This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Linyanti Bush Camp
Linyanti Bush Camp
Linyanti Bush Camp
Linyanti Bush Camp
Linyanti Bush Camp
Linyanti Bush Camp
Linyanti Bush Camp

Reviews of Linyanti Bush Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

38 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Linyanti Bush Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Oct-2018, 1 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Linyanti Bush Camp.
Lion

0% success

Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Wild dog

0% success

Buffalo

100% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Aardvark

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Roan antelope

0% success

Sable antelope

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Wildebeest

0% success

Zebra

0% success

Showing 11-20 of 38
Duration
Arrival date
Mr H
Wickham

"Linyanti Bush Camp and Linyanti Ebony review"

3 nights Arrived 5 Nov 2012
"Another excellent guide. On the way back to the lodge, having picked me up from the airstrip, he took me to see 2 male lions. Guests already at the camp said there was not much to see in the area besides elephants. They had previously stayed at Kwai camp and I gathered had seen literally everything in their 3 day stay. I disagreed with their assessment of the reserve. There was plenty of different birds around the lodge and although the mammal wildlife was dominated by elephants and lions it was the only reserve where I saw a Roan and a Sable antelope. It was also the reserve where I was bitten the most by insects. Evening meals were in fact extremely uncomfortable. Candles were placed on the table and by the end of the meal the table cloth was completely covered in insects - not a pleasant experience." See all these reviews: 13n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs J
Effingham

"In touch with nature at Linyanti Bush Camp"

3 nights Arrived 3 Jun 2012
"This was our fourth camp, so, by now we were needing a bit of exercise - rather than sitting in vehicles all day. The Guides arranged two walks for us (with armed guard) and this was a great experience. We saw elephant up close and were able to distinguish different animals by their droppings.

The Linyanti river has now provided a lush riverside with loads of hippo and elephant strolling around at night. Our guide (Esse) was the most knowledgeable we learned a lot from him." See all these reviews: 11n in Botswana; 3n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs W
Chorley

"Linyanti Bush Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 4 Nov 2011
"A great introduction to a safari camp holiday!

The manager and guide were both excellent. In fact all the staff were very friendly, warm and helpful. It was as if we had joined an extended family. We enjoyed the informal atmosphere.

Knowing that Bob did not eat cheese, separate dishes were prepared for him.

We enjoyed there being just a few guests in camp." See all these reviews: 16n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs J
Hampshire

"Linyanti Bush Camp should not be missed"

3 nights Arrived 14 Oct 2011
"Our overall experience at Linyanti Bush Camp was outstanding. We were very impressed by the approach of the Camp to working with and supporting the local villages.

As a Bush Camp it gave us a taste of living close to the Bush in a tent, but with very good facilites therein. Everyone was so helpful and friendly. Isaiah and Bulter were our guides and we couldn't fault them for their attention to us. Being on the edge of the Linyanti marshes we had outstanding game viewings but at the same time saw the life on the water.

We would commend them on their new water based activities, both the mokoros and the boat, as enhancing the experience. The food was good, varied and plentiful. Isaac, the Manager, was helpful and friendly.

While we were there the wild dogs made an impala killing right in front of us, while we were having breakfast. An unforgettable experience." See all these reviews: 13n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr C & Ms H
Ealing

"Linyanti Bush Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 5 Oct 2011
"Fantastic room and great location.

The guiding was a little less experienced that in other camps that we visited, but Gally and Butler were very nice people." See all these reviews: 7n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr S & Mrs I
London

"Linyanti Bush Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 7 Oct 2010
"More basic accomodation but the best game of all the lodges we stayed at. Be prepared for lots of bugs!" See all these reviews: 7n in Botswana; 3n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Mr & Mrs D
E Sussex

"Linyanti Bush Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 8 Nov 2009
"The camp was made even more remote by virtue of the fact that the normal airstrip was being repaired, necessitating a three hour drive - effectively an extended game drive - to it when we arrived. This was not ideal following an overnight flight from UK and transfer to Maun, but was not a serious inconvenience.

The camp itself was excellent and the staff particularly welcoming. Isaac was as good a guide as we have been fortunate enough to encounter in many safari holidays. A game walk was memorable for getting fairly close to a large herd of buffalo making its way to the river, followed by a close encounter with a bull elephant. Isaac handled a potentiallly hazardous situation with considerable skill.
The only serious problem with the camp was the plague of insects after dark, which was quite an issue over dinner." See all these reviews: 6n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs W
Wiltshire

"Linyanti Bush Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 9 Oct 2009
"There was not as much game here as the other camps but lots of elephants.

We had a rare sighting of the Roan antelope, 3 leopard sightings (all very good at night), some very cute dwarf mongoose and a wonderful sighting of an Aardvark. The camp manager Noreen was delightful & very happy for us when we saw the Aardvark.

The head guide Issac was a truely professional guide who would do anything to help and we thought one of the camp staff called Benson must be the politest man in Africa!" See all these reviews: 13n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs I
Austria

"a wonderful stay at Linyanti"

3 nights Arrived 26 Jul 2009
"We enjoyed a wonderful three-night stay at Linyanti Bush Camp. From the moment we were collected at the air strip to the moment we were seen on our way with a song and a dance, we were looked after amazingly by friendly and competent staff. Led by Isaac and Tati, everybody went out of their way to make us feel welcome and cater for our every need. Our tent was just fantastic - far more luxurious than we had expected - as was the quality of the food.

The daily game drives with Tati were a treat and the time just flew by. The general thick vegetation in the Linyanti area means that spotting game is maybe not as easy as in other areas, but Tati did everything humanly possible to enable us to see a whole range of animals and birds. He was friendly, courteous and extremely informative at all times. The sundowners were a real treat, and the warm ponchos were a blessing in the early morning and after sundown.

Although we knew in theory, we were still suprised at how cool it was from sundown until late morning. Warm clothing is a must in July - the hot-water bottles in our bed were lovely though.

The only slightly negative thing to say about the stay was the form we were asked to sign in which we agree to exonerate African Bush Camps for any blame even in the case of gross negligence. Something should be done about the wording here." See all these reviews: 6n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs B
Wokingham

"An odd time at Linyanti"

3 nights Arrived 10 Jul 2009
"We couldn't decide whether to tick Average or Poor above as it was a mixture of things that we weren't comfortable with.

Firstly we were delighted to be met by all the staff singing - in fact the service from the staff was excellent throughout. We were met by our host, Martin, and hostess, Bella - over a fruit juice David was asked to sign an indemnity form which he felt went too far as it absolved the camp from all responsibility even if they were negligent. We were then taken to our room (honeymoon suite as it was the only tent with a double bed) but had the worst view. After an hour or so we met for iced tea and cake and set out on our first game drive.

Our guide was Tati who, whilst knew the answer to every question, regularly saw game two or three seconds after we had spotted it and appeared deaf as a post and you had to repeat yourself three times! Game was very skittish and very sparse (although we accept that the unusual June rains contributed to this).

Over dinner the first evening, the five of us sat down - David, myself, Martin, Bella and Tati. We had a strong feeling that we were there to entertain them rather than the other way round and this feeling persisted. At no time did Martin initiate conversation and Tati only spoke when spoken to (which, I think was twice during the whole meal). Bella was chatty.

The game continued to be sparce and so Martin decided to come with us on a game drive with his camera. I counted 41 minutes before we saw a mammal. He spotted more than Tati, pointed out a couple of raptors and spotted a large group of water buck the other side of the river. On two drives, Tati took us into Chobe NP which had no more game and you couldn't go off-road. The NP also had many tourists on self drive holidays which made a mockery of the "exclusivity" of our Botswana holiday.

One morning he drove along the wide road to Kasane and stopped in the middle of the road for coffee (great views - with traffic!!), another day he drove on the Savuti road for about 50 minutes without seeing anything on four legs before David got fed up and Tati turned round for another 50 minutes. We then parked by the river and watched an elephant swim across the river, climb the bank, eat a few leaves before disappearing so the drive ended on a high.

Our final afternoon drive lifted the whole experience. I saw a group of vultures in the air and realised that they were circling quite low and dropping out of the sky. Tati wanted to see what was going on but was hesitant because of the density of the bush. David said he would stand and guide him through and with added confidence Tati became a bull elephant and what he couldn't run over, chopped down. Eventually we saw a relatively young elephant had been killed and there were eight lions having supper. A fantastic experience.

The following morning Martin and Bella decided to come and have a look too. Martin said virtually nothing during the whole trip but did take a few photos. I afterwards asked him whether he was cross that Tati had pushed so far into the bush as he'd said nothing the whole morning, but he confirmed to me that he wasn't cross since he doesn't interfere with the guide's job. We felt as if he and Bella were being tourists and that we were paying for their little jaunt.

We asked for dinner on our own for the last night and they excelled themselves giving us dinner in the boma. We had a lovely evening and, as usual, the staff were great and had gone to a lot of effort.

In summary the accommodation and staff service were exactly what we would hope for. However, neither the host nor the guide enabled us to feel fully comfortable during our time there. We do not feel we got value for money at Linyanti." See all these reviews: 6n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Poor
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Showing 11-20 of 38
89%
38 reviews of Linyanti Bush Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
22
12
4
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Botswana

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Botswana.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Kwando-Linyanti area

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Lagoon Camp

Lagoon Camp

Within the vast Kwando Reserve, renowned for its wild dogs, Lagoon Camp offers excellent game viewing that focuses on predators.


95% (230 reviews)
Lebala Camp

Lebala Camp

With enthusiastic guides and trackers, Lebala – in a vast private reserve – is a particularly good camp for seeking wild dogs..


95% (174 reviews)
Selinda Camp

Selinda Camp

In an attractive area that is particularly rich in game between June and November, the luxurious Selinda Camp caters particularly well for photographers.


96% (66 reviews)
DumaTau Camp

DumaTau

DumaTau, in the private Linyanti Reserve, offers game drives, seasonal boat cruises and walks. Wildlife safaris here are quite seasonal, and are at their best during the height of the dry season, between June and October.


95% (47 reviews)
Savuti Camp

Savuti Camp

For years the Savuti Channel ran dry, but it's now flowing again and this newly refurbished, 7-room lodge has pride of place to witness the spectacle.


97% (26 reviews)
Selinda Explorers Camp

Selinda Explorers Camp

The luxurious, traditional tented Selinda Explorers Camp offers a mix of walking, canoeing and game drives led by really top notch guides in a game-rich area.


96% (17 reviews)
Zarafa Camp

Zarafa Camp

Zarafa is an exclusive camp overlooking the scenic Zibadianja Lagoon within the Selinda Reserve, a particularly game-rich area between June and early November.


100% (17 reviews)
Motswiri Camp

Motswiri Camp

Motswiri is a super little camp with just five tents, each overlooking the Selinda Spillway. Come especially for walking, birdwatching, canoeing and horseriding safaris.


99% (16 reviews)
Kings Pool

Kings Pool

King’s Pool is a top-end luxury safari camp with a price tag to match; the game viewing can be very good during the dry season.


71% (7 reviews)
Linyanti Ebony

Linyanti Ebony

Independently owned and run, the small Linyanti Ebony sits on the same site as Linyanti Bush Camp, with similarly high standards of guiding, and a strong emphasis on the wildlife experience.


100% (6 reviews)
Selinda Adventure Trail

Selinda Adventure Trail

The Selinda Adventure Trail offers a novel and tranquil way to travel through part of Botswana's pristine wilderness whilst staying in comfortable fly-camps and led by a knowledgeable guide.


100% (4 reviews)
Little Motswiri

Little Motswiri

A simple and remote satellite camp, Little Motswiri focuses on non-motorised activities, particularly walking and horseriding. It enables guests to explore 120,000 acres of private wilderness around the Selinda Spillway.


100% (1 review)
Footsteps across the Linyanti

Footsteps across Linyanti

Footsteps Across the Linyanti is the only true mobile walking safari we know of in Botswana. Explore a wild and remote wilderness on foot with a knowledgeable guide.


40% (1 review)
Linyanti Expeditions
No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa