This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Lebala Camp
Lebala Camp
Lebala Camp
Lebala Camp
Lebala Camp
Lebala Camp

Reviews of Lebala Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

185 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Lebala Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jun-2018, 25 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Lebala Camp.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

43% success

Cheetah

13% success

Wild dog

46% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Wildebeest

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Hippo

91% success

Buffalo

83% success

Spotted Hyena

45% success

Roan antelope

26% success

Sable antelope

26% success

Brown Hyena

11% success

Pangolin

4% success

Aardvark

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 185
Duration
Arrival date
Andy & Karen
Malvern

"Lebala Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 17 Jul 2022
"The tents here are spacious, very comfortable, well appointed and spaced out with views to the surrounding marsh. Passing wildlife give the feeling of a bush stay, even spotting a local male leopard from the balcony of our room. The food is good, and the staff friendly.
Of the three Kwando camps we visited, this camp offers a really interesting mix of terrain and hence wildlife viewing in our opinion. River, water holes, pans, grassland (some flooded in July) and mixed forest areas made for interesting and varied game drives and sightings. Good predator and game, with a honey badger eating a snake a real highlight/ bonus!
Our guide Elvis was excellent and a real model for others- knowledgeable, calm, in tune with the needs of his guests and fun as well. He and our tracker Dredd were great company for our 3 days, tracking down and spotting some great wildlife." See all these reviews: 14n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Roan antelope

1 sighting

Wild dog

1 sighting

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

A and N
VA

"Lebala Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 10 Jul 2022
"We loved Lebala! It was our first camp in Botswana and a great one to start with. It had a wonderful welcoming and friendly vibe. The guides, trackers and staff were very kind and genuine. The rooms are beautiful with lots of space to get your things organized, two sinks etc. In retrospect the rooms here were a little more rustic than at other camps, but were completely comfortable. There is only hot water midday for the outdoor shower, but that was no problem. Meals were great, always enough choice for guests' palettes and special diets. Fresh baked bread and peanut butter available for the pickiest of eaters. The staff planned a special private dinner for me and my son on our last night, celebrating his graduation, which was the purpose of our trip. We were totally surprised.
We shared a vehicle with other "new" guests which was wonderful because we were all just beginning our safari experience together so we stopped for every bird or antelope on the first drive as we got accustomed to the wildlife. Then by late in day two we knew that we could drive by some animals. Lions were the stars of Lebala. We got to observe playful cubs and adults in many settings. We saw many many elephants as well. We saw hyena pups which were adorable. Plus cool surprises like a few African wild cats, mongoose, an aardwolf and a civet. Fantastic birds of prey and owls.
The night noises at Lebala are fantastic, more interesting than other camps we visited. We were in room 8 and heard hippos each night, for a lot of the night. We heard lions at night as well as a lot of other sounds. Some guests were a little nervous by the volume, but most thought it was amazing. (Staff are very safety conscious, they would not let guests outdoors when dangerous animals were near, but we could listen to them from the safety or our chalet.)
We also really liked the Kwando safari company that uses trackers and guides. We had so many discoveries." See all these reviews: 8n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

5 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Lion

10 sightings

Spotted Hyena

2 sightings

Wildebeest

4 sightings

Zebra

8 sightings

Stevens
Utah

"Lebala Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 27 Jun 2022
"Very upscale and lovely rooms. I loved the bathtub!

More "civilized" than Chobe under Canvas so a nice change. Staff was welcoming and guide was good.

The guide at Labala was very knowledgeable but less passionate.

Food and other guests were again top notch." See all these reviews: 8n in Botswana; 3n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr & Mrs P
Ayrshire

"Lebala Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 26 Jun 2022
"Guide not as enthusiastic or informative as elsewhere but wildlife still plentiful- good game viewing" See all these reviews: 8n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Buffalo

1 sighting

Cheetah

1 sighting

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

1 sighting

Leopard

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Wild dog

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Happy Campers
Perth

"Lion-rich Lebala"

3 nights Arrived 17 Jun 2022
"Lebala was more of a dry plains camp, with waterholes and marshlands. We were told that the cheetahs and wild dogs had been mostly displaced by large prides of lions (June 2022).

There were plenty of plains animals - lions, giraffe, zebra, impala, wildebeest, jackals, ostriches. The night game drive gave sightings of an aardwolf, genet, serval, spotted hyena and spring hares (which reminded us of small wallabies). Hippos, and a lion prowling the camp area, roaring loudly, woke everyone during the night - authentic African safari experience!

The tracker "Akeem" and guide "Mike" worked very well together, enthusiastically tracking and finding game off-road, and explaining the habits of the animals. We were delighted to see small lion cubs practicing their hunting skills on each other, and chasing our vehicle while their mother was absent!

A baby hippo provided a lot of entertainment by riding its mother's back then introducing itself to basking crocodiles on the bank of the waterhole (oops), before mother came to the rescue!" See all these reviews: 11n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

6 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Lion

10 sightings

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mrs P
Netherlands

"Could have skipped Lebala"

2 nights Arrived 10 Jun 2022
"Nice people, like every where else in Botswana. But when you are not there to see lion, they are very much out of their comfort zone. Tracking lions, that is what they (can) do. They do not (try to) keep track of the dogs. Wildlife and wildlife sighting disappointing. Not used to approach other - potential - interesting sightings. Neither have the patience. Area nothing special.

Could have skipped this camp in my itinerary without missing anything.

Rooms could use some repairs, refurbishment and fresh paint." See all these reviews: 20n in Botswana; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Lion

2 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr & Mrs H
Kent

"Lebala Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 22 Feb 2022
"we really enjoyed our time at Lebala and met some really nice guests

We had an excellent guide and tracker plus the food was just mouth watering" See all these reviews: 7n in Botswana; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Brown Hyena

1 sighting

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Ms A
Calgary

"Lebala Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 28 Nov 2021
"What an amazing return to Lebala. I love this camp.

Yes, there are a few things that maybe need sprucing up, and the tents are a little less than perfectly private. But you cannot beat this concession for predator sightings. The guide/tracker method of searching for game is rare, and with this size of concession, makes a big difference in your wildlife experience. Food is plentiful. Wine is flowing in the evening along with the stories of the day. I can still hear Wago's laugh (guide), and MP(tracker) saying Im-Pal-a!

The last time I visited, the whole area was quite dry. No need to use the bridges. This time, the "hippo path" out front, was indeed filled, and I was surprised (delighted) to have hippos come by at night. (We encountered 3 on foot going back to our tents at night!!) Many thanks Wago for keeping us safe on the walk back.

The staff at this camp is incredible. MP (we nicknamed MVP) is a fantastic tracker. Everyone from the manager, to the kitchen staff is courteous, and smiling......even in the most trying of times. Speaking of Covid......temps were taken regularly, and sanitizer was every time you entered and exited the truck. Staff are all vaccinated, and every precaution is observed. There were zero worries.

I can't wait to return" See all these reviews: 11n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

3 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Lion

10 sightings

Spotted Hyena

3 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

3 sightings

Mr & Mrs L
Surrey

"Lebala Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 25 Nov 2021
"In contrast the remoteness of Tau Pan, Lebala felt a busier place especially at mealtimes and with accommodation set closer together, at times this meant overhearing guests instead of the sounds of the night.

Again our guide and tracker were informative and keen to show us all aspects of the diversity of this lush riverine environment.

So many birds and so many antelope!" See all these reviews: 7n in Botswana; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Elephant

4 sightings

Giraffe

3 sightings

Hippo

4 sightings

Lion

6 sightings

Wildebeest

3 sightings

Zebra

3 sightings

Mr & Mrs S
Stockport

"Lebala Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 14 Oct 2021
"We were here the shortest time but felt we could have stayed longer. It was a very friendly camp.

Lions moved into camp to mate so we had to move to and fro from main area and room in a vehicle !

Standing around with our sundowners we saw an impala being chased and escaping wild dogs.

Slight delay plane taking off to our next camp due to zebra deciding to cross the airstrip." See all these reviews: 10n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

1 sighting

Elephant

5 sightings

Giraffe

5 sightings

Lion

4 sightings

Wild dog

1 sighting

Wildebeest

4 sightings

Zebra

2 sightings

Showing 1-10 of 185
95%
185 reviews of Lebala Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
146
33
6
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Botswana

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Botswana.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Kwando-Linyanti area

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Lagoon Camp

Lagoon Camp

Within the vast Kwando Reserve, renowned for its wild dogs, Lagoon Camp offers excellent game viewing that focuses on predators.


95% (245 reviews)
Selinda Camp

Selinda Camp

In an attractive area that is particularly rich in game between June and November, the luxurious Selinda Camp caters particularly well for photographers.


96% (67 reviews)
DumaTau Camp

DumaTau

DumaTau, in the private Linyanti Reserve, offers game drives, seasonal boat cruises and walks. Wildlife safaris here are quite seasonal, and are at their best during the height of the dry season, between June and October.


95% (48 reviews)
Linyanti Bush Camp

Linyanti Bush Camp

An increasingly rare find in Botswana, Linyanti Bush Camp blends relative simplicity with numerous activities and very good guiding.


90% (40 reviews)
Savuti Camp

Savuti Camp

For years the Savuti Channel ran dry, but it's now flowing again and this newly refurbished, 7-room lodge has pride of place to witness the spectacle.


97% (25 reviews)
Selinda Explorers Camp

Selinda Explorers Camp

The luxurious, traditional tented Selinda Explorers Camp offers a mix of walking, canoeing and game drives led by really top notch guides in a game-rich area.


97% (19 reviews)
Zarafa Camp

Zarafa Camp

Zarafa is an exclusive camp overlooking the scenic Zibadianja Lagoon within the Selinda Reserve, a particularly game-rich area between June and early November.


100% (18 reviews)
Motswiri Camp

Motswiri Camp

Motswiri is a super little camp with just five tents, each overlooking the Selinda Spillway. Come especially for walking, birdwatching, canoeing and horseriding safaris.


99% (14 reviews)
Kings Pool

Kings Pool

King’s Pool is a top-end luxury safari camp with a price tag to match; the game viewing can be very good during the dry season.


75% (8 reviews)
Linyanti Ebony

Linyanti Ebony

Independently owned and run, the small Linyanti Ebony sits on the same site as Linyanti Bush Camp, with similarly high standards of guiding, and a strong emphasis on the wildlife experience.


100% (5 reviews)
Selinda Adventure Trail

Selinda Adventure Trail

The Selinda Adventure Trail offers a novel and tranquil way to travel through part of Botswana's pristine wilderness whilst staying in comfortable fly-camps and led by a knowledgeable guide.


100% (4 reviews)
Little Motswiri

Little Motswiri

A simple and remote satellite camp, Little Motswiri focuses on non-motorised activities, particularly walking and horseriding. It enables guests to explore 120,000 acres of private wilderness around the Selinda Spillway.


100% (1 review)
Footsteps across the Linyanti

Footsteps across Linyanti

Footsteps Across the Linyanti is the only true mobile walking safari we know of in Botswana. Explore a wild and remote wilderness on foot with a knowledgeable guide.


40% (1 review)
Linyanti Expeditions
No reviews yet
Okavango Explorers Camp

Okavango Explorers

The traditional, tented Okavango Explorers Camp offers a mix of walking, canoeing and game drives led by great guides in a wildlife-rich area.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa