This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Lebala Camp
Lebala Camp
Lebala Camp
Lebala Camp
Lebala Camp
Lebala Camp

Reviews of Lebala Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

174 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Lebala Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jun-2018, 14 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Lebala Camp.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

50% success

Cheetah

14% success

Wild dog

57% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Wildebeest

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Buffalo

93% success

Hippo

91% success

Spotted Hyena

50% success

Roan antelope

38% success

Sable antelope

38% success

Brown Hyena

13% success

Pangolin

8% success

Aardvark

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 174
Duration
Arrival date
Ms A and Mr W
Calgary

"Saved the best till last"

3 nights Arrived 2 Dec 2019
"Lebala Camp was amazing. A great mix of terrain, and animals everywhere. Our transfer day had us going out for the evening game drive on what was my birthday. What a present to be able to see the weeks old lion cubs of the Wapoka Pride as they suckled. Upon returning to camp for dinner, they had baked a birthday cake for all for dessert, and sang and danced. What a precious memory for me. And then, upon retiring for the evening, more surprises. Just, wow!

In the following days, we would follow the 19 strong pack of lions. Just extraordinary to watch their interactions. Many "teenagers" and sub-adults with their antics made for great photo opportunities. I must mention that at this camp, we had a private vehicle and guide/tracker. KK and MP were absolutely wonderful, teaching us many things, and allowing us to fully participate in the search/tracking. When I mentioned that I hadn't seen any "nice" elephants yet in my stay (all had been males in musth so far), the following morning, he found us a "parade" of elephants heading to the water. There had to be 40.....all very relaxed around us. And many with young ones. Another favourite moment.

If I had one small criticism, it would be the lack of privacy in the units. Being mesh on all 4 walls, and spaced fairly close together, we found you could hear even whispered conversations in the next tent. Other than that, they were very lovely, with a pleasing layout. It was always warm enough during our stay for the outdoor shower, but I did wonder if it was June or July, would I be happy with that as the only option.

On our final night, the staff surprised us with a private dinner. It was absolutely unexpected, and was so touching how they spoiled me on this milestone trip.

The service, the food, staff, superior guiding, the camp, and the terrain and wildlife made this camp a must for any return trips for me. It put it in a league of its own. And......as if to make it even more special......on our final morning on the way to the airstrip.......we were witness to the lion pride bringing down a cape buffalo and feed. Right in front of us. Remarkable." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

4 sightings

Elephant

5 sightings

Giraffe

2 sightings

Hippo

2 sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

6 sightings

Wildebeest

4 sightings

Zebra

1 sighting

Wiljo
Norfolk

"Lebala Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 9 Oct 2019
"Excellent all round. Staff at Camp were especially warm and welcoming, creating a very pleasing ambience and the Kwando formula of driver guide and tracker, working as a team on the game drives worked very well and made for some very interesting sightings.

We subsequently stayed at the sister camp in this concession (Lagoon) which was equally as impressive but quite different in character with its waterside setting. Lebala is set in an area of more open grassland and the opportunity to experience both locations back to back made for an interesting and varied programme and we felt it maximised the wildlife viewing opportunities." See all these reviews: 16n in Botswana; 10n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

4 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

5 sightings

Hippo

3 sightings

Lion

4 sightings

Sable antelope

4 sightings

Wild dog

1 sighting

Wildebeest

5 sightings

Zebra

7 sightings

Ms F.
London

"Lebala Camp Review"

3 nights Arrived 29 Aug 2019
"Lebala was my favorite for three reasons - location permitted going offered which meant better sightings, absolutely loved the architecture of the rooms and had the best guide-tracker combo of the trip.

The rooms were well appointed, luxurious, with a feeling of openness that made it a pleasure to spend the quiet afternoon hours there. Our guide Elvis was fantastic!

He knew the landscape and the wildlife like that back of his hand, went out of his way to ensure we had good sightings, educated us with lots of minute details and entertained us with some good stories in the evening." See all these reviews: 8n in Botswana; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Brown Hyena

1 sighting

Buffalo

4 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

7 sightings

Leopard

3 sightings

Lion

10 sightings

Roan antelope

2 sightings

Sable antelope

3 sightings

Wild dog

10 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr & Mrs R.
Wadhurst

"Lebala Camp best of 4 visited as guide superb"

2 nights Arrived 27 Aug 2019
"We had an outstanding guide, Elvis, and despite only staying 2 nights we built an excellent rapport with him, helped by often being the only couple in the vehicle. Of the 4 camps we visited, this was one of 3 that had trackers as well as guides and we found having a tracker considerably enhanced the experience.

We spent 2 nights at both Lebala and nearby Lagoon camps in the hope of seeing wild dogs at one or other of them and had a sighting at Lebala of a small pack, although disappointingly not of them hunting. Ironically, later, at Splash camp, we had 2 sightings of a large 25+ strong pack of wild dogs although again not of them hunting. Although game sightings were below expectations, with little or nothing at night, the highlight was following a large pride of lion hunting and then fighting over their kill.

The chalet had socket outlets for both a variety of worldwide plug types and also S. African 3 round pin plugs as well as USB plugs. By taking a UK plug to S. African round pin socket adapter, we were able to simultaneously utilise these 2 sockets to charge 2 gadgets..

Food at Lebala average, with meat a challenge but vegetable items good. The absence of mosquitos was welcome." See all these reviews: 10n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

3 sightings

Lion

2 sightings

Wild dog

1 sighting

Wildebeest

4 sightings

Zebra

2 sightings

Ms D
Ireland

"Excellent wildlife at Lebala Camp"

3 nights Arrived 24 Aug 2019
"Good camp, no "frills". Spacious rooms.

The sightings on the game drives were excellent, with a big pride of 19 lions (very close), cheetahs, wild dogs, roan and sable antelopes, great birdlife and much more. The spotter worked very well with the guide." See all these reviews: 11n in Zambia; 9n in Botswana; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Buffalo

2 sightings

Cheetah

4 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

5 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Lion

5 sightings

Pangolin

1 sighting

Roan antelope

3 sightings

Sable antelope

3 sightings

Wild dog

2 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

5 sightings

Miss R
Kent

"Lagoon Camp Review"

3 nights Arrived 24 Jul 2019
"This was my third stay at Lagoon. It has a beautiful location on the riverbank. Plenty of predators, but due to the dry terrain you have to work harder to find them. Personally, I don’t mind lengthy periods of tracking but first time travellers may wonder if the guide and tracker have gone off on foot to chat about the football results. All I would say is stick with it because it generally pays off.

We had some amazing lion sightings. It was only six months since I was last in the area and so many changes in lion politics!

Some nights you don’t see much on the drive back to camp, but on our last night we saw a leopard up a tree, a porcupine and a Serval all in the space of five minutes.

The staff are lovely. We were with the guide G (who is a complete legend) and the tracker Kern who is charming and has the makings of a great guide." See all these reviews: 6n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Cheetah

1 sighting

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Roan antelope

1 sighting

Sable antelope

1 sighting

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Wild dog

1 sighting

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mrs L
Basingstoke

"Superb tracking at Lebala Camp"

2 nights Arrived 23 Jul 2019
"As ever, a lovely camp with very friendly, welcoming staff, good food and the personal touches which make the Kwando camps so special and keep us coming back.

We had some amazing sightings thanks in part to the excellent and sustained collaboration between our guide and our tracker. It was wonderful to watch the way they worked together to find wild dogs and older pups which were no longer denning, as well as two different prides of lions.

We very much enjoyed the staff's singing and dancing one evening before dinner." See all these reviews: 10n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

5 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

3 sightings

Hippo

3 sightings

Lion

2 sightings

Roan antelope

1 sighting

Wild dog

2 sightings

Wildebeest

3 sightings

Zebra

2 sightings

PancDoc
Swansea

"Great experience of Africa in a lovely settin"

2 nights Arrived 9 Jun 2019
"Very good guide and tracker, Mike and Seemo were excellent, informative and fun to be with.
The location was good, despite not being near water, and the accommodation, food, service and welcome was again very good.
Our highlight was seeing three young (2-3 months old) lion cubs chasing a honey badger. Fortunately for them they didn't catch it!
As well as the sightings mentioned below we also saw jackals, a mongoose and a bat-eared fox.
Again, despite only being there for two nights, we saw a lot of wildlife and had a great time." See all these reviews: 10n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

2 sightings

Elephant

3 sightings

Giraffe

3 sightings

Hippo

3 sightings

Lion

2 sightings

Roan antelope

1 sighting

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

3 sightings

Birdy
Cheadle

"Lebala Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 19 Mar 2019
"Lovely facilities and food and guiding" See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs M
Bucks

"Great Traditional Bush Camp"

3 nights Arrived 19 Nov 2018
"Lebala is a lovely tented camp with a traditional feel. One of us has mobility challenges, and the staff could not have been more helpful, finding ways to make it easier to get and out of the vehicle and negotiate steps and ramps within the camp.

We had a great team in our guide Bate and tracker Simo and every game drive was full of fascinating encounters. Numerous species of antelope were plentiful, plus zebra, hippo, buffalo, and giraffe. Predators included lion, leopard , wild dog and hyena.

The highlight was being able to get really close to leopards - one a large male, the other his mother - on three occasions and spend time just observing these beautiful cats." See all these reviews: 10n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

3 sightings

Elephant

9 sightings

Giraffe

9 sightings

Hippo

5 sightings

Leopard

3 sightings

Lion

4 sightings

Spotted Hyena

3 sightings

Wild dog

2 sightings

Wildebeest

5 sightings

Zebra

7 sightings

Showing 1-10 of 174
95%
174 reviews of Lebala Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
138
31
5
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Botswana

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Botswana.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Kwando-Linyanti area

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Lagoon Camp

Lagoon Camp

Within the vast Kwando Reserve, renowned for its wild dogs, Lagoon Camp offers excellent game viewing that focuses on predators.


94% (229 reviews)
Selinda Camp

Selinda Camp

In an attractive area that is particularly rich in game between June and November, the luxurious Selinda Camp caters particularly well for photographers.


96% (66 reviews)
DumaTau Camp

DumaTau

DumaTau, in the private Linyanti Reserve, offers game drives, seasonal boat cruises and walks. Wildlife safaris here are quite seasonal, and are at their best during the height of the dry season, between June and October.


95% (47 reviews)
Linyanti Bush Camp

Linyanti Bush Camp

An increasingly rare find in Botswana, Linyanti Bush Camp blends relative simplicity with numerous activities and very good guiding.


89% (38 reviews)
Savuti Camp

Savuti Camp

For years the Savuti Channel ran dry, but it's now flowing again and this newly refurbished, 7-room lodge has pride of place to witness the spectacle.


97% (26 reviews)
Selinda Explorers Camp

Selinda Explorers Camp

The luxurious, traditional tented Selinda Explorers Camp offers a mix of walking, canoeing and game drives led by really top notch guides in a game-rich area.


96% (17 reviews)
Motswiri Camp

Motswiri Camp

Motswiri is a super little camp with just five tents, each overlooking the Selinda Spillway. Come especially for walking, birdwatching, canoeing and horseriding safaris.


99% (16 reviews)
Zarafa Camp

Zarafa Camp

Zarafa is an exclusive camp overlooking the scenic Zibadianja Lagoon within the Selinda Reserve, a particularly game-rich area between June and early November.


100% (13 reviews)
Kings Pool

Kings Pool

King’s Pool is a top-end luxury safari camp with a price tag to match; the game viewing can be very good during the dry season.


71% (7 reviews)
Linyanti Ebony

Linyanti Ebony

Independently owned and run, the small Linyanti Ebony sits on the same site as Linyanti Bush Camp, with similarly high standards of guiding, and a strong emphasis on the wildlife experience.


100% (6 reviews)
Selinda Adventure Trail

Selinda Adventure Trail

The Selinda Adventure Trail offers a novel and tranquil way to travel through part of Botswana's pristine wilderness whilst staying in comfortable fly-camps and led by a knowledgeable guide.


100% (4 reviews)
Little Motswiri

Little Motswiri

A simple and remote satellite camp, Little Motswiri focuses on non-motorised activities, particularly walking and horseriding. It enables guests to explore 120,000 acres of private wilderness around the Selinda Spillway.


100% (1 review)
Footsteps across the Linyanti

Footsteps across Linyanti

Footsteps Across the Linyanti is the only true mobile walking safari we know of in Botswana. Explore a wild and remote wilderness on foot with a knowledgeable guide.


40% (1 review)
Linyanti Expeditions
No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa