This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Lebala Camp
Lebala Camp
Lebala Camp
Lebala Camp
Lebala Camp
Lebala Camp

Reviews of Lebala Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

174 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Lebala Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jun-2018, 14 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Lebala Camp.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

50% success

Cheetah

14% success

Wild dog

57% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Wildebeest

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Buffalo

93% success

Hippo

91% success

Spotted Hyena

50% success

Roan antelope

38% success

Sable antelope

38% success

Brown Hyena

13% success

Pangolin

8% success

Aardvark

0% success

Showing 11-20 of 174
Duration
Arrival date
Mrs Y.
Lisserbroek

"Great time at Lebala, felt like home. "

2 nights Arrived 26 Oct 2018
"Again great staff, singing all the time, made us feel special. Esp at our last evening they performed dances and said goodbye from the hart.

At night we found little animals on our cushions as a present.

Also here a very good ranger/ guide Bate and his tracker. Good game viewing.

Nice surprise at one of the afternoon game drives was the sundowner in the bush, a bar set up in the middle of nowhere! " See all these reviews: 14n in Botswana; 4n in Namibia; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

Multiple sightings

Sable antelope

1 sighting

Spotted Hyena

3 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr M
Fortis Green

"Very varied animals, particularly nocturnal"

2 nights Arrived 4 Aug 2018
"Much more remote than the other camps we visited - no electricity in rooms, no wifi or mobile signal, but very comfortable. Excellent food. Compared with further south, the plains were bigger and more open, so when there was a sighting you could follow it for longer rather than it go into the bush, which was good.

Game was up and down - a couple of drives produced almost nothing (not even a lion), then on a single night drive we saw lions hunt and consume a wildebeest, serval, side-striped jackal, civet and really good wildcat sightings. The following morning a dog chase, large herd of stampeding and leaping lechwe and big breeding elephant herd which let us get right in the middle.

Funny how it goes - halfway through our stay we were wondering if it was a bit of a dud, and by the end it was probably the best set of safari sightings we'd ever had." See all these reviews: 7n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Average
Sightings Report

Buffalo

1 sighting

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

8 sightings

Lion

6 sightings

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Wild dog

1 sighting

Wildebeest

5 sightings

Zebra

7 sightings

Mr P & Ms B
London

"Lebala Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 4 Aug 2018
"Wonderful. Just what we hoped for. As in other of the resorts, the guides were excellent and the animals were prolific. The food is great - and never seems to stop and the rooms are very comfortable. An outstanding experience.

Two minor issues: I think the South African wines (most of which I know well) are at the bottom of the acceptable range. I found one in a SA supermarket for R53. I think you could do better. Secondly, I hate tipping at these resorts. I don't like to spend my time with the nagging thought of what would be fair. I would far rather have the sum included in the cost and a 'no-tipping' policy brought in." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

1 sighting

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mrs R
Daventry

"Friendly atmosphere at Lebala"

3 nights Arrived 10 Jun 2018
"Tent very cold in the morning, but it’s winter and a tent. Warm and cosy on early drive with poncho and Bush baby (hot water bottle) yes really needed! Guide made every effort to bring us close to the animals and I was pleasantly surprised at their lack of disturbance and relaxed demeanour. " See all these reviews: 10n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

5 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Leopard

2 sightings

Lion

3 sightings

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Wildebeest

7 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr & Mrs B
Maidstone

"Brilliant Lebala - the highlight of our trip"

3 nights Arrived 8 Jun 2018
"Lebala was the second stop on our trip and was the highlight of our whole holiday. In terms of sightings we were incredibly fortunate to have such an action packed visit. We had some sightings of elephants in very large volumes, Lebala is known for it, but on the last morning when we were dropping off two of our vehicle companions for an earlier flight... the runway was blocked by 100+ elephants and just as they were cleared, a male lion wandered out to add a further delay to proceedings.

There were many regular camp visits from elephants... one munching on bushes beside the lunch table and when walking back to our tent after lunch, 6 surrounding our tent giving a beautiful opportunity to observe these creatures from a safe distance (but still close). If you want elephant sightings, Lebala is your camp. Excellent sightings of Hyena/Lion and Leopard plus a tense standoff between 9 Lions, 2 Buffalo and 3 manic Hyena really made Lebala perfect for us. Plenty of time was allowed for us to observe the animals with the chance to really watch their behaviour. Lebala uses both a guide and tracker.. with the tracker in place to pick up the tracks that the guide can't see. The enthusiasm of both was another highlight and we were fortunate to to be treated to a real masterclass in tracking as we found lion after over an hour of hard work by the team.

The guides here are persistent in looking for the big game but not to the exclusion of birding and balanced this perfectly. Ishmaeil and Shooes (guide and tracker) deserve special mention and were knowledgeable and very free in sharing everything they knew.

The camp staff at Lebala were welcoming and genuinely made our down time fun. As with all the other camps, the team eat with guests and we felt that the whole Lebala team were a really close knit group and, whilst working, were also clearly having great fun.

The tent was lovely with an outside shower which was perfect when returning from the morning drive. We'd suggest that Lebala is great for people who have been on safari before and also wonderful for first timers.... if you had limited time to visit Botswana we'd suggest including Lebala on your list - You really cannot better it.

This trip was for my wife's birthday and the camp put on a special treat (I will not spoil it) but it was truly so special and involved some skullduggery on the part of our guide and camp staff....

Some advice we'd give is get to know the staff, they are enthusiastic, passionate about the animals and Botswana and so generous in sharing their knowledge and experiences..... the camplife matched the game viewing and sometimes combined it. Our first trip back to our room after lunch saw us greeted by 4-5 elephants outside the front door.. a true treat to see these wonderful creatures (from a safe distance) and on the the return from the last drive on the first evening, whilst everyone else went to get changed, we grabbed a drink on the platform over the fire just a a hyena wandered in .... sniffed the flames and wandered off.

Lebala is right at the top of our list for a return" See all these reviews: 8n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

4 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Lion

4 sightings

Spotted Hyena

3 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

9 sightings

Mr & Mrs T
Derbyshire

"Lebala Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 17 Feb 2018
"same area as Lagoon [Ed: "Lovely camp, well sited and excellent game viewing"], but some different habitats. Good game sitings." See all these reviews: 15n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Miss R
Kent

"Top review Lebala Camp"

3 nights Arrived 5 Nov 2017
"This is my sixth stay at Lebala which probably tells you that they are doing something right. The camp is at the southern end of the concession, close to the river system. It was good to see that the water levels are coming up again after several years of drought. There is a good range of terrain. Marsh, riverine, good open areas together with mopane and apple leaf woodland. Great sightings of the resident lion prides plus the bonus of several hours with Jane’s (the resident female leopard) small cubs. The guides and trackers are all very knowledgeable and happy to discuss what the plans for the day should be. The camp staff are delightful and nothing is too much trouble. I am already booking up for next year!" See all these reviews: 6n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr C
Knaresborough

"Lebala Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 10 Sep 2017
"Loved the remoteness and privacy of Lebala. It was great not having other camps/vehicles around our game drives, which made them even more special.

The staff were super friendly and couldn't do enough for us.

Overall, this was our favourite camp." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms H & Mr S
CA

"Great Lebala Camp"

2 nights Arrived 6 Sep 2017
"Great staff, great wildlife viewing, nice camp all around.

Leopards, buffalo, crocs, hippo, tons of birds, lions, all sorts of antelope, hyena and puppies, so cute.

Great overall stay." See all these reviews: 14n in Botswana; 5n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr J
Florida, USA

"Good"

2 nights Arrived 31 Aug 2017
"Little worn! Foot paths need work and lots of flies.

Great food and staff.

Thanks to Mr. Moe great tracker!" See all these reviews: 6n in Botswana; 2n in South Africa; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Showing 11-20 of 174
95%
174 reviews of Lebala Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
138
31
5
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Botswana

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Botswana.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Kwando-Linyanti area

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Lagoon Camp

Lagoon Camp

Within the vast Kwando Reserve, renowned for its wild dogs, Lagoon Camp offers excellent game viewing that focuses on predators.


94% (229 reviews)
Selinda Camp

Selinda Camp

In an attractive area that is particularly rich in game between June and November, the luxurious Selinda Camp caters particularly well for photographers.


96% (66 reviews)
DumaTau Camp

DumaTau

DumaTau, in the private Linyanti Reserve, offers game drives, seasonal boat cruises and walks. Wildlife safaris here are quite seasonal, and are at their best during the height of the dry season, between June and October.


95% (47 reviews)
Linyanti Bush Camp

Linyanti Bush Camp

An increasingly rare find in Botswana, Linyanti Bush Camp blends relative simplicity with numerous activities and very good guiding.


89% (38 reviews)
Savuti Camp

Savuti Camp

For years the Savuti Channel ran dry, but it's now flowing again and this newly refurbished, 7-room lodge has pride of place to witness the spectacle.


97% (26 reviews)
Selinda Explorers Camp

Selinda Explorers Camp

The luxurious, traditional tented Selinda Explorers Camp offers a mix of walking, canoeing and game drives led by really top notch guides in a game-rich area.


96% (17 reviews)
Motswiri Camp

Motswiri Camp

Motswiri is a super little camp with just five tents, each overlooking the Selinda Spillway. Come especially for walking, birdwatching, canoeing and horseriding safaris.


99% (16 reviews)
Zarafa Camp

Zarafa Camp

Zarafa is an exclusive camp overlooking the scenic Zibadianja Lagoon within the Selinda Reserve, a particularly game-rich area between June and early November.


100% (13 reviews)
Kings Pool

Kings Pool

King’s Pool is a top-end luxury safari camp with a price tag to match; the game viewing can be very good during the dry season.


71% (7 reviews)
Linyanti Ebony

Linyanti Ebony

Independently owned and run, the small Linyanti Ebony sits on the same site as Linyanti Bush Camp, with similarly high standards of guiding, and a strong emphasis on the wildlife experience.


100% (6 reviews)
Selinda Adventure Trail

Selinda Adventure Trail

The Selinda Adventure Trail offers a novel and tranquil way to travel through part of Botswana's pristine wilderness whilst staying in comfortable fly-camps and led by a knowledgeable guide.


100% (4 reviews)
Little Motswiri

Little Motswiri

A simple and remote satellite camp, Little Motswiri focuses on non-motorised activities, particularly walking and horseriding. It enables guests to explore 120,000 acres of private wilderness around the Selinda Spillway.


100% (1 review)
Footsteps across the Linyanti

Footsteps across Linyanti

Footsteps Across the Linyanti is the only true mobile walking safari we know of in Botswana. Explore a wild and remote wilderness on foot with a knowledgeable guide.


40% (1 review)
Linyanti Expeditions
No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa