This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Linyanti Bush Camp
Linyanti Bush Camp
Linyanti Bush Camp
Linyanti Bush Camp
Linyanti Bush Camp
Linyanti Bush Camp
Linyanti Bush Camp

Reviews of Linyanti Bush Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

38 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Linyanti Bush Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Oct-2018, 1 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Linyanti Bush Camp.
Lion

0% success

Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Wild dog

0% success

Buffalo

100% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Aardvark

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Roan antelope

0% success

Sable antelope

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Wildebeest

0% success

Zebra

0% success

Showing 21-30 of 38
Duration
Arrival date
Dr & Mrs B
Snettisham

"Linyanti Bush Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 23 May 2009
"local airstrip unavailable so transfer much longer on uncovered truck. good accomodation and food and guiding. Lovely dinner in the boma on the first evening, all staff very helpful.

Ponchos a very useful idea for the chilly start and finish of the day

closer to nature than muchenje with game close to the camp at night. Less game here than elsewhere
after day 1 we were the only guests - good for staff attention but less opportunity to chat around the fire in the evning" See all these reviews: 11n in Botswana; 4n in Namibia; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr B
C London

"Linyanti Bush Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 10 Nov 2008
"What can you say, when you are the only guest in camp, and everyone gives you their undivided attention?

I found all the staff to be very friendly and helpful.

Pilot and Tati, the above not with standing, are two excellent, informative guides, for whom nothing was to much trouble." See all these reviews: 7n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr L
Lancashire

"Linyanti bush camp"

3 nights Arrived 7 Oct 2008
"The only none excellent score is due to the game drives, the animals where not as easy to find due to the marsh being flooded. A strange comment to make as you would expect a marsh to be flooded but it restricted where we could go. The guides did do an excellent job in finding what was available and the animals are of course wild and cannot be expected to apper on command.

We did however have 3 lions walking through the camp whilst we were having drinks in the loung/dinning area so they did try and keep our attention. Well spotted in the dark by "Tiny".

Overall still an excellent visit." See all these reviews: 13n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs P
York

"Fantastic setting, flexible"

4 nights Arrived 10 Sep 2008
"The setting for Linyanti has to be seen to be believed.

The guides were great, very keen to respond to our specific requests. 3 nights would be ideal.

Meeting the Linyanti lion pride at night and following them back though the camp was a highlight. Watching 2 big male baboons chase a leopard whilst waiting at the airstrip made for the world's best airport lounge." See all these reviews: 7n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs B
Bucks.

"Linyanti Bush Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 20 Aug 2008
"A very different environment to our previous lodge. For more than 20 years the Linyanti area has been dry but this year it is full of water. Photographically the area is stunning.

The camp is smaller and more intimate than some and very well organised by Noreen and her team. Our guide, Tati, was a lovelly man. He was a real gentleman and tried to give us the best views of the game that he safely could. He was informative and for my money deserved a medal for patience with one tourist who would have tried the patience of a saint. One guest had a birthday whilist we were there and celebrations duly took place including singing by the staff and the cutting of a cake.

The wildlife highlight was the hunting by lions of a herd of buffalo. Whilst we did not see a kill we did track the lions for some time and got many photos and lots of video. For those that like it, the birdlife is superb. After dark a spotlight is used so that the action continues well after sundown. All the water this year meant that there are plenty of mosquitos but nets and repellant are provided to keep the worst at bay.

This is a place where you quickly feel as if you have been a resident for much longer than you actually have. That is a real compliment to the staff. At the time of our visit there was no qualified guide for walking safaris but that will be rectified soon." See all these reviews: 10n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Dusky sunbird
UK

"Rising waters are changing Linyanti"

3 nights Arrived 16 Aug 2008
"The Linyanti River below now has water for the first time since 1980 I believe. This has transformed the plain below to a mixture of river and marsh, with lots of reeds. Hippos are much in evidence, we saw a croc too, and it is now great for birdlife of all types.

But whereas before I guess one of the main attractions was sitting on your terrace above the plain viewing the animals, this no longer applies. And because water is everywhere now, the animals can drink anywhere and are no longer concentrated in a few spots even on the river bank.

In the bush and trees back from the river there is still good game viewing though.

The camp, in terms of staff, service and comfort, is very good (except the thermostat on the shower was particularly sensitive!). In recognition of the situation described above, our guide (Anthony - excellent) took us on a full day game drive down to Savuti, which was great and much appreciated as above and beyond his call of duty - almost our last sighting was a leopard! This was a long day though and may not suit everyone.

As the river situation is changing at the moment I'd recommend checking the latest situation with Expert Africa." See all these reviews: 4n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Prof & Mrs S
Scotland

"Birding in LInyanti"

2 nights Arrived 5 Aug 2008
"Noreen is an excellent hostess and ensured that the guests interacted - for example by asking everyone for their sighting of the day around the camp fire. The atmosphere is relaxed and easy going and, as in Little Kwara, there is a 'family' feeling.

The tent is well furnished although again the shower was frustrating.

Our guide Tati took to heart our statement that we were interested in birds. Given that we had seen so much wildlife and big game at the other three camps he focused on driving us very slowly through the areas where he pointed out everything, including birds so small we didn't know they were there. He seemed to memorise Anne's sightings list and made a big effort to fill in the gaps. It was, for us, the perfect way to end the series of camps.

The mopane woodland is a different environment and we saw few big animals - but that was because of what we did and the other guests had a number of good sightings.

The walk was interesting - there were five guests and Tati led with Pilot as backup . Pilot discovered that there were lions nearby but they went away before we could see them. Anything can happen on a walk.

There were various routes here which could not be accessed because of the high water levels." See all these reviews: 10n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
G family
Nottingham

"Linyanti Bush Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 13 Jul 2008
"Excellent guiding from Tati, very keen on birds as well as game, knowledgeable and took the time to impart it.
Great variety of bird life, big game more difficult to view due to Mopane woodland and not being as concentrated as normal because of higher than normal water level, but often felt more rewarding when seen in bush rather than savannah grassland

Very comfortable tents, excellent food

Welcoming and helpful attitude from manager and staff, flexible re meals if guests occupied in guiding.
Just six tents made it feel more personal and allowed us to have the benefit of our own guide and landcruiser for our family of four, which was brilliant

Generally felt less corporate and more welcoming than Ker and Downey at Shinde" See all these reviews: 6n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs B
Chippenham

"Wildlife not as expected. Camp Excellent."

3 nights Arrived 4 Jul 2008
"Wonderful area for birds. Dissapointed with the lack of predators. No lion, cheetah, leopard, hyena or wild dogs. We did have a rare veiw of a aardvark. Good to have a walking part to the safari. Camp facilities were excellent and food exceptional. We were the only ones in the camp which made the camp time special.

The main reason we went on a safari was to see wild dogs and predators and we missed them at this camp. Would not recommend this camp for people who want to see a variety of animals." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Average
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Crowned plovers
NL

"Linyanti Bush Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 29 Jun 2008
"We had the camp to ourselves. Brilliant guide (Dennis), brilliant hostess (Gertrude) and brilliant food (London restaurant standard!).

Excellent camp, no reservations about it. (Tho we later became used to having hot water bottles in our beds in other camps - a welcome luxury).

The camp manager Martin was conspicuous by his absence throughout our stay - we felt the staff were compensating for a lack of leadership from him." See all these reviews: 12n in Botswana; 8n in Namibia; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 21-30 of 38
89%
38 reviews of Linyanti Bush Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
22
12
4
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Botswana

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Botswana.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Kwando-Linyanti area

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Lagoon Camp

Lagoon Camp

Within the vast Kwando Reserve, renowned for its wild dogs, Lagoon Camp offers excellent game viewing that focuses on predators.


94% (229 reviews)
Lebala Camp

Lebala Camp

With enthusiastic guides and trackers, Lebala – in a vast private reserve – is a particularly good camp for seeking wild dogs..


95% (174 reviews)
Selinda Camp

Selinda Camp

In an attractive area that is particularly rich in game between June and November, the luxurious Selinda Camp caters particularly well for photographers.


96% (66 reviews)
DumaTau Camp

DumaTau

DumaTau, in the private Linyanti Reserve, offers game drives, seasonal boat cruises and walks. Wildlife safaris here are quite seasonal, and are at their best during the height of the dry season, between June and October.


95% (47 reviews)
Savuti Camp

Savuti Camp

For years the Savuti Channel ran dry, but it's now flowing again and this newly refurbished, 7-room lodge has pride of place to witness the spectacle.


97% (26 reviews)
Selinda Explorers Camp

Selinda Explorers Camp

The luxurious, traditional tented Selinda Explorers Camp offers a mix of walking, canoeing and game drives led by really top notch guides in a game-rich area.


96% (17 reviews)
Motswiri Camp

Motswiri Camp

Motswiri is a super little camp with just five tents, each overlooking the Selinda Spillway. Come especially for walking, birdwatching, canoeing and horseriding safaris.


99% (16 reviews)
Zarafa Camp

Zarafa Camp

Zarafa is an exclusive camp overlooking the scenic Zibadianja Lagoon within the Selinda Reserve, a particularly game-rich area between June and early November.


100% (13 reviews)
Kings Pool

Kings Pool

King’s Pool is a top-end luxury safari camp with a price tag to match; the game viewing can be very good during the dry season.


71% (7 reviews)
Linyanti Ebony

Linyanti Ebony

Independently owned and run, the small Linyanti Ebony sits on the same site as Linyanti Bush Camp, with similarly high standards of guiding, and a strong emphasis on the wildlife experience.


100% (6 reviews)
Selinda Adventure Trail

Selinda Adventure Trail

The Selinda Adventure Trail offers a novel and tranquil way to travel through part of Botswana's pristine wilderness whilst staying in comfortable fly-camps and led by a knowledgeable guide.


100% (4 reviews)
Little Motswiri

Little Motswiri

A simple and remote satellite camp, Little Motswiri focuses on non-motorised activities, particularly walking and horseriding. It enables guests to explore 120,000 acres of private wilderness around the Selinda Spillway.


100% (1 review)
Footsteps across the Linyanti

Footsteps across Linyanti

Footsteps Across the Linyanti is the only true mobile walking safari we know of in Botswana. Explore a wild and remote wilderness on foot with a knowledgeable guide.


40% (1 review)
Linyanti Expeditions
No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa