This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Linyanti Bush Camp
Linyanti Bush Camp
Linyanti Bush Camp
Linyanti Bush Camp
Linyanti Bush Camp
Linyanti Bush Camp
Linyanti Bush Camp

Reviews of Linyanti Bush Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

38 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Linyanti Bush Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Oct-2018, 1 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Linyanti Bush Camp.
Lion

0% success

Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Wild dog

0% success

Buffalo

100% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Aardvark

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Roan antelope

0% success

Sable antelope

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Wildebeest

0% success

Zebra

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 38
Duration
Arrival date
Miss A.
Pulborough

"First lodge in Botswana"

3 nights Arrived 23 Oct 2018
"We were in Linyanti camp not Linyanti Ebony.
We were very well welcomed and accommodated by the staff at all levels a really good start to our camp experience.

This was a lovely friendly simple camp, just what we had asked for, the food was simple well prepared and presented, which met our needs very well. Hot water flask in our room was great, again just as we requested as was the location nearest to the main lodge, thank you.

The journey to the lodge started for us at 10.30am from Victoria Falls via Kasane and then a flight followed by a 2 hour+ safari, type journey in a safari vehicle, arriving at Linyanti at just after 3pm, having had no opportunity to eat since breakfast at 8am, we would have appreciated a warning about this and could then have made provision. We were then expected to have high tea and go straight out on a drive, all too much we needed to get into our luggage wash and change shoes etc. Additionally we learnt that the journey from the airstrip was actually only 1 hour, the safari element increasing the time taken, in the hottest time of the day, We felt that the food and time element needed discussion and adjustment at the time of booking. The staff at Linyanti were very keen to give us our "money's worth!" and found it hard to understand that we needed time and we eventually negotiated a safari delayed until 5pm, unnecessary hassle really.

Baboons are very active here, so care needed to keep items in drawers or closed bags etc.

It was a thrill to be sitting on the veranda and find an elephant's trunk pop around the corner as some 12 mothers and babies cut through to the river." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Buffalo

8 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

6 sightings

Hippo

1 sighting

Mr G
Canada

"Linyanti "

3 nights Arrived 21 Oct 2018
"Attentive staff. Good meals & wine. The cleanliness of the camp was not as good as the others. Walking safaris not as readily available as other camps.
And, it seemed strange to hear that another group had the same experience as us during our Mokoro sundowner. While having our drinks, we were asked to move away from the sight as elephant we’re approaching. The group the previous day had the same ‘excitement’" See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Average
Maureen
Seattle

"Disappointing eperience at LInyanti Camp"

3 nights Arrived 2 Oct 2018
"Linyanti Bush Camp is disadvantaged by its terrain. While the marsh is lush, you can't go in it and so can view animals only at a distance or if you happen upon them heading into the marsh. The rest of the habitat is largely Mopani trees chomped down by elephants. So the habitat is not scenic and often obstructs clear views of wild life.

There are lots of elephants best viewed while heading in and out of the marsh. There are zebras, giraffes and a variety of antelopes and birds, however, the views were often obstructed by the scrub habitat. Amazingly, we saw a leopard on a night drive. What a treat! Our guide, Joe, was very knowledgeable and engaging. At our request, he brought us to the Savute section of Chobe a few hours away. We saw many elephants very close-up, a large pride of lions and two cheetah brothers napping during the day.

The accommodations at Linyanti were disappointing and in need of upgrade. When we were brought to our tent we were told not to leave any of our belongs out because baboons had learned to open the velco sealed screened windows. So we never unpacked while there. The floor boards were open to the ground so anything that could fit through the half inch gaps had free access to our accommodation. We found a scorpion on the ceiling the first night. There were also many mosquitos in the main lodge which annoyed guests during the dinner meal.

The food was very good. And one evening we had a special dinner celebration with dancing that was outstanding." See all these reviews: 6n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Average
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Average
Mr T & Ms K
NL

"Linyanti Bush Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 7 Nov 2017
"Fantastic place with marvelous staff.

One of those places where you feel at ease and comfortable from the start, and where the staff is only concerned with the guest's well-being in a very hospitable, down-to-earth way.

Staying there felt a bit like being part of a family, it was a pity to leave.

Would recommend anyone that wants to visit riverfront scenery this place." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia; 7n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mrs P
Horsham

"Linyanti Bush Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 21 Sep 2016
"I thought the accommodation was a little more basic than I expected. We fed back our comments to the camp.

However we enjoyed our visit, despite the drought, and we thought our gude was very good. We also thought that it was a long distance from the airstrip and we would have preferred somewhere relatively close to an airstrip.

However we did feel we were right out in the bush far from anywhere. Because there was little water so we couldn't get out on the boats, they paid for us to have a 30 minute helicoptor flight which was fantastic and we couldn't believe the number of elephants we saw." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Average
Dr S & Mr B
USA

"Linyanti Bush Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 28 Oct 2015
"The staff here was unbelievable. While I did not think the location was as good as Kwara, the genuine enthusiasm of the staff for the work they were doing was so wonderful. We were serenaded at night with beautiful voices and welcomed to join in song and dance. The manager clearly knows what he is doing and respects and values those who work with him.

The food was very good as well. The safaris were excellent and the guide was wonderful. The marsh made game viewing a little constricted in area because the animals all congregated in one area, but there were lots of animals near the water. The sunsets were gorgeous. Sitting on the veranda watching the elephants was beautiful.

The surprise helicopter ride was so exciting. Having the perspective of the delta and wildlife from the air was special." See all these reviews: 10n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs B
Woking

"Boyds at Linyanti"

3 nights Arrived 20 Jul 2015
"Very skilled and friendly guides, excellent food, perfect location. Hundreds of elephants!

Our very first experience of wild Africa, and it didn't disappoint at all. Guides were very respectful of the animals, but still allowed us to get really close and have excellent views. Lots of wildlife. And an unexpected helicopter trip which was fantastic.

Would highly recommend to friends." See all these reviews: 7n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs M
Warwick

"Linyanti Bush Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 4 Nov 2013
"Saw pretty much everything we had hoped for, with some particularly memorable lion and wild dog experiences. Excellent location.

Guide Foster excellent, with good sense of humour! Other staff friendly and helpful.

Comfortable accomodation but felt site lacked management "eye" - e.g. towels not replaced at pool; decision making a bit casual. However, new managers have been appointed.

We had a great view, but despite description, not all tents do." See all these reviews: 8n in Botswana; 3n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Mr & Mrs E
Oxon

"Linyanti Bush Camp Review"

3 nights Arrived 17 Oct 2013
"The camp is in a wonderful position overlooking Linyanti Marsh and the tents were luxurious, including a bath with gold fittings outside the tent (but we did stick to the showers inside!).

The transfer from the airstrip to the camp was like a game drive with sightings of elephant, giraffe, wart hog, kudu, impala, fish eagle and harrier hawk. First day then included kudu grazing very close to the tent and baboons playing in the tree above us (and giving us an early wake-up call!). As we had come to expect from previous lodges, we were given a very friendly welcome by Oliver and the staff and the food was exceptionally good.

Our guide, Wina was in every way superb. Enthusiastic and knowledgeable, we got to know him very well during our 3 days there and were sad to say goodbye. Countless highlights: several close sightings of lion, including a large pride with cubs feeding from an elephant carcass - day and night time; coming across a female leopard that had just killed an impala and watched as it dragged the carcass across a stream to feed her young in the reeds(?); magical boat trip that ended listening to the sounds of the african evening (including the tinkling of bell frogs) with a beautiful sunset on 1 side and full moon reflected in the water on the other; drink stop under a tree usually used by elephants who came to check us out; good sightings of wild dog, roan antelope, banded, dwarf and slender mongoose, hoopoe etc etc. Unforgetable!" See all these reviews: 13n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs O
Atlanta

"Linyanti Bush Camp"

3 nights Arrived 5 Sep 2013
"Ollie and Kirsten (or was it Kristen? Never was quite sure of her name) had only been here for a few months and lacked the ease we experienced at the other camps although they were quite welcoming. I'm sure that will come with time.

Overall we enjoyed our stay and our guide Esse did a great job finding the animals we were most interested in and told us a lot about their habits and behavior.

One thing I'd like to note, the use of electric lights in the main area attracted quite a few bugs during our first dinner. A generator problem caused our second dinner to be by lantern and candle light and that was much less buggy and more enjoyable." See all these reviews: 13n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Showing 1-10 of 38
89%
38 reviews of Linyanti Bush Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
22
12
4
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Botswana

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Botswana.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Kwando-Linyanti area

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Lagoon Camp

Lagoon Camp

Within the vast Kwando Reserve, renowned for its wild dogs, Lagoon Camp offers excellent game viewing that focuses on predators.


94% (229 reviews)
Lebala Camp

Lebala Camp

With enthusiastic guides and trackers, Lebala – in a vast private reserve – is a particularly good camp for seeking wild dogs..


95% (174 reviews)
Selinda Camp

Selinda Camp

In an attractive area that is particularly rich in game between June and November, the luxurious Selinda Camp caters particularly well for photographers.


96% (66 reviews)
DumaTau Camp

DumaTau

DumaTau, in the private Linyanti Reserve, offers game drives, seasonal boat cruises and walks. Wildlife safaris here are quite seasonal, and are at their best during the height of the dry season, between June and October.


95% (47 reviews)
Savuti Camp

Savuti Camp

For years the Savuti Channel ran dry, but it's now flowing again and this newly refurbished, 7-room lodge has pride of place to witness the spectacle.


97% (26 reviews)
Selinda Explorers Camp

Selinda Explorers Camp

The luxurious, traditional tented Selinda Explorers Camp offers a mix of walking, canoeing and game drives led by really top notch guides in a game-rich area.


96% (17 reviews)
Motswiri Camp

Motswiri Camp

Motswiri is a super little camp with just five tents, each overlooking the Selinda Spillway. Come especially for walking, birdwatching, canoeing and horseriding safaris.


99% (16 reviews)
Zarafa Camp

Zarafa Camp

Zarafa is an exclusive camp overlooking the scenic Zibadianja Lagoon within the Selinda Reserve, a particularly game-rich area between June and early November.


100% (13 reviews)
Kings Pool

Kings Pool

King’s Pool is a top-end luxury safari camp with a price tag to match; the game viewing can be very good during the dry season.


71% (7 reviews)
Linyanti Ebony

Linyanti Ebony

Independently owned and run, the small Linyanti Ebony sits on the same site as Linyanti Bush Camp, with similarly high standards of guiding, and a strong emphasis on the wildlife experience.


100% (6 reviews)
Selinda Adventure Trail

Selinda Adventure Trail

The Selinda Adventure Trail offers a novel and tranquil way to travel through part of Botswana's pristine wilderness whilst staying in comfortable fly-camps and led by a knowledgeable guide.


100% (4 reviews)
Little Motswiri

Little Motswiri

A simple and remote satellite camp, Little Motswiri focuses on non-motorised activities, particularly walking and horseriding. It enables guests to explore 120,000 acres of private wilderness around the Selinda Spillway.


100% (1 review)
Footsteps across the Linyanti

Footsteps across Linyanti

Footsteps Across the Linyanti is the only true mobile walking safari we know of in Botswana. Explore a wild and remote wilderness on foot with a knowledgeable guide.


40% (1 review)
Linyanti Expeditions
No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa