This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Dr S & Mr B from USA

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

2

Lodges stayed in

5

Excursions taken

0

My Oct 2015 trip

Botswana and 1 other country between 19 Oct 2015 and 1 Nov 2015

Trip rating: Excellent
"Incredible.

Attention to every detail from the first conversation with Megan to our departure from Victoria Falls.
We could not have asked for better service. Expert Africa knows what it is doing.

Very Satisfactory would be excellent if that were a choice.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

I really can't think of anything to change.

Megan was responsive, knowledgable, and open to discussion."

Arranged By Megan Green


Thamalakane River Lodge

Thamalakane River Lodge

"Thamalakane River Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 20 Oct 2015
"The setting was really great. I saw incredible birds in the garden and the sunsets were spectacular.

The lodge was under new management and they were clearly not communicating well with the staff. When we walked in, we were asked for our vouchers. We explained that we did not require vouchers and the receptionist said we did. Never did he acknowledge he was wrong.

After we ate dinner, we were given a bill even though dinner was included in our booking. The new manager told us she had to fire some staff and get the place back in shape. Clearly, the staff were not happy. She talked about plans to upgrade the physical structure when I thought she should be focusing on staff morale and communications.

Food was nothing special."
Average
Location
Good
Service
Poor
Facilities
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Okavango Delta Walking Safari

Okavango Delta Walking Safari

"Botswana Private Mobile Safari review"

5 nights Arrived 21 Oct 2015
"Andrew and his staff were absolutely out of this world. I wanted to take Patrick home with me and Andrew was right that we would not have food as good in any lodge.

Andrew was so incredibly knowledgable and balanced being engaged with respecting our privacy. He appreciated what our interests were and tried to respond to them.

Despite having a flu-like illness, his enthusiasm or energy on our trip never suffered.

He made the safari just incredible."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Kwara Camp

Kwara Camp

"Kwara Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 26 Oct 2015
"The facilities were ok but nothing special. This lodge seemed like it could use a facelift.

The in-lodge staff were ok but did not compare in enthusiasm nor attitude with those at other lodges. That said, the guide was superb. He was so knowledgable and eager to share all he knew with us. He also had a great sense of humor and was fun to go exploring with. We saw great wildlife. The food was not good at all.

It was (sorry Megan) what I think of as the legacy of British colonial food, bland and uncreative."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Poor
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Average
Food
Poor
Facilities
Good
Linyanti Bush Camp

Linyanti Bush Camp

"Linyanti Bush Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 28 Oct 2015
"The staff here was unbelievable. While I did not think the location was as good as Kwara, the genuine enthusiasm of the staff for the work they were doing was so wonderful. We were serenaded at night with beautiful voices and welcomed to join in song and dance. The manager clearly knows what he is doing and respects and values those who work with him.

The food was very good as well. The safaris were excellent and the guide was wonderful. The marsh made game viewing a little constricted in area because the animals all congregated in one area, but there were lots of animals near the water. The sunsets were gorgeous. Sitting on the veranda watching the elephants was beautiful.

The surprise helicopter ride was so exciting. Having the perspective of the delta and wildlife from the air was special."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
The Elephant Camp

The Elephant Camp

"The Elephant Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 30 Oct 2015
"The rooms were out of the world. Every comfort was provided from a plunge pool to an outdoor shower. We woke up in bed to the sunrise view. The room was huge and the details were all attended to from a small fridge to the elephant-shaped towels on the bed.

The staff was incredibly attentive and the guide who organized our activities was wonderful.

I was really not comfortable with the presence of elephant rides nor the feeding operation. I found that circus-like and was skeptical about the financial rationale provided. It felt like a real money-maker and detracted greatly from the exclusive feel of the lodge. Had I known about that aspect, I probably would not have stayed at this lovely lodge. It changed the atmosphere for me.

The chef was not at all creative about vegetarian options although the food was good overall."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Average
Facilities
Good

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team