit to Botswana so we knew what to expect and were not disappointed. They were more relaxed about the alcohol and just minimized gatherings in the bar area. Again only half full or less. They were so happy to have us.

Outstanding guide and game viewing."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Zarafa Camp

Zarafa Camp

"Zarafa Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 4 Jul 2021
"A very small camp (4 tents) with only one other group visiting. Again very welcoming staff bending over backwards to make us happy.

The wildlife was more sparse here than at the other camps but this was offset by the presence of a large pride of lions with 4 month old cubs which was spectacular to watch and video. The birding was also excellent.

Our guide Donald was extremely knowledgeable and seemed to enjoy sharing his knowledge with us."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Royal Tree Lodge

Royal Tree Lodge

"Royal Tree Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 7 Jul 2021
"We stayed here on the way home just to get tested and avoid Jo'burg.

It's about 30 minutes outside of Maun. Nice staff, no alcohol, so so food. It served the purpose.

No comparison to the luxury camps we had just visited."
Average
Location
Average
Service
Good
Activities
Poor
Rooms
Average
Food
Average
Facilities
Average

My Jun 2019 trip

Botswana and 2 other countries between 28 Jun 2019 and 16 Jul 2019

Trip rating: Excellent
"Our intention was to make this a one time bucket list trip, but now we are talking about going back! It was truly a wonderful experience.

Maruska did a fabulous job of arranging this and was so patient in answering all of our questions."

Arranged By Maruska Adye-Rowe


The Elephant Camp

The Elephant Camp

"The Elephant Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 29 Jun 2019
"We were pleasantly surprised because we had thought of this as a place to ease into the trip and recover from our jet lag. We saw our first giraffes on the ride into the camp. The accommodations were lovely and little did we know at the time how much we would appreciate the heated room.

I guess one has to see the falls and they were certainly spectacular, but the crowds detracted from the experience."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Little Vumbura

Little Vumbura

"Little Vumbura review"

3 nights Arrived 1 Jul 2019
"Being the northernmost of the camps we visited in the Okavango Delta, and situated on a real island, this had the most water.

It was beautiful in every way."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Kanana

Kanana

"Kanana review"

2 nights Arrived 4 Jul 2019
"This camp was very dry with active fires in the area and lots of previously burned landscape.

Makoro activities were limited and no fishing which I had hoped to do here.

Otherwise it was great!"
Good
Location
Average
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Mombo Camp

Mombo Camp

"Mombo Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 6 Jul 2019
"The best. But also quite dry. There was no water around the camp as is usual at this time of year.

We were among the first to see new leopard cubs. We saw black and white rhinos and a white rhino calf.

As a photographer it was a special experience for me to be shooting alongside pros working for Nat Geo and getting to chat with them at dinner that night. The working relationship between the Mombo Camp staff and the conservationists and photographers was special."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Four Rosmead

Four Rosmead

"Four Rosmead review"

2 nights Arrived 9 Jul 2019
"Very nice, good breakfast, helpful staff."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Babylonstoren

Babylonstoren

"Babylonstoren review"

1 night Arrived 11 Jul 2019
"A special place"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Winelands Private Tour

Winelands Private Tour

"Winelands Private Tour review"

11 Jul 2019 • All-day excursion

A very talkative driver with lots of information about Capetown and South Africa which he freely shared. We liked him.

The wineries were beautiful and the lunch was excellent.
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team