This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
The Elephant Camp
The Elephant Camp
The Elephant Camp
The Elephant Camp
The Elephant Camp

Reviews of The Elephant Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

14 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited The Elephant Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 1-10 of 14
Duration
Arrival date
Texas Don & Cindy
USA

"The Elephant Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 29 Jun 2019
"We were pleasantly surprised because we had thought of this as a place to ease into the trip and recover from our jet lag. We saw our first giraffes on the ride into the camp. The accommodations were lovely and little did we know at the time how much we would appreciate the heated room.

I guess one has to see the falls and they were certainly spectacular, but the crowds detracted from the experience." See all these reviews: 8n in Botswana; 3n in South Africa; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr BG
Newport Coast

"The Elephant Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 6 May 2018
"This is a wonderful camp, sort of a halfway house between a lodge and a bush camp.

Food was incredible, and of course, having time with Sylvester the cheetah was great.

Highly recommend!" See all these reviews: 11n in Zimbabwe; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs T
Derbyshire

"The Elephant Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 12 Feb 2018
"Only two nights at this camp, but activities available were excellent.

One minor point I would make is that the tour off the falls was to short at 1.5 hours
We could happily have spent more time there, otherwise all activities we took were excellent. Especially the interaction with the elephants." See all these reviews: 15n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs S
Bristol

"Elephant Camp Safari"

4 nights Arrived 11 Feb 2018
"We went canoing on the Zambezi, had a sunset boat trip, a sundowner with a view, walked with their Cheetah and met the elephants. Each event was magnificant!

The setting of the lodge is perfect as were the food and drinks." See all these reviews: 8n in South Africa; 4n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr BG
Newport Coast

"The Elephant Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 23 Feb 2017
"Beautiful, luxious camp with wonderful extras like the elephant encounter and walks with Sylvester the cheetah.

This is not a safari camp, rather a lodge that uses canvas as walls for their large guest suites." See all these reviews: 10n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs P
Horsham

"The Elephant Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 16 Sep 2016
"Generally we enjoyed our stay but we felt they were charging for too many of our activities. On the itinerary for the Elephant camp, you said the price included shared safari activities. I’m not sure what that included. We were offered to go on a safari in the nearby safari park which we decided to do and assumed it was part of the shared safaris referred to. However we were charged for this and we thought that should have been included from the description.

I also thought the guided trip to the Falls should not have been charged for as it was a member of their staff who guided us who wouldn’t have done much more if he had stayed in camp. We tipped him as well." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Dr S & Mr B
USA

"The Elephant Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 30 Oct 2015
"The rooms were out of the world. Every comfort was provided from a plunge pool to an outdoor shower. We woke up in bed to the sunrise view. The room was huge and the details were all attended to from a small fridge to the elephant-shaped towels on the bed.

The staff was incredibly attentive and the guide who organized our activities was wonderful.

I was really not comfortable with the presence of elephant rides nor the feeding operation. I found that circus-like and was skeptical about the financial rationale provided. It felt like a real money-maker and detracted greatly from the exclusive feel of the lodge. Had I known about that aspect, I probably would not have stayed at this lovely lodge. It changed the atmosphere for me.

The chef was not at all creative about vegetarian options although the food was good overall." See all these reviews: 10n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Mr P
Reading

"Luxury camp style hotel near Vic Falls"

2 nights Arrived 31 Aug 2015
"The camp is extremely comfortable with super facilities - the only caveat being that if you opt to take additional activities the time to truly enjoy these is limited.

In terms of activities the camp can arrange a great deal more than are advertised on its website or the high adrenaline options for which the area is well known. We were disappointed that we were not aware of the full range on offer before we booked - if we had known we would have stayed an extra night and taken a multiple entry visa (as a number of these take place on the Zambian side of the falls) e.g. Horseback safaris, Devil Pools bathing above the falls.

The food is prepared to a high standard but is really quite Western. The breakfast buffet selection and cooked option was excellent. Lunch and dinner are on a set menu basis and we found the three course dinners rather like menus in the UK (asparagus with bacon and egg hollandaise, tomato soup, beef steak, sponge puddings etc). We enjoyed Kudu one night but would have preferred to experience more regional produce and dishes." See all these reviews: 7n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs & Mr T
Staffs

"The Elephant Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 8 Nov 2013
"Camp too far out of town and transfers sometimes unreliable. We had to wait 55 minutes for a return to camp.

Food was poor generally, very disappointing dinners although lunches were good. We enjoyed the time to rest and swimming pool was the highlight for me. Very little game to see from the camp perhaps due to the time of year.

Scott and Bernie were friendly and helpful. Saw very little of manager Jonathan, staff not as good as in Botswana." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana; 3n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Average
Service:
Average
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Poor
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs W
Cambs

"The Elephant Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 23 Feb 2013
"Great location - 10 minutes from Vic Falls and transportation there at no charge. We did not partake of their activities, preferring to hire a car and "do our own thing" at Chobe - an unforgetable day. Jonathan arranged this for us with almost zero notice - he is quite character too !!" See all these reviews: 13n in South Africa; 3n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Showing 1-10 of 14
94%
14 reviews of The Elephant Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
10
4
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zimbabwe

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zimbabwe.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Victoria Falls

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Ilala Lodge

Ilala Lodge

Conveniently located between Victoria Falls Town and the Falls themselves, Ilala lodge offers comfortable rooms, a friendly atmosphere & great food.


93% (222 reviews)
Victoria Falls Hotel

Victoria Falls Hotel

With its unique setting, authentic style and excellent service, the Victoria Falls is one of the world’s most iconic hotels.


93% (140 reviews)
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge

Victoria Falls Lodge

High on a plateau a short distance outside Victoria Falls Town, the comfortable Victoria Falls Safari Lodge overlooks its own waterhole.


89% (20 reviews)
Sprayview Hotel

Sprayview Hotel

In close proximity to both the town and the Victoria Falls themselves, Sprayview is a value-for-money hotel in a convenient location.


77% (15 reviews)
Batonka Guest Lodge

Batonka Guest Lodge

Batonka Guest Lodge is a small, friendly and comfortable option away from the bustle of Victoria Falls town, and a perfect base for exploring the Falls.


98% (13 reviews)
Victoria Falls Safari Club

Victoria Falls Club

Just outside of Victoria Falls Town, Victoria Falls Safari Club offers an exclusive, relaxing and luxurious base to explore the area.


94% (10 reviews)
Gorges Lodge

Gorges Lodge

Gorges Lodge has spectacular views from its perch on the edge of the Batoka Gorge. Although it is out of town it isn't too far from the main attractions.


98% (8 reviews)
Old Drift Lodge

Old Drift Lodge

A lovely addition to the options in Victoria Falls, the stylish Old Drift has a great location in Zimbabwe's Zambezi National Park, with a range of activities.


95% (4 reviews)
Zambezi Sands

Zambezi Sands

Zambezi Sands is a stylish new camp with a range of activities on a remote stretch of the Zambezi River.


100% (3 reviews)
Little Gorges Tented Lodge

Little Gorges

Set high above the Zambezi River, Little Gorges Tented Lodge is a tranquil spot to watch black eagles and from which to visit the Victoria Falls.


100% (3 reviews)
Matetsi River Lodge

Matetsi River Lodge

Situated in the private Matetsi Reserve, Matetsi River Lodge offers luxury suites, game drives and river activities within reach of the Victoria Falls.


100% (1 review)
Victoria Falls Safari Suites

Victoria Falls Suites

Just out of the town, Victoria Falls Safari Suites offers an exclusive, relaxing and luxurious base from which to explore.


100% (1 review)
Palm River Lodge

Palm River

Palm River Lodge's location on the banks of the Zambezi River offers a picturesque outlook.


No reviews yet
Mpala Jena

Mpala Jena

In Zambezi National Park, Mpala Jena offers a luxurious but eco-friendly experience, within easy access of the Victoria Falls.


No reviews yet
Matetsi River House

Matetsi River House

Situated in the Private Matetsi Reserve Matetsi River House offers families and small groups privacy, game drives and access to the falls.


No reviews yet
Pioneers

Pioneers

Located in a quiet suburb of Victoria Falls town Pioneers promised a relaxed stay in one of Zimbabwe's busiest destinations.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa